• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious PAP hires and arms Taiwanese, a risky and deliberate snub and message to China

A wholly owned subsidiary of Stomachsick, the official Zikapore sovereign wealth fund is now hiring am initial batch of 120 Taiwanese for its Certis Cisco auxiliary police force. As we know, these guards are armed, in most cases, similarly to the regular SPF. The optics of this situation is incredible. Its either a very bold move on the part of Gay Loong or an incredibly stupid one and one that repeats the Terrex seizure mistakes.

Just look at the symbolism. China has just seized your Terrex and warned you against your military relation with Taiwan. SO, because they did not return the Terrex to you, you have deliberately gone all the way to Taiwan to hire and arm security officers, even though you could have hired locally or even in malaysia. It tells china that you are still going to trust the taiwanese, and trust them enough to give them guns and let them walk around singapore armed. So, basically, you are sending a backhanded message to China to fuck off and tell them that we will do what we wish with the Taiwanese including employing them in singapore and even giving them firearms. The arming of taiwanese by a singapore govt owned company is very symbolic and is just looking for trouble by a China press and media that is looking for every imagined slight to their pride. The fact that Certis Cisco is owned by a company that is run by the wife of Gay Loong, makes it seem more like a personal insult to the chinese. Gay Loong as a govt official cannot openly insult the chinese. So, the chinese will interpret it that he is getting his wife to deliver the insult instead. Gay Loong grew a set of balls recently?

the other possibility is that some idiot in the govt just did not realize that this could be sending the wrong message to China and that this could piss them off once their press gets a hold of this story. It cannot be that they are so stupid as this, or could they? I mean MOM would have to be dumb and stupid to give these people work permits in light of the diplomatic tension with china vis a vis taiwan. It would be even worse if these 120 Taiwanese were later revealed to be ex military type who go the job with Certis Cisco because of their military or para military background. Which would mean we are arming and hiring ex taiwanese soldiers. Could the PAP be really that stupid to rub the nose of the bear like that? have they realized now that they will never get their Terrex back and just don't care and retaliate in this manner?

What do you guys think?

Certis CISCO to hire up to 120 Taiwanese as auxiliary police in Singapore

SINGAPORE: For the first time, private security firm Certis CISCO is looking to Taiwan to fill auxiliary police officer (APO) positions in Singapore.
It will hold a recruitment drive in Taiwan for about a week next month, seeking to hire up to 120 people there.
The firm traditionally hires Singaporeans, Permanent Residents and Malaysians, and has more than 3,500 APOs, more than half of which are locals. APOs are deployed to complement police resources, supporting the Singapore Police Force at major events and protecting sensitive installations.
Job advertisements posted on Taiwanese job portals have listed responsibilities of the officers, which include providing armed security and patrolling.
The salary offered is S$2,675 a month and air-conditioned accommodation is provided, with the officers only having to pay for utilities and meals. Other benefits listed in the advertisements include overtime for at least 12 hours of work a day, health insurance and annual bonuses.
In response to queries from Channel NewsAsia, Certis CISCO said candidates should be university graduates aged between 20 and 40 and must have a good command of English. It also said those hired would be eligible for a S$2,000 joining bonus and an additional S$2,000 completion bonus at the end of the two-year contract.
A spokesperson did not explain why the firm is targeting Taiwanese in its recruitment exercise, but said a shortage of manpower is a "perennial situation" in Singapore and that it had been “working with the authorities to recruit from suitable alternate sources”.
In April this year, Home Affairs and Law Minister K Shanmugam said in parliament that Singapore deploys about 7,000 auxiliary police officers islandwide and has "fairly strict requirements" of APOs. He also stated that the Home Affairs Ministry ensures that majority of these officers are Singaporeans, and that only Singaporeans are deployed at land checkpoints.
Certis CISCO said the first batch of Taiwanese APOs will be ready to be deployed after April 2017. It added that it has no plans to hold overseas recruitment drives in other locations outside of Malaysia and Taiwan.

ckmpd

The stupidity of PAP and its cronies in Certis Cisco knows no bounds. Not only will it piss off China, it will anger Singaporeans too for employing foreigners instead of Singaporeans who are certainly qualified and willing to do such jobs for S$2700 per month with free accommodation and other benefits

To further piss China, I wont be surprised if they use these Taiwanese Cisco Auxiliary Officers to man our immigration check points at Changi, Tuas and Woodlands. PRC visitors to be body searched and harassed by Taiwanese in Singapore...hahaha

The stupidity of PAP and its cronies in Certis Cisco knows no bounds. Not only will it piss off China, it will anger Singaporeans too for employing foreigners instead of Singaporeans who are certainly qualified and willing to do such jobs for S$2700 per month with free accommodation and other benefits

To further piss China, I wont be surprised if they use these Taiwanese Cisco Auxiliary Officers to man our immigration check points at Changi, Tuas and Woodlands. PRC visitors to be body searched and harassed by Taiwanese in Singapore...hahaha

