• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Married, but no place of their own

<TABLE id=msgUN border=0 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - Married, but no place of their own </TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right>
icon.aspx
Subscribe </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt22 <NOBR>
icon.aspx
</NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>Sep-19 10:25 pm </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 16) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>21326.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD>Married, but no place of their own
</TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- headline one : end --></TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- show image if available --></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->
a9-2m.jpg

Mr Jayce Ng and his wife Jacelyn, both 30, live in separate homes as they wait for an affordable flat. -- ST PHOTO: ALPHONSUS CHERN
Each time after a movie or dinner date, married couple Jayce Ng and Jacelyn Yong return to separate homes.
He goes to his parents' apartment in Hume Avenue and she to Hougang.
The couple, who are both 30 and registered their marriage last year, have yet to find a home to call their own, priced out by the current property rally.
'I recently received a text message from an agent, who gave a listing of 10 Bukit Panjang flats, all asking for cash over valuation (COV) of between $40,000 and $50,000,' said Mr Ng, a process analyst. 'But we just can't fork out the cash.'
They have also participated in at least eight build-to-order (BTO) and half-yearly sale exercises, but to no avail.
Mr Ng admitted that two years ago, in their half-yearly sale attempt, they turned down a $400,000 five-room flat in Clementi, thinking the price was too high.
Their decision proved costly. A year later, the flat's valuation rose by $100,000. For the other seven exercises, they never got lucky.
'Each time our queue number would be past 1,000. We don't even get a chance to take a look or choose,' said Mr Ng. 'It gets a bit tiring.'
His hope now is to secure a four-room resale flat between $260,000 and $300,000. He does not mind the location or the floor level.
His problem is the high COV amount that owners are demanding. Together, the couple earn about $5,000 monthly.
'I want an affordable flat so in case one of us falls sick or loses a job, we'll still be able to pay for it,' he said. 'The fear of retrenchment is very real in the current market.'
His solution now is to live with his parents till an affordable flat comes along. The couple also plan to have children in three years' time.
Said Mr Ng: 'In the current market, genuine first-time home buyers like us are the most affected.'

[email protected]

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

hockbeng

<TABLE id=msgUN border=0 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - Married, but no place of their own </TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right>
icon.aspx
Subscribe </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt22 <NOBR>
icon.aspx
</NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>Sep-19 10:25 pm </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 16) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>21326.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD>Married, but no place of their own
</TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- headline one : end --></TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- show image if available --></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->
a9-2m.jpg

Mr Jayce Ng and his wife Jacelyn, both 30, live in separate homes as they wait for an affordable flat. -- ST PHOTO: ALPHONSUS CHERN
Each time after a movie or dinner date, married couple Jayce Ng and Jacelyn Yong return to separate homes.
He goes to his parents' apartment in Hume Avenue and she to Hougang.
The couple, who are both 30 and registered their marriage last year, have yet to find a home to call their own, priced out by the current property rally.
'I recently received a text message from an agent, who gave a listing of 10 Bukit Panjang flats, all asking for cash over valuation (COV) of between $40,000 and $50,000,' said Mr Ng, a process analyst. 'But we just can't fork out the cash.'
They have also participated in at least eight build-to-order (BTO) and half-yearly sale exercises, but to no avail.
Mr Ng admitted that two years ago, in their half-yearly sale attempt, they turned down a $400,000 five-room flat in Clementi, thinking the price was too high.
Their decision proved costly. A year later, the flat's valuation rose by $100,000. For the other seven exercises, they never got lucky.
'Each time our queue number would be past 1,000. We don't even get a chance to take a look or choose,' said Mr Ng. 'It gets a bit tiring.'
His hope now is to secure a four-room resale flat between $260,000 and $300,000. He does not mind the location or the floor level.
His problem is the high COV amount that owners are demanding. Together, the couple earn about $5,000 monthly.
'I want an affordable flat so in case one of us falls sick or loses a job, we'll still be able to pay for it,' he said. 'The fear of retrenchment is very real in the current market.'
His solution now is to live with his parents till an affordable flat comes along. The couple also plan to have children in three years' time.
Said Mr Ng: 'In the current market, genuine first-time home buyers like us are the most affected.'

[email protected]

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Vote more opposition. Then prices will come down.

gbomega

First time owner should not buy a resale flat if they are unable to, please wake up. They can get 3-room flat why must be 4-room? Anyway if you read all the newspapers reporting and reporting over certain issue, that means some new laws are in the pipeline of implementation...

Survivor

Government can limit the bank loan to not more 75% of the valuation of resaled 5 room flat or bigger. As more cash would be required to pay towards the loan, not many people would have enough cash left to pay for high COV of big flats. Those sellers insisting on high COV would be priced out of the market as buyer with that much cash would rather buy private properties.

For smaller 3 or 4 room flats, gradually increase the loan limit (4 room = 80% of loan, 3 room = 85% of laon etc). If sellers of these smaller flats still insists on high COV, buyers could simply buy bigger flats with the same amount of upfront cash as required by smaller flats.

This not only lowers the COV, it can also help to cool the hot HDB resale market, (maybe even the private properties will be affected too).

However, if you are buyer with little cash and still insisting on buying big flat, then this suggestion may not work for you. Besides it is not financially prudent to buy a property with 90% loan, you will kill yourself paying off the loan.

:p

1sickpuppy II

I am not backing PAP or HDB but I think this couple is Bullshitting. Correct me if I am wrong but recently I moved into my new HDB 4rm in Sembawang (15mins walk from MRT )for just 140k and there are still lots of empty units unsold. Then I visited some of my Mat friends this HRP in Jurong West and Seng Kang and guess what. There were some empty units too ( Mostly at the lower lvls ). So when people tell me they cannot find a place I wonder why?
FYI the Sembawang Flat that I got was a BTO too and I am a 2nd time buyer. I was the 2nd last batch to go choose my flat and there were lots of people that gave up their que hence I was lucky to get my choice unit :smile:

saf_ranger

what talking him.i am married in singapore i stay in singapore my wife stay in indonsia.and i cant affort a 3 room flat in singapore.he still want ot complain.lucky i can buy 2 house in indonisa

TeeKee

I am not backing PAP or HDB but I think this couple is Bullshitting. Correct me if I am wrong but recently I moved into my new HDB 4rm in Sembawang (15mins walk from MRT )for just 140k and there are still lots of empty units unsold. Then I visited some of my Mat friends this HRP in Jurong West and Seng Kang and guess what. There were some empty units too ( Mostly at the lower lvls ). So when people tell me they cannot find a place I wonder why?
FYI the Sembawang Flat that I got was a BTO too and I am a 2nd time buyer. I was the 2nd last batch to go choose my flat and there were lots of people that gave up their que hence I was lucky to get my choice unit :smile:

serious now the new 4 room HDB flat at punggol costs more than 200K. when was your price set?

if they have also participated in at least eight build-to-order (BTO) and half-yearly sale exercises, and still couldn't get a flat.

i think they are either.

1. picky.
2. somewhere is screw-up with HDB system.

1sickpuppy II

serious now the new 4 room HDB flat at punggol costs more than 200K. when was your price set?

if they have also participated in at least eight build-to-order (BTO) and half-yearly sale exercises, and still couldn't get a flat.

i think they are either.

1. picky.
2. somewhere is screw-up with HDB system.

Yah I know 1 of my co-workers was telling me that his new Punggol flats that he is choosing cost 230+k at least :(. Just 2yrs back around Apr. 2007 when I went down to put a selection fee for my 4rm Sembawang 98sqm the cost of those units were from 123k to 175k. They told me it won't be ready until 2010. Bloody hell at Jan 2009 got a letter from them telling me my house is ready for collection and just gave me a bit over 3 wks to go collect the keys:mad:

just like the USA property bubble and japan property bubble before that. PAP will suffer the sinkie bubble.

angry_one

doesn't matter if it's 2rm or exec apartment - if you want a good location sellers just want to ask for 5-figure COV.

by the way, there are many empty flats in newer estates all over sinkeepore- BUT HDB IS NOT SELLING THEM TO LIMIT SUPPLY AND KEEP PRICES UP! :mad:

Ten years ago, almost anyone who wants a new home can get one. HDB has systemically failed in their core mission to provide housing for people. :oIo:

the sea of rules and red tape is also extremely confusing. There's an income limit, then there's 1001 rules dictating how much subsidy you get, and who you can lend money from. I don't see why there can just be blanket rules governing ALL citizens. It's their right as taxpaying, NS-serving citizens after all!

Wang Ye

doesn't matter if it's 2rm or exec apartment - if you want a good location sellers just want to ask for 5-figure COV.

by the way, there are many empty flats in newer estates all over sinkeepore- BUT HDB IS NOT SELLING THEM TO LIMIT SUPPLY AND KEEP PRICES UP! :mad:

Ten years ago, almost anyone who wants a new home can get one. HDB has systemically failed in their core mission to provide housing for people. :oIo:

the sea of rules and red tape is also extremely confusing. There's an income limit, then there's 1001 rules dictating how much subsidy you get, and who you can lend money from. I don't see why there can just be blanket rules governing ALL citizens. It's their right as taxpaying, NS-serving citizens after all!

HDB was privatised to rob Singaporeans blind. Plus with that useless jerk in charge what can we expect? :mad: Only know how to talk big and yet cannot win any elections standing on his own.

molly

Can't they just buy a 3-room, if still cannot afford, buy a 2-room lor...

start small, if cannot afford..

Ohhhhh, boo hoo hoo, married couple got no place to stay together, boo hoo hoo.
If want to stay together but cannot manage it, why get married?