• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Look at how social welfare bring UK down

myo539

dun know about food vouchers, but pap do help people, i know a friend who lost his job and unable to pay HDB and get a little help from PAP. PAP do help the poor but not written in law like the angmoh.

If you see the amount of assistance the PAP and other ministries or affiliated organisations(like education, health and Community Development, People's Association, CCCC, ), you will be astounded by the amount of help they have given to the poor and jobless. Then LKY would have literally sat up (gravevine circulated that he ripped off the air-conditioning system in NUH because the then-PM likened it as a hotel - too luxurious and costly).

Problem is, helping the poor is like a bottomless pit - there is never enough.

It is indeed very sad that there are still so many out there who are so politically naive. I guess the PAP had really done a hell of a job in brainwashing the people. Little wonder that despite all the screwed policies the PAP had committed in the past 10 to 15 years, 60% still voted them in the last GE. A majority of the forummers in this thread had already pointed out they are not advocating a replication of the British social welfare in its entirety here. The ill-effects of the British social welfare system had already been proven decades ago and there's no need to tell the intellectual and analytical forummers participating in this thread about that anymore. What the forummers are highlighting is that the PAP under the guise that the British (or European) style of social welfare is evil and then stand back and do nothing at all to help those who are truly in need and not out of their own will. It can't be a total British social welfare system or nothing at all. That's the stance the PAP is adopting and boy are they glad that there are forummers here who fell into their trap for thinking this way.

i am sick and tired of repeating to every single one of you people. the british social welfare did not start out as what you see today, they started very small, trying to help exactly what the people you want to help. but it grow bigger and bigger , because no gov want to lose power, lose votes, it grow bigger and bigger until the crazy welfare you see today.

can you people see beyond the next day, the year after, what about 20 yrs , 50 yrs later??

freedalas

i am sick and tired of repeating to every single one of you people. the british social welfare did not start out as what you see today, they started very small, trying to help exactly what the people you want to help. but it grow bigger and bigger , because no gov want to lose power, lose votes, it grow bigger and bigger until the crazy welfare you see today.

can you people see beyond the next day, the year after, what about 20 yrs , 50 yrs later??

Well, the more politically matured and enlightened forummers are equally sick and tired of repeating that they are not advocating for a British welfare system to replicated here. So don't keep using the downside of the British system as an excuse not to help the poor and needy here. The PAP and supporters like you can claim all you want how far sighted they are, but after 50 years of PAP rule, what have we got. The ordinary people are really screwed. Only the government linked companies and the very rich had benefited. For the rest, their lives had actually became worse.

Fook Seng

freedalas said:
It is indeed very sad that there are still so many out there who are so politically naive. I guess the PAP had really done a hell of a job in brainwashing the people. Little wonder that despite all the screwed policies the PAP had committed in the past 10 to 15 years, 60% still voted them in the last GE. A majority of the forummers in this thread had already pointed out they are not advocating a replication of the British social welfare in its entirety here. The ill-effects of the British social welfare system had already been proven decades ago and there's no need to tell the intellectual and analytical forummers participating in this thread about that anymore. What the forummers are highlighting is that the PAP under the guise that the British (or European) style of social welfare is evil and then stand back and do nothing at all to help those who are truly in need and not out of their own will. It can't be a total British social welfare system or nothing at all. That's the stance the PAP is adopting and boy are they glad that there are forummers here who fell into their trap for thinking this way.

This Govt's policies have always been from one extreme onto another. All or nothing. Stop at 2, 3 or more.

can you imagine if singapore also have social welfare

article-2083998-0F61EB6500000578-652_634x414.jpg

£95,000 - AND STILL THEY'RE NOT HAPPY

Pete and Sam Smith receive £95,000 a year in state benefits to look after their ten children aged one to 15. They live in a four-bedroom house rent-free and the council even pays for breakfast to be delivered.

The Smiths were evicted from their previous home in Bath, leaving it uninhabitable, according to their former landlord who claimed that mattresses and walls were stained with human and animal excrement.

