• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Living in JB 3 (Johore)

Status
Not open for further replies.

juanra

The offical date for HSR is 2020, but I agree with shctaw that these projects are usually delayed.

It may be 2023-2025 if High speed rail really reach other part of Nusajaya.

10 years is too long for me. Even the RTS in JB may not even complete by 2020. (never trust their 2018 forecast)

juanra

Hi wolverine,

Yup, nusa central and nusa idaman should be able to reach in 10 minutes to the HSR station.

cascadia

Naturebest, you are completely right... The jam can only get worse in the coming years.

But the real catalyst in Nusajaya will be the High speed Rail station from the Singapore - KL link.

It has already been disclosed that this line will have a station in Nusajaya (my speculation is in Gerbang nusajaya ).

Imagine the following: you live in your lovely landed house in Horizon Hills, east ledang, leiure farm or on your beautiful condo in Puteri harbour &Medini.

You take your malaysian car (several times cheaper than your a similar car in singapore ) and you drive to the HSR station (5-10 min bases on your location in Nusajaya)

You now park in the HSR station and take a wait for your train to singapore marina bay (10 min)

You are now in the train for 10 minutes.. Yes.. You have your own seat and you can play your computer/ipad or read the newspaper during your short journey to singapore CBD.

You are now in marina bay station... Allocate 5-10 minutes for your final destination.

Shortest time: 5 +10+10+5= 30 minutes!

Average time for nusajayan: 10+10+10+10=40 minutes!

The above calculations are door to door i.e. you leave your nusajaya home at 8:30 and by 9:00 you reach your office desk(shortest route.)

All this by 2020... The above times can match travelling distances from central singapore to singapore CBD and are much faster than suburban singapore to CBD.

So, the bottom line is... If HSR is built, it's a non Brainer moving to nusajaya.

As for the discussion of Nusajaya vs JB city.. My opinion is clear : nusajaya .

I am ang moh myself, and believe me, there is no way I am going to make a single step in JB city...my malaysia experience will be limited to: Horizon hills, Ledang, Leisure Farm, Puteri Harbour, Medini, Gerbang nusjaya and Sunway Iskandar and the Internstinal Destination resort.

yes, obviously rite, nusajaya is the key location to invest. no brainer also can tell that the key catalyst for iskandar projects are not the whole iskandar region but only nusajaya... when the area takes off in few more years time the appreciation is nevertheless.
no matter how, nusajaya has already win over any other area within jb itself in terms of location... it is nearby to all the possible links to sg (1st, 2nd and puteri harbour). surround by zone A, C, D, E as well. it will definitely the best investement area..

other area of jb is just "that's it" already while nusajaya is way more potential to go...

teega

Juanra, I like your reasoning.. Not just Ang moh who will be settling down in medini or other nusajaya areas but also Singaporeans who are finding it more cost effective to live there in the near future as spore move towards its 6.9 mil population.

Naturebest, you are completely right... The jam can only get worse in the coming years.

But the real catalyst in Nusajaya will be the High speed Rail station from the Singapore - KL link.

It has already been disclosed that this line will have a station in Nusajaya (my speculation is in Gerbang nusajaya ).

Imagine the following: you live in your lovely landed house in Horizon Hills, east ledang, leiure farm or on your beautiful condo in Puteri harbour &Medini.

You take your malaysian car (several times cheaper than your a similar car in singapore ) and you drive to the HSR station (5-10 min bases on your location in Nusajaya)

You now park in the HSR station and take a wait for your train to singapore marina bay (10 min)

You are now in the train for 10 minutes.. Yes.. You have your own seat and you can play your computer/ipad or read the newspaper during your short journey to singapore CBD.

You are now in marina bay station... Allocate 5-10 minutes for your final destination.

Shortest time: 5 +10+10+5= 30 minutes!

Average time for nusajayan: 10+10+10+10=40 minutes!

The above calculations are door to door i.e. you leave your nusajaya home at 8:30 and by 9:00 you reach your office desk(shortest route.)

