• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Low Thia Khiang said LLL gave up the NCMP seat was because she respected the voters

congo9

Re: Low Thia Khiang said LLL gave up the NCMP seat was because she respected the vote

NCMP is a subtle scheme to wean Singaporean off the idea of a real opposition. Strangely, some Singaporean do not see there's need to have real opposition.

Sad but true.

NanoSpeed

Re: Low Thia Khiang said LLL gave up the NCMP seat was because she respected the vote

NCMP is a subtle scheme to wean Singaporean off the idea of a real opposition. Strangely, some Singaporean do not see there's need to have real opposition.

Sad but true.

Not some Singaporeans; majority or 69.9% to be precise.

Btw, if they were to raise NCMP salary to $16,000 to be on par with elected MP, would LLL still stick by her guns and respect the wishes of majority of PE voters?

steffychun

Ting ru not good enough for NCMP?

Onitsuka

cobblers..

why did they push for that loser Daniel boy then and who was the incumbent in PE before the result?

You don't understand, do you ?

Unlike LLL, the tiko Professor is a challenger.

When you have been a REAL MP for a term or less, and on the subsequent election you are being voted out, it means the electorate in that constituency have experienced your performance as a REAL MP, and when the majority reject you, it means they don't want you anymore, whether as MP or NCMP.

If the incumbent voted in or out, it's an actual appraisal from the electorate. If the challenger is NOT voted in, it's not tantamount to an appraisal because the challenger has yet to be given the chance for perform the role of a real MP in order for the electorate to give an appraisal.

Whether you agree with the rationale put forth by LTK is one thing. But at least understand the rationale before you shoot.

It's precisely because the incumbent in PE in LLL that she now wants OUT and doesn't want to accept the NCMP role. It's precisely because the teeko Professor is a mere challenger that he should be given a chance.

Bad New Brown

Only fools like LTK continue to harass the PAP in Parliament like they have a mandate from heaven to do so.

LTK will get his retribution in GE 2020.

You shall get the retribution first instead of him.

You don't understand, do you ?

Unlike LLL, the tiko Professor is a challenger.

When you have been a REAL MP for a term or less, and on the subsequent election you are being voted out, it means the electorate in that constituency have experienced your performance as a REAL MP, and when the majority reject you, it means they don't want you anymore, whether as MP or NCMP.

If the incumbent voted in or out, it's an actual appraisal from the electorate. If the challenger is NOT voted in, it's not tantamount to an appraisal because the challenger has yet to be given the chance for perform the role of a real MP in order for the electorate to give an appraisal.

Whether you agree with the rationale put forth by LTK is one thing. But at least understand the rationale before you shoot.

It's precisely because the incumbent in PE in LLL that she now wants OUT and doesn't want to accept the NCMP role. It's precisely because the teeko Professor is a mere challenger that he should be given a chance.

It is YOU who don't understand. What are cobblers? You are simply making up new excuses for the WP. Should have simply said wp respects her decision not to take up ncmp and leave it as that.

All it needs here is one big crack in PAP to change all that.

There need to have one big power struggle inside PAP that will inspire other people to form new gahment.

So far the corrupted PAP managed to corrupt their executives with $M salaries so have to wait for that big crack power struggle inside PAP.

Absolutely agree. My hunch is, will not take place when Pinky is still PM. Many MIW still "respect" and fear the man in pink. With OYK, NCM, CCS, TCJ and HSK, there may be envy and disagreement from within for the crack to appear.

No need for NCMP or NMP. Just go back to SMCs.

Onitsuka

LTK's Chinese too deep for Baba.

With that explanation from LTK, WP has set a precedent and his justification of LLL's rejection of the NCMP seat will bind all WP incumbents (Aljunied and Hougang MPs) that if they lose in the next election, they must NOT accept NCMP seats as a mark of respect for the voters who voted them out.

It's a good point as it seeks to reconcile the conflict between LLL's rejection and Sylvia's (Yee and Giam) acceptance of the NCMP seat. However, if more WP MPs are unseated in the next election, be sure PAP will pick this up.

If incumbents not accepting the NCMP seats are justified on the ground of "respecting the voters' wishes", there is no turning back for WP when more incumbents are unseated in future elections.

This is probably the first time during LTK's era that a WP incumbent MP is unseated during an election. WP has saved a NCMP seat (perhaps more importantly some "face" for the party) but may have to pay a heavy price in the future.

LTK's Chinese too deep for Baba.

With that explanation from LTK, WP has set a precedent and his justification of LLL's rejection of the NCMP seat will bind all WP incumbents (Aljunied and Hougang MPs) that if they lose in the next election, they must NOT accept NCMP seats as a mark of respect for the voters who voted them out.

It's a good point as it seeks to reconcile the conflict between LLL's rejection and Sylvia's (Yee and Giam) acceptance of the NCMP seat. However, if more WP MPs are unseated in the next election, be sure PAP will pick this up.

If incumbents not accepting the NCMP seats are justified on the ground of "respecting the voters' wishes", there is no turning back for WP when more incumbents are unseated in future elections.

This is probably the first time during LTK's era that a WP incumbent MP is unseated during an election. WP has saved a NCMP seat (perhaps more importantly some "face" for the party) but may have to pay a heavy price in the future.

I don't see that as a major problem. LTK will soon be stepping down. New leadership qualifies to go a different direction. Btw, SL is not taking over. Was told Ah Huat is likely the next leader.

Onitsuka

I don't see that as a major problem. LTK will soon be stepping down. New leadership qualifies to go a different direction. Btw, SL is not taking over. Was told Ah Huat is likely the next leader.

Like that jialat liao lah. Ah Huat lacks charisma as a leader. Sylvia will be the perfect candidate as party leader.

If Ah Huat takes over, it's all the way down for WP. WP's only chance is to eat the humble pie and welcome back GMS.

harimau

why PAP want to kah jiao and kay poh who in WP decides to be NCMP?

Is this the internal affairs of WP?

Bloody hell busy body PAP!

Do you want WP to comment and kaypoh who should be elected in the PAP youth wing or cadres?