• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PAP Spin - No economic growth if there is no increase of foreigners

By Robin Chan
The Straits Times
Monday, Feb 11, 2013

SINGAPORE - As the costs of economic growth continued to come under the spotlight, the Prime Minister yesterday sought to make clear the Government's aim - growth not for its own sake, but to raise incomes, especially for those at the bottom and in the middle.

"If you are in the top 5 or 10 per cent of the population, you may say, well, I have enough. I can manage. I can live within my means," he said.

"If you are at the bottom 10 or 20 per cent of the population or even at the median - not poor, not rich - I think it would be patronising and cavalier for us to say they don't need more, that growth is unimportant."

Mr Lee Hsien Loong said that past experience has shown that when the economy grows, those on low incomes gain. When the economy crashes or slows down, the salaries of this group stagnate, while those at the top often keep rising.

He also pointed out that the best way to help Singaporeans cope with higher costs of living is to raise their incomes.

Expanding the economic pie also enables Singapore to secure the resources needed to improve education and health care, to build better homes and towns, and to invest in reliable and convenient public transportation, he added.

The question of what rate of economic growth would be ideal in the coming decades has been an issue of debate in recent months.

The Government's White Paper on Population projected 3 to 5 per cent a year from now to 2020, and 2 to 3 per cent thereafter to 2030.

This is tied to a population planning parameter of 6.5 million to 6.9 million by 2030.

The Workers' Party, in its alternative proposal, suggested growth of 2.5 to 3.5 per cent a year from now to 2020, and 1.5 to 2.5 per cent a year thereafter to 2030, with a population of 5.6 million to 5.8 million by 2030.

Yesterday, Mr Lee said: "We're not pursuing growth at all costs. We're trying to juggle many different objectives, including population, including cohesion... Growth is not for its sake. But growth is not unimportant."

The Government, he added, is trading off growth by reducing immigration and foreign worker inflows, to slow down the economy significantly and achieve a better quality of life.

"We accept this because we want the growth to be sustainable," he said. "We want high-quality growth and we want workers and families to benefit."

But he also added: "One of the things we must not forget is we need to make a living for ourselves."

Mr Lee said economic growth is part of a multi-faceted problem concerning population, which goes beyond getting the numbers right on babies and workers, to matters of identity. The challenge is complicated because Singapore needs both vibrancy and openness, and a sense of identity and belonging among citizens, he said.

It is not like Japan or China, where the population is relatively homogenous. But neither is it like cosmopolitan cities such as New York or London, as it is a nation.

It requires a very difficult combination, noted the PM - to be cohesive without being closed, to identify with one another and not be xenophobic, and to be open and yet not be diluted and dissolved.

"But that is our karma and we have to keep a balance between the two," he said.

[email protected]

How has 'growth' benefitted sinkees in the last decade? Not much, judging by the statistics. Median income is only $2100 in the 6th most expensive city in the world! Inflation is 5 percent! Real life experiences - congested MRT, overpriced HDB flats, expensive tertiary education, limited spots in top schools, overworked parents with little time for family life.

Let's test LHL's thesis - let's get rid of the alients holding PMET jobs and see how it impacts economic growth. My belief is that within a decade, sinkees will enjoying higher paying jobs, long-term economic growth will be within the 3-5 percent range, inflation will be tamed and congestion at MRT will be gone almost immediately.

The growth targets of the PAP can be achieved without alien participation.

Dinkum

Shut the fuck up lah you tricky snake!

90% of S'poreans don't fucking trust you anymore!

You ain't nothing, but a fucking liar and your Marie Antoinette wife is a plunderer!

JuliaScissors

SINGAPORE - As the costs of economic growth continued to come under the spotlight, the Prime Minister yesterday sought to make clear the Government's aim - growth not for its own sake, but to raise incomes, especially for those at the bottom and in the middle.

Yeah, sure. Just like the GST increase was to help the poor.

[video=youtube_share;DTPT97_wZ6w]http://youtu.be/DTPT97_wZ6w[/video]

Import more foreigners
otherwise this place will be bankrupt
no people no talent no business
it will die a natural death
the only solution is to import more people
and business will boomz

Tuayapeh

only benfitting themselves whilst sinkies lives go to hell...

what a bunch of selfserving hypocritical plunderers!!!

blur sotong

No economic growth if there is no increase of foreigners is utter bullshit. :mad: :mad:

This is because you can still have economic growth, albeit a smaller one, without any increase of foreigners. Growth do not come from that sole factor of production - labour alone. :wink: :smile:

In fact too many foreigners will lead to a heavy negative impact on social capital which will retard economic growth. :rolleyes: :eek:

No economic growth if there is no increase of foreigners is utter bullshit. :mad: :mad:

This is because you can still have economic growth, albeit a smaller one, without any increase of foreigners. Growth do not come from that sole factor of production - labour alone. :wink: :smile:

In fact too many foreigners will lead to a heavy negative impact on social capital which will retard economic growth. :rolleyes: :eek:

Try telling that to the pappies... they had been privatizing profits and socializing costs for the past decades.

