• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

LeMans2011

Thanks Wuqi for the link.

Haha indeed 50% accuracy + 50% distortion is already a high score for Straits Times. On the whole it helps to create awareness about "THE ALTERNATIVE" for Singaporeans.

"Most of the foreigners - including the Singaporeans - interviewed by The Sunday Times, admitted that their homes had been broken into at least once."... wahahaha this is CLASSIC case of misreporting. I don't believe any bros here have a break-in encounter, not that i want to be complacent. The ang moh guy's house at Ledang Heights kanna break-in 3x? Hmmm.... The terrace house having 5000 sft built-up is another case of boo-hoo and lacking in common sense.

Anyway, this is good... at least it tells people it is not Tan Ah Kow the loser that moves to JB but professionals including ang moh (which in the Singapore context this is good publicity)

Velma

Thanks, On page 11 in the Sunday times, there is the highlighted area there which talks about helping others with advice online on moving out to JB. Not all the points were mentioned though, only about 50% but well at least with this online, it will be helpful to others although they left out the forum information.

That will shut some naysayers up.

Velma

Haha indeed 50% accuracy + 50% distortion is already a high score for Straits Times. On the whole it helps to create awareness about "THE ALTERNATIVE" for Singaporeans.

"Most of the foreigners - including the Singaporeans - interviewed by The Sunday Times, admitted that their homes had been broken into at least once."... wahahaha this is CLASSIC case of misreporting. I don't believe any bros here have a break-in encounter, not that i want to be complacent. The ang moh guy's house at Ledang Heights kanna break-in 3x? Hmmm.... The terrace house having 5000 sft built-up is another case of boo-hoo and lacking in common sense.

Anyway, this is good... at least it tells people it is not Tan Ah Kow the loser that moves to JB but professionals including ang moh (which in the Singapore context this is good publicity)

I never believed the press once I knew about GCT's daughter living in the UK.

Grago

Congrats Wuqi, your wisdom will spread far and wide..... So when's the TV interview :smile:. It's good you are getting recognition for your efforts. I found out that speaking to an immigration officer that with MACS, sometimes why they don't scan the passport is because the LAN line is down. They do an eyeball check on the owner of the passport and go through the passport to see where you've been. "You" are in the system so to speak so unless you are into unsavoury business you shouldn't have much concern. Hope this helps.

danteakc

I think I saw them doing so yesterday. I am unsure what internet service provider to suscribe to.. The Maxis girl told me wven if you return the modem to them within 7 days, they need 6 weeks to process and refund you the money.. Thats 400rm... Only celcom claims there is no foreigner deposit. Only 100 activation fees.. If true, I will suscribe to celcom..Digi and P1 also have 300rm deposit for foreigners.. P1 uses 4G and they have this modem type box that they say can improve the reception, but need to sign 1 year contract.. Not sure how long they need to refund the money if you return within 7 days..

Anyone can advice??

If u r using for emails not a movie junkie or porn or file junkie. Get Celcom they have stable coverage and they dun suck the deposit. I had deposit 400rm with Maxis after deduction they issue a cheque of only $100 claim I had used more then 7 days so impose penalty on my deposit. WTF. I'm currently using streamxy. Reasonable download on youtube n movies. But on upload. Trying to upload videos. Can wait 1 day so it download exe files.

cathylmg

We plan to rent out our house in Singapore as fully furnish. However my hubby and I have difference in opinions about the extend of fully furnishing. Does 'fully furnished' includes a TV in the living room(hubby said if you supply then you will have to buy new ones for your tenants if its spoiled), and a cabinet for hanging clothes(we have half height built-in cabinets without a metal bar for hanging of clothes)?

Thanks in advance for your advice.

Damsell

"Most of the foreigners - including the Singaporeans - interviewed by The Sunday Times, admitted that their homes had been broken into at least once."...

A bit of exaggeration,but safety-issues cannot be taken lightly.If you watch the Youtube(house breaking in JB) you will be worried hell.Just curious,can anybody englighten;In JB(or whole of Malaysia).
1)Can we install electric perimeter fencing.
2)Can we carry pepper spray.
3)What about stunned-gun.(abit kiasu).
4)Which company offer best product (CCTV and other surveillance apparatus)

mika14

Hiz guys!

juz asking are there any good gyms around in JB?
and is it recommended to buy Microwave in S'pore or JB?
thanks a lot!

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Agreed, its a bit exaggerated as i haven't heard of that many break ins and in Ledang Heights, although i have heard, i haven't heard of 3 in a row. Also, they associated some sort of stigma with the move to JB. Maybe to fair, it was from others that they have interviewed, i certainly feel no stigma. In fact, the same folks who initially jeered at me now have houses here including one especially learned and stubborn gentleman who have more houses than i do currently.

Ok, electified fencing needs a permit but not recommended for full length, it should be done like full length concrete wall and then the top area having the electrified fencing. Pepper spray you can buy easily at Tesco, near the hardware area, about 15 RM? Stun guns i don't think you can get easily now but telescopic batons one can still get quite easily, even at the pasar malams here. I would recommend going for the 69.90 RM steering wheel lock that looks like a baseball bat for you car. So far, haven't really needed to use any of them though.

