• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Latest WC2010 bid FAILED

In any case, not much of a problem for me. I only want to watch the England games and the games from quarter finals onward. There's always Malaysia and Thailand. SAF, please don't attack Malaysia this June-July.

aurvandil

It's a business decision. FIFA knows how much SInktel paid for the EPL, why would FIFA shortsell themselves?

Maintaining the prestige of the WC brand is at stake here, and far more important than the tens of millions that Sinkapore's market can earn for them.

It is stupidity on the part of Sinktel to pay a ridiculous price for EPL and we are all paying for that mistake...

Actually isn't this the story of Sinkies lives? Forever paying for the costly mistakes of PAPPIES.

It was a huge policy failure on the part of Minister Liu. For months, netizens had been writing about the problems of the destructive competition between Singtel and Starhub. The most prominent of these was Tan Kin Lian.

In typical PAP fashion, Minister Liu chose to ignore the comments. It was only when it affected WC 2010 and threatened to become a political issue that he took notice.

Even then, he chose to act in a leisurely fashion. He appointed an expensive consultant who came to the same conclusion as what the netizens had been saying. He then sat on it for another few months before announcing changes in the recent Parlimentary debate. The following is what he said from the Hansard.

RAdm [NS] Lui Tuck Yew: The pay TV market is still evolving, we have not reached a stable equilibrium in terms of subscription to the two pay TV retailers and MDA believes that the overall development of the sector is best left to market forces.

Nonetheless, I wish to assure the House that MDA will study competition issues carefully and not hesitate to step in where necessary. We share Members’ concerns with the proliferation of exclusive carriage agreements (ECAs), a commercial practice in the pay TV market that allows pay TV retailers to lock-in premium content. In order to lock out potential competitors and differentiate their content offerings, these retailers are prepared to pay a substantial premium for exclusive rights to content. This translates to higher content acquisition costs for the retailers.

Since SingTel’s entry into the pay TV market in July 2007, competition between SingTel and StarHub Cable Vision (SCV) has resulted in the doubling of ECAs from 64 in December 2005 to 131 today. This widespread use of ECAs between channel providers and pay TV retailers as seen in Singapore, is rare in international markets. In view of this, MDA had commissioned a study on competition issues in the pay TV market in Singapore which concluded last year. Its review of international practices showed that some countries such as the UK and France were actively exploring measures to address the issue of competition for ECAs. UK in particular has been studying the issue since 2007 and has to date not issued its final decision due to the complexities involved. Singapore, too, had to carefully consider the implications on commercial grounds as well as our international obligations.

The study also showed that the ECA-centric competition in Singapore since 2007 has resulted in both industry and consumers being negatively impacted. Firstly, content costs now constitute a significant percentage of pay TV retailers’ revenue, compared to international benchmarks. For example, SCV’s content costs to revenue ratio has risen from 40% prior to 2007 to 70% today. This is much higher than the average 40% for pay TV operators in most other countries including the US, UK and Hong Kong.

Secondly, Singapore suffers from a high degree of content fragmentation compared to other countries. Out of 179 channels today, only seven channels are common to both SCV and SingTel. An international benchmarking exercise that we conducted using a group of 16 popular channels showed that Singapore was the only country with exclusive arrangements for all 16 channels.

MDA’s review has concluded that this situation is unlikely to self-correct in the near future and steps need to be taken to address this market failure. Arising from its review, MDA will now require pay TV retailers to cross carry each other’s content which has been acquired exclusively. Let me explain how this will work when implemented. For example, if SingTel acquires a new channel exclusively, it will have to make this channel available to StarHub’s or SCV's subscribers on SCV’s set-top box and vice-versa. This measure will allow consumers to watch an exclusive channel through their preferred pay TV retailer, regardless of which retailer acquired the rights to that channel and they will access available content from a single set-top box. Consumers would no longer require multiple set-top boxes or switch retailers each time the rights of exclusive content changes hands. This will facilitate greater consumer access to pay-TV content and re-focus competition to other aspects such as service differentiation and competitive packaging.

G

General Veers

RAdm [NS] Lui Tuck Yew: The pay TV market is still evolving, we have not reached a stable equilibrium in terms of subscription to the two pay TV retailers and MDA believes that the overall development of the sector is best left to market forces.

Talked so much cock. We just want to have the final answer.

aurvandil

In any case, not much of a problem for me. I only want to watch the England games and the games from quarter finals onward. There's always Malaysia and Thailand. SAF, please don't attack Malaysia this June-July.

I am more interested in the initial matches. There are usually mispricings of the odds for the less popular teams which can give those who have mastered the arcane craft of odds making a chance of making some kopi money.