You may have heard of this albeit disguised in other terms e.g. 'for the greater good', 'global city'.

Import more foreigners
and business will boomz

ris3.jpg
latestleekuanyewi.JPG

Raise your hands and BOOMZ with me.
Population BOOMZ to 6.9 million.
Wear leopard print bikini.
Prostitute the nation.

goondusamy

Import more foreigners
and business will boomz

So many African, Latin American and south Pacific island countries have been around, moving along for so many years without importing more people.

Where got die a natural death? Must be a big goondu to believe the white paper.

enterprise2

ris3.jpg
latestleekuanyewi.JPG

Prostitute the nation.

Singapore as a cuntry will boomz but local born and bred Sinkies will find themselves in a strange cuntry. They will find it hard to find someone of their kind in their neighborhood and they may be bullied by the new immigrants since they r no longer in the majority.

that is why i have always advocated that the PMET sector have high restrictions to Foreigners participation,,,,the PMET and middle class enhances stability in the country....

How has 'growth' benefitted sinkees in the last decade? Not much, judging by the statistics. Median income is only $2100 in the 6th most expensive city in the world! Inflation is 5 percent! Real life experiences - congested MRT, overpriced HDB flats, expensive tertiary education, limited spots in top schools, overworked parents with little time for family life.

Let's test LHL's thesis - let's get rid of the alients holding PMET jobs and see how it impacts economic growth. My belief is that within a decade, sinkees will enjoying higher paying jobs, long-term economic growth will be within the 3-5 percent range, inflation will be tamed and congestion at MRT will be gone almost immediately.

The growth targets of the PAP can be achieved without alien participation.

That statement is probably true.

The PAP is wise indeed, for if there were no increase in domestic demand, the government cannot find new sources to tax and to extract wealth from. What will happen to all our brilliant, hardworking civil servants? Surely we cannot hope to have an honest, efficient administration without paying our government millions?

Crane

ris3.jpg
latestleekuanyewi.JPG

Prostitute the nation.

Why is this girl a former Miss Singapore ? Her face is worse than alot of maids I see loitering at Lucky Plaza.

CPT (NS) BRANDON

They should ask themselves if they even believe this spin?

More foreigners = more economic growth = higher incomes for Singaporeans?

This is absolute nonsense.

Over the past 10 years our population has gone up by 1 million. Have incomes increased?

The REAL problem is the problem of productivity. Singaporeans work some of the longest hours in the world. However, we are still terribly unproductive. What are people doing at work? How are companies being managed (especially the GLCs)?

You solve the problem of productivity, you increase people's incomes. Bringing in foreigners by the truckload is not solving the bloody problem.

The fact of the matter is that the GLCs (and most SMEs as well) totally fail at management, they do not know how to be efficient and they fail to optimally utilise the resources at their disposal. Hence, they are unable to wean themselves off cheap labour. Locals are too expensive? Solve the problem by hiring foreigners.

This is just putting a bandaid over a gaping wound. NOT SOLVING THE PROBLEM AT ALL.

Lee Hsien Loong is a weak leader. Terribly weak.

... Mr Lee Hsien Loong said that past experience has shown that when the economy grows, those on low incomes gain. When the economy crashes or slows down, the salaries of this group stagnate, while those at the top often keep rising.

He also pointed out that the best way to help Singaporeans cope with higher costs of living is to raise their incomes ...
tiz utter rubbish! ...

show facts 2 back ur craims! ... dun try 2 bruff wif ur so-called past experiences ...

dat scum burger was suppressing workers wages 4 donkey ears while economy was growing ...

... Yesterday, Mr Lee said: "We're not pursuing growth at all costs. We're trying to juggle many different objectives, including population, including cohesion... Growth is not for its sake. But growth is not unimportant." ...
juz rook @ wat tis burger has done ... 4 goodness sake, was it as wat dat he has craimed? ...

his kpi is tied 2 growth ... so is his bonus ... u tel me he's not interested in growth? ...