Interesting, the issue about the microwave has been asked quite a few times already, i would say buy in SG unless you don't mind the brand as not all types are available here. For electric ovens however, JB is cheaper. For that matter, i noticed some Acer laptops here selling for 1299-1599 RM here in Tesco and we all know Tesco isn't the cheapest for IT hardware so its an indication of prices in JB.

Aircon wise, can get Midea or Fujiaire (both local) or even Haier (China) as long as they cover 2 years of warranty, it should be fine. York is really powerful but some find it noisy. There is a couple of gyms along Nusa Bestari, in fact, while driving past, i saw one on the 3rd floor of a shophouse. I use the gym in HH (seldom though) but i am sure other developments may also have gyms.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
We plan to rent out our house in Singapore as fully furnish. However my hubby and I have difference in opinions about the extend of fully furnishing. Does 'fully furnished' includes a TV in the living room(hubby said if you supply then you will have to buy new ones for your tenants if its spoiled), and a cabinet for hanging clothes(we have half height built-in cabinets without a metal bar for hanging of clothes)?

Thanks in advance for your advice.

Hey Cathylmg, for tv, its not necessary, all of our houses are rented out without a tv set but we did provide fridge, washing machine, super single, queen and king sized beds(where room size avails to it), full height wardrobes. We also put in water heaters and my neighbour even equipped his rental houses with a pump(on the 2nd floor water tank, some may find it noisy though)

For the wardrobe, no choice, that one must buy (if they insist) Just buy at the Skudai Giant (2nd floor furniture shop, look for Mdm Ong) They sell furniture that one can use for rental. As for fridge(Samsung RM999), washing machine (Sharp RM599) and fan (KDK 3 bladed RM125), you can get at the old Perling Mall (where there is a Giant)

You can get another 10-20 RM off the total, prices quite fixed but cheaper than most places i have seen.
(Please share if you find cheaper so that we know of more good deals)

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section

Thanks, yes it is a bit strange but well. So far(touch wood), no break ins for me. Anyway, saw a lot of caucasian guys on scrambler bikes. Seems its a motorcross date today. Really happening man.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
If u r using for emails not a movie junkie or porn or file junkie. Get Celcom they have stable coverage and they dun suck the deposit. I had deposit 400rm with Maxis after deduction they issue a cheque of only $100 claim I had used more then 7 days so impose penalty on my deposit. WTF. I'm currently using streamxy. Reasonable download on youtube n movies. But on upload. Trying to upload videos. Can wait 1 day so it download exe files.

Agree, Maxis seems to not be a really good choice due to their draconian rules on this and that. Upload is a bit slow though, i have applied for Streamyx, taking a while to install though. Living here means i can put as much access points as i want and can try out more LAN technologies here due to the distance and space. Right now, my wifi can cover 3 of my houses.

Thinking of offering free to my tenants as some are really nice guys but security wise, maybe not such a good idea. Maybe offer them as an emergency option that they can come to my house to use my desktops since they are on UPS.

Velma

Agreed, its a bit exaggerated as i haven't heard of that many break ins and in Ledang Heights, although i have heard, i haven't heard of 3 in a row. Also, they associated some sort of stigma with the move to JB. Maybe to fair, it was from others that they have interviewed, i certainly feel no stigma. In fact, the same folks who initially jeered at me now have houses here including one especially learned and stubborn gentleman who have more houses than i do currently.

Ok, electified fencing needs a permit but not recommended for full length, it should be done like full length concrete wall and then the top area having the electrified fencing. Pepper spray you can buy easily at Tesco, near the hardware area, about 15 RM? Stun guns i don't think you can get easily now but telescopic batons one can still get quite easily, even at the pasar malams here. I would recommend going for the 69.90 RM steering wheel lock that looks like a baseball bat for you car. So far, haven't really needed to use any of them though.

Interesting, the issue about the microwave has been asked quite a few times already, i would say buy in SG unless you don't mind the brand as not all types are available here. For electric ovens however, JB is cheaper. For that matter, i noticed some Acer laptops here selling for 1299-1599 RM here in Tesco and we all know Tesco isn't the cheapest for IT hardware so its an indication of prices in JB.

Aircon wise, can get Midea or Fujiaire (both local) or even Haier (China) as long as they cover 2 years of warranty, it should be fine. York is really powerful but some find it noisy. There is a couple of gyms along Nusa Bestari, in fact, while driving past, i saw one on the 3rd floor of a shophouse. I use the gym in HH (seldom though) but i am sure other developments may also have gyms.

Well they just want to brand you migrants as quitters and losers. But ultimately, 10 years down the road, most likely you are laughing at those who mocked you that they have to fork out $650,000++ for a four-room flat and unable to smell the coffee of quality life.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Congrats Wuqi, your wisdom will spread far and wide..... So when's the TV interview :smile:. It's good you are getting recognition for your efforts. I found out that speaking to an immigration officer that with MACS, sometimes why they don't scan the passport is because the LAN line is down. They do an eyeball check on the owner of the passport and go through the passport to see where you've been. "You" are in the system so to speak so unless you are into unsavoury business you shouldn't have much concern. Hope this helps.