Ha. perfect retribution. last time they always block malaysian TV3 and other malaysian channels for fear of competition like 3/4 petrol tank rule. NOW they got @ssed and have to pay through their nose(or is it @ss) for watching WC2010 and lose alot of money to FIFA. if they haven't block, we could have watch for free and they saved alot of money!!!! FIFA think alot of stupid people here(which may be correct).
pay and succumb to FIFA demands and definitely would end up looking STUPID paying ridiculous amount for such a small population of viewers. don't pay and don't get rights to watch WC2010, also looks very idiotic. Ha, ha, ha, hobson choice. checkmate!!!!!!

You hit the spot. Why need to pay extra money to block TV and extra manpower to check 3/4 tank rule. Waste tax payer money.
Just let all enjoy free or have choice.
Malaysia never block Singapore Channel in JB all can have free Singapore TV Channel. Actually Malaysia gov very happy to see Singapore implement 3/4 rule. All Malaysia ministers will laugh stupit idiot Singapore gov. Malaysia can save lot of money in fuel and manpower.

aurvandil

The following is Minister Liu's smug speech on WC2010 in Parliament on 12 Mar 2010. 2 weeks later, FIFA told him to go fly a kite.

RAdm [NS] Lui Tuck Yew:Mr Zaqy Mohamed, Mr Arthur Fong and Mr Zainudin Nordin also asked whether the Government plans to intervene in the broadcast of the forthcoming World Cup. Let me just say that I am very happy that the World Cup comes around only once every four years. [Laughter ]. We understand that SingTel and StarHub have recently made a new offer and negotiations with FIFA are still on-going. This is a commercial matter that is best left to the two pay-TV retailers and FIFA to settle. I know time is running short, we are well into the second half and approaching injury time, but we will remain hopeful that the negotiations will reach a sensible outcome.

The following is Minister Liu's smug speech on WC2010 in Parliament on 12 Mar 2010. 2 weeks later, FIFA told him to go fly a kite.

RAdm [NS] Lui Tuck Yew:Mr Zaqy Mohamed, Mr Arthur Fong and Mr Zainudin Nordin also asked whether the Government plans to intervene in the broadcast of the forthcoming World Cup. Let me just say that I am very happy that the World Cup comes around only once every four years. [Laughter ]. We understand that SingTel and StarHub have recently made a new offer and negotiations with FIFA are still on-going. This is a commercial matter that is best left to the two pay-TV retailers and FIFA to settle. I know time is running short, we are well into the second half and approaching injury time, but we will remain hopeful that the negotiations will reach a sensible outcome.

That's politicese (political language) for he's clueless.

ChaoPappyPoodle

It was a huge policy failure on the part of Minister Liu. For months, netizens had been writing about the problems of the destructive competition between Singtel and Starhub. The most prominent of these was Tan Kin Lian.

In typical PAP fashion, Minister Liu chose to ignore the comments. It was only when it affected WC 2010 and threatened to become a political issue that he took notice.

Even then, he chose to act in a leisurely fashion. He appointed an expensive consultant who came to the same conclusion as what the netizens had been saying. He then sat on it for another few months before announcing changes in the recent Parlimentary debate.
The following is what he said from the Hansard.

A typical PAP MP! If he has to consult someone else everytime there is anissue then what"s the point of paying him! Again, even laypeople know the answer. The reason laypeople know the answer is because we know the situation better than this cock! :oIo:

As usual talking cock! The entire media industry is always in a state of flux! Evolution is part of the industry.Equilibrium is non-existent in such an industry! :oIo:

This mother farker tries to use big words that actually only end up showing his deficiency on all counts!

Nonetheless, I wish to assure the House that MDA will study competition issues carefully and not hesitate to step in where necessary. We share Members’ concerns with the proliferation of exclusive carriage agreements (ECAs), a commercial practice in the pay TV market that allows pay TV retailers to lock-in premium content. In order to lock out potential competitors and differentiate their content offerings, these retailers are prepared to pay a substantial premium for exclusive rights to content. This translates to higher content acquisition costs for the retailers.

Note the lack of empathy for viewers! His concern is for SingTel and Starhub! :oIo::oIo:

If these two idiotic companies do not know how to run a business then let them die off and allow true entrepreneurs to come in.

Since SingTel’s entry into the pay TV market in July 2007, competition between SingTel and StarHub Cable Vision (SCV) has resulted in the doubling of ECAs from 64 in December 2005 to 131 today. This widespread use of ECAs between channel providers and pay TV retailers as seen in Singapore, is rare in international markets. In view of this, MDA had commissioned a study on competition issues in the pay TV market in Singapore which concluded last year. Its review of international practices showed that some countries such as the UK and France were actively exploring measures to address the issue of competition for ECAs. UK in particular has been studying the issue since 2007 and has to date not issued its final decision due to the complexities involved. Singapore, too, had to carefully consider the implications on commercial grounds as well as our international obligations.

