• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Malaysian Living In Singapore: Why I Will Never Want To Retire Here

Conqueror

merlion1.jpg

Malaysian Living In Singapore: Why I Will Never Want To Retire Here

I’m a Malaysian who has been living in Singapore for the past 13 years and I have to say that Alvin is right. I miss the laid-back easy life back home. But I chose to focus on my career and Singapore is the place to do it. If I want a lil Livin’ and some soulful action i just hop across the border. In SG i switch off. In Malaysia i switch on. It has worked well for me and i simply learn to enjoy the best of both worlds.

The thing I love about Singapore is the Safety factor. The thing I hate about Singapore is how they tend to blow things out of proportion esp about the crime rate. The crime rate in malaysia is the same as what you get in Sydney, New York and London. Singaporeans will pay thousands to fly there for holiday but squeal at the thought of driving across to JB. Seriously, if you keep reading Straits Times, then you will have been thoroughly brainswashed by the bullshit newspaper that scares the crap out of you about driving into Malaysia so that you will spend your money in SG and not in MY.

Both countries have their good and bad. However, I will NEVER want to retire in Singapore simply because I wont be able to afford it and I don’t think i want to be surrounded by concrete jungle when I’m in my 60′s and 70′s.

SPLITNIC

Is that so ? So, are we losing our happiness and our birds sanctuary.

stoker

There is nothing much to offer besides providing them the opportunity to earn higher salaries in Singapore. Furthermore, with the higher income earned in Singapore, they don't have much problem with coping with the cost of living back in Malaysia, unlike the case in Singapore. So it'd be hardly surprising to for them to not stay here for long.

My advice to ALL Sinkies who aren't members of the ruling elite is simply to :

1. Study hard.
2. Buy a pigeon hole
3. Make as much money as possible.
4. Cash out.

There's nothing stopping you from reaping the same benefits from the Singapore system as foreigners do. All it takes is a bit of planning.

whoami

There's nothing stopping you from reaping the same benefits from the Singapore system as foreigners do. All it takes is a bit of planning.

U are right Boss!

If u cant win em, joint em. Stay in JB, work in Spore. Tats one of many options, imo.

batman1

Singapore is a place for foreigners to earn as much money as possible .IT is NOT a place for retirement.U want retirement for your golden years,yes go to Malaysia or Thailand.

cannot blame those foreigner. most singaporean given a choice wouldn't want to retire here!

My point is that everyone has a choice Sinkies included. I'll say it again.. all it takes is a bit of forward planning.

Singapore is a good place for a weekend getaway for shopping and makan, and maybe for making a little money when you're young.

But retire in Singapore? Why would anyone who has a choice in the matter wants to do that?

What's there to look forward to as a retiree in Singapore? Golf? Karaoke? Taichi? Mahjong marathon sessions? Gambling at the casinos?
It's crowded, the pace of life is fast, and there are no great nature locations (no, the parks and Bukit Timah Nature Reserve are not great) to rest and relax.
All things considered, Singapore is a TERRIBLE place to retire. You want to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life, not get trapped within it.

Don't forget: you can't take out all your CPF. What's the point of staying?

lianbeng replies to splitnic: balek kampong lah! u r NOT welcome here!:mad:

Many non-elites have concluded that retiring in Spore is not an option.

I've seen senior citizens get confused with all the many changes in Spore. Moving around in a crowded Spore is a challenge with changing roads & bus routes. On the trains they have to compete with younger people commuters for seats. Even the simple act of paying bills is a problem. I've never seen an older person using the AXS machines to pay bills.

Many gov't services are being automated & you need the internet to function in Spore e.g. applying online for a passport. Those of us with a younger mindset don't have any problems but when you get older it's harder to adjust to anything new.

Even walking around can be a problem as they have to compete with cyclists sharing the same space.

Older Malaysians have the option to move to towns like Ipoh for a slower pace of life. Where can an older Sporean go:confused:

but when you get older it's harder to adjust to anything new.

The old are a burden to society so the govt is trying their level best to make their lives as stressful as possible so they'll keel over and die sooner rather than later.

I'm sure there are many waiting for a certain old leaf to up the lorry:wink:

numero uno

lianbeng replies to splitnic: balek kampong lah! u r NOT welcome here!:mad:

sour grapes. typical sinkie. at least he has the option to balek kampong. you would never have the option. only cow beh cow bu and balek pigeonhole. as much as I am a local, you have to face reality. Ha:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

nobody is stopping a singke from retiring in malaysia. you will be treated even better than malaysian under malaysian my second home programme. You get to bring in one tax free car (ay a Porsche for the rich ones), a maid, get long term PR, your family and all you need is to invest/bring in RM500k or something.
Don't stay in KL. Stay in coastal towns like kuala selangor, Muar, or batu pahat. even Pontian is damn good. forget about nusajaya as it is more expensive and caters to singkies.
get a house on stilts by the river (in case of floods) like the local fishermen. build a small jetty for your boat and if you get bored with the slow life (not likely as even in these small towns they have k-ok and pubs with china or local mei-meis), then it is only a two hour drive back to singkie from batu pahat and one hour from pontian.

sta1100

Truth, no point to retire here cost if leaving so Ex and our Gov is another blood sucker suck every drop from us.