• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat No Internet Access for Public Servants from May 2017

xpo2015

Re: Smart Nation, IDA - laughing stock of the World over Internet Closure

What is Amos Yee take on this?

Does it mean civil servants cannot watch his you tube videos anymore?

xpo2015

Thank God I dun work in the civil service!

Will they turn off their wifi when have realized is much easier to hack?

HTOLAS

Soon, they'll extend it to the rest of Singapore. They'll build a China-type intranet, 'PAPNet' perhaps. To extend their range, they'll sign MOUs with China, and DPRK, to form ControlNet.

Thank God I dun work in the civil service!

Will they turn off their wifi when have realized is much easier to hack?

Internet ban for Civil serpents, what is Gay Loong not telling us?

Ok, so Gay Loong is saying that there will be no more internet access for civil serpents due to security issues. Then in this article, he reveals that the Government internet system has been attacked by very sophisticated means. Ok, I get that. But my question is that all the attacks can be traced to one location. What is this location? Why does he not reveal where they are? For example when a US govt agency or large company suffers a cyber attack, it will reveal where is the source of the attack, whether its from China, Russia, Iran or even in some cases North Korea. So, why doesn't Gay Loong tell us where its from? He knows the answer. This is very suspicious to me. If the attacks originate from China, then what message does it send the China cyber terrorists when the PeeM himself is so balless that he dare not mention the attacking country. I would imagine, they would redouble their attacks.

YANGON: The move by the Infocomm Development Authority of Singapore to block Internet access on the work computers of public officers is workable, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said on Thursday (Jun 6).

He added that while it is no doubt “a nuisance”, “it’s inconvenient but it’s doable”.

Mr Lee said that he himself has tested the system from the beginning of the year - he currently uses two separate systems, one for official emails only and one for surfing the Internet.

The Prime Minister was speaking to reporters as he wrapped up his official visit to Myanmar. He said the Government had been thinking of the move for a while, and had put off the move for as long as possible.

However, the country has seen very sophisticated attacks on the Government's Internet system, and the threats have become even more severe, said Mr Lee, which is why the Government is making the move.

Mr Lee pointed out that despite the best precautions, critical data can be stolen. And because of the reliance on the Internet today, people can infiltrate Government systems to create havoc by wiping out or stealing official information.

The Prime Minister emphasised that the Singapore Government's computer system has experienced attacks, prompting them to take this issue very seriously.

He noted that so far, the “damage which has been done or the information which has been stolen has not been disastrous", adding that "we cannot be sure that that will not happen".

"In fact, we can be pretty sure that we have a big system, somewhere in there, something is not quite right, and somewhere in that part, somebody has discovered it and may well be taking advantage of it," Mr Lee said.

"So what do we do? If we make our system so secure, that it becomes a bother to use, the civil servants will either stop working or will find some way around it. If you leave your doors completely open, it’s very convenient, then you think everything is fine until one day something goes bump in the night, and then you have disaster," he added.

"So we got to find the right balance and we’ve got to calibrate that balance as we go along.”

While the scheme might have raised the ire of some civil servants, Mr Lee said that security and the safety of the system still comes first.

Said Mr Lee: "We’ve reached this point, we’ve decided to do it. Are we happy? I don’t think so because it will slow us down in terms of day to day productivity. But in terms of security, safety of our system, safety of our citizens and information concerning them, it’s absolutely necessary."

"Otherwise, one day you find all your NRIC numbers and addresses and income tax returns for sale on the Internet - one package 10 gigs, how will the Government explain?”

Mr Lee added that the scheme was nothing to do with "being liberal or not liberal".

"This is just being safe and secure and doing what’s necessary to be done," he said.

