• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Oldman says little can be done to avoid flood problem

Balls2U

Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew says little could have been done to avoid flooding after the recent bouts of “extraordinary rainfall”.

That is the view offered by MM Lee, as he stepped forward to offer his take on the recent flash floods to hit Singapore.

“When we get extraordinary rainfall like we had recently, no amount of engineering can prevent flooding,” he told The Straits Times.

He did not believe the government neglected the country’s drainage system to focus on the economy, as “all the issues have to be well taken care of,” he added.

However, he did stress that no matter how hard the government tries, their efforts would still seem insufficient as the “extraordinary rainfall” made flood prevention near impossible.

“There is a limited amount of space that you can dig underground, limited amount of space that you can have run-off for canals,” he said.

Despite the efforts by the government to reduce flood-prone areas from 3,178ha in the 1970s to 66ha today, Mr Lee noted that Singaporeans would always expect more.

“Of course, Singaporeans expect everything to be perfect – which we try to do, but there are some things which are beyond (that),” he said.

Over at Bukit Timah, there is apparently space for canal upgrading, which will take two years to complete.

MP for Holland-Bukit Timah GRC Mr Chris de Souza told The Straits Times: “The canal, which is currently V-shaped, will be converted to a broad U-shape, which will have incredible capacity to absorb a lot more water.”

In the meantime, Mr de Souza has recommended that condominiums around the area, most notably Tessarina in Wilby Road which was first hit by floods last November, to take their own measures such as a crest protection to be installed.

Talks to raise the level of Wilby Road will also be discussed between Mr de Souza and the Land Transport Authority next week.

Tessarina resident Tony Mok, 43, the head of training in a multinational company, said of the two year canal upgrading process: “We have to be practical, it takes time. The only thing is that it should have been done five years ago.”

theblackhole

the clouds are getting darker and heavier...
going to rain once again...the GOD must be angry this time...

better be careful where you fart your car....tonite.

Brightkid

Look at the big picture.

If old man do not side with Yacoob and MBT to defend them, or worst reprimand them, for screwups, these MIWs will tekan old man's son after he kicked the bucket and cannot climb out of his urn to defend his son, even though he wantd very much to.

Supporting these screwups score points for old man, to be repaid to his son by supporting him.

Look at the big picture ! Floods and astronomical increase in price are excellent opportunities to score points.

Leckmichamarsch

That's a simple and easy way to wash hands from a sticky problem! :oIo:

Wah old fart with his 149 IQ knows a lot about engineering too!
Or was it plain bullshit?

Simple: why can dig deep deep? Cannot meh????? NO need to bs about lack of land to escape responsibilities!

Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew says little could have been done to avoid flooding after the recent bouts of “extraordinary rainfall”. ...
den, y ze f**k pub call tis tender dat tender 2 work on ze stamford canal la wateva? ... mite as well dun do anyting abt it, let it rot n gif ze moni 2 temasek 4 gambling elsewhere ... :oIo:

garlic

This is bullshit, Singapore is so small and when compared to other countries, our problems are so minor. We are smaller than a lake toba, what problems are so big that "no amount of engineering" can prevent the flood. The US can make Las Vegas out of a barren desert. This stupid excuse is the ultimate to cover for their lack of ideas and refusal to spend on things that will not enrich themselves. Im sure the huge amount of money spent on the YOG can be used to solve this problem if put to an overseas tender.

manokie

They are just buying time. Soon the Monsoons will be over and Sinkies will forget about it until next year

kulgai

[QUOTE... no amount of engineering can prevent flooding.”[/QUOTE]

bullsit. this is a great insult to all engineers. i say, there's a big difference betw good and bad engineering

MP for Holland-Bukit Timah GRC Mr Chris de Souza told The Straits Times: “The canal, which is currently V-shaped, will be converted to a broad U-shape, which will have incredible capacity to absorb a lot more water.”

In the meantime, Mr de Souza has recommended that condominiums around the area, most notably Tessarina in Wilby Road which was first hit by floods last November, to take their own measures such as a crest protection to be installed.

dumbfuck souza,

yes the affected condos should have their own measures to counter flooding. yes it probably would have work and water would not come into that condo.

but dumbfuck souza, the flood water would not have simply disappearred. it would just be diverted to neighbouring condo or building which is also on low ground. :oIo::oIo: then how? advise next condo to erect something again so that the flood water will be diverted back to the original condo?? merry go round:confused:

stupid arse like you can also be MP :mad:

It's a tacit endorsement by the Lau CB for his Ass Loon son and Yaboob NOT to do anything. Till more people die from it or entire MRT tunnels flooded. In the meantime, Sporns would do well to bring a life vest when they are out on the streets.

Received_by_Kings

Tessarina resident Tony Mok, 43, the head of training in a multinational company, said of the two year canal upgrading process: “We have to be practical, it takes time. The only thing is that it should have been done five years ago.”

Yup, so much for the procrastination. You should take up swimming lessons too for the time being.

Received_by_Kings

It's a tacit endorsement by the Lau CB for his Ass Loon son and Yaboob NOT to do anything. Till more people die from it or entire MRT tunnels flooded. In the meantime, Sporns would do well to bring a life vest when they are out on the streets.

Makaap! You seem to be very much in love with the words "tacit endorsement" aren't you?

Watchman

What he meant is that he is getting his fat pay .

And he is not spending more on equipment .

So the peasants just have to endure .