• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Love Story: My traditional parents didn't approve of him

metalslug

http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/s...traditional_parents_didnt_approve_of_him.html

love_story_my_traditional_parents_didnt_approve_of_him-thumbnail.jpg

Nur Syafinah understands her parents' concerns about her boyfriend and she convinced them that it is still too early in their relationship to be concerned about their differences.

Writes Nur Syafinah of their love:

"I was raised in a very traditional Malay family. My parents are not like my friends. I always had to respect their advice and input with anything I do. By respect, I really mean forced to do they want.

"I want to remain in good terms with my parents, but I know telling my parents about my boyfriend will turn into an ear-full of 'you should stop dating him right now'.

"My boyfriend is Chinese and I'm Malay. We've been classmates for three years in secondary school. I was transferred to his class when I was in Secondary 3. He started noticing me by the second semester. We starting talking on webcam and we started doing that every night.

"We gradually got to know each other and we gradually started to like each other. Every morning he would text me good morning and we would talk a little bit in the mornings.

"Towards December '09, we decided to give it a try because we knew we liked each other a lot. We got together when we're both 16. Both my parents didn't really approve of him.

"I told and convinced my parents that it is still too early to be concerned about that. It was four months of our relationship when my parents got to know about us.

"I do understand both of my parents' concern. They're worried that they may 'lose' their daughter in a way.

"Well, I think if we are not meant to be, then there is no point in discussing other things now. But if we really love each other, I am sure we will be able to work something out in the future.

"After one year of dating, my boyfriend came over and behaved like a good boy with good etiquette. My parents finally accepted our inter-racial relationship.

"My boyfriend eats Halal food very often now when he is with me.

"We celebrate Chinese New Year and Hari Raya together too!

"He respects and understands me a lot. Every first of each month will be our special day. We love to just sit down and cuddle on the couch and watch movies and just be loud and fun. We totally love being ourselves and we are just like insane and love to laugh at the most silly things!

"He's definitely a romantic, and he bought me a single pink rose and Royce chocolates last Valentines day! :smile: I feel that I should not let our differences stop us from pursuing a relationship."

Tell us your love stories and win cash and a Valentine's Day getaway. More details here.

Devil Within

"I do understand both of my parents' concern. They're worried that they may 'lose' their daughter in a way.

You think the Chinese parents not afraid that they will "lose" their son too?

"My boyfriend eats Halal food very often now when he is with me.

Why don't she eat non-Hala food with her boyfriend? Why only one way street?

Why not Malay men and Chinese girl !

See if the Chinkie side will approve ?

hahah you're not chinese right.

One thing i notice about non chinese men especially kelings is they are very particular about the gender of interracial. If it's a non chinese male with a chinese girl they'll start to whoop and cheer but get angry with insults if it's the opposite.

Anyway yeah! chinese guy with malay gal.

She's quite pretty. If only we can go back to those days when conversion to islam is not required for marriage.. Some minahs are damn chio..

wahlaneh

"He respects and understands me a lot. Every first of each month will be our special day. We love to just sit down and cuddle on the couch and watch movies and just be loud and fun. We totally love being ourselves and we are just like insane and love to laugh at the most silly things!

wahlaneh...
cuddle on couch still so loud some more watching porn must be siogan liao lor.:biggrin:

cooleo

The guy is gonna miss his bak kwa, kway chap, pork floss and pork chops. Sad. A life full of restrictions.

Loofydralb

DAft girl. Can become SPG dowan. So many angmo, keling and m&d pricks around and she picks a skinny nerd who buttons all the way to the collar.

I doubt he even knows what sex is.

DAft girl. Can become SPG dowan. So many angmo, keling and m&d pricks around and she picks a skinny nerd who buttons all the way to the collar.

HAhaha loser, so it seems that a nerdy chinese guy is better than those m&ds and kelings. :oIo:

Why angry right correct? Interracial only works one way?

yellow_people

Ah Beng is bowing his head in that pic. Perhaps Minah wnat to pluck a virgin cherry.

Anyway credit to this Beng. He's one up on his fellow Bengs. Most of the Ah Beng, who CMI, end up falling head over heels with a China mei mei and get taken to the cleaners.

-

Ah Beng is bowing his head in that pic. Perhaps Minah wnat to pluck a virgin cherry.

Anyway credit to this Beng. He's one up on his fellow Bengs. Most of the Ah Beng, who CMI, end up falling head over heels with a China mei mei and get taken to the cleaners.

-

shit skin many malay women married chinese that's how pernakans came about and they don't have muslim names.

This Malay girl is doing alright. She has a chinese boyfriend, thats one up than her peers who have m&d or ah neh boyfriends. She should enjoy a chinese sausage while she can. Its the hardest of the lot. :smile:

cooleo

This Malay girl is doing alright. She has a chinese boyfriend, thats one up than her peers who have m&d or ah neh boyfriends. She should enjoy a chinese sausage while she can. Its the hardest of the lot. :smile:

As long as she don't want her bf to strum guitar at void deck or play soccer, she will be fine with a Chinese bf. :biggrin:

exSINgaporean

After LKY said Malays needs to intermarry...i.e. screw with other races....this appear.

Watchman

<iframe title="YouTube video player" class="youtube-player" type="text/html" width="640" height="390" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/4JvVE1F6MsI" frameborder="0" allowFullScreen></iframe>

Royalblood

shit skin many malay women married chinese that's how pernakans came about and they don't have muslim names.

Is that the definition of peranakans? A mix of Chinese and malay blood?
No doubt some, but not many, peranakans are mix blood but I do not think that they define the peranakan people.

Peranakans are basically straits born Chinese. Those Chinese whose ancestors have lived in Temasek for many generations.... As far back as the 15th century when Admiral Zheng Ho left behind a group of Chinese in the Malay pennisular. I read from somewhere that inter-marriage with the local population was seldom as the strait Chinese prefer to send their children back to China for marriage purpose......

Is that the definition of peranakans? A mix of Chinese and malay blood?
No doubt some, but not many, peranakans are mix blood but I do not think that they define the peranakan people.

Peranakans are basically straits born Chinese. Those Chinese whose ancestors have lived in Temasek for many generations.... As far back as the 15th century when Admiral Zheng Ho left behind a group of Chinese in the Malay pennisular. I read from somewhere that inter-marriage with the local population was seldom as the strait Chinese prefer to send their children back to China for marriage purpose......

Okay it's hard to define who's mix blood or who's not unless you do a DNA test or can trace back the ancetry yet i can say it's fairly certain pernakans must have some mixture with malays some time back since their culture is somehow fused with malay culture.