The study also showed that the ECA-centric competition in Singapore since 2007 has resulted in both industry and consumers being negatively impacted. Firstly, content costs now constitute a significant percentage of pay TV retailers’ revenue, compared to international benchmarks. For example, SCV’s content costs to revenue ratio has risen from 40% prior to 2007 to 70% today. This is much higher than the average 40% for pay TV operators in most other countries including the US, UK and Hong Kong.

Paying $50M for EPL will surely skew the results. Only an idiot will add this to his statistics. Of course, he is trying to hoodwink consumers into worrying about two mega-idiots. This cock-talking PAP MP forgets that viewers vote him and not the two MEGA-idiots.

This brings to light the idiotic SPH Mediaworks AND Mediacorpse when they were in competition. These other two mega-idiots actually resorted to charging such low prices for advertising that both made losses! Can you imagine two idiots pricing themselves to the extent that they both made losses? :oIo:

Secondly, Singapore suffers from a high degree of content fragmentation compared to other countries. Out of 179 channels today, only seven channels are common to both SCV and SingTel. An international benchmarking exercise that we conducted using a group of 16 popular channels showed that Singapore was the only country with exclusive arrangements for all 16 channels.

Only in Singapore! Pay peanuts and you get baboons! :oIo::oIo:

MDA’s review has concluded that this situation is unlikely to self-correct in the near future and steps need to be taken to address this market failure. Arising from its review, MDA will now require pay TV retailers to cross carry each other’s content which has been acquired exclusively. Let me explain how this will work when implemented. For example, if SingTel acquires a new channel exclusively, it will have to make this channel available to StarHub’s or SCV's subscribers on SCV’s set-top box and vice-versa. This measure will allow consumers to watch an exclusive channel through their preferred pay TV retailer, regardless of which retailer acquired the rights to that channel and they will access available content from a single set-top box. Consumers would no longer require multiple set-top boxes or switch retailers each time the rights of exclusive content changes hands. This will facilitate greater consumer access to pay-TV content and re-focus competition to other aspects such as service differentiation and competitive packaging.

And with this last paragraph, expect to pay more to watch your programming. Do you think either one of these mega-idiots will allow their fellow idiot to telecast their respective exclusive programmes for free.

What this means is that, if SingTel acquires exclusive content, it now has the advantage of having Starhub viewers as potential viewers. It doesn't take a idiot to reconise that this whole idea is to allow each company to expand its viewership. And with all exclusive content, one should expect to pay additionally for these content.

Nothing is done to control the pricing and hence, we should expect more of the same as consumers and that is to pay more and more because these two idiots now actually have more incentive to overpay for their acquisitions.

This PAP MP is out of touch with his jobscope. Instead of helping consumers, he is helping these two mega-idiots. These two mega-idiots overpaid and passed on the costs to consumers and this cock PAP MP's solution is to provide more incentive to these two mega-idiots to do much more of the same and that is to continue to overpay for exclusive content.

ChaoPappyPoodle

KNNCCB! YOu only go into extra-time if the game is at a draw state! You don't go into overtime when you are losing 2-0! :oIo:

This is the type of MP the beloved PAP hypes so much about? :oIo:

ChaoPappyPoodle

he said injury time (oso known as added-on time) ... not xtra time ...

When you are 2-0 down with time running out, you would be wishing for extra-time. :biggrin: 2-0 down and still confident??? All he has done is to increase the revenue base of SingTel and Starhub.

And who told him that there will be any injury time? He is a total numbskull! If i were him, i would tell parliament thatI will talk to FIFA directly to understand their stand and from there, I will propose a solution for WC2010 viewers because we owe it to viewers.

This whole episode smells of the last Olympics when Medicorpse went in at the 11th hour. This WC2010 is just another wayang!

Not many Singaporeans give a hoot about the last Olympics. They went in 11th hour for the PRCs in Singapore, as it's special for them, hosted in Beijing. They even got an ex-PRC to be Singapore flagbearer to emphasize the point.

ChaoPappyPoodle

Not many Singaporeans give a hoot about the last Olympics. They went in 11th hour for the PRCs in Singapore, as it's special for them, hosted in Beijing. They even got an ex-PRC to be Singapore flagbearer to emphasize the point.

OF course they did. And not forgetting our FT paddlers. But it's very malu to not have shown the Olympics especially when the PAP will be hosting YOG.

WC2010 will be shown. The wayang is to drag the issue for as long as possible and then have a PAPy-related SCUM come in at the 11th+ to be the hero.

SneeringTree

he said injury time (oso known as added-on time) ... not xtra time ...

For a man who said he's never watched porn in his life, I am not surprised he's never watched a single football match in his life too. So he is just reading from a script.