All this by 2020... The above times can match travelling distances from central singapore to singapore CBD and are much faster than suburban singapore to CBD.

So, the bottom line is... If HSR is built, it's a non Brainer moving to nusajaya.

As for the discussion of Nusajaya vs JB city.. My opinion is clear : nusajaya .

I am ang moh myself, and believe me, there is no way I am going to make a single step in JB city...my malaysia experience will be limited to: Horizon hills, Ledang, Leisure Farm, Puteri Harbour, Medini, Gerbang nusjaya and Sunway Iskandar and the Internstinal Destination resort.

FHBH12

I believe tickets will b priced for e business travellers n tourists. Yet to include cost of JB car, parking at JB station, immigration stamp fees n transfer into Singapore public transport to reach destination. Time ine for HSR will be at least 15 years away, so better dun depend too much on it for investment.

juanra

But FHBH12,

The are no immigration stamp fees between singapore and malaysia.

The opening of the HSR has been announced by the Najib and LSL by 2020 (I agreed it can be delayed)

Kindly note that the station will not be in JB, but nusajaya.

Please refer to the below hyperlink for park n ride facilities in KL.(1.5 SGD/month, promotional)

http://www.nst.com.my/nation/general/rm4-to-park-at-gombak-lrt-station-for-march-1.227038

I am not trying to say that 1.5 SGD/ month is a sustainable rate, but if you read the article you will notice that this aconcept is being implemented in KL, and the authorities will make sure is kept very affordable.

You raised the question of the car, but, ei... It's unfair to allocate the cost of a a malaysian car just for this. A car is a basic necessity in many parts of the world, save for singapore where is a luxury item.

You should look at the positive side of our discussion, by living in nusajaya you will be able to,buy a car 3 times cheaper than singapore. So, a the end, you are saving even more.

I believe tickets will b priced for e business travellers n tourists. Yet to include cost of JB car, parking at JB station, immigration stamp fees n transfer into Singapore public transport to reach destination. Time ine for HSR will be at least 15 years away, so better dun depend too much on it for investment.

TrulyAsia

Recap on my wish list written in Sep-2012:

a) Maybe, under feasibility study...
b) No, instead getting worse...
c) KIV
d) KIV - Still very exciting to see Astaka Tower 1 planned to be 1st supertall in JB above 300 meters albeit no public observatory deck.
e) Yes, slowly but surely...
f) & g) No, refer to "b" :(
h) Done :biggrin:

My wish list for Iskandar Malaysia -

a) KL via JB express bullet train service, cut down travelling time between 2 cities to less than 2.5 hours

b) Optimizing the custom clearance system and process to reduce congestion at the causeway & 2nd link

c) World class integrated resort in Nusajaya with casino that only allows foreigners to access

d) A landmark tower or skyscraper (mixed use type like SWFC) in JB central business district that has a public observatory deck at above 300 meters

e) Prioritize the rehabilitation of abandoned projects in JB as key performance indicator for progress of Iskandar Malaysia project (examples: Lot 1 waterfront, Pacific Mall, Larkin Utama, Kemayan City etc.)

f) English as medium for mathematics, science and other core subjects in schools

g) Revamp NEP to focus on citizens who are in real needs regardless of race and religion

h) No more Abdul Ghani as Johor's Mentari Besar by next election, we had enough

Nusajaya

Just sharing my investment view point:

1) Nusajaya is definitely the way to go because of all the developments in the pipeline be it education, financial, medical, etc. We aint seen nothing yet. It is a no brainer!
2) For capital appreciation, I will always recommend landed properties and condos for cash-flow. In Nusajaya (same else where), over the last 2 years, we can safely say most properties have doubled but do you know that land price has probably tripled? You only have to check back the price of land at Leisure Farm and Ledang Heights.

