• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Landmark Stand by Hougang for all Singaporeans

Fook Seng

Nice-Gook said:
Why don't we send a message both to PAP & WP,by rejecting both?....since we do have an option.Other opposition parties lah.

Why "we"? Why don't you just do it on your own?

Honestly bro, don't get involved in any political discussion. Its beyond you. Couple of us once had to tell a friend not to invite us to his house for meals as the wife can't cook at all. Nobody wanted to tell her so we had to pass the message.

Do you know anything about JBJ, FS and TLH and why they went after them. LTK is a lousy cook and never attempted to cook. He found another way to engage his guests and it worked and it continues to work. The PAP do not have any purchase to go after his cooking.

Can they touch LTK for playing with party accounts, can they touch LTK for tax irregularities, more importantly had LTK given the PAP an opportunity to crucify or compromise him.

Exactly his point... why PAP go after JBJ, go after Francis Seow, go after Tang Liang Hong, but LKY endorses Low Thia Kiang?? Valid qn if u ask me

3_M

Exactly his point... why PAP go after JBJ, go after Francis Seow, go after Tang Liang Hong, but LKY endorses Low Thia Kiang?? Valid qn if u ask me

So did PAP go after TJS, VW, GMS or Nicole Seah? If no, does that mean LKY endorses them as well?

sengkang

Facebook

Pappy Tan
I am not against any Opposition party and is pretty supportive of any Opposition parties but looking at the BIG PICTURE, this political scenario of only ONE BIG PARTY and MANY SMALLER PARTIES must stop.

This is not about democracy or lack of it. Real democracy means we can have more than one choice of government but now Singapore do not have that because alternative parties kept on cancelling each other out for 47 years and remained small and inconsequential. Singaporeans only have PAP to choose from to be government. Singaporeans are force by circumstances to vote PAP.

SDP, WP, SDA, NSP, SPP, RP can have all the best policies in the world and debate until death but no power, no votes, no parliamentary seats, no government positions, nothing will happen and nothing will change. Be practical.

Singaporeans are trained by PAP for 47 years to accept single party stability. Singaporeans appetite for coalition government is very very little as compared to single alternative party government.

Best chance tp replace PAP as government is to join WP and help WP grow base on Hougang & Aljunied GRC platforms. This will be the fastest route and a choice with higher chance to succeed and will not waste everybody's time, money, effort and youth.

Unless NSP, SDP, SDA, RP, SPP are still only interested to play musical chairs to be ONLY leading Opposition party like from 1980s-2000s between JBJ's WP and Chiam's SDP and in the end achieve nothing and wasted everybody's time, money, effort and youth.

How many 5 years and how many 47 years do Singaporeans have to allow alternative parties to be fractious ?? Singaporeans do not want to replace WP and start all over again. Singaporeans want to grow WP and replace PAP asap.

Singaporeans are force to vote PAP every election because only PAP is government-sized party and Singapore still needs a government at the end of the day. Singaporeans are sick of alternative party playing musical chairs and the endless cycle.

Join WP and grow it to be government-sized asap please. Start competing for government rather than be leading Opposition.

Singapore is too small for so many political parties but big enough for 2-party Parliament system. But we dont even have the second government-sized party yet and here we have so many smaller inconsequential alternative parties. But what is the point ???<a class="uiLinkSubtle" href="http://www.facebook.com/workersparty/posts/208355509284529?comment_id=631365&offset=0&total_comments=20" data-ft="{&quot;tn&quot;:&quot;N&quot;}"><abbr title="Sunday, May 20, 2012 at 12:32am" data-utime="1337445172" class="timestamp livetimestamp">10 hours ago</abbr> · · 28

Chiam See Tong and SDP had the same chance as WP today to grow to be government during 1990s when SDP had 3 parliament seats but we all know the history that SDP self-destructed due to differences between Ling How Doong, Chiam See Tong & Chee Soon Juan.
Opposition became a sorry state after GE 1997 and it took 10 years to recover the confidence of Singaporeans. Meanwhile PAP took the 10 years to to increase immigration, introduce damaging policies and abuse their positions.
Let us hope WP have no repeat of what happen to SDP during 1990s.
Low Thia Khiang and Sylvia Lim are proven political leaders and party leaders with long track record, I do not understand why leaders of other alternative parties prefer to strike out on their own rather than join WP and work for the two WP leaders.
Are political egos, differences and pride more important than Singapore's political development, replacing the PAP government and democratic process ??
No more merry-go-rounds and musical chairs please.<a class="uiLinkSubtle" href="http://www.facebook.com/workersparty/posts/208355509284529?comment_id=631475&offset=0&total_comments=26" data-ft="{&quot;tn&quot;:&quot;N&quot;}"><abbr title="Sunday, May 20, 2012 at 1:03am" data-utime="1337447037" class="timestamp livetimestamp">10 hours ago</abbr> ·

RafflesTiger

So did PAP go after TJS, VW, GMS or Nicole Seah? If no, does that mean LKY endorses them as well?