He's only good a studying for exams and scoring straight As.

For a man who said he's never watched porn in his life, I am not surprised he's never watched a single football match in his life too. So he is just reading from a script.

Add an s. For a rear admirer, he's good for scoring straight ass.

This is what i've read in Wanbao:

SingTel bid $XXXX, StarHub bid $YYYY, then they decide to join together bidding for $ZZZZ (XXXX + YYYY / 2), but FIFA wants $ZZZZ x 2, LOL

you guys do the maths, LOL :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Blame who? FIFA? or the 2 shitty bloodsuckers? :oIo::oIo::oIo:

aurvandil

Minister Liu came in via the backdoor in Tanjong Pagar GRC. As Acting Minister, he is a high flyer. Since he is the sucessor to Dr Lee Boon Yang, the logical place for him to contest this election would be Jalan Besar GRC.

Jalan Besear GRC has a large Malay constituiency and is next door to the ever popular Aljunied GRC. If Aljunied is to be strengthened, Jalan Besar GRC would be one of the few places where they can do some "redrawing". This would weaken Jalan Besar GRC and make it an attractive place to contest. This is especially if it is headed by an Acting Minister who Singaporeans hold accountable for their NOT being able to watch WC2010.

aurvandil

Something I really don't understand. I was shocked to learn from Wikipedia that we will be spending more than US$500 milon the YOG. Minister Liu has so far steadfastly refused to spend any money to bring WC2010 to Sg.

Based on the response so far, it is obvious that the YOG is not very popular. Minister Viv. had to literally beg Singaporeans to show some interest. On the other hand, WC2010 is wildy popular.

Why are they squandering so much money on YOG and the same time refusing to help to bring WC2010 to Singapore?

---
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2010_Summer_Youth_Olympics

Host of the 117th IOC Session, Singapore made its first formal bid to host a multi-disciplinary sporting event of this magnitude. Positive factors in its bid included its high connectivity with the world, its youthfulness as an independent country, and its positive reputation for excellence and multi-racial harmony. The city-state rolled out a high-publicity campaign which included being amongst the first to launch its official website, bid logo (despite IOC rules against bid logos) and a bid tagline "Blazing the Trail" on 16 October 2007[2] and getting the local population to support its bid, including an effort by students to collect 1 million signatures in support of the games.[3] The Logo-Making Competition for the Games attracted 1,500 participants and the winning design was unveiled on 10 January 2010. Entitled 'Spirit Of Youth', the official logo, according to the organizers, showcases passion for sports and the values of Olympism.

Singapore originally planned to use the National University of Singapore’s University Town for a high tech Youth Olympic Village. However the rapid increase in construction costs in 2008 resulted in the shifting of the Youth Olympic Village to Nanyang Technological University in Jurong West.[4] Jurong West Sports and Recreation Centre will also feature prominently in the games.

There were concerns that the plan contained two new venues - the Olympic Village and equestrian complex. With concerns over delivering in time for the games, a construction expert reported the $423 million Olympic Village plan at the University was feasible. (There is a backup plan as well.) Similarly, the expert believed the equestrian venue could be delivered on time.[5]

The budget is $75.5 million and has strong government support. The plan is also attractive because of its compactness in the Singapore city-state.[5]

Olympic Village? Too late isn't it? Look at how they drag the demolition of Kallang Stadium, hahaha, they still using it, I just saw the floodlights at night few days ago, LOL

aurvandil

Check out the latest comments from FIFA. The PAP is learning that while they can wayang, FIFA can wayang too.
---

http://tnp.sg/news/story/0,4136,234795,00.html?

There's no official announcement as yet, but football fans in Singapore should get their ringside seats for sport's biggest spectacle, the World Cup.

This assurance comes from none other than Fifa, football's governing body which holds the broadcast rights to the tournament.

Mr Hidenori Arai, Fifa's TV sales representative for Asia, told The New Paper on phone from Zurich yesterday: "I am optimistic that the broadcast rights will be placed for Singapore (for the 2010 World Cup).

"I am confident that there will be TV licensees for the World Cup in Singapore."

Mr Arai declined to comment when the broadcast rights would be awarded.

Since the telcos, which are competing cable-TV providers, failed in their first bid, there has been much anxiety among fans and speculation in the media over whether there will be a World Cup blackout here.

Football Media Services (FMS) is Fifa's regional sales agent and it is negotiating with SingTel and StarHub on Fifa's behalf.

Mr Arai was surprised at a comment in The Straits Times report in which a source said that FMS "had the luxury of holding out (in the World Cup broadcast rights negotiations) because it had met its sales quota for the region" and "any sales it makes over and above this will bring negligible rewards".

He said: "If that is true, FMS has not followed its responsibilities. It is supposed to help Singapore's interests in getting the TV rights to the World Cup.