But despite being given a new home by the council in Bristol, Mrs Smith, 36, complained: ‘It’s very cramped. We have four bedrooms with bunk beds for the kids and that’s it. We’ve been told we might not be given a new house for another nine months, which is ridiculous.’

She claimed they were so short of money that the children had only one Nintendo Wii games console between them.

She said in September 2010: ‘We do get breakfast delivered but sometimes we have to ring them to remind them and it’s not like proper hot food.

‘It’s usually beans, tinned tomatoes and cereal, which isn’t really enough for us all.’

The couple have not worked since Mr Smith, 40, resigned from the Army in 2001 to care for his wife, who has curvature of the spine. At that time they had three children. The family receive child benefits, disability living allowance, carer’s allowance, tax credits and income support totalling £44,954 a year. They also have a £950-a-week bed-and-breakfast deal where the council pays for breakfasts delivered to their home.

This comes to £49,400, making a grand total of £94,354 a year.

Re: can you imagine if singapore also have social welfare

In UK, if you are teenager or young adult and you do not want to work, you go and have sex with stranger and the state social welfare pay for your council house, your expenses, and the more babies you have the more you get from gov. You end up with so much, that you will never work for a single day in your life, because if you do, your social welfare will be cut off.

With the highest teen pregnancy rate in Europe, the gov instead of blaming social welfare, they blame the sex education.

These are picture for 9-11 years old to learn about sex.

article-2085558-0F6D585200000578-639_634x357.jpg

article-2085558-0F6D585B00000578-201_634x356.jpg

article-2085558-0F6D9A4500000578-65_634x414.jpg

article-2085558-0F6ED94800000578-444_634x418.jpg

very distasteful picture to show 9 years old.

BBC sex education video 'is like porn': MP criticises explicit material and use of naked men in film for nine-year-old pupils

There is also footage of a naked man and woman, used to demonstrate the differences between the sexes, information about 'wet dreams' and masturbation, and graphic diagrams of genitalia.

Conservative MP Andrea Leadsom said: 'This material is explicit. It is shattering the innocence of childhood.'

Mrs Leadsom, who has raised the issue in Parliament, including presenting a petition after being contacted by concerned parents last year, said she was embarrassed by the film, adding: 'It was like a blue movie'.

She said: 'Parents don't feel their views are being consulted. My son was shown it four years ago. I was told it was by the BBC and I was told it was called 'Living and Growing' and you just expect if it's by the BBC it will be okay.

'I was utterly shocked by it when I saw it.'
Mrs Leadsom said parents were particularly upset by the computer-generated images of a couple having sex.

She said: 'You see an erection and penetration and that's completely astonishing.'

The other scenes which angered parents was the cartoon of two people making love.

She said: 'It looks bizarre, it's not missionary, the woman is on top and there's a children's voiceover saying something like 'Ooh, it looks like they are having fun.'

'Why is there a young child appearing to watch them?'
She said parents who had contacted her trusted their instincts with regards to their children and felt the footage was 'absolutely wrong'.

She wants sex education films to be given a film-style rating to act as a guide for teachers.

Education minister Nick Gibb promised to look into the matter too.

The Sex and Relationship Education CD-Rom, produced by BBC Active, goes on to discuss the emotional aspects of relationships including sexual feelings and same-sex crushes as well as marriage.

In addition, it covers internet safety and how children can keep themselves safe.

The BBC stands by the film, saying it has been put together after consultation with local authorities and experts in education.

BBC Active told the newspaper: 'All our resources provide clear guidance on age suitability.

'They are designed to allow teachers to pick and choose the elements they feel are appropriate.'

The opposition of singapore want to turn beloved singapore into this
article-2083998-0F61EB6500000578-652_634x414.jpg

Use your imagination and turn the white face into malays , Indian and chinese bums.
Yes that is what they want, to destroy singapore using social welfare. In a way more insidious, they try to win your vote in promise to provide safety net, but when the social welfare grow into unsustainable level in a few generations later, when singapore go bust. They will disappear like busno64 and his pals will sweep the issue under the carpet.