• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Jiuhubu Coco Lim Upset That She Was Kicked Off Her Genting Cruise! 600 Tickets Overbooked! Holiday Gone Fuck!

1662420284422.png

A Malaysian woman took to Facebook recently to lament the cancellation of her cruise on the Genting Dream cruise ship.

In a post on Sep. 3, the woman wrote at length about her frustration with the sudden cancellation and opined that Resorts World should not have sold them the cruise tickets if it had been fully booked out.

The post has since garnered over 2,000 reactions and 1,300 shares as of Sep. 5 on Facebook.

Planned cruise for birthday and family trip
The woman, who goes by the username Coco Lim, shared that she planned the cruise trip for her family as they had not been able to travel amid the pandemic.

She opted for a cruise trip during the September holidays, as the kids had never been onboard a cruise before.

The date of the cruise's departure also coincided nicely with her birthday.

Thus, Lim proceeded to make the full payment for the trip.

According to a receipt she shared in a comment on her post, the 4D3N cruise cost her 8,970 MYR (about S$2,790.13), an amount she paid in July 2022 — more than a month in advance.

1662420310682.png

However, two days before the intended sail date, her much-anticipated travel plans went awry.

Cancelled cruise two days before departure
Lim received a call from her travel agency, informing her that the cruise was overbooked and that they needed to cancel her trip.

Lim attached a screenshot to her Facebook post — apparently a memo dated Sep. 3 from Resorts World Cruises.

It said that some guests who had confirmed reservations with Genting Dream's sailings departing from Port Klang were affected by the overbooking.

These affected customers were invited to "voluntarily change" their cruise to another date.

A full refund would be offered, on top of complimentary cruise rebooking
(for the same cabin category, itinerary, and duration) before Apr. 28, 2023.

"Not fair"
In another comment, however, Lim alleged that it had not been a voluntary decision, and writes:

"We were essentially forced to accept this invitation. Because the travel agency told me, about 600 tickets had been overbooked.

As such, if I insisted on not cancelling the trip, I would have to bring my entire family and our luggage down to the pier. We would have to queue on the day of the cruise's departure, to see if there were any available seats. Can you imagine that situation?"

In her post, Lim also questioned whether the sudden cancellation of the cruise was fair to her as a customer:

"One phone call effectively ended my holiday, is this fair? Aside from being a trip for the kids, it was also to celebrate my birthday, and one phone call cancelled all that?"

Lim noted that her entire family had made a lot of preparations for the cruise, including having queued several times at the immigration centre in order to renew their passport.

She commented: "We even renewed five passports [for the trip], who is going to pay for that cost? They make cancellation sound so easy."

According to Lim, her kids had also been very excited for the cruise, and were disappointed upon hearing of the sudden cancellation.

You can find the full Facebook post here:

https://mothership.sg/2