• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PAP Minister S Iswaran slammed Singaporeans for not honest to him

no_life_boy

I think LHL was not happy with his finding...

S'poreans must have honest conversation about immigration: S Iswaran
By Imelda Saad | Posted: 27 September 2012 0043 hrs

SINGAPORE: Second Trade and Industry Minister S Iswaran said Singaporeans must have an honest discussion about the country's immigration policy, no matter how unpalatable it may be.

Mr Iswaran was speaking to reporters on the sidelines of a dialogue session a day after his ministry released a report on population and the economy.

It was a vigorous night-time session for the participants where they discussed the pros and cons, shared their views, and gave suggestions.

What stood out at the session, said Minister Iswaran was that there was no outright rejection of foreign manpower.

"I don't think the basis of the discussion is xenophobia, which is very heartening. What I think they're trying to come to grips with, and I think we all are, is really how our demography impacts our economy, the opportunities for ourselves, our children and in turn, how immigration and foreign manpower can help us," said Mr Iswaran.

The discussion centred on how to bring foreigners in judiciously and this is where Singapore needs to find the right balance.

Mr Iswaran said: "So a calibrated approach to immigration, a calibrated approach to bringing in foreign manpower and having a sustained economic policy means being able to grow at a rate where on the one hand, the additions to our local population mix is done at a rate which we can sustain as a society and we can move with that and adapt to it. But at the same time, it is done at a rate where our economy can continue to generate opportunities for our Singaporeans."

During the dialogue, many participants spoke passionately about how Singapore may need to re-prioritise its values and some said perhaps it is time to move away from material aspirations.

Acting Manpower Minister Tan Chuan-Jin, who was also at the event, warned that this sentiment pre-supposes Singapore has arrived and that survival is not an issue.

He said there are individual choices but the government needs to provide a baseline that is jobs, security and social mobility.

Mr Tan said: "At the end of the day, what we are trying to do is what makes sense for Singaporeans. What is best for our people as individuals and what is best for us as a society? All the dots must connect back because otherwise it makes no sense in whatever we are doing, especially at the government level.

"GDP cannot be an end in itself. High growth cannot be an end to itself. It's about what will really benefit and make life better for Singaporeans and what will make life better for us as a society and even in that, there are inherent tensions."

Mr Iswaran added that if the economy stagnates, the option to pursue non-material aspirations would not even be there.

One participant, who is a representative from the Association of Small and Medium Enterprises, spoke about how difficult it is for SMEs to find manpower, with the tightening of the foreign worker quota and higher levies.

Mr Tan replied if the government were to free up the space, every company would then appeal and the number of foreign workers would go up.

He said the question is how to calibrate and slow down the growth of the foreign workforce while still allowing companies to remain viable.

Citing the experience of other developed countries, he said more can be done to increase productivity.

He urged companies to wean off from a free flowing labour market.

Participants also raised issues on how to improve Singapore's fertility rate.

The dialogue was organised by the National Population and Talent Division and inputs are expected to go into a White paper on population polices, to be released early next year.

- CNA/fa

I think LHL was not happy with his finding...

S'poreans must have honest conversation about immigration: S Iswaran
By Imelda Saad | Posted: 27 September 2012 0043 hrs

SINGAPORE: Second Trade and Industry Minister S Iswaran said Singaporeans must have an honest discussion about the country's immigration policy, no matter how unpalatable it may be.
How to have honest conversation when differences in opinions are viewed as being divisive and insincere, and representing opposition's views. How to have honest conversations when those on TV are loaded with pre-selected por lam pars?

Mr Iswaran was speaking to reporters on the sidelines of a dialogue session a day after his ministry released a report on population and the economy.
At best, it was a re-cycling of govt's views which have been repeated ad nauseum. At worst, the report is an insult to Singaporeans, coming across like Singaporeans are totally sunk and helpless without FTs.

It was a vigorous night-time session for the participants where they discussed the pros and cons, shared their views, and gave suggestions.

What stood out at the session, said Minister Iswaran was that there was no outright rejection of foreign manpower.
There NEVER was any xenophoic intents on the part of citizens. Our ministers still don't get it - manage the process, have the necessary infrastructure etc. We have never been rejecting FTs per se - the Malaysians who have been working here for decades will testify to that.

"I don't think the basis of the discussion is xenophobia, which is very heartening. What I think they're trying to come to grips with, and I think we all are, is really how our demography impacts our economy, the opportunities for ourselves, our children and in turn, how immigration and foreign manpower can help us," said Mr Iswaran. A bit late to come to this conclusion but better late than never.

The discussion centred on how to bring foreigners in judiciously and this is where Singapore needs to find the right balance.

Mr Iswaran said: "So a calibrated approach to immigration, a calibrated approach to bringing in foreign manpower and having a sustained economic policy means being able to grow at a rate where on the one hand, the additions to our local population mix is done at a rate which we can sustain as a society and we can move with that and adapt to it. But at the same time, it is done at a rate where our economy can continue to generate opportunities for our Singaporeans."

