• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

No More Free Bus Ride to Sentosa in Heartlands

MarrickG

20100910.094027_rws-shuttle.jpg

RESORTS World Sentosa (RWS) has stopped operating its free shuttle bus services between the heartland areas and the integrated resort.

The decision was made after a probe by the Government over concerns that a free shuttle service would encourage residents to gamble at the the casino.

The integrated resort said in a statement that it was "voluntarily withdrawing its shuttle services in the spirit of collaboration with the Singapore Government".

In addition, the Government, together with the Casino Regulatory Authority will take action to stop the free shuttle bus services provided by operators of the two integrated resorts between Housing Board heartlands and its casinos.

The free bus services from RWS will no longer be available to Bukit Merah, Queensway, Bedok, Choa Chu Kang, Bukit Panjang, Tampines, Jurong East, Bishan, Ang Mo Kio and Tiong Bahru from 11pm on Sunday.

On Thursday afternoon, there was still demand for the free shuttle.

RWS will continue to provide shuttle services within the central business district and Orchard Road, while the Marina Bay Sands integrated resort provides a shuttle service to and from the airport and hotels in the Marina Bay area.

Can Resort World Sentosa start any free bus rides without the permission of the authorities? Did LTA consult MYCS before approving the free shuttle service.

It is all a Charade....

My mom and aunt are very angry. They were planning to take free bus there tomorrow for casual leisure jalan-jalan. They have no intention of visiting the casino, give them free entry also they don't know how to gamble any game.

It's supposed to be IR, integrated resort with the casino taking 5% or less of the land area. They should allow free bus service to an alighting stop far from the casino. Removing this free service will hit retailers there even harder.

I agree that no shuttle service to the casinos should be provided.

Instead there should be shuttle services back to the heartlands for gamblers who have lost their cars/cab fares.

Gamblers who lost their fares back home should be shuttled to the nearest jetty to jump. This can prevent messy and massive inconvenience to public should they got back to the heartland and jump from HDB or at MRT.

garlic

The buses will be back after the Government put up a tender for the routes and receiving multi-millions bids for years of operation for the routes.... PAP flex their muscles to remind IRs they cant suka suka send buses here and there without paying..

For goodness sake, RWS have to seek approval from LTA before they can even implement the sguttle buses, have to pay for licences , use of space etc...it is not free.

As I have said, it is a charade....all they need is to ask ants till u c or SMRT or SBS transit to tender for the provision of the buses....must give business to 'brother'..you know!!

boring

Gamblers who lost their fares back home should be shuttled to the nearest jetty to jump. This can prevent messy and massive inconvenience to public should they got back to the heartland and jump from HDB or at MRT.

KNN MR know all, don't u know if they jump into sea will cause pollution to the sea?

wow so many losers taking free bus.
They cannot help it, gambling genes in their head. They cannot control.
even if there is a casino next door to my house, i will not bother enter it.
I went to las vegas twice, just to see the show and take photos, visited the casino to see, but not to gamble big. A few coins here and there in one arm bandit and some blackjack enough to burn some hours.

Lentor

wow so many losers taking free bus.
They cannot help it, gambling genes in their head. They cannot control.
even if there is a casino next door to my house, i will not bother enter it.
I went to las vegas twice, just to see the show and take photos, visited the casino to see, but not to gamble big. A few coins here and there in one arm bandit and some blackjack enough to burn some hours.

i am one of those loser taking the free rides. :smile:

Would it not be better for them to walk and hopefully, learn a lesson?

As I have said, it is a charade....all they need is to ask ants till u c or SMRT or SBS transit to tender for the provision of the buses....must give business to 'brother'..you know!!

Makes one wonder if the right hand knows what the left hand is doing :rolleyes:

All those pretty signs in the heartlands have gone to waste, at least until after the elections are over. :biggrin:

Then watch out the PAP will get more serious about increasing prices:eek:

csi88

I don't understand why untill now the government start to probe? This free shuttle had been in operation for quite some time.

Makes one wonder if the right hand knows what the left hand is doing :rolleyes:

All those pretty signs in the heartlands have gone to waste, at least until after the elections are over. :biggrin:

Then watch out the PAP will get more serious about increasing prices:eek:

Of course they right knows what they left hand is doing, both are stuffing money into the pockets...it is GREED at work.

:mad:

Of course they right knows what they left hand is doing, both are stuffing money into the pockets...it is GREED at work.

:mad:

Of course lah, we all know that the PAP is the party of greed.

All those price increases & these money making schemes to milk money from the people i.e free shuttle to the milking machines normally would have come after the elections. Now it;s like kanan pusing, kiri pusing, back track, about face, ...very confusing

The PAP under LHL is so blatantly greedier that I can say that miss the old days of LKY :eek: In those days there was no Ho Ching, Durai, Hairdo MPs, no shorty,..... :rolleyes:

silliporean

MBA + RWS is drowned by their own "success" not knowing that the Singapore Government is a conservative one, with all those buses going into the heartlands in will seem that the Casinos are pulling customers from those destination. Why dont they look at it at another angle, the busees (free) are conveniently bring tourist to the heartlands shops too, is this not what the STB is trying to do all the time?

Look at Macau, there are free bus services running throughout the entire Island, does that bring every macau citizen to the casino to gamble..no actually to work and tourist to their neighbourhood.

What scholars are lack of are balls and forsight and thank goodness for that if not all the SME eat grass..