LKY did really endorse Low by saying he is a good MP and worth listening to... Did LKY endorse these people u are talking about?? Do u know what Francis Seow says about Low??

kukubird58

hahaha...i must said i am most disappointed....that my idol, the wise man can made such motherhood statements.....
even a secondary school boy can make such statements.....but then they are secondary school boys....not wise (old) man.
making such statements is obviously a trait of an empty vessel trying to play to the gallery....
let me respond (progressively the easy ones first) to bump up the thread......
1. To reveal in Parliament the number of PAP MPs who have committed adultery over the last 50 years while being a member of parliament. A statutory declaration from the Prime Minister is all that is needed to confirm that no PAP MP committed adultery while in office.
hahaha...what a cock request........surely any sensible person cannot expect this to be done....regardless whether it MIW or MIB.

2. To force this Govt to reveal the assets of all politicians including that of their immediate families as well as assets held in trust by third parties since they entered politics.
hahaha...another cock request.....who will want to take on a job where you have to do this publicly for all to know.

3. Keep our streets safe so that Taxi drivers like Mr Cheng Teck Hock who worked late in the early hours of the morning could send his 3 children to school without being killed by foreign playboys using our streets as a race track.
hahaha...this is clearly opportunist.....just becos of the recent accident...
i read many times forummers condemning taxis drivers as raod menace....
now suddenly they becum angels......
the number of fatalities caused by the "regular" road users is much more......
of course road safety education and enforcement can be improved but do it objectively....not like an opportunist.

hahaha...enough for today.....lol.
hahaha....sorry I have to get this off my chest becos the mis-information is too much.....
my idol was more kuku than i thought........and he thought papee is even more kuku.......
1. To force this Govt not to use Peoples Association to fund its campaign and manage constituency politics on behalf of the govt. Paying for supporters of PAP to attend PAP rallys via transport and food parcels is just not on. Demand PAP ministers and MPs to use their own money.
papee is not so stupid to use "gahmen" money to pay for the supporters to attend papee rallies via transport and food parcels...
use your brain a bit and u will know this is bullshit......the opps parties knew this and have not made any noise to make themsleves look silly...
the arrangement and funding cums from papee branches......distinct from RC/PA.......although many pple mixed the 2together....
papee branches have their own ways of raising funds but they are not "directly" from gahmen coffers......

3_M

LKY did really endorse Low by saying he is a good MP and worth listening to... Did LKY endorse these people u are talking about?? Do u know what Francis Seow says about Low??

This goes to show you are still a political novice. Don't you know letting a political opponent sings praises to his foe is never a good thing in politics? It known as political kiss of death.

In any case are you sure LKY praises LTK and not CST?

Cruxx

latestleekuanyewi.jpg

“If we had considered them serious political figures, we would not have kept them politically alive for so long. We could have bankrupt them earlier.”

wikiphile

It's called a Hobson's choice.You are damned if you do and damned if you don't.

But wait a minute,WP is not the only opposition ,right?

Why don't we send a message both to PAP & WP,by rejecting both?....since we do have an option.Other opposition parties lah.

Question: Who?

SPP/SDA: Finished and very new blood coming in
SDP: A lot of intellectuals but their grassroot movement and appeal seems to be stillborn
RP: I'll not even make a joke on this
NSP: Just as good and infiltrated as WP

In short bro, only WP has the seats in parliament at the moment. You can talk about that when SPP/SDA regained their long lost seats and NSP/SDP make progress by capturing at least 1. Till then, tough

wikiphile

hahaha....sorry I have to get this off my chest becos the mis-information is too much.....
my idol was more kuku than i thought........and he thought papee is even more kuku.......
1. To force this Govt not to use Peoples Association to fund its campaign and manage constituency politics on behalf of the govt. Paying for supporters of PAP to attend PAP rallys via transport and food parcels is just not on. Demand PAP ministers and MPs to use their own money.
papee is not so stupid to use "gahmen" money to pay for the supporters to attend papee rallies via transport and food parcels...
use your brain a bit and u will know this is bullshit......the opps parties knew this and have not made any noise to make themsleves look silly...
the arrangement and funding cums from papee branches......distinct from RC/PA.......although many pple mixed the 2together....
papee branches have their own ways of raising funds but they are not "directly" from gahmen coffers......

