• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

NUS Grad : $1000 salary is good

shining shin

Oh also, btw, the wage difference between what should be her wage level, and her current one makes a big difference on the economy, in terms of the amount she saves, and the amount she can spend.

And low wage levels earned by young graduates will also discourage young people from forming families and having babies. After all, when you're earning (real) peanuts and having an unstable, dead-end job, you're more unlikely to marry, and form a nuclear family any time soon.

PAP has to realise this. Its pretty much almost their fault in the low birth rate- because of their insensitive labour policies that has social and economical side effects. Its most likely these policies will have a bigger negative impact on the Singapore economy in the next 2 decades at least.

maybe not so for this girl... no money also got 'entertainment'. that's why so many kids running around...:biggrin:

$1000 how to survive in Sinkie.

- Deduct CPF $200
- mobile min $50
- transport $150
- lunch $200( let said if she eat breakfast&dinner at home)
- makeup/cloth/haircut $100

She will have to live with her parent money/support, no need pay rent/electricity/bill.................
If she have to support daily life by her own sure will not be enough.
Talk like a bitch.

- Deduct CPF $200
- mobile min $50
- transport $150
- makeup/cloth/haircut $100 ...

- mobile - use prepaid, dun call others
- transport - cycle
- lunch - homecooked, tapao fr home
- makeup/cloth/haircut - 4get dat lv handbag ...

try 2 save la ...

:p

popdod

- transport - cycle

try 2 save la ...

I think lunch can use Office pantry whatever leftover food.
Got coffee, drink coffee.
Got cup noodles, eat cup noodles.

Haircut is 10bucks...
Those friendly neighbourhood 10mins cut.

Still can save quite a bit for Australia Gold Coast tour.

:p :o :p

The_Latest_H

Your analysis is 15 to 20 years late. LKY's death will have little influence on the course of S'pore's economy. For the last 10 years, S'pore's economy is on a rudderless course. The PAP has run out of ideas a decade ago. they have no experience or real live knowledge on how to proceed under this changing world economy.

Many PAP insiders know this, but as u know there is a culture of fear and no one will tell the emperor that he has no clothes. The PAP's 5, 10, 20 years plans are out the window now. They are clutching at straws with things like IR, Casinos, importing FTs etc. Do u really thing such things are in any country's long range economic plans?

The Ministers and PAP arse kissers to the Lees all owe their positions not to ability and meriticracy, but to paper qualifications and allegiance to the Lee family. these people are not capable of pulling our economy out of trouble. The real people who run the ministries are the civil servants that report to this BG Rtds and ministers. But they are not creative and inventive enough to come out with the broad bold economic moves needed, and they need to cover their butts and not rock the boat .

In every country in the world, govts are holding extraordinary meetings, and doing drastic unheard of steps to right their economy, there is not even a peep from the PAP. The US has even elected a Black president, and the joint houses are throwing money at their industries. Even china is giving billion dollars to the poorest of its people. But in S'pore, its business at usual. More exhortations to greater efforts, more demands of greater sacrifices for its people, but PAP elites are business as usual.

After Kuan Yew's death, Gay Loong is too much of a buffoon to be taken seriously, there will be infighting in the PAP. And there will be no quick and fast solution, it will get worse.

With their increasing record of doing ah-hoc economical policies patch-ups, and of hatching up their economical cliches of all those you have mentioned, its a matter of time some of us see through the artificial fog they have created for all Singaporeans.

annexa

Universities are good overseas because it does open up more job prospects for people who have furthered their studies, and gives them a chance in doing what they have talent and potential in.

The fallout here is that Singapore, even more than those in the West and in East Asia, has a fundamental flaw in the labour system. As I pointed out in my earlier post, a country's labour policy that encourages companies to lay off workers even during the good times, encourages the creation of jobs that underemploy and underpays new workers, encourages the wage gap between the well-off and well connected against everyone else, and finally encourages the impression that the creation of underpaying/under employing jobs will somehow cover up the fact that more high-paying jobs has been lost, and that the wrong impression that people are fully employed when they are not.

All these reduce productivity, and undermines the morale of everyone else. This also increases the burden on people who have higher-paying jobs to support those who are underemployed and underpaid. Also, this example shows that when there are more people like Lilana being resigned but hopeful, willing to take such a low wage despite her degree, the chances of them being resigned, disappointed and angry after a few years of working in such a dead end job will overall, again, depress everyone else, and this has an impact on productivity. Angry, disappointed and resentful workers often don't become productive workers, and these are the people who will be willing to jump ship if the opportunity presents itself.

They call it multitasking. It is actually cost saving for HR to subsidise rental for the pappies and their GLC land companies.

The_Latest_H

They call it multitasking. It is actually cost saving for HR to subsidise rental for the pappies and their GLC land companies.

Politically astute for themselves, selfishness for everyone else, and to the demerit of the country, especially its future. Stinginess and having a miser attitude does have a boomerang effect, and it often hits the ordinary people and the country more than these well-connected/well off people.

DearestGodlikeWarlord

Politically astute for themselves, selfishness for everyone else, and to the demerit of the country, especially its future. Stinginess and having a miser attitude does have a boomerang effect, and it often hits the ordinary people and the country more than these well-connected/well off people.

I don't mean to give you a golden shower on your ceremonious turnout, but, multi-tasking is a job phenomenon in the US as well, not only in your country.