McDonaldsKid

Wouldn't a decision like this go all the way up to the Cabinet?

gatehousethetinkertailor

cough* cough* ahem

New Internet ruling for public service 'a nuisance', but necessary: PM Lee

YANGON — As “volunteer number one”, he has been working on two separate computer systems since the start of the year, revealed Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, as he addressed the outcry over the Government’s move to separate internet access from work computers, noting that the Government must make sure its systems are secure as cyber threats become more severe.
By Tan Weizhen -
1 hour 44 min ago

YANGON — As “volunteer number one”, he has been working on two separate computer systems since the start of the year, revealed Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, as he addressed the outcry over the Government’s move to separate internet access from work computers, noting that the Government must make sure its systems are secure as cyber threats become more severe.

The move was something the Government had been “thinking about for a while” and had “put off for as long as possible”, said Mr Lee, who was speaking to Singapore media in an interview wrapping up his official visit to Myanmar on Thursday (June 9).

Mr Lee said he had volunteered to be the first to try out this new way of working to keep out cyber intrusions as far as possible, with the Internet being a “wild wild west”. He was initially reluctant to do it, but his security team convinced him that it was a “serious” matter, he said.

On Wednesday, news broke that public service officers would not be able to access the internet from their work computers from next May. But they would still be able to surf the Internet on separate computers or mobile devices, either belonging to the individual or provided by their organisations.

Asked about the move, which has drawn criticism, Mr Lee said the culture is now one of being “completely dependent” on our IT systems and computers in the office. “We have to make sure that our system is secure. We can’t get infiltrated, data cannot be stolen, somebody can’t come in and wipe out your data or cause some other mischief,” said Mr Lee.

Despite the best precautions, intruders get in “because the intruders are very often one step smarter than you and you have to block everywhere…they just have to get in in one place and you may not know for a long time,” he said. Noting that threats have become “a lot more severe” in intensity and cleverness, this was something the Government must “take it very, very seriously”, he added.

Some ministries, such as the Ministry of Defence, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and some parts of Ministry of Home Affairs, have already been working based on two computers. “I think it’s a recognition that the internet is a wild wild west and we better know that. Otherwise, if you go out innocently thinking that all is fine, someday, something is going to happen to you. Quite likely something is happening to you and you don’t even know it,” Mr Lee warned.

He also stressed the need to find “the right balance”. “If we make our system so secure that it becomes a bother to you, then civil servants will either stop working or find some way around it,” he acknowledged, noting initially it was a nuisance. “So we’ve got to find the right balance and we’ve got to calibrate that balance as we go along.”

Calling the move “workable”, Mr Lee said: “It takes some getting used to, but you can do it. So what I have done, I have an email system, I set up another one, which is for internet browsing, and between the two you have what people call an air gap separation, meaning, this is one system, that’s one system. They don’t talk to each other. And hopefully no information can jump over from one side to another or from this side to that.”

http://www.todayonline.com/singapore/new-internet-ruling-public-service-nuisance-necessary-pm-lee

Clearly the revelation here shames/chides New Nation for misreporting and engaging in a blatant lie that sought to mislead without verifying facts - this spoof new site needs a timely reminder that a vicious lie is not an 'alternative angle and choosing to run an article that contained glaring misinformation that could have been easily searched and verified online is truly irresponsible:

PM Lee must stop Facebook postings during office hours once Internet cut off for public servants

Singaporeans from all walks of life, who believe in fairness and leading by example, are calling on Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong to stop posting updates on Facebook, especially after May 2017 when the Internet is cut off for public servants.

One Singaporean, Mian Bu, said this is so as it will set a precedent: “Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong is the foremost public servant in Singapore. His actions will set the example for the hundreds of thousands of public servants who would follow his cue.”

“It is of utmost importance that he does not post updates on his Facebook page during office hours as he should not have access to the Internet using government computers.”

“And even if he does post on Facebook using his own device, it would signal he is using his own Internet data to post, which is also not good, as he should not be social networking during office hours where he is compensated with taxpayers’ money.”

However, other Singaporeans said dictating how the prime minister should act during office hours is not a natural right of citizens.

Tou Piao, another local, said: “We need to put this issue up for a referendum.”

“The two choices are: ‘PM Lee must not post Facebook updates during office hours’ or ‘PM Lee must compensate taxpayers for posting Facebook updates during office hours’.”