Pls don't get me wrong, i am not saying other areas are no good or not worth. In my opinion, it depends largely on your risk appetite and your investment objective. From my perspective, Nusajaya has just started to come alive and we have at least 10 years before we see the full potential of this development.

Cheers,
N

FHBH12

But FHBH12,

The are no immigration stamp fees between singapore and malaysia.

The opening of the HSR has been announced by the Najib and LSL by 2020 (I agreed it can be delayed)

Kindly note that the station will not be in JB, but nusajaya.

Please refer to the below hyperlink for park n ride facilities in KL.(1.5 SGD/month, promotional)

http://www.nst.com.my/nation/general/rm4-to-park-at-gombak-lrt-station-for-march-1.227038

I am not trying to say that 1.5 SGD/ month is a sustainable rate, but if you read the article you will notice that this aconcept is being implemented in KL, and the authorities will make sure is kept very affordable.

You raised the question of the car, but, ei... It's unfair to allocate the cost of a a malaysian car just for this. A car is a basic necessity in many parts of the world, save for singapore where is a luxury item.

You should look at the positive side of our discussion, by living in nusajaya you will be able to,buy a car 3 times cheaper than singapore. So, a the end, you are saving even more.

Good to have HSR as additional means of transport, and it will benefit me also. I'm not v confident of it being a viable mode of everyday transport though. Best bet is still e RTS at 1st link (I'm not vested in Zone A).

jc731

Yesterday, visited Puteri New Ferry Terminal in the afternoon, while was inside the building roaming happily, suddenly heard serveral loud pounding sound outside the building.

First thought was it the thunder or the contractor at work?

Curiously, went outside to investigate.

OMG !!!:eek:

It was from the opposite straits at Lim Chu Kang..

cheerguan

1) Nusajaya is definitely the way to go because of all the developments in the pipeline be it education, financial, medical, etc. We aint seen nothing yet. It is a no brainer!
2) For capital appreciation, I will always recommend landed properties and condos for cash-flow. In Nusajaya (same else where), over the last 2 years, we can safely say most properties have doubled but do you know that land price has probably tripled? You only have to check back the price of land at Leisure Farm and Ledang Heights.

Pls don't get me wrong, i am not saying other areas are no good or not worth. In my opinion, it depends largely on your risk appetite and your investment objective. From my perspective, Nusajaya has just started to come alive and we have at least 10 years before we see the full potential of this development.

Cheers,
N

Just my take. Please feel free to correct.
Probably Nusajaya will do better as it's more exclusive. Habits in old cities tend to be harder to change without really strict enforcement. Eg. like street hawkers will most probably still be around 20yrs from now in JB city thus have not so atas feel even you build an really atas condo around it, though I'm a great fan of hawker food. Nusajaya is a rather newly planned township unlike JB, thus much easier to enforce and get things done faster.

Yes, have to wait at least 10-15yrs before seeing fullest potential with Johor's population target at 3mil and Sg's at 6.9mil (will be earlier than 2030) and with infrastructures coming up. And I strongly think both Nusajaya and JB investors going in now will still be making good money (at least 50%?) if one is willing to hold that long.

Cheers frm cheer.

cheerguan

Yesterday, visited Puteri New Ferry Terminal in the afternoon, while was inside the building roaming happily, suddenly heard serveral loud pounding sound outside the building.

First thought was it the thunder or the contractor at work?

Curiously, went outside to investigate.

OMG !!!:eek:

It was from the opposite straits at Lim Chu Kang..

How long it last? Few mins then ok lah! Few hours then jialak for those staying there.

winners

New Tax Rates For Foreigners Owning Properties In Johor

JOHOR BARU: The state government will impose higher tax rates for about 130,000 foreigners who own properties in the state.

Johor Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Mohamed Khaled said that the rates were still being discussed but the new rates will be imposed by the end of the year.

"I believe that most locals will be in agreement to this new policy and it is done to increase our state's returns," he said during a press conference before conducting a walkabout in Permas here on Sunday.

