• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Mah to Developers: U die your business..

<TABLE id=msgUN cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top> Coffeeshop Chit Chat - Mah to Developers: U die your business..</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right>
icon.aspx
Subscribe </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 border=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgF noWrap align=right width="1%">From: </TD><TD class=msgFname noWrap width="68%">kojakbt22 <NOBR>
icon.aspx
</NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate noWrap align=right width="30%">8:36 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT noWrap align=right width="1%" height=20>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname noWrap width="68%">ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (1 of 3) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%" rowSpan=4> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>3031.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>Govt will not implement measures to stimulate property sector
By Wong Siew Ying, Channel NewsAsia | Posted: 26 November 2008 2159 hrs
SINGAPORE : The Singapore government will not introduce measures to stimulate demand or prop up prices artificially in the property sector.

Speaking at an industry event on Wednesday, National Development Minister Mah Bow Tan said such efforts are not sustainable. However, the government will study suggestions by market players on how to help the property sector.

Developers are feeling the heat from the economic downturn, credit crunch and poor consumer confidence, and many new project launches have been shelved.

To boost property demand, some developers hope the government could relax some of its policies, such as reviving the Deferred Payment Scheme, reducing the development charge rate and introducing property tax exemptions.

But the national development minister said there are limits to what the government can and should do.

Mr Mah said: "We cannot dictate to banks that they should extend loans to companies or individuals with weak financial standing. Any measure seen to be knee-jerk or excessive might even weigh market sentiment down further.

"It is in our interest to ensure that the property prices move in line with economic fundamentals, as it affects home ownership, asset values, retirement savings and other sectors of the economy."

Mr Mah said the government will not hesitate to act if needed. It could roll out public sector projects which have been deferred to boost the industry when construction costs come down, and the pressure on manpower and building materials ease.

The deferred projects are worth some S$4.7 billion. They include the construction and upgrading of schools, civic and community institutions, as well as other public infrastructure.

Mr Mah said a number of major projects secured in past years will also create jobs and sustain capital spending in the economy.

Together, the real estate services and construction sectors accounted for about 9.6 per cent of overall GDP and 13 per cent of total employment in Singapore in 2007.

The Real Estate Developers' Association (REDAS) said market stability and restoring confidence are important in helping the sector weather the economic storm.

REDAS added that developers should take this opportunity to improve their products and get ready for the next upturn.

"Pricing alone does not lead to sales volume; sentiment and confidence leads to sales volume. A tripatite plan of action is needed between developers, financiers and the government through moderating new supply, shoring demand and introducing fiscal measures to help ease funding for the industry," said Simon Cheong, president of REDAS.

The association said it will work closely with the government to provide timely market feedback. Despite the tough times, REDAS also hopes developers will continue to drive sustainable development.
[email protected]

</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

theblackhole

some developers deserved to be screwed and their developments also deserved to be bankrupted. just look at the way they managed their projects. just look at the way they manage their foreign workers. knn! flood the whole place with garbages and unskilled fartup workers from everywhere littering the whole island! no standard workmanship. lousy performance. cheapskate painting.lousy walls and floor tiles. all the fartup developments all very poor worksmanship. what do yo expect when these foreign workers are all so stupid, so uneducated and so unskilled. you need 5 people to paint a room and yet the outcome is worse than one painter!!! you need 5 people to tile the floor and yet all the tiles pop up!!! the skill level is dismal. what sort of development is this!!!

you buy a unit and you have to get your own contractor to redo the whole unit!!!bloody knn developer!!! bloody cheat and cheapskate with cheapskake workers!!!

no wonder singaporeans are screwed everywhere and everytime!!!!

tigerboy18

Mah is d worse minister, as far as i m concern. i never like tat guy. he always 'por' d govt. if u hv followed all his bloody policies tat he has implemented u wl realised tat he has not done anything, n i mean NOTHING, for d benefit of d ppl in Spore. from d bloody money sucking ERP to taking away HDB loans (now each citizen is allowed only 2 times to borrow from HDB), which policy is for d benefit of d ppl of Spore??? he only cares abt making money for d govt so tat he is "useful" to d govt n so tat he can continue to enjoy his BIG FAT PAY!!!

i wish d opposition party can get a gd grip of themselves, consolidate their position n strength, n avoid a 3-party fight during election, so tat they can deliver a solid blow to tis blood-sucker mah n get him out of d political arena!

:mad:

theblackhole

opposition is dead duck here in singapore.just like at their pathetic performance.they're simply pathetic! how to fight any election. they come alive only during election time.what sort of opp mps we have now. so quiet.so subdued.so voiceless.just allow the allowances and stay mute all the time while the country's reserves are being drained right under their bloody noses. you call this opposition. shitman! we'e gone case liao!

2lanu

The white scum like him is the best. Good times developer bid high for the land, he got more bonus based on GDP performance. This is on top his million$ salary. Downturn, no bonus, but still keep million$ salary. No risk on their part.

Developer get the shorter deal. Whatever they earned last 2 years all cough out...

PJ Boy

opposition is dead duck here in singapore.just like at their pathetic performance.they're simply pathetic! how to fight any election. they come alive only during election time.what sort of opp mps we have now. so quiet.so subdued.so voiceless.just allow the allowances and stay mute all the time while the country's reserves are being drained right under their bloody noses. you call this opposition. shitman! we'e gone case liao!

The PAP also what.

PAP ministers and MPs seem to be around because they are doing their jobs for which they are very well paid and the media gives them the full spotlight.

Oppo members do not seem to be doing anything because the media never report everything the oppo members do.