“These two choices resemble the referendum asking citizens to decide if Singapore should merge with Malaysia, where there was no choice to vote against the merger.”

http://newnation.sg/2016/06/pm-lee-...rs-once-internet-cut-off-for-public-servants/

In the first place why some of these ministar even hv satellite tv access?

cough* cough* ahem

Some ministries, such as the Ministry of Defence, Ministry of Foreign Affairs and some parts of Ministry of Home Affairs, have already been working based on two computers.

Whoever is on 2 pc should b skinned alive. Where is min of fin? Caught sleeping? Using public money to surf net on extra unprotocoled undeclared assets?

gatehousethetinkertailor

I agree. My curiosity is piqued.

"A security breach of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MFA) IT system last year was one of the more serious and advanced attacks against the Government’s IT networks.

After it was detected, steps were taken immediately to isolate the affected devices, and security measures were implemented to strengthen the networks.

Information and Communications Minister Yaacob Ibrahim disclosed this yesterday in a written reply to Mr Zaqy Mohamad (Chua Chu Kang GRC), who had asked if there had been any cyber security incidents involving the Government’s IT systems."

http://www.todayonline.com/singapor...asures-taken-against-govt-system-breaches-csa

This was reported last year for an attacked that apparently occurred in 2014 - perhaps the ripple effects of the breach did take a while to full bite?

MFA’s IT system was breached last year, reveals Yaacob

SINGAPORE —
By Tan Weizhen -

PUBLISHED: 11:25 PM, MAY 11, 2015
UPDATED: 1:46 AM, MAY 12, 2015

May 12
SINGAPORE — With the Government’s IT network constantly under siege from cyber attacks, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs’ (MFA) IT system was breached last year in one of the more recent cases, Communications and Information Minister Yaacob Ibrahim revealed today (May 11) in a written Parliamentary response.

Responding to TODAY’s queries on the MFA system breach, the Cyber Security Agency (CSA), which was established by the Government last month, said that immediate steps were taken to “isolate the affected devices and appropriate security measures were implemented to further strengthen the network”.

MFA also brought forward plans to refresh its IT equipment as an added precautionary measure to ensure the integrity of its systems, the agency added.

CSA said it would not provide further details of the breach, as revealing the operational details could “affect the continuing effectiveness of our defensive measures”.

Chua Chu Kang GRC MP Zaqy Mohamad had filed a Parliamentary question on whether there have been any cyber security incidents involving IT systems belonging to the Government.

In his response, Dr Yaacob said the Government’s IT networks are probed “all the time”. He said: “While most of these attempts are unsophisticated, we have also detected serious and advanced attacks.”

Apart from MFA system breach, he cited how, in the lead up to the Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) 2009 meetings held here, there were “at least seven waves of malicious email attacks which targeted members of the APEC Organising Committee and APEC delegates from various countries”, Dr Yaacob said. The email attacks were mentioned in Parliament in March 2013, during the passage of the Computer Misuse and Cybersecurity Bill.

He added that Government agencies’ cyber security practices “cannot remain static but must adapt to new and emerging modus operandi of the attackers”.

Dr Yaacob said: “Due to the nature of their operations, some agencies are unfortunately highly attractive to potential cyber attackers, and they will need to do even more to defend and protect their networks.”

He reiterated that the Government takes cyber security very seriously. “The CSA with the Infocomm Development Authority ... to ensure a high level of vigilance over the security of our Government networks and readiness to respond rapidly and appropriately to any incident,” he said.

In a recent report, cyber security solutions company FireEye said that a hacking group called APT30 has been targeting countries in Asia, with Singapore cited as a likely, but unconfirmed, target. The report said that this group shows a high level of interest in targeting sensitive data, such as that housed on government networks.

TODAY understands that there is no concrete evidence that Singapore has been attacked or that the Singapore Government was a target of APT30. In 2011, the Government launched the S$1.3 billion Standard Operating environment (SOE) system which enabled public officers to work seamlessly within and across organisational boundaries.

Mr Anthony Lim, a cybersecurity expert at ISC2, a not-for-profit association for information security professionals, said that while a standardised system improves operational efficiency, it increases the vulnerability to cyber attacks. “There is a risk that hackers, having found a possible issue with one area, might try to find the same issue in another area, and get lucky,” he said.

Mr Lim said that the breach that happened in MFA could be due to the age of a software or the equipment, such as servers or networks, which contain certain vulnerabilities. He added that organisations need to invest in cyber security and constantly keep up their protection against potential threats. “Hackers are always trying to find new ways to attack,” he said.

banning internet is no enuff! ...

dey shud oso ban usb ports, cd drives, etc ...

who noes sum idiot may download a file in2 his thumb drive n connect 2 his wok computerz usd port ...

Re: Internet ban for Civil serpents, what is Gay Loong not telling us?

Ok, so Gay Loong is saying that there will be no more internet access for civil serpents due to security issues. Then in this article, he reveals that the Government internet system has been attacked by very sophisticated means. Ok, I get that. But my question is that all the attacks can be traced to one location. What is this location? Why does he not reveal where they are? For example when a US govt agency or large company suffers a cyber attack, it will reveal where is the source of the attack, whether its from China, Russia, Iran or even in some cases North Korea. So, why doesn't Gay Loong tell us where its from? He knows the answer. This is very suspicious to me. If the attacks originate from China, then what message does it send the China cyber terrorists when the PeeM himself is so balless that he dare not mention the attacking country. I would imagine, they would redouble their attacks.

When they encounter a problem, the pappy way is to ban, harrass, sue, fine or jail. They are incapable of real problem solving and this is also reflected in the scholars they produce.

Gallego99

Efficiency n productivity expected to fall and the cost of government services will rise. Talk about swatting a fly with a sledgehammer. Sheesh!

Boliao

All they need is a proxy solution from ANTLabs. Pure stupidity, if they are worried about malware, why not disable all interface (USB, drives, etc). Better still, just all go back to paperwork and remove workstation from their office.

Right now, North Korean government officials has more access to the Internet than they do.

Bigfuck

When they encounter a problem, the pappy way is to ban, harrass, sue, fine or jail. They are incapable of real problem solving and this is also reflected in the scholars they produce.
It is important to lock every computer port. Software and engineers cost money. Sledge hammer the PCs and use paper and pen with abacus. Human brain has a 100 billion neurons. The fact that our civil servants use the computer so much means they are not using their brains. Destroy all computers and internet in the government.

You are highly likely to be correct. The Civil Service is not known to be pre-emptive. It has always been reactive.

A 'bomb' is likely to have exploded. It must be so damaging and/or embarrassing that no one is talking about this in the civil service. I am sure the respective Perm Secs and their key officers were consulted along the way.

To prevent further embarrassment, drastic measures had to be taken. Knowing Peter Ong, he won't want to take any risks. Banning access to the internet has to be the best option.

they peed in their pants when small boi threatened them

why gay loong so paranoid?did someone guess the password to his flickr account and found the stash of midget gay porn?

banning internet is no enuff! ...

dey shud oso ban usb ports, cd drives, etc ...

who noes sum idiot may download a file in2 his thumb drive n connect 2 his wok computerz usd port ...

hudud and tudung will be worn by all serbil serpent next week, please wash your storm trooper undies and sanitize your SK-II mask.

gsfosnis

The real security threats are the FTs working within these organization.
It's easier to hack within than via the internet
No amount of security measures can counter the threats from these FTs working from within
Some do it out of greed, some are patriotic, others are professional spies in disguise
Terabytes of Singapore gov's sensitive and classified documents are already in the hands of these foreign governments

Only an idiot like LHL would think that there are no spies and espionage going on with these FTs.

xpo2015

Why Ah Loong so scared of data leaks?

Angmo garmen dun really cares.

Dun tell me he got skeletons in his closet?