Mohamed Khaled added that a re-evaluation exercise would also be conducted statewide as the last formal evaluation was done in the 80's.

"Some of the local councils have conducted property evaluations in the last few years and this includes the Johor Baru City Council (MBJB) who last did a property evaluation in 1991.

"Taxpayers need not worry about the evaluations as property taxes will be retained for lower priced properties," he said adding that higher taxes may be imposed for properties worth in the millions.

Mohamed Khaled said that the state had no intention of increasing the financial burden of the people but also needed to increase the returns to ensure that the local councils can provide better facilities and services for the locals.

Source: http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2013/6/2/nation/20130602122541&sec=nation

Looks like they are really learning fast from the PAPies, everything also wants to increase liow. Next on the cards will be utilities like electricity and water.

Geminipegasus

Re: New Tax Rates For Foreigners Owning Properties In Johor

JOHOR

Looks like they are really learning fast from the PAPies, everything also wants to increase liow. Next on the cards will be utilities like electricity and water.

Different as here they bait, trap and then squeeze us the foreigners while in Singapore they squeeze us Singaporeans in order to give out free scholarships and freebies to foreigners. Wonder they will bring back mahathir styled $100K sales tax for foreigners selling the properties and then use the money to lower taxes for bumiputras.

shctaw

Can understand why u love Nusajaya by looking at you nick.

10 years is too slow. 3-5 years I am gone. A decade is too slow for investment to ripe.

Like I say, I may be wrong from the beginning about Nusajaya. I look at Iskandar only in June-Aug 2012 as my system show a bull run in Johor. Maybe I am wrong, but my bet work in such a way that even if I am wrong, I made money.

But old dog like me whom lost million before cannot learn new trick anymore.

Cheers,
N

shctaw

Govt never tell the truth.

if they say 6.9m population, you must add 10-20% on top of it.

Juanra, I like your reasoning.. Not just Ang moh who will be settling down in medini or other nusajaya areas but also Singaporeans who are finding it more cost effective to live there in the near future as spore move towards its 6.9 mil population.

Avonup

Thank you guys very much, namely Wuqi, Jasonjst and kopikong99. A kitchen cabinet maker quoted me 80psf for granite. Luckily now I know that prices are only around 20plus psf to 50psf. Quartz stone, which is suppose to be around the same price or just 10% higher than granite are even more expensive in Malaysia, I was quoted a promotion price of 152psf. Usual price are from 204psf to 300psf. Now I can save a significant amount just for the table top. Thanks for sharing, guys :smile:

Hi Investor,
Thanks for sharing. Do you buy the granite separately? If yes, would it be troublesome to coordinated with the carpenter for the kitchen cabinet?

Regards,

Chocolate

Landed usually has a time lag at the start compare to condo, before powering forward. I believe landed and condo should perform equally well in 2013 and 2014 in JB. Beyond that, landed will lead.

At the end of the day the price we pay is important. We make when we BUY not when we SELL. This is the lesson I have taken way from my experience in SG. We have to evaluate what we're buying- location, leasehold or FH, landed or condo and see if its value for money and also if its a rising mkt.Really good investors can also look into future potential. Who are the likely tenants/ owner occupiers? I feel a bit assured on this as the population figures here will automatically create a push factor. But where will these folks want to live?
Whether condo or landed or LH or FH, get this right and it spells success.Its getting harder to sniff out bargains now in MY and the biggest problem the SG investors have is that they compare everything with SG prices. Others go to the other extreme and compare it with JB 10 years ago or some small town in Malaysia . We got to recognise that some prices no longer make sense, on the other hand there are gems to be sniffed out or areas with future potential that can still go up. Just thread with caution. There is right now a lot of inconsistencies in the market. new condos are being launched at more than double the price of older condos ( FH) occupied by locals in the same area. Its the same for landed, only difference is our landed is G&G. Malaysians arenot willing to pay so much more for the same neighbourhood. So we're heavily dependent on policies here, and foreigners to make it work.

Status
Not open for further replies.