• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Johor eating Sinki Data Center maket share liao...Good Job

k1976

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/asi...-kulai-sedenak-sez-us-china-trade-war-4310496

Johor’s data centres getting a boost from the Singapore factor; water, power remain bottlenecks​

Southern Johor is seeing a boom in data centres thanks to its proximity to Singapore, spillover effects of the US-China trade war, as well as cheaper land, water and power. More tech opportunities beckon, say experts.

06 May 2024 06:00AM (Updated: 06 May 2024 01:25PM)
BookmarkShare

KULAI: Johor’s Kulai district, some 70 kilometres north of Singapore, is known for its rubber plantations and oil palm estates.
These days, however, you’ll also find hundreds of acres of construction sites with cranes and work crews.

Within three years, the sites will become industrial parks hosting multiple data centres – buildings that house large groups of high-speed computers, servers and routers that store, process as well as distribute vast amounts of data.

The world’s growing reliance on cloud-based technology has fuelled the growth of data centres, and Johor has become one of the hotspots in Malaysia.

In particular, southern Johor, with its proximity to the Singapore's financial hub and comparative advantages like abundant land and cheaper power, could be well-positioned to be a key regional player, experts say.

k1976

Major data centre players like Nvidia, AirTrunk, GDS International, YTL Power as well as Princeton Digital Group have set up operations there, and tech giant Microsoft has reportedly purchased land in Kulai to open a data centre.

According to resource site Baxtel, Johor has 13 data centre facilities across more than 1.65 million square feet of land mass. The state is also ranked as the largest data centre market in Malaysia and ninth-largest in Asia Pacific. Baxtel added that four other data centres are being constructed in Johor.

Johor is expected to pull RM17 billion (US$3.6 billion) in new data centre investments this year, building on RM51.1 billion in investments in 2022, according to Malaysian property agency Zerin Properties.

The Malaysia government has also supported Johor’s data centre ecosystem by building industrial parks with suitable infrastructure. Two of the biggest are the 745-acre Sedenak Tech Park (STeP) and 509-acre Nusajaya Tech Park.

k1976

Elsewhere in the country, data centres are spread across the Klang Valley, Penang, Kedah and Sarawak. Cyberjaya, dubbed Malaysia’s tech capital near Kuala Lumpur, reportedly has 13 data centres in operation.

However, it caters to the domestic market while Johor caters to multinational corporations with regional presence, digital economy experts told CNA.

According to a report by real estate agency Knight Frank, the data centre market in Johor is expected to surpass Greater KL in terms of “live capacity”.

k1976

JOHOR COULD APPEAL TO US, CHINA FIRMS​

Johor’s data centre boom is driven by its proximity to land-scarce Singapore which, between 2019 and 2022, paused new data centre development.

Another factor is United States-China strategic competition, which has spurred corporations from China and the West to diversify and expand in Southeast Asia in the semiconductor and digital infrastructure space.

Malaysia has made international headlines for becoming an unlikely beneficiary of the US-China trade war, which has impacted the global supply chain in crucial sectors like semiconductors and manufacturing.

Various US semiconductor firms have set up shop in Penang, which has a free-trade zone and industrial parks. Cheap labour and its large English-speaking population are additional draws.

k1976

Citing a US$4.3 billion deal between Malaysia utilities conglomerate YTL Power and US technology giant Nvidia announced in late 2023 to develop artificial intelligence (AI) infrastructure in YTL’s data centre facility in Kulai, Dr Ong said it shows how Malaysia could also enjoy a spillover from semiconductors to the data centre industry and AI space.

One of the key selling points of the YTL-Nvidia collaboration is that processing power from the AI infrastructure can be used by certain companies to come up with “new and customised software solutions which are powered by generative AI”, he said.

“With more data centres being built in Malaysia, if there are enough use cases for the deployment of this processing power (including in the generative AI space), then there will be a stronger argument to attract more semiconductor players (including Taiwan semiconductor giant TSMC) to set up in Johor to serve a larger data centre market from a hardware as well as software perspective,” he explained.

congo9

It's not that Johor eating up Singkie data centre market share.
It's just that Singkie government finds that data centre eat too much electricity.
So they ask the data centre to move to Johor.

congo9

Knn. With Johor kind of electrical network, one day your power cut and all your data goes down the drain. This one you must be very careful.
Their problem is not with building infrastructure,but they have a lot of problem maintaining their infrastructure .

k1976

It's not that Johor eating up Singkie data centre market share.
It's just that Singkie government finds that data centre eat too much electricity.
So they ask the data centre to move to Johor.
Wow...that is a good argument. Good Job

Next time we can say it is because Sinki is too dun want to work, and not hungry for success, and too expensive to feed. So we have to move in Good Satik Talents all over the world de woh

Thank u Bro Congo9 for explaining Good Hands 苦口婆心

congo9

Wow...that is a good argument. Good Job

Next time we can say it is because Sinki is too dun want to work, and not hungry for success, and too expensive to feed. So we have to move in Good Satik Talents all over the world de woh

Thank u Bro Congo9 for explaining Good Hands 苦口婆心I

f you are in the market for some time, You would know that data center takes up a lot of ele

https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/co...government-support-demand-green-energy-surges

Come on la .. this is in the news. If you know the market and overall knowledge well.

nabeifuckpap

AI hub my lanjiao in the end all the technology housed overseas while CECA and Pinoys take over SG IT industry

Data centres does not really create good jobs. Those servicing these places most likely will be foreigners

Each data centres require lots of cooling. And they want green energy to do these cooling.
Total hydro peninsular jiu hu can only provide 1.5GW hydro by 2026. The rest will have to come from solar which is very volatile in our cloudy rainy climate.

birdie69

JB also get many sinkies to buy their properties, a small fraction of price in Singapore, but bigger floor area.