• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

NS RT should be scrapped

A

Alu862

IPPT is bad enough. Even if NS fails their IPPT, it shows that they have at least attempted. There's no need to punish them with further exercise training.

BlueCat

when it was just introduced,it was 7 days and was at those camps in the main island.
normally those camps where the whole batch just ROD.
i was at Ang Mo Quee Camp,one of the first batch.
later,they changed to Tekong,"oversea" also 7 days.
i was also there.
and then they found that,it was no use,no improvement and still have to pay us - make-up claims.
so change to the present system at those Fitness Centre - Maju Camp and Khatib Camp.
i was also there,after awhile,goto to Specialist and get an permanent excuse.
it is a waste of time.
did not manage to pass a single IPPT test,after going for so long.

jbsmith

when it was just introduced,it was 7 days and was at those camps in the main island.
normally those camps where the whole batch just ROD.
i was at Ang Mo Quee Camp,one of the first batch.
later,they changed to Tekong,"oversea" also 7 days.
i was also there.
and then they found that,it was no use,no improvement and still have to pay us - make-up claims.
so change to the present system at those Fitness Centre - Maju Camp and Khatib Camp.
i was also there,after awhile,goto to Specialist and get an permanent excuse.
it is a waste of time.
did not manage to pass a single IPPT test,after going for so long.

Last time, more of tekaning than training you up.

hughgrant

i think the army also want to scrape RT.
they spending a lot of $ paying NSmen to do RT.
i actually knoe people who go RT just to get the money.

madmansg

Stupid NS slaves deserve RT and reservist as they support NS for 2 years. Naturally the country think NS slaves too stupid to protest about RT and I agree.

Maybe gov. should do a poll/voting for NS whether to abolish NS or not like the election style but only male age between 16 to 35 allow to vote.

no_faith

RT nowadays consider quite okay.
sumhw i have to disagree.
the time of the RT. if im not wrong, every wk, there is 1 wkday and 1 wkend.

imgaine you hold a job but every wk u have to leave early juz for RT. where ppl still have to work till knock off time.
how abt ur work? have to cut short.
u may say aiya, once per wk leave early ma, not a huge prob but to a boss thoughts, it is a big prob.

once my ex boss tells me why always have tis prob? have to leave early, then ur work hw? how come u cant pass?

dun tell me go train la, tok is easy, as a operation, ur hours are irregular. knock off sumtimes also quite late, go home eat dinner like eatting supper.

RT shd be scrapped.
ppl oreadi make the effort to go for IPPT rite? why still torturing us?
for a average income earner, u wans a job so much, support the family.
but all these shit haunting u and cost u to lose ur job, in the end who suffer, u n ur family.

u tink SAF n garmen will care???:mad:

popdod

Yah man...RT and reservist is a waste of time.
and a sabotage to a man's career.

Every year di di call up for reservist..for fark?
and still have to attend RTs...

Boss see liao oso no happy....kaki oso paiseh had to go early...
No wonder..Jobs for Fts, NS for singaporeans....

:o :rolleyes: :o

Since I've never failed IPPT before, I'm not familiar with the RT system. If someone keeps failing IPPT, how? Keeps going to RT forever? Don't need to work?

A

Alu862

Yes, it is a waste of time. Wasting the manpower of the instructors and the clerks who could be used for more efficient jobs. I suggest that the incentives system should be increased so that even those who attempt IPPT at least once get a small cash amount. This would also reduce the number of defaulters and save manpower--no use having S1s calling NSmen to be chared for IPPT.

sponge05

Since I've never failed IPPT before, I'm not familiar with the RT system. If someone keeps failing IPPT, how? Keeps going to RT forever? Don't need to work?

We need to attempt at least once or pass the IPPT within the 1 yr cycle. So if fail, RT must be done for this failed cycle. There will be a IPPT test at the end of the Phase 1 and 2 tests during Phase 2. If you pass this IPPT test, you will be considered to have cleared RT and pass your IPPT for your current cycle. However if you failed all 3 IPPT test, you will still have to attempt at least one more IPPT before your current cycle ends.

airforce ns men is the best..

my unit fail ippt dun need go rt.. what i mean is they will send us saf100 to go rt.. but u can just ignore it n nothing will happen to u..

and not just for 1 year ok.. u can do it for the entire 10 years ict cycle..:biggrin:

Microsoft

RT shd not b scrap... We nid 2 keep fit...

Li Jia Wei 4 yrs then use 1 time... Bery par sung...

So... y not get Li Jia Wei to gib us ping pong lesson? Can keep us fit at the same time make full use of FT?? :biggrin::p

sponge05

airforce ns men is the best..

my unit fail ippt dun need go rt.. what i mean is they will send us saf100 to go rt.. but u can just ignore it n nothing will happen to u..

and not just for 1 year ok.. u can do it for the entire 10 years ict cycle..:biggrin:

You are a lucky & happy man bro.

Alot will also depend on the unit itself, some are more relaxed over such stuff. I have deferred my RT a couple of times becos of work commitments and my unit never ask me or arrange for another RT session for me. They just reminded me to at least attempt a IPPT for the current cycle.