During the dialogue, many participants spoke passionately about how Singapore may need to re-prioritise its values and some said perhaps it is time to move away from material aspirations.

Acting Manpower Minister Tan Chuan-Jin, who was also at the event, warned that this sentiment pre-supposes Singapore has arrived and that survival is not an issue. This guy is perpetuating the myth that only when a country has 'arrived' can we take our foot off the accerlerator. NO COUNTRY ever, ever, arrives, Minister Tan. He is just using this 'fact' as a convenient tool for his arguments.

He said there are individual choices but the government needs to provide a baseline that is jobs, security and social mobility.

Mr Tan said: "At the end of the day, what we are trying to do is what makes sense for Singaporeans. What is best for our people as individuals and what is best for us as a society? All the dots must connect back because otherwise it makes no sense in whatever we are doing, especially at the government level.
Well said, Minister Tan. And THAT is the problem which the govt has created. Whatever you are doing just do not connect with the population and worse still, you have the gall to lay the responsibility of the citizens?
"GDP cannot be an end in itself. High growth cannot be an end to itself. It's about what will really benefit and make life better for Singaporeans and what will make life better for us as a society and even in that, there are inherent tensions."

Mr Iswaran added that if the economy stagnates, the option to pursue non-material aspirations would not even be there.
This is yet another of those throwaway scare tactic statements.

One participant, who is a representative from the Association of Small and Medium Enterprises, spoke about how difficult it is for SMEs to find manpower, with the tightening of the foreign worker quota and higher levies.

Mr Tan replied if the government were to free up the space, every company would then appeal and the number of foreign workers would go up.

He said the question is how to calibrate and slow down the growth of the foreign workforce while still allowing companies to remain viable.
The other question is why are we not encouraging industries which take into consideration the collective strengths of the citizens?

Citing the experience of other developed countries, he said more can be done to increase productivity.
This can be achieved when we stop having cheap labour where it is very common to see one guy working and three guys looking on.

He urged companies to wean off from a free flowing labour market.

Participants also raised issues on how to improve Singapore's fertility rate.

The dialogue was organised by the National Population and Talent Division and inputs are expected to go into a White paper on population polices, to be released early next year.

- CNA/fa

It is just simply amazi.ng that we keep having on these talk-cock-sing-song sessions when all the answers are either out here in the forums or in the coffeeshops. More worrying are the statements made by these MIWs after the sessions, making 'profound' statements which are actually what the kopi tiam uncles talk about all the time

hairylee

People who were honest to PAP with their opinions never end up well.
Why not retard Iswaran expresses his own honest opinion.

enterprise2

If he is interested in getting all of us to go along, then be with us in the same boat. Take a very substantial pay cut and set a example. When he and rest of ministars are experiencing the same pressures as the rest of us, they may take a different perspective on national issues.

There's an old saying "honesty begins at home". Could the PAP please tell me where my CPF is? I want to know if there is anything left :rolleyes:

Brightkid

What does e expects when most present were carefully screened and selected?

If my career/salary depend on PAP, I will also give my truthful (through politically correct) answers they like to hear!

Just a talk-coocck session coupled with self-praise session surely must blend in mah!

Bigfuck

Actually, Singapore under the Leegime has been one big lie. Everything has been made to look perfect. But as the unravelling starts, you will be shocked at the air water and food, healthcare, real economy, crime in Singapore. Not to worry, you will get to see it soon. It has run full progression.

This Ah Neh is really talking cock.. Go down the ground, go to the Internet Forums and see how many Sporeans are pissed off with the PAP's pro FT policies..

Iswaran must be living in a cave all these while for him not to know the true sentiments on the ground..

We're not xenophobic, we are not racist but there are just too many of his long lost cousins from India flooding this small island together with the countless PRCs and the Pinoys making life unbearable for the local citizens..

Tension68

Sibei hor tarn ah.
The 60over % who voted the PAP in also kena from these elected..
Govt can scold it's own ppl for "not accepting" foreigners.. wa.. gud job!
Now.. who pays for the ministers' salaries and bonuses ah?
If country is like company, then voters are the shareholders and directors.. better hold EAGM liao.
where got management scold shareholders and directors and get away wif it.. KNN

What's the point of talking, when they're going to do what they want?

Just like those casino 'debates' in 2005.

Six million you want, so six million you shall get.

Megaslots

He is refering to some lam pah soh at recent mmeediaaccorrpp talk.Only one honest chap said tat Ft come here bcause got benefits if one day no more they will move again.some fts took singapore as a jumping board to other countries.At least iswaran view is we true singaporean is being corner to hide our views.On the other hand lawerence wong slamm us telling the truth.Now what u want nice words or truth.