Thanks Grago, i just do what i can to share. One of the greatest detractors of this was actually one of my relatives. She even told me at the start that those who move out to JB are those who cannot make it in SG and if one has any ability at all, one should buy a house in SG instead.

Actually, with all the stuff i bought here, i didn't want to burst her bubble, but i could have got at least a terrace house in SG and a small condo on top of what i already have, but its not something i would see myself doing long term. Living in SG with the uncontrolled, ever spiralling costs and the maddening crowds.

She even remarked to me that she already has all the facilities that she can get at her condo (owned by her boyfriend) and will NEVER come to JB.

Now, she has got the Johore bug and regretted being stubborn but still kept insisting to my parents that i didn't do anything for her, unlike another relative whom i have helped to get a house here.
She still didn't realise she was amongst the first one to know.

She kept complaining so today even though i was pretty sick and had a very hoarse voice,gamely still took her boyfriend and a good friend of mine around and showed them some places including East Ledang and places to buy electrical stuff.

In the end, tour got cut short as she wanted him to rush back and gave me a scolding for wasting her boyfriends precious time as he hadn't slept the previous night.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Well they just want to brand you migrants as quitters and losers. But ultimately, 10 years down the road, most likely you are laughing at those who mocked you that they have to fork out $650,000++ for a four-room flat and unable to smell the coffee of quality life.

Anyone who disagree with them are quitters and losers unfortunately but unknown to most people still, they don't realise that people in power has already sent their kids overseas and most ARE NOT RETURNING....

LeMans2011

...She kept complaining so today even though i was pretty sick and had a very hoarse voice,gamely still took her boyfriend and a good friend of mine around and showed them some places including East Ledang and places to buy electrical stuff. In the end, tour got cut short as she wanted him to rush back and gave me a scolding for wasting her boyfriends precious time as he hadn't slept the previous night.

Lol... this gives the word "relative" a bad name... saw quite a lot of visitors at East Ledang on Sunday about lunch time although it was not the official launch of the new bungalows... curiously there were 2 couples with Singaporean wife + Ang Moh husband the husbands look 50+ and this is not the first time i observed this phenomenon... seems like the ang mohs miss their big spaces back home...

Velma

Anyone who disagree with them are quitters and losers unfortunately but unknown to most people still, they don't realise that people in power has already sent their kids overseas and most ARE NOT RETURNING....

Goh Chok Tong and Yeo Cheow Tong. :biggrin:

Many people in power have sent their kids to Australia, US and UK for what they perceive is a better life there and also to boost their egos that their kids are living in a white nation. Same apply for those PRC leaders.

Polymin

Hi all,
I'm not worried about bad press on JB. We all know some news are really out of this world and probably have some propaganda behind it. This will filter off those who thinks JB is a cowboy town and never have thoughts of moving here.

As for those who really look forward to spacious living and streching your buying power, this thread with the contribution from Bro Wu Qi and many others will be the true guide.

I have moved from SG to JB last year... And enjoying every minute of it.

cathylmg

Thanks Grago, i just do what i can to share. One of the greatest detractors of this was actually one of my relatives. She even told me at the start that those who move out to JB are those who cannot make it in SG and if one has any ability at all, one should buy a house in SG instead.

Actually, with all the stuff i bought here, i didn't want to burst her bubble, but i could have got at least a terrace house in SG and a small condo on top of what i already have, but its not something i would see myself doing long term. Living in SG with the uncontrolled, ever spiralling costs and the maddening crowds.

She even remarked to me that she already has all the facilities that she can get at her condo (owned by her boyfriend) and will NEVER come to JB.

Now, she has got the Johore bug and regretted being stubborn but still kept insisting to my parents that i didn't do anything for her, unlike another relative whom i have helped to get a house here.
She still didn't realise she was amongst the first one to know.

She kept complaining so today even though i was pretty sick and had a very hoarse voice,gamely still took her boyfriend and a good friend of mine around and showed them some places including East Ledang and places to buy electrical stuff.

In the end, tour got cut short as she wanted him to rush back and gave me a scolding for wasting her boyfriends precious time as he hadn't slept the previous night.

When you show them the and gave free advise with good intention they thought you have something to gain from it and put you down instantly. When when they finally see the light they blame you for not doing enough to help them and you are supposed to help them. You are always 'self centred' and 'inconsiderate'. As if the world revolves around them and nobody else. Just like the spoilt kid who is shower with all the love, attentions and presents. She is the princess. She is special. She is one of a kind. Typical Singaporean mentality isn't it?

aangsc

Wuqi Mr Nice Guy, why on earth do you put up with such behaviour ? Please ask them to stay in SG and not to venture out. They give a bad name to Singaporean overseas. I can foresee when they got mugged in mudland you are to be blame !!! She fits very well into the shoe of this woman who called 'heartlander not to visit HV' on stomp .. If she stay in Nusajaya , she will one day call to Msia not to visit or stay in HH or East Ledang ; just like e caller.
http://sg.yfittopostblog.com/2011/03/28/holland-village-radio-caller-apologises/

Status
Not open for further replies.