• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Missing Front Volume Of Condor Heroes

hokkienpeng

Jin Yong was never historical accurate.

Zhu Yuanzhang (White Lotus sect) became Ming sect and Quanzhen priest Qiu Chuji who died same year as Genghis Khan in 1227 was in The Return of the Condor Heroes story in 1267, 40 years later.

Of course he took liberties with the details. After all, he writes sword fighting novels. You can't compare him to historical novelists like Gao Yang. But "never" is an overstatement.

It is true that Qiu Chuji was invited to visit Genghis Khan. If you bother to read the footnotes in She Diao, Jin Yong explained the liberties he took with the Qiu Chuji character in his book and noted the difference between the character and the actual historical figure. Few writers of fiction would go to such length to inform and educate their readers.

The Ming Cult was based on both Manichaeism and the White Lotus Sect. Jin Yong explained this in the endnotes of Yi Tian too.

逍遥派掌门: 无崖子 a.k.a 逍遥子, his 北冥神功 is invicible leh

北冥神功
可以吸取他人的内力以供己用,是迅速提升功力的捷径。内力既厚,天下武功无不为我所用,犹如北冥,大舟小舟无不载,大鱼小鱼无不容。“北冥有鱼,其名为鲲,鲲之大,不知其几千里也……”,能够容纳几千里的大鱼必定是非常广阔的海洋,因而北冥神功正是寓含了广大恢宏之意,也体现了神功的威力。

coolguy

My lumber 1 Martial Arts master is Yun Fei Yang.
I still remember his Tian Can Shen Gong very solid,
can shoot silk from his body one.
He is from Wu Dang Shan, which founded by Zhang San Feng.

Talk about Shen Diao.
Nan Sheng got yiyangzhi
Xi Du got hama gong
Bei Gai got Xiang Long Shi Ba Zhang

Dong Xie got what har? his flute can kill huh?

hokkienpeng

My lumber 1 Martial Arts master is Yun Fei Yang.
I still remember his Tian Can Shen Gong very solid,
can shoot silk from his body one.
He is from Wu Dang Shan, which founded by Zhang San Feng.

Different universe. It's like comparing Spiderman and Darth Vader.

This thread is restricted to the world of Jin Yong's novels.

coolguy

Talk about Shen Diao.
Nan Sheng got yiyangzhi
Xi Du got hama gong
Bei Gai got Xiang Long Shi Ba Zhang

Dong Xie got what har? his flute can kill huh?

Watch it on 3pm Channel U and you will find the answer.
Now Dong Xie is protrayed by Wang Qiu Sheng(actor of Human Meat Char Siu bun):biggrin:

cowbellc

Talking about 天龙八部, apart from Qiaofeng, Xu Zhu and Duan Yu story. There's another side of the story involves Xu Zhu's 逍遥派.

逍遥子. 李沧海. 李秋水, 天山童姥 were mentioned in 天龙八部 also. So can 1 say 天龙八部 got 2 stories? :confused::confused:

there is no 李沧海. 天龙八部 main character is 段誉,eventually become 大理国emperor。 虚竹 become 西夏国驸马,萧峰 become 辽国 general, but commit suicide.

逍遥派 is a mysterious sect which aims to collect all martial arts, 逍遥子. 李秋水, 天山童姥 are 3 love-stricken lovers which leads to hated. in this novel, 逍遥派 martial arts is the most powerful and deadly.

天龙八部 martial arts empathize a lot on 内功 which can create wonders.
神仙般的武功。

there is no 李沧海. 天龙八部 main character is 段誉,eventually become 大理国emperor。 虚竹 become 西夏国驸马,萧峰 become 辽国 general, but commit suicide.

逍遥派 is a mysterious sect which aims to collect all martial arts, 逍遥子. 李秋水, 天山童姥 are 3 love-stricken lovers which leads to hated. in this novel, 逍遥派 martial arts is the most powerful and deadly.

天龙八部 martial arts empathize a lot on 内功 which can create wonders.
神仙般的武功。
李沧海 do exist lah, 1 guy, 3 women, 逍遥子 love 李沧海, 天山童姥 also love 李沧海, 3 women in love with 逍遥子

hokkienpeng

李沧海 do exist lah, 1 guy, 3 women, 逍遥子 love 李沧海, 天山童姥 also love 李沧海, 3 women in love with 逍遥子

I guess only in the TV version. In the novel she was just known as Li Qiu Shui's sister (or Wang Yuyan's grandmother) and not given a name. Of course Duan Yu, who's only seen her jade statue and her portrait in a painting, calls her Shen Xian Jie Jie.