The_Latest_H

I don't mean to give you a golden shower on your ceremonious turnout, but, multi-tasking is a job phenomenon in the US as well, not only in your country.

It is- but for pathetic pay, its not good for anyone. A lot of middle class people in the US have 2-3 part time jobs, and they are barely above the water, struggling to swim.

Its not healthy long-run.

2lanu

Here we have the white scum raising their whole salary by 33% early 2007. Then give whatever cock reason such as golden period, economy is 4 trillion and GCT even say the salary should go higher to 88% of their propagated Top 7 occupation myth.

Now they keep quiet about it and tell the peasant to tighten belts for the worst recession. I say burn them to hell like the MP got burned yesterday!

Satan

- transport - cycle

try 2 save la ...

Good suggestions

Should be <$10 a month.

- transport - cycle
So Tpt cost is zero. Plus you get good excercise.

Yes. And that will cost <$50 a month

Go to a $10 haircut shop.

So total exp only about $100++. All in all still can save up about at least $600++ Still ok mah.

DearestGodlikeWarlord

It is- but for pathetic pay, its not good for anyone. A lot of middle class people in the US have 2-3 part time jobs, and they are barely above the water, struggling to swim.

Its not healthy long-run.

I don't mean to sound like an ivory tower resident that's for sure, but to some sense of logic these jobs pay little because they are general duties that can be done by anyone (fast enough).

If they are specialist jobs (where it goes without saying that special skills and talents are needed) then I would condemn the situation along with you more.

I think in the US their demand for academic qualifications for multi-tasking jobs like these is not as high as in your country it seems.

Gone are the 90s (up till the early 00s) where a person is only given a single task for about the same wages as now. And gone are the 60s or 70s where the elderly men were hired for simple clerical positions or as elevator operators. When you look at these changing trends in employment in recent decades it seems rather, inevitable? It seems like a phase we all have to face, even though admittedly it is a cruel one.

In the next couple of decades you'll see robots and machines handling these multi-tasking jobs. What would you be able to say about that?

I should predict, especially if the Rfid chip program has not been implemented by then there would be a second Industrial Revolution.

DearestGodlikeWarlord

Good suggestions

Should be <$10 a month.

- transport - cycle
So Tpt cost is zero. Plus you get good excercise.

Yes. And that will cost <$50 a month

Go to a $10 haircut shop.

So total exp only about $100++. All in all still can save up about at least $600++ Still ok mah.

"- transport - cycle
So Tpt cost is zero. Plus you get good excercise."

Transport overseas to Europe and elsewhere, make a good, strong set of wings. Hahahha, don't end up like our dear Icarus though.

The_Latest_H

I don't mean to sound like an ivory tower resident that's for sure, but to some sense of logic these jobs pay little because they are general duties that can be done by anyone (fast enough).

If they are specialist jobs (where it goes without saying that special skills and talents are needed) then I would condemn the situation along with you more.

I think in the US their demand for academic qualifications for multi-tasking jobs like these is not as high as in your country it seems.

Gone are the 90s (up till the early 00s) where a person is only given a single task for about the same wages as now. And gone are the 60s or 70s where the elderly men were hired for simple clerical positions or as elevator operators. When you look at these changing trends in employment in recent decades it seems rather, inevitable? It seems like a phase we all have to face, even though admittedly it is a cruel one.

In the next couple of decades you'll see robots and machines handling these multi-tasking jobs. What would you be able to say about that?

I should predict, especially if the Rfid chip program has not been implemented by then there would be a second Industrial Revolution.

Yeah, that's probably true. That doesn't mean that we can't change things around to make sure there's accountability in Parliament, to ensure that policies and legislation passed will be more favourable to those who have been left out in the globalisation transition, and the spark- and doom- that comes with it.

DearestGodlikeWarlord

Yeah, that's probably true. That doesn't mean that we can't change things around to make sure there's accountability in Parliament, to ensure that policies and legislation passed will be more favourable to those who have been left out in the globalisation transition, and the spark- and doom- that comes with it.

What has this got to do with accountability in any sense?

pia

- Deduct CPF $200
- mobile min $50
- transport $150

She will have to live with her parent money/support, no need pay rent/electricity/bill.................
Talk like a bitch.

Well, we have to conclude she doesn't score very high on IQ when she wasted her parents' money on a UNi education when a "O" level cert will suffice.

DearestGodlikeWarlord

- Deduct CPF $200
- mobile min $50
- transport $150

Talk like a bitch.

I have an acquaintance from your country - he is a middle-aged Malay man, plump and cheery (a pleasure to speak with) and he makes about, 800 in your currency per month, and he has a wife and three kids, and they still get by?

So what makes you feel she has to be a "bitch"?

DearestGodlikeWarlord

Well, we have to conclude she doesn't score very high on IQ when she wasted her parents' money on a UNi education when a "O" level cert will suffice.

Not true. You mean you are so sure she is very happy saying that? Who could predict she'll get the same despite having a college degree? You?

Also, she is positive and is making the best of her circumstances. She even took up a certificate in hotel management when she couldn't find a job with her degree. This is something not many of you people would fathom doing.

Her spirit all in all is admirable really. She doesn't JUST whine and do nothing at home, asking herself everyday why the world is so unfair and all that. She ACTS.