• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

"Once-in-30-year" flash floods hit AMK Central - Madcow computer shop ok or not?

Flash flood hits supermarket at AMK Central

20111129.155759_20111129-amkflood.jpg

AsiaOne
Tuesday, Nov 29, 2011

A newly-opened NTUC FairPrice outlet seemed to be hit the hardest when a flash flood occurred at Ang Mo Kio Central on Monday.

According to a reader who wrote in to citizen journalism website Stomp, the water levels of the flood were 10cm high and "had never happened before for over 30 years".

Patrons were escorted out of the outlet before staff members cleaned up the affected areas, said the supermarket chain in a response
sent to Stomp.

"At 3pm today, water had seeped into our store located at Blk 712, Ang Mo Kio Ave 6.

"Our staff reacted immediately by escorting customers out to ensure their safety.

"We were able to clean up the affected areas within the hour and resumed business only after ascertaining that all products have not been affected and are safe for our customers.

"We are working closely with the building management and town council to ascertain the cause of the water seepage and to ensure this does not occur again," wrote the spokesman for FairPrice.

Other Stomp contributors also wrote in with photos of the flood in Ang Mo Kio Central.

pic2.jpg

Water levels were 10cm high and "had never happened before for over 30 years".

pic3.jpg

Patrons were escorted out of the outlet before staff members cleaned up the affected areas.

pic4.jpg

A Stomp contributor also sent in a picture of a flood beneath a HDB block.

pic5.jpg

nanbeh, kena wet wet sitting there waiting to see how deep thewater will be....floodingin amk central never heard of in my history....damned sway man. but the new fairprice supermarket got water means got business after This Fashion went broke and vacated thepremises. floods in amk!! the vanish of the east!!!

No wonder the building look familiar, it was Emporium before, NTUC fairprice have another 24 hours store, just not far from there at AMK HUB! too greedy maybe, the heavens is punishing them! It had never flooded in the history of that building, even when Emporium holdings had their store there!!:o

everywhere now ntuc moves in...they so successful.all the uncles and aunties frequent ntuc fairprice.soon they will buy up everything.all the provison shops can say good-bye.markets also buy. everything also buy. were got sinkies do business now.all big big gahments.

Cruxx

Hadn't Leongsam corrected your Hokkien? It's nah beh, not nanbeh. Nanbeh (南北) is what frustrated MRT commuters curse whenever they travel on the North-South Line :biggrin:

Cruxx

I feel so rich whenever I see floods in different parts of Singapore. So many Venices. It's like I'm living in aristocratic Europe. :rolleyes:

okay nah beh those waters flooding amk ....it's a bad omen...soon sinkiepore will be like bengkok!!!

Cruxx

As PUB would say: "we think the floods may have been caused by the rain..."

That's a possible cause. But investigation is at a preliminary stage now. I'm confident though that the team of world class leaders that the ruling party has assembled will solve the flooding issue, eliminate poverty and eradicate cancer sooner than later. Don't forget, without PAP, Singapore wouldn't have survived. The PAP elevated Singapore from a fishing village to the thriving, modern metropolis that we see today. There was a time when people said that Singapore won't make it, but we did.

Didn't they just complete the multi-million $$ longkang in angmo kio :confused: It's that big, big drain next to the park, took them years to complete.

All that money obviously shown to be a waste of money, money down the drain:rolleyes:

Conqueror

Higher Ground = Safety

flood.jpg

Now, we have seen that the weather has gone awry or mad. So, by instinct ... logic, we should be living on higher ground to obtain the safest way against any possible flooding that may come our way. Which part of Singapore is higher than those low lying area like Bukit Timah or Orchard Road ?