This is exactly the excuse that the chinese media will use. The pay and benefits reasonably good, why must go all the way to Taiwan to hire them? And if they are hiring them from Taiwan, why did they not also hire PRCs too? This one is shit storm waiting to happen once factwire gets a hold of it. Seems like they are prejudicial to PRC and bias towards taiwanese. a very bad message. I don't know any Taiwanese with a good command of english. many taiwanese including uni grads go to US or Canada to further polish their english, so that is a pathetic reason.

ckmpd

This is exactly the excuse that the chinese media will use. The pay and benefits reasonably good, why must go all the way to Taiwan to hire them? And if they are hiring them from Taiwan, why did they not also hire PRCs too? This one is shit storm waiting to happen once factwire gets a hold of it. Seems like they are prejudicial to PRC and bias towards taiwanese. a very bad message. I don't know any Taiwanese with a good command of english. many taiwanese including uni grads go to US or Canada to further polish their english, so that is a pathetic reason.

I see this as a stupid but deliberate LHL's attempt to piss China further. There is no concealment, an outright punch on China's face. Blatant stupidity and false bravado

Hans168

A wholly owned subsidiary of Stomachsick, the official Zikapore sovereign wealth fund is now hiring am

What do you guys think?

Certis CISCO to hire up to 120 Taiwanese as auxiliary police in Singapore

SINGAPORE: For the first time, private security firm Certis CISCO is looking to Taiwan to fill auxiliary police officer (APO) positions in Singapore.
s S$2,675 a month and air-conditioned accommodation is provided, with the officers only having to pay for utilities and meals. Other benefits listed in the advertisements include overtime for at least 12 hours of work a day, health insurance and annual bonuses.
er April 2017. It added that it has no plans to hold overseas recruitment drives in other locations outside of Malaysia and Taiwan.

We hv lots of jobless u grads but govt chose to ignore their plights, They are blatant in showing their declared goal of welcoming f trashes with open HC thights.........yak
The money is good but it were to be spent it can be better spent by hiring Gurkhas or ah neh or bangla or peenoise....... belly cheap lah

The angpow for papigs wud be another source of PRs which papigs are so hardup off

2700 with free boarding I'm sure many jobless sinkies would jump at t.
Not forgetting they need to pay FT levy etc. Sinkies no need. So hire sinkies much cheaper.
But this vile govt is pro FT

We hv lots of jobless u grads but govt chose to ignore their plights, They are blatant in showing their declared goal of welcoming f trashes with open HC thights.........yak
The money is good but it were to be spent it can be better spent by hiring Gurkhas or ah neh or bangla or peenoise....... belly cheap lah

The angpow for papigs wud be another source of PRs which papigs are so hardup off

Yes, agreed with you. Its one thing for a company owned by the PeeM's wife's employer to hire taiwanese as taxi drivers or bus drivers or IT professionals or engineers, etc., its quite another thing to give them guns and hire them as security. The message is unmistakable to the chinese.

2700 with free boarding I'm sure many jobless sinkies would jump at t.
Not forgetting they need to pay FT levy etc. Sinkies no need. So hire sinkies much cheaper.
But this vile govt is pro FT

they don't trust too many sinkies to have guns in their hands and walk around. What if one of them shoots an MP? Better to trust FTs. Just like old fart entrusted his life to a barrack full of Gurkhas instead of his own countrymen.

ckmpd

Yes, agreed with you. Its one thing for a company owned by the PeeM's wife's employer to hire taiwanese as taxi drivers or bus drivers or IT professionals or engineers, etc., its quite another thing to give them guns and hire them as security. The message is unmistakable to the chinese.

LHL is trying to act tough with China unlike Najib or Duterte.

Tic for Tac policy is unlikely to work nowadays

borom

Waiting for the first ROC Cisco police to arrest and subdue a violent /drunk PRC here!
These ROC's should be sent on their first patrol to Chinatown areas and Geylang where their knowledge of mandarin will be good for accosting the PRC's.

Hans168

these sgian good for NS but not good for private policemen............. why??? alone this is reason to vote PAP n LHL out of office

i hope they learn the rope well and hide inside some casket car or grabtaxi, fap only recognise n rewards cowards

Hans168

Waiting for the first ROC Cisco police to arrest and subdue a violent /drunk PRC here!
These ROC's should be sent on their first patrol to Chinatown areas and Geylang where their knowledge of mandarin will be good for accosting the PRC's.

ROC NS boys trained in 20 fists but PRC trained in shaolin........... who win??

the smelly ginfreely cheebye will kill the PRC

train.jpg

It was a commercial decision. You people think too much lah. :cool:

If it is a commercial decision, then the ministers need to school themselves in international relations. When there are issues between sinkapore and ah tiong land, any gesture favouring Taiwan will just add fuel to the tension.