• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Letter informs Ubin residents of possible resettlement

New site for nuke plant? :eek:

1) For rich men's playground called "theme park" and eventually pave way for 3rd casino.

2) For foreign worker's dome to be in line with population white paper

3) Another richmen housing zone called Ubin Cove by the sea

Hawkeye1819

1) For rich men's playground called "theme park" and eventually pave way for 3rd casino.

2) For foreign worker's dome to be in line with population white paper

3) Another richmen housing zone called Ubin Cove by the sea

I suspect (2).

Anyone with inside info can confirm?

Pulau Ubin is the last island where the young can learn about Kampong life..

To convert the whole island to be an adventure park is really really sickening..

These Pappy Scums are as usual up to their old tricks..

They're trying to make Pulau Ubin to be another money making machine for them..

Expensive entrance fees to prevent the commoners from visiting the Island..

Another new playground for the rich, the elites and their family to enjoy..

Fuck You PAP!!! :oIo::oIo::oIo:

OrLanChowHorFun

should just strip Ubin of all vegetation then import sand from the Pacific islands and turn it into a big nude colony for the rich mah !

and public sex on the beach is legal !

Hawkeye1819

Bro myfoot nailed it.

The SCM has come out with a surprising claim that there was never any plan to have a recreational facility to begin with.

This makes it more likely than ever that what they were planning was a set of foreign worker dorms

There are also dishonesty coercing the residents off the land - by imposing a fine on them in the form of what they call "rental of state property".

http://www.straitstimes.com/breakin...ents-will-not-be-evicted-mnd-and-sla-20130412

Residents on Pulau Ubin will not be evicted and there are no plans to develop a new adventure park on the island, the Ministry of National Development and the Singapore Land Authority said on Friday in a joint statement.
However, if affected residents do decide to stay in their homes, they will have to pay rent from now on because they are staying on state land.
The agencies clarified that the notices given to 22 households in March - widely thought to be eviction notices - were a follow-up from a previous exercise.
Since 1993, the households had been informed that they would be affected by public development, which included a new recreation park, and were entitled to resettlement benefits.

I am actually surprised that no rental was collected all these years. Very unlike the PAP government. The fact that they brought in HDB resettlement officers besides sending the notice suggest that it is way to convince them to leave by offering choice flats so that it is considered as voluntary rather than an eviction.

DuYunQi

It would be interesting if the residents in ubin staged a protest on the island itself. I mean, if they feel that they were being unfairly treated.

I wonder how many anti-riot personnel can be sent to that island in a jiffy?

Hmm.. maybe some foreign warriors can go there to shake things up? (I'm just thinking out of my logical mind.. don't say I'm inciting anything.. but my mind wonders as if you stayed on the island for almsot a lifetime, would you want to move out at all?)

HTOLAS

First, it's affordable rental, with an offer of a new HDB flat. Accompanying this are the Pap Instructed Press & Media (PIMP) suggesting that it is only fair that like the rest of Singapore, these people should pay rent. Nearly all residents will say, 'ok' as will most of the others. Only the 'lunatic' fringe will kpkb.

Second, the rent goes up, with PIMP citing the principle of going closer to 'market rate.' The offer of HDB flat becomes more attractive. More move. By this time, the population will be about 6 million with many on the main island really feeling the squeeze of masses and the pressure of mad property prices, and thus would not object to these few people paying a few dollars more.

Third, the 'rental' becomes 'market rate' and the pressure to move out will be even greater. Almost 6.5m, and nobody on the main island is complaining. A threat will be issued that the offer of new HDB flats will not last forever. All move out. Ubin becomes playground for the super rich who need to make trips to Malaysia regularly.

22 households and most have an immediate family member with a home on the mainland. Resettlement always jumps queue and you cam pick and chose with a wide range. You also get personalised service with the resettlement office acting as your welfare coordinator.

This is nothing new but has been the operating model for 4 decades.

I don't there will be a fuss.

It would be interesting if the residents in ubin staged a protest on the island itself. I mean, if they feel that they were being unfairly treated.

I wonder how many anti-riot personnel can be sent to that island in a jiffy?

Hmm.. maybe some foreign warriors can go there to shake things up? (I'm just thinking out of my logical mind.. don't say I'm inciting anything.. but my mind wonders as if you stayed on the island for almsot a lifetime, would you want to move out at all?)

GbMySg

Ubin Cove - at $50mil per bungalow, 20 bungalows will enrich the coffers by $1 billion. The gahmen is well known for its pragmatism. 22 households, even at $500k each in compensation is peanuts. So, what? Even if the eviction will cost a few votes in 2016. Miniscule collateral damage. More space to squeeze in the 6.9 million sardines. Hong Lim Pk noise is merely an irriation.

andyfisher

This govt keeps shooting itself in the balls.

This must be one of the most ineffectual govt if it angkat all this towkay balls. knn pui

MenghidupKehadapan

I have relations living on the Ubin and they have always said that these reminder letters are like a knife pointed at their backs and slowly threatening them out to the ocean. I have seen grown men cry that they would rather die on the island than to be forced to step foot on the mainland.

By asking them to pay rent, the government is forcing these folk to eke out a living that they, in their innocence, have never seen it as part of their life equation. As much as they don't earn a cent, neither do they take more than what they need to fulfill their simple lives.

But yet, I bear no grudge nor envy that the these villagers do not pay a cent to live there. To me, their hearts are in tending to what little slice of heaven we have left in this concrete hell we call Singapore and they are the custodians perhaps to the final vestige of sanity in this place we call home.

andyfisher

I dont mind if its a new geylang, got some island chickens to play with, otherwise if its going to be more rich tiongland urines and shitland shits who sapu all the houses, then no point.

knn, this govt really best. screw us left, right and center