For once you are not making snide remarks and being very informative here, congratulations :biggrin:

I know one or two methods of how their funds came about, the business community and awards seeking businessmen and entrepreneurs have been very helpful.

Thick Face Black Heart

The PAP has always feared LTK because he can rally the masses. You probably think sending videos to Obama, getting Human Rights Watch to publish an article, submitting letters to the WSJ and getting the IBA on your side will hurt the PAP. They don't. The voters don't care, they don't even know, and even if some do know, they can't be bothered.

Any opposition that is garnering steam will attract brickbats from both the PAP as well as other oppositions who know they will be sidelined unless they up their own game. Some end up cooperating with the PAP to put down WP because clearly it is a common interest. Such behaviour however does nothing to advance politics. You either up your own game and become a better player, or you go down the "beggar thy neighbour" route and become a destructive force. The choice is yours.

You notice SDP supporters are no longer trying to portray WP as an approved opposition but in instead focussed on upping their game. That can only be good for singapore politics. Your are still stuck in a time warp, and that is why your postings on this genre are not gaining much traction. If you were active 3 years ago, TR and Wayang Party Club would have teamed up with you instantly and given you a microphone and a platform.

Which is the exact reason why PAP is bankrolling WP for.

Don't you think PAP is lot more smarter than to allow opposition to take root?The very fact PAP created a pseudo opposition in the form of WP,is not to allow any opposition to take root at all.PAP first achieved that by ISD and imprisonment,when such acts drew international condemnation than it switched to bankruptcy....which is now also outdated.

PAP is always keeping ahead of times and preempting any genuine oppositions to take root.Hence it befalls on us to teach them a lesson.

The PAP has always feared LTK because he can rally the masses.

it's more respect than fear. and he's more negotiable and less stubborn. jbj could rally the masses too, but of minority stock couldn't overcome certain cultural and racial prejudices (still) prevalent among sinkie chinese in the heartland. personal vendetta aside, intransigence and impossibility to be manipulated and turned (negotiability) put him in the outcast category like csj, fs, and gn.

wpwhistleblower

Aiyah, scoobal you talk rubish again. You same like Low Tia Kiang, call Hougang poepel sacrifice, hold torch, do thsi do that, do everyting. You got alway say you got many money. Low Tia Kiang also liek you, got many moeny. Now I ask you very, very simple questions. Why Low Tia Kiang no sacrifice? Why you no sacrifice? why you no want to lvie in hougang if hougang is very good place to live. You like to talk big and talk until so good but expectr other poepe to sacrifice but popel liek low Tia Kiang and you very rich and lvie very very good life and no lvie in Hougang. You all no sacrifice. Only no how to talk nonsense ask otehr popele sacrifice. Kana sai! Talk until so good but want Hougang poeple sacrifice. He 20 year MP become multimillionaire can buy big big house. Houghang poeple flat 20 year he MP later become lousy and their flat value fall. Kana sai! You read downstair what this book got say.

"The contrast could not be more stark. Low's brazen hypocrisy could not be more evident. Whilst Hougang residents continue to live in their run down flats and in their run down estate that have been denied upgrading for their sacrifices and their support of Low, Low lives a privileged life. Low lives in a comfortable, luxurious multimillion dollar house. It is a house that is paid for, in large, by the millions of dollars he has received and continues to receive in MP allowances over a period spanning more than two decades of being an "opposition" MP. His life of luxury is acquired by having his snout in the PAP dollar trough. It is acquired by and through the generosity and courtesy of the PAP."

Dear Singaporean Residents of Hougang

Thank you for keeping the freedom and accountability torch alive for whole of Singapore for the last 21 years. You took on the mantle left by Potong Pasir and you did it by record margin of 29.6% in 2011.

Your brothers and sisters from the rest of Singapore appeal to you to break that record to send a clear signal and message to the ruling party. This elections is not about WP or Png. It about sending the right message to save all Singaporeans. You need to tell the PAP Govt the following

1. Singaporeans come first. A wonderful Singapore with foreigners stepping over Singaporeans is not what we worked for.

2. Keep our streets safe so that Taxi drivers like Mr Cheng Teck Hock who worked late in the early hours of the morning could send his 3 children to school without being killed by foreign playboys using our streets as a race track.

