• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Overpriced Peesai's Casino Doomed to FAIL!

Home > Breaking News > Singapore > Story

Nov 19, 2009

Prices for theme park

<!-- by line --><!-- end by line -->
Related Link
<!-- Audio --><!-- Video --><!-- PDF -->TICKET PRICES

<!-- Vodcast -->
<!-- end left side bar -->
front-wcprice19.jpg
It will cost adults $66 to experience the rides and other attractions at Resorts World Sentosa's (RWS) Universal Studios theme park on weekdays. -- ST PHOTO: TERENCE TAN

<!-- story content : start -->
IT WILL cost adults $66 to experience the rides and other attractions at Resorts World Sentosa's (RWS) Universal Studios theme park on weekdays.
Announcing the much-anticipated pricing on Wednesday, RWS also said weekday passes for children will cost $48.
The weekday pricing makes tickets to the theme park cheaper than that of Universal's other attractions at Orlando in the United States and Osaka in Japan, which go for US$79 (S$109) and 5,800 yen (S$90) respectively.
Also announced on Wednesday: Prices for two-day passes, as well as the charge for express passes which will allow holders to jump the queues (see table).
Singaporeans who were hoping that they would be given special rates were, however, left guessing.
Since speculation on ticket prices began ahead of the theme park's opening early next year, there have been calls from some quarters for Singaporeans to be given cheaper rates than tourists.
Read the full story in Thursday's edition of The Straits Times.
LIM WEI CHEAN

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
I thought the idea of Casino is to "cross subsidize" the theme park? So what does the Casino really subsidize?

Goh Meng Seng

Nov 19, 2009

Prices for theme park

Related Link

<!-- Vodcast -->
front-wcprice19.jpg
It will cost adults $66 to experience the rides and other attractions at Resorts World Sentosa's (RWS) Universal Studios theme park on weekdays. -- ST PHOTO: TERENCE TAN

IT WILL cost adults $66 to experience the rides and other attractions at Resorts World Sentosa's (RWS) Universal Studios theme park on weekdays.
Announcing the much-anticipated pricing on Wednesday, RWS also said weekday passes for children will cost $48.
The weekday pricing makes tickets to the theme park cheaper than that of Universal's other attractions at Orlando in the United States and Osaka in Japan, which go for US$79 (S$109) and 5,800 yen (S$90) respectively.
Also announced on Wednesday: Prices for two-day passes, as well as the charge for express passes which will allow holders to jump the queues (see table).
Singaporeans who were hoping that they would be given special rates were, however, left guessing.
Since speculation on ticket prices began ahead of the theme park's opening early next year, there have been calls from some quarters for Singaporeans to be given cheaper rates than tourists.
LIM WEI CHEAN

cass888

Typical misinformation of the MONGREL who bit his masters' hands LOUDHAILER chee soon juan. Which part of

"The weekday pricing makes tickets to the theme park cheaper than that of Universal's other attractions at Orlando in the United States and Osaka in Japan, which go for US$79 (S$109) and 5,800 yen (S$90) respectively. "

do you not understand? Singapore's Universal is already the cheapest in the world. You want cheaper go wild wild wet lah.

Nov 19, 2009

Prices for theme park

Related Link

<!-- Vodcast -->
front-wcprice19.jpg

LIM WEI CHEAN

TeeKee

S$66 admission fees is to pay tribute to the 66.6% that voted in this govt ah?

Typical misinformation of the MONGREL who bit his masters' hands LOUDHAILER chee soon juan. Which part of

"The weekday pricing makes tickets to the theme park cheaper than that of Universal's other attractions at Orlando in the United States and Osaka in Japan, which go for US$79 (S$109) and 5,800 yen (S$90) respectively. "

do you not understand? Singapore's Universal is already the cheapest in the world. You want cheaper go wild wild wet lah.

So hot and balmy you pay me 66 I also won't go!

cooleo

Oh dear another sure to doom project like the Singapore Flyer which is now slashing rates like crazy. Heck, they even offer one year unlimited rides on Singapore Flyer these days!

=> The 154th probably forgot that Msian FTrash enjoy half prices to Peesai's zoos, etc. If there's any special rate, it'll be for FTrash!

Brightkid

I thought the idea of Casino is to "cross subsidize" the theme park? So what does the Casino really subsidize?

Goh Meng Seng

They did give subsidy. Orlando's fee is $109, Singapore's is $66. Therefore there is a subsidy of $43 (following establised definition of 'subsidy' by MIW), ie. almost 40% subsidy :eek:. That is substantial !!

Wow such great corporate citizen, chiong ha, before they declare a lose of $43 for each shitizen entering the theme park !!! ZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzz.

Watchman

Show them your power Singaporeans .

Let's see which avernue will they get money from to bail themselves out ?

cestycesty

the whole idea of the biz is to earn money.. its already the cheapest in the world. what else do u want? free for singaporeans.. like that how abt you work there for free... want to play dont want to pay.. go geylang also must pay even if u look like brad pitt.

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Ramseth,

The initial debate about whether to have casino or not is based on the idea of cross-subsidy that the revenue from casino to finance the various museums, playgrounds whatever within the resorts. It was said that without the revenue from the casino, it is not possible to have the various fun things embedded in the resort.

If not, why not just have the universal fun park without the casino? Just like HK, having the Disneyland without the casino? Now, we end up with the charges of the Universal park being similar to Disneyland! Then why the need to have the casino?

Goh Meng Seng

Meng Seng, what subsidize? The idea is to charge everything.

Watchman

Are our Singaporeans running out of Ideas of taxing since we are all boycotting them by spending less outside and staying at home .

I guess I am right after all . It's their move now. I anticipated this coming .

HDB property tax .

Show them your power Singaporeans .

Let's see which avernue will they get money from to bail themselves out ?

Actually, Singaporeans have shown them the proverbial middle finger by actually just doing nothing or going elsewhere. Refusing to go Sentosa after the prices gone up until they run out of ideas and decide to build IRs. Now they want to charge Singaporeans to enter IRs. Let's see. I'm not forecasting anything. Let's see.

oli9

the whole idea of the biz is to earn money.. its already the cheapest in the world. what else do u want? free for singaporeans.. like that how abt you work there for free... want to play dont want to pay.. go geylang also must pay even if u look like brad pitt.

Twit!!! Cheapest compared with whom? Japan ah? Spore got bullet train anot?
Free? no way. maybe 25% discount for Sporeans. Even Msians charge locals cheaper for their local attractions. Example if you climb Mount KK, locals get cheaper rates for licence & accomodation by about 10% as compared to foreigners. So why cant Spore do that?

They did give subsidy. Orlando's fee is $109, Singapore's is $66. Therefore there is a subsidy of $43 (following establised definition of 'subsidy' by MIW), ie. almost 40% subsidy :eek:. That is substantial !!

Wow such great corporate citizen, chiong ha, before they declare a lose of $43 for each shitizen entering the theme park !!! ZZZZZzzzzzzzzzzzz.

That is why I say...44.4% for members!..cheap! $66 for a family of our or $66 each??? two adults - $132, two senior citizens - $76, two children below 16 - $66, total : $274..CHEEP...meals?...:p

It is a 444 discount...CHEEP!..cheeper than Japan, than USA than Australia, than Mars....:rolleyes: