• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

'No win, no fee' lawyer's bill: $1.6m

apogee

Employee work for the company as that they are being paid. You moron. They are NOT the customer of the company. They should have the same vested interest.

A client is a customer of the snake lawyers. They are supposed to pay less and get more in return. Don't you think that should be the case if you are a customer going to buy some service for yourself!

Surely, you jest, Smartass. A lawyer is employed by his clients. If he is worth his salt, you are not going to get his services cheap. Those who sell their services cheap are not worth employing - you might as well employ a monkey.

ray_of_hope

Champerty should be allowed for some cases, such as Internet defamation. As it stands, now for some Internet defamation cases the plaintive can get awarded damages of just $5k but the judge or registrar says each party takes care of their own costs. The costs for the plaintive can run up to $20k if the case goes to court. If champerty is allowed then the lawyer for the plaintive can agree to waive his costs and only be paid a portion of the award of damages. If damages awarded are $5k then the lawyer can get 50% of that or $2.5k. Sounds like peanuts but there are lawyers out there who would do the legal work for such a sum especially if the case is very straightforward and involves merely a couple of letters of demand and 1 or 2 court filings.

tanakow

The law society probably wants to protect the welfare of the lawyers. Don't forget that the Law Society are all lawyers & they are therefore biased:wink:

It would also open a can of worms if lawyers are encouraged to go out & represent the poor "lesser mortals" against big businesses. Big business usually have links to elites. Can imagine all the funny business that would be uncovered:eek:

You got it spot on. The idea of not allowing contingency fee in Singapore is so that the poor do not anyhow trouble the judiciary.

tanakow

Maybe she happier with only A$299,999. Absurd and Retard.

Actually it is human nature. There was a study done where two colleagues A and B and A was given a bonus of $1M and B $500K. B was upset. But B was okay when both were given $250K.

KuanTi01

Champerty is common here. This lawyer is just unlucky. Injured foreign workers will tell you there is one law form based near the Sub Courts that covers your living expenses, settles your medical bills and even loan you money to send home if you agree to their 'deal'. They will make an assessment of likely damages to be paid before striking a deal with injured foreign workers. This law firm has branches in HDB estates too.

Haha! I guess there are no prizes for guessing which law firm you are referring to.

Dis Madam Ho damn boi swee...agree leow den eat her words...maybe its better she kena run over by another car again...n fight de case herself...:biggrin:

Agree madam Ho should knock down by car again this time paralyse whole body except brain and heart let her suffer.
Already agree and lawyer fight out hard for her still KPKB.

MKPKB

the ugly human nature.

Actually it is human nature. There was a study done where two colleagues A and B and A was given a bonus of $1M and B $500K. B was upset. But B was okay when both were given $250K.

wimpy. the ugly human nature. the same goes for the monkeys and their bananas story. heard of that?