3. To allow every able bodied and qualified Singaporean of good mind and character to work for the greater good of the country without being displaced by cheap labour of questionable quality.

4. To demand the current PAP govt to be transparent and honest in dealing with its citizens who have contributed to this country. That means publishing details of everything that involves them directly such as scholarships awarded to foreigners, the default rate, the amount lost, those that have absconded without seving their national service liabilities and many more.

5. To force this Govt to reveal the assets of all politicians including that of their immediate families as well as assets held in trust by third parties since they entered politics.

6. To force this Govt not to use Peoples Association to fund its campaign and manage constituency politics on behalf of the govt. Paying for supporters of PAP to attend PAP rallys via transport and food parcels is just not on. Demand PAP ministers and MPs to use their own money.

7. To initiate an Independent Examination and Inquiry into the Accounts of Temasek and the conduct of its affairs since 1990. This will help all Singaporeans understand if management of state assets are up to par, nothing is hidden and any delay would not be too late to save this country.

8. To initiate a Parliamentary Commission of Inquiry on why a well known corrupt police officer and a man who remained stateless for years due to his gangland activities for which he was detained are involved in campaigning for the PAP and therefore bringing disrepute to the institution of Parliament.

9. To reveal in Parliament the number of PAP MPs who have committed adultery over the last 50 years while being a member of parliament. A statutory declaration from the Prime Minister is all that is needed to confirm that no PAP MP committed adultery while in office.

10. To reveal the criteria for allowing every tom, dick and harry from India, Philippines, China, Romania and god knows what are 3rd rated countries to acquire Singapore citizenship. Publish detail figures of country of origin, qualification including universities attended, etc

Once again, Hougang By Elections is not about WP or Png. It about sending a clear signal to the Govt of the day that they are answerable and accountable to Singapoans first and foremost. Make it clear to them by casting your vote rightly.

kukubird58

For once you are not making snide remarks and being very informative here, congratulations :biggrin:
hahaha...i do not made snipe remarks indiscriminately......those naive ones will think that i am sour grapes
if you read properly and understand what i write..... they are made to correct factual errors.
they can be elaborated if challenged....
of course those bullshits that cannot be proven....then you may take them as snipe remarks.....lol

mrmonkey

SDP: A lot of intellectuals but their grassroot movement and appeal seems to be stillborn

In short bro, only WP has the seats in parliament at the moment. You can talk about that when SPP/SDA regained their long lost seats and NSP/SDP make progress by capturing at least 1. Till then, tough

There has to be some kind of consolidation at some stage.
Politics is a winner takes all game. If WP continues to win seats, some of the smaller parties will go the way of the PKMS or Justice Party.

Does anyone even know what these parties stand for, apart from being anti-PAP?

Copy of an email from a Malay staff from People Association to grassroot leaders for particular constituency giving direction on transport pick-point at community centre and food parcels for a PAP Rally was posted on the net during the last GE.

It was obviously leaked by one of the grassroot leader or someone close to him. Not single govt official or PA staff came forward to explain. I have since come to know than an internal investigation was carried out.

I was conveninetly told that many wear 2 hats - PA staff as well as PAP member, and addressing a group made up of the same set-up and using the wrong email does occur occasionally. I laughed and the person who told me also laughed. However in this case, it was not the wrong email.

I know one or two methods of how their funds came about, the business community and awards seeking businessmen and entrepreneurs have been very helpful.

Perspective

Friend, SPP is not with SDA anymore.

I would see SPP, SDA and RP as not very strong and they know it (SPP despite being in Parliament). Their potential maximum expansion would not put themselves in a 3-corner cross against PAP and WP. Hence, there is no need to heap unnecessary matters on their plate. For SPP, as long as they can find means to contest in BTP and PP (if it is still around), that is enough. 3 out of the 5 BTP candidates have left. For SDA, seems that only Desmond is left, and I suspect they might not even contest the next GE. For RP, some have left as well, and they would very much be focused on the west with KJ occasionally ranting.

The 2 parties that can field sizable candidates are SDP and NSP. SDP would like to maintain the focused non-PAP approach and image. NSP is a lot more confused, fragmented (in positions) and many targets are in the east like WP, so I expect more clashes between PAP, WP and NSP in years to come.