• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

'Low crime doesnt mean no crime' ... low crime ?

i_am_belle

SPF slogan 'low crime doesnt mean no crime' is outdated, cos we're no longer 'low crime' ... crime rate is creeping up, and s'pore will soon lose its reputation as a safe city ...

the cyclist cycled all over the world only to have his bike stolen in singabloodypore, supposedly the 'safest' city in asia if not the world ...

:eek:

Feb 2, 2010
Stolen bike found
Police nab suspect in Orchard Road theft
By Tessa Wong

THERE is a happy ending after all to the tale of the globetrotting cyclist whose bicycle was stolen at Orchard Road.

Police said yesterday that they have found the green Condor bicycle belonging to English cyclist Greg Browning, and also arrested a man in connection with the crime.

After cycling thousands of kilometres in an overland trip which began in London in February last year, Mr Browning, 25, had his bicycle stolen last Wednesday from a railing he had chained it to on the pavement of Orchard Link outside Ngee Ann City. The cables had been cut and tossed into the bushes.

On Saturday, after a report of the theft appeared in The Straits Times, a bicycle fitting the description of the one belonging to Mr Browning was handed to the police by someone who had found it abandoned at East Coast Park.

Separately, a police spokesman said a man in his 40s was charged with the attempted theft of a bicycle. The man is believed to be responsible for several bicycle thefts, including Mr Browning's Condor.

Speaking by phone yesterday from Darwin, Australia, an ecstatic Mr Browning said the recovery of his bicycle was excellent news.

Read the full story in Tuesday's edition of The Straits Times.

[email protected]

Watchman

On Saturday, after a report of the theft appeared in The Straits Times, a bicycle fitting the description of the one belonging to Mr Browning was handed to the police by someone who had found it abandoned at East Coast Park.

LoL stole a rare bike not commonly found here !

Brightkid

Low crime can be achieved immediately. Just do not accept any case being bought to the police, or push it to others to solve or 'you take care of your own problems as it is civil case'.

Hey Presto ! Low crime !

MarrickG

With this kind of bad publicity, if I'm the police, I would just buy a similar bike and claim that I found it.

saratogas

SPF slogan 'low crime doesnt mean no crime' is outdated, cos we're no longer 'low crime' ... crime rate is creeping up, and s'pore will soon lose its reputation as a safe city ...

That is why Police change leader mah...

The Singapore Police Force now has a new Commissioner of Police, Mr Ng Joo Hee.

The change of command took place at the Home Team Academy's grounds at Old Chua Chu Kang Road.

Mr Ng has 24 years' worth of experience in the Singapore Police Force.

He was previously Director of the Police Intelligence Department and Deputy Director of the Criminal Investigation Department.

He takes over from Mr Khoo Boon Hui who was the Commissioner of Police for the past 12-and-a-half years.

Mr Khoo has assumed a new post as the Home Affairs Ministry's Senior Deputy Secretary from February 1.

Pathetic report. Obviously Straits Times lost all the good news to talk about PAP. Probably they know their credibility is at state after new media exposed all their crappy news. Now this what I called cheap thrill on a Sunday news.

i_am_belle

the trouble with sinkees is - a lot still trust the govt, still think s'pore is a good place aka 70s/80s ... can still aspire to drive personal cars, buy private property in central areas, rely on the police ... like a normal developed country where the citizens wellbeing is priority of the govt ...

i, on the other hand, gave up on singapore long ago ... :(

im not buying a bike bcos i know it will be stolen, there are too many desperate ppl in this country, and others have no civic-mindedness to call the police shd they witness yr crime ...

if i do buy one, i will wheel it into my flat, and never ride it outside - then why buy ? :o

:rolleyes:

Feb 7, 2010
More bikes stolen
By Shuli Sudderuddin

IT WAS broad daylight at a busy train station in the suburbs. But Mr Joel Chia's foldable mountain bicycle - which he took care to chain to a bike rack - still got stolen, and in under two hours.

This happened last July, when the 30-year-old executive, who works in the education industry, returned to Potong Pasir MRT station to find his bike missing and the locks thrown into some bushes nearby.

'My bicycle was worth $700 and was bought online as it can't be found in Singapore. I made a police report and went back to the spot the next day, where I found a man cutting bike locks with a bolt cutter,' he said.

Mr Chia held on to the man until the police arrived.

Bicycle theft in Singapore made the headlines last month when English cyclist Greg Browning's bicycle was stolen at Orchard Road. The Briton is cycling nearly 30,000km from London to Sydney on just 4,000 euros (S$7,800).

Police statistics show that bicycle theft, along with other petty thefts, is on the rise.

There were 536 cases of bicycle theft in the first six months of last year compared with 308 in the same period in 2008.

angmo will grab ... new, what ...

the other one had been cycled all over the world ...
ya, man! ...

if sum1 intro a younger, prettier, sexier syt 2 u, u oso quikly grab her 4 ur mistress n kick ze current 1 out of ur haus! ...

but 4 tis case, ze angmo may oso wanna kip ze original 4 sentimental reasons ...

i_am_belle

ya, man! ...

if sum1 intro a younger, prettier, sexier syt 2 u, u oso quikly grab her 4 ur mistress n kick ze current 1 out of ur haus! ...

but 4 tis case, ze angmo may oso wanna kip ze original 4 sentimental reasons ...

ahem ... the angmo's bike is MISSING ... read my lips, MISSING ...

WKS buy him a new one, wink wink ... angmo also wink wink ... ST reports that angmo got his bike back ... everything's fine, singapore is a safe city, matter closed ...

downgrader

my old uncle bike kena stolen, found riding by bangla worker

it was repainted orange but my right handlebar very unique, so i recognised it

he said he bought for $25, took me to secondhand shop

shop owner said he bought for $15 from someone

i lan lan, anyway bangla worker see me old man, return to me

i gave him $15 and asked secondhand shop pay him $10 or i report police

secondhand shop owner paid up, said only because too troublesome

ahem ... the angmo's bike is MISSING ... read my lips, MISSING ...

WKS buy him a new one, wink wink ... angmo also wink wink ... ST reports that angmo got his bike back ... everything's fine, singapore is a safe city, matter closed ...
The elite ministars and their families are not affected by the crimes. Of course it's all no crime to them.

i_am_belle

Feb 8, 2010 (ST)
Overall crime down

THE overall crime situation in Singapore remained under control last year, with the number of reported cases falling to 32,968 - down by 0.4 per cent from 2008, said police in its annual update on Monday.

Four of the six crime classes all fell, especially for violent property crimes which dropped by 22.1 per cent and miscellaneous crimes, by 11.3 per cent. Notably, the overall crime rate also fell to 661 cases from 684 in 2008 per 100,000 population.

Crimes against persons fell from to 4,370 cases from 4,393 in 2008. The drop was due to fewer murder and rioting cases - from 25 to 19, and from 358 to 283 respectively.

Commercial Crimes, comprising mainly cheating, also declined to 3,357 cases from 3,488 the previous year, due to police efforts in raising public awareness against various types of cheating scams, supported by banks and financial institutions.

The number of phone scam cases also dipped but cheating scam targeting elderly victims remains a concern, as it went up by 8.2 per cent - from 134 persons in 2008 to 145 persons last year.

Two classes of crimes went up. Housebreaking and related crimes rose to 1,026 cases in 2009 from a record low of 898 cases a year ago. The rise in cases is largely attributed to break-ins of HDB flats, where many units were secured with poor quality locks that could be easily cut opened and at education/care centres, where some were not secured with security alarm systems. In all, 25 serial offenders responsible for at least 261 cases of housebreaking were caught.

Theft and related Crimes also rose to 20,402 cases from 19,918 cases in 2008. The main sub-categories which saw increases were bicycle theft, shop theft and theft in public areas.

i_am_belle

ILLEGAL loans rose almost 60 per cent last year as Singaporeans reeling from the economic crisis turned to loan sharks to tide them over the tough times, a senior police official said on Monday.

There were 18,600 cases of illegal loans made by loan sharks last year, a 58 per cent increase from 11,800 cases in 2008, said Ng Boon Gay, director with the Criminal Investigation Department.

Illegal moneylenders lend at exorbitant interest rates and use threats and intimidation to pressure debtors to pay up if they renege on payments. 'We expect loan shark cases to continue to be a concern. We'll try to take it down, but we'll see how it will turn out,' said Mr Ng. 'We are watching it very carefully.'

Mr Ng said the police arrested 958 illegal moneylenders last year, a 90 per cent jump from 2008 as the economic slump pushed cash-strapped locals to turn to loan sharks.

Singapore's economy shrank 2.1 per cent last year after slipping into a severe recession in the third quarter of 2008 due to the impact of the global economic crisis.

Although Singapore has pulled out of the slump, the loan shark situation is not expected to improve as 'the percentage of bad debt has actually increased' following the crisis, Mr Ng said. 'Even though there is some upturn in the economy, based on the data that we get... we expect it to increase,' he said. -- AFP

The SINgapore police force is doinga FINE job, only for the occasional laspses, like 1 MSK missing, a few opposiions that needed to be silenced or re-educate...

our streets are safe to walk, 24 hours a day..occasionally 1 stabbing in the park,..some gang related attacks...

it is safer than anywhere else in the world....this is a fact!:biggrin:

soIsee

That is why Police change leader mah...

The Singapore Police Force now has a new Commissioner of Police, Mr Ng Joo Hee.

The change of command took place at the Home Team Academy's grounds at Old Chua Chu Kang Road.

Mr Ng has 24 years' worth of experience in the Singapore Police Force much of which is in the area of locating stolen bicycles.

He was previously Director of the Police Intelligence Department and Deputy Director of the Criminal Investigation Department which specialises in the area of crime where it involves bicycles.

He takes over from Mr Khoo Boon Hui who was the Commissioner of Police for the past 12-and-a-half years.

Mr Khoo has assumed a new post as the Home Affairs Ministry's Senior Deputy Secretary from February 1.

Any more bicycle specialists out there besides Mr Ng?:biggrin: