• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Of great read and authors..

I agree. But I still like Enid Blyton and Agatha Christie leh. How ah?

I like Enid Blyton and Agatha Christie books too.

The latter in particular "Cat Among The Pigeons", Murder On The Orient Express" and her supposed masterpiece "The Murder Of Roger Ackroyd".

The Belgian detective with the egg shaped head Hercule Poirot is a great character.

pfingo

this is now a motion picture

9780374533571.jpg

kongkek

oi abang thread-starter. why so quiet here? this good thread boleh make sticky? knowledgeable folks like us love to read being neglected. Here's my new hootz!

518l1nsxaGL._SL300.jpg

this guy writes his own story, he is not a book author so his style somewhat unorthodox. but let's not take away anything from his heroics. uncle sam especially should remember what these soldiers sacrifice for their country against the war on terror.

yinyang

oi abang thread-starter. why so quiet here? this good thread boleh make sticky? knowledgeable folks like us love to read being neglected.
Terima kasih for bumping up this (forlorn) thread. Been messing about for awhile, minus reading glasses ..but for eye candy :o:p

To stick or not, it's beyond puny me ..up to powers be. Meanwhile, you'd better brush on your good book (koran)

Travellor

Another out-do-print author I loved to read in the last century is Irving Wallace (also screenwriter):-
He is very good in spinning a tale around something topical:-
Some of my favourites that I can recollect:

- The Man - first black man who accidentally became US President (written in 1964, became truth in 2008 when Obama fulfil the prophecy)

- The Almighty (publisher who hire terrorist to create his own scoops)

- The Miracle (about Basque terrorist & Miracle of Loudes)

- The R Document (FBI Director creates crime to justifiy suspending Bill of Rights)

- The Chapman Report

- The Prize (around the lives of winners of the various Nobel Prizes)

- The Word (about the release of new Bible upon discovery of a fake new gospel according to James (Jesus half bro) )

- The Fan Club (erotic - how 4 fans stalk, kidnap & fuck their fav hollywood actress)

- The Seven Minutes (whether book pornorgraphy is responsible for crimes commited)

- The Plot (I have forgotten!)

- The Second Lady (what if like face/off Russians use a double to pose as US President's wife without him knowing?)

IRVING WALLACE!!!!

What a flash from the past man.... god knows how many times I could have populated china from all the damm sex in his storybooks man!!! heeheheee

Anyone into Charles Cummings (thriller/crime), who also won CWA Ian Fleming Dagger Award 2012?

No, but if you like detective novels/thrillers, you can try Elizabeth George.
Her 2 main characters are Inspector Thomas Lynley and Sgt Barbara Havers, Scotland Yard detectives.

yinyang

..if you like detective novels/thrillers, you can try Elizabeth George. Her 2 main characters are Inspector Thomas Lynley and Sgt Barbara Havers, Scotland Yard detectives.
More into espionage (ala John Le Carre, Frederick Forsythe). And you know my bias against other gender behind the pen :p

Now may get into this old frenchie's latest (Gerard de Villiers), acclaimed by NY Times The Spy Novelist Who Knew Too Much

http://www.nytimes.com/2013/02/03/m...ist-who-knows-too-much.html?pagewanted=1&_r=0

More into espionage (ala John Le Carre, Frederick Forsythe). And you know my bias against other gender behind the pen :p

Now may get into this old frenchie's latest (Gerard de Villiers), acclaimed by NY Times The Spy Novelist Who Knew Too Much

Oh, females can write great suspense thrillers too. :wink:

I have this inexplicable prejudice against frenchies who write in english, it's simply illogical. :biggrin: