• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Moving to China for good

ahbengsong

Anyone for Xiamen & neighbouring city Quanzhou Fujian province? NOT Guangzhou hah. Quanzhou is further up north also in Fujian province from Xiamen, its about 2 hrs or less away by car travel. Also Minnan speaking or Hokkien. But the proper name for Hokkien dialect in China & Taiwan is Minnan dialect. Hokkien is the name of province lah don't know why in Spore, they corrupted it & called it the dialect!

You are right... also try zhangzhou... an hour by bus from xiamen...

Non_Elite

Non Elite,

Do NOT agree with you on the QA QC after the Olympics. PRCs will not have any sense of what is a good quality product like the Japs. The best PRC R&D scientists still prefer USA, Europe & yes even Japan. The continued efforts of China to lure back its best scientists is at best a flop. Its not just money, its about soft power like peer influence; eg how many Nobel prize winners in physics, chemistry, medicine can you find in China? Zero right! If those Chinese scientists had not migrated to USA before Communism fell in the 1945, they probably would not have won numerous Nobel prizes in their adopted country of USA!

R&D in China will always remain as Replicate & Duplicate. Why? Simple, CORRUPTION. Central govt can say stamp out corruption, but there are so many Corrupt state & county officials where the long arm of the law cannot reach becos the long arm is chopped by so many corrupted officials along the way.

We can argue until the cows come home. Let's have a small bet and check back here a decade later...:smile:

In the 70s, people thought the Japanese were shoddy. Then came the Tokyo Olympics.

In the 80s, people thought the Koreans were shoddy. Then came the Seoul Olympics.

Beijing Olympics has just come and gone. Did you see the opening ceremony?

China is damn big. You may get general corruption but out of this massive
population, surely you will find gems? Out of the many industries, surely
there are law-abiding ones? Out of the many corrupt officials, surely you will
find upright ones? Out of the many research institutions, surely there will be
some breakthrough ones?

The difference between China and here is that they are damn big. That few
gems you find here and there can be quite a few in absolute numbers and
become a gathering force in a matter of time.

We can discuss theories all day. If you have worked with them in China for a
while, you will know that this sleeping dragon will roar again in a matter of
time soon.

Non_Elite

I share his views. He is correct. SINGAPORE won't make it in 30-40 years time. If not why Singapore build CASINO. Singapore is constantly fighting for SURVIVAL. PAP and Government only talk COCK. You have no fxxking idea how good the government lifestyle is while Singaporean have to fight for a living. Only big countries with power and resource has the forsight. They can take 3-4 steps ahead while Singaporean take only 1-2 step ahead.

Or if you want go travel out of SINGAPORE SHORES and see the world's perspective views and you will come to realise it. GO OUT OF SINGAPORE and see the world. You can backpack or whatever. Don't have to spend so much. backpacking is enough. Most important is learn other countries first before you can think and say here.

TRUST ME. Please go visit China and their culture will give you some insight. I can feel what Non_Elite has just said. At last he is willing to share what he knows.

Enough of my ramblings. ^_^

When you are young, grab any opportunity to work abroad.

Why worry about hardship allowance? Why wait before a certain country
become popular in the news? Why wait till the government exhort you to go
anywhere? Why wait for your friends to agree?

Bruce Lee said the best form of martial art is no form. Flow like the water.

The S'porean life has been centred around what the PAP has planned for you.
KK hospital. PAP kindergarten. PSLE. GCE. NS. NUS. SDU.

When are S'poreans going to realise that the PAP form of martial arts may
not be the best form? Why don't you find out your own form of life by seeing,
experiencing, trying and testing out more things in life other than just
Singapore?

You may find your own life elsewhere. Run a ostrich farm in Malaysia.
Manage a tourist camel ride in Dubai. Market a holiday home in Xiamen.
Work in a dive shop in Phuket.

You can find your own form of 'martial arts' outside of S'pore. But without
giving yourself a chance to work, live, experience or even fail elsewhere, you
will forever be stuck in a fixed set of martial arts pattern that has been
carefully orchestrated by PAP - good to look at in a dojo but fail to work in a
real-life fight!

lsalsa

When you are young, grab any opportunity to work abroad.

Why worry about hardship allowance? Why wait before a certain country
become popular in the news? Why wait till the government exhort you to go
anywhere? Why wait for your friends to agree?

Bruce Lee said the best form of martial art is no form. Flow like the water.

The S'porean life has been centred around what the PAP has planned for you.
KK hospital. PAP kindergarten. PSLE. GCE. NS. NUS. SDU.

When are S'poreans going to realise that the PAP form of martial arts may
not be the best form? Why don't you find out your own form of life by seeing,
experiencing, trying and testing out more things in life other than just
Singapore?

You may find your own life elsewhere. Run a ostrich farm in Malaysia.
Manage a tourist camel ride in Dubai. Market a holiday home in Xiamen.
Work in a dive shop in Phuket.

You can find your own form of 'martial arts' outside of S'pore. But without
giving yourself a chance to work, live, experience or even fail elsewhere, you
will forever be stuck in a fixed set of martial arts pattern that has been
carefully orchestrated by PAP - good to look at in a dojo but fail to work in a
real-life fight!

True indeed. I really understand and get what you mean. But as you stated "Run a ostrich farm in Malaysia". That one I thought of that before when I was in my undergraduate years in college. But to purchase a Malaysia land need to go through Malaysia government or a landowner who is willing to sell. Not easy as you think.

I do not have reliable source from Malaysia so I can't say much. What is more Malaysia country system is corrupt. But it might be considered in a good way. LOL!!

^_^

* The world will not be here without your thoughts - ohiit.com *

Non_Elite

True indeed. I really understand and get what you mean. But as you stated "Run a ostrich farm in Malaysia". That one I thought of that before when I was in my undergraduate years in college. But to purchase a Malaysia land need to go through Malaysia government or a landowner who is willing to sell. Not easy as you think.

I do not have reliable source from Malaysia so I can't say much. What is more Malaysia country system is corrupt. But it might be considered in a good way. LOL!!

^_^

Hi Isalsa:

What I am trying to say is that Singaporeans should find their own life - not
what the PAP has 'planned' for them.

In your case, you had the brains and guts to check out a ostrich farm. You
were already going against convention. The fact that you found out more and
realise it was not feasible showed that you had your own mind.

Truely, you were finding your own form.

travelbug

Don't worry lah, have worked with PRCs. Know their attitude so well, sweep things under carpet whenever they commit mistakes, don't want to admit it. I so HATE the give me face mentality of these Cheena types. You don't improve until you know what u have done wrong.

Yes, can check back in 10 years time on quality of China products. 10 years ago it was bad, fast forward to present its still bad.

Give me Thailand any time lah. China has no creativity whatsoever. When u go Thailand's Chatuchak market you see the ingenuity & creativity of their creations in product design. Even Bangkok's shopping mall toilets have unique design. I don't see it in China.

I am NOT a China fan. But before u brand me as someone who does NOT know how China progresses, yes I do know they have overtaken & surpassed Spore sometime in the year 2000, I knew Spore was dead for good! I knew it then & there when I first visited China on a working trip.

I just CANNOT tahan PRCs social behaviour & work attitudes. Still NO changes.

Compare it to Taiwan, their social behaviour is leaps & bounds above that of any so called civilized PRC living in cosmopolitan Shanghai or Beijing. Even the farmer in Taiwan has better manners & social behaviour than an office city salaried man or woman from Shanghai or Beijing!!

So back to ideal retirement grounds Thailand or Taiwan. Anywhere outside Taipei to the south of Taiwan or west of Taiwan is much cheaper than Taipei. For Thailand, its the cooler northern Thailand.

travelbug

You are right. Lots of people know Spore will NOT survive. Baby bonus scheme will NOT work again. That's why I advocated Spore merging with Msia. Though I hate Old Fart Harry Lee KY, I think he is right on this point of merger. Of course when he advocated that in the late 1990s, Mahatir shouted bogeyman! So end of story of merger.

I know most people want to shout down Malaysia merger cos its a Malay majority country. But my contention has always been if the Malaysian Chinese can finds ways to live with the majority Malays, then we Sporeans should be able to.

No don't shout it down. Be receptive, I'll rather we merge with Malaysia, the sooner the better. Bitter pill to swallow yes otherwise we are gone for good.

ahbengsong

Xiamen and its surrounding cities are emerging as an attractive places for retirees.... even shanghainese are snapping up properties in xiamen... last year, one rich shanghai lady snatch up a row of shophouses in xiamen, renovate the place and turn it into a row of metropolitan shops....

Life is good in xiamen... life is good in china.... :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Wife, kids and friendly village clans.... family life is the bestest...

Non_Elite

Don't worry lah, have worked with PRCs. Know their attitude so well, sweep things under carpet whenever they commit mistakes, don't want to admit it. I so HATE the give me face mentality of these Cheena types. You don't improve until you know what u have done wrong.

Yes, can check back in 10 years time on quality of China products. 10 years ago it was bad, fast forward to present its still bad.

Give me Thailand any time lah. China has no creativity whatsoever. When u go Thailand's Chatuchak market you see the ingenuity & creativity of their creations in product design. Even Bangkok's shopping mall toilets have unique design. I don't see it in China.

I am NOT a China fan. But before u brand me as someone who does NOT know how China progresses, yes I do know they have overtaken & surpassed Spore sometime in the year 2000, I knew Spore was dead for good! I knew it then & there when I first visited China on a working trip.

I just CANNOT tahan PRCs social behaviour & work attitudes. Still NO changes.

Compare it to Taiwan, their social behaviour is leaps & bounds above that of any so called civilized PRC living in cosmopolitan Shanghai or Beijing. Even the farmer in Taiwan has better manners & social behaviour than an office city salaried man or woman from Shanghai or Beijing!!

So back to ideal retirement grounds Thailand or Taiwan. Anywhere outside Taipei to the south of Taiwan or west of Taiwan is much cheaper than Taipei. For Thailand, its the cooler northern Thailand.

We've all work with our share of coarse, irritating and unethical Chinese.
Anyone or everyone who have ever work in China would have come across
them - directly or indirectly.

Have you also work with your share of younger Chinese? Bright,
highly-intelligent, ambitious, hard-working, efficient, honest and fore-sighted.
Some of them can put a lot of our local youth to shame.

The new generation will conquer poor quality and corruption in a matter of
time.

What I worry more is the new tide of ultra-nationalism sweeping China. Try
to go into a debate with a mainland Chinese into the negative aspect of
China. A normally calm and fair Chinese can become a flag-waving, fiery-eye
and ultra-protective of a new China that can do no wrong!

Talk to any mainland Chinese in Singapore. After one or two weeks of natural
curiosity, you'll notice that they'll start comparing with mainland China and
insist that a lot of things are better back home.

There's no wrong in national pride. However, national pride that goes to the
extreme in which one's own country can do no wrong can become dangerous.

Non_Elite

Xiamen and its surrounding cities are emerging as an attractive places for retirees.... even shanghainese are snapping up properties in xiamen... last year, one rich shanghai lady snatch up a row of shophouses in xiamen, renovate the place and turn it into a row of metropolitan shops....

Life is good in xiamen... life is good in china.... :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Wife, kids and friendly village clans.... family life is the bestest...

Hi ABS:

You keep telling us life is good in Xiamen. Why don't you tell us more? What
about the place you bought? Tell us why you chose that place and how much
is it? How can the rest of S'poreans share the cake?

How about medical care? How can S'poreans arrange housing loans? There is
a UOB bank in Xiamen - is it linked to the local UOB? How can S'poreans take
up part-time or full-time jobs? What can we do to spend a meaningful
retirement? How about S'poreans who don't speak Chinese - are they suitable
to retire in Xiamen?

Share with us the details and maybe more people can join you in the good life.

michaelrocksam

I share his views. He is correct. SINGAPORE won't make it in 30-40 years time. If not why Singapore build CASINO. Singapore is constantly fighting for SURVIVAL. PAP and Government only talk COCK. You have no fxxking idea how good the government lifestyle is while Singaporean have to fight for a living. Only big countries with power and resource has the forsight. They can take 3-4 steps ahead while Singaporean take only 1-2 step ahead.

Or if you want go travel out of SINGAPORE SHORES and see the world's perspective views and you will come to realise it. GO OUT OF SINGAPORE and see the world. You can backpack or whatever. Don't have to spend so much. backpacking is enough. Most important is learn other countries first before you can think and say here.

TRUST ME. Please go visit China and their culture will give you some insight. I can feel what Non_Elite has just said. At last he is willing to share what he knows.

Enough of my ramblings. ^_^

you are right, we are still a little red dot.

and the fact is that a lot of singaporeans still dun realise it. Dun compare ourselves with neighbouring countries, they are still clouded with corruption, self interest, racial nationalistic ideas, etc..

Its sad for the fact many here are still having the illusions that we are the best, and always criticise others. Recent surveys hows SPG is most of the most hated country.

ahbengsong

Hi ABS:

You keep telling us life is good in Xiamen. Why don't you tell us more? What
about the place you bought? Tell us why you chose that place and how much
is it? How can the rest of S'poreans share the cake?
How about medical care? How can S'poreans arrange housing loans? There is
a UOB bank in Xiamen - is it linked to the local UOB? How can S'poreans take
up part-time or full-time jobs? What can we do to spend a meaningful
retirement? How about S'poreans who don't speak Chinese - are they suitable
to retire in Xiamen?
Share with us the details and maybe more people can join you in the good life.

Xiamen is safe.... and neighboring cities are bristling with life... good food in quanzhou... rapids in zhangzhou and many others.... its too late to buy a property in xiamen today as prices have gone up many folds... only rentals are still affordable in sgp standards....

Medical care is cheap at the established govt hospital... a typical treatment with antibiotics, cough syrup and panadol with multi-vit costs RMB72 (about SGD14).... go to the smaller private clinics and its even cheaper at RMB35...

Xiamen has specialised hospitals... eg one for liver ailments.. one for heart.. one for diabetics and so on...

Housing loan is 50% cash.. rest can arrange loans.. forget about UOB.. borrow from local big 4... BoC, Construction Bank, ICBC, Agri Bank...

There are few industries in Xiamen so those without income can forget about it... and hokkien is commonly spoken in Xiamen...

QQQ

Xiamen is safe.... and neighboring cities are bristling with life... good food in quanzhou... rapids in zhangzhou and many others.... its too late to buy a property in xiamen today as prices have gone up many folds... only rentals are still affordable in sgp standards....

Medical care is cheap at the established govt hospital... a typical treatment with antibiotics, cough syrup and panadol with multi-vit costs RMB72 (about SGD14).... go to the smaller private clinics and its even cheaper at RMB35...

Xiamen has specialised hospitals... eg one for liver ailments.. one for heart.. one for diabetics and so on...

Housing loan is 50% cash.. rest can arrange loans.. forget about UOB.. borrow from local big 4... BoC, Construction Bank, ICBC, Agri Bank...

There are few industries in Xiamen so those without income can forget about it... and hokkien is commonly spoken in Xiamen...

May I add:
Property price may be correcting down now but you cannot see significant change till 2009. Some developers in nanjing go back to pig farming recently.

But if you have someone 中国户口 you can trust, you can buy 农民房 which can go for Rmb20-80k. Some of these 农民房 are quite nice with security, carpark and small park.

Locals can get loan of 70% and if you know someone perhaps 80%. Foreigner gets 50% but can be 60%.

Some taiwanese solve their lodging issue by buying 农家乐 farmstays and also get abit of income at the same time with minimal work. A 农家乐 can cost rmb150k-2mil depends on locations, stable income and fix assets. Not easy to get laons for this kind.

Does anyone here familiar with kunming?
Heard that it is really opening up to foreigner allowing foreign parties to hold up to 49% stake in their new airport. Other tourism assets also opening up.
Would be cool to stay in shangrila or 丽江。

lsalsa

Its sad for the fact many here are still having the illusions that we are the best, and always criticise others. Recent surveys hows SPG is most of the most hated country.

See this. Singaporen is brainwashed by the FUCKING PAPs. PAPs very good at cooking up stories and feed to Singaporeans mindset "BUT" only the best and widely read Singaporeans who have unrivalled experience out of Singapore shores will know what happen to Singapore in the future. If not why continue to keep up and challenge bigger countries.

Future holds no meaning in Singapore if Singapore continue to undo the rest. Singapore still a baby that takes steps by step until one day Singapore grows old. Who do Singapore look for? Land so scared how to build better and better. Take HDB down and build again. Time and resource so wasteful.

Like michaelrocksam said SG is a small red dot. Everyone (Singaporean or even government) might think SG can outdo other countries. Impossibly not means possible. LOL!! Wow impressive bold insight if anyone thinks like that. There are brutal truth out there and yet singaporean government don't wish to face the truth what is out there and continues to keep on fighting that Singapore is the world best international hub to live in.

Sadly to say that everyone who live in Singapore think that they are comfortable at their comfort zone but actually it is not. It is like a constant waves of ups and down. Look at the bigger picture. Nothing is unparalleled.

There are alot of things to take Singapore as your case study.

TeeKee

There is also a difference between been given nationality and citizenship. The Chinese have been known to grant nationality which acts like a permanent visa. No voting rights and all other privileges as a citizen.

yeah voting right is very important in a communist country...lol..

jastsen

ya, have this thought sometime back, think of going to china and stay there.it still much like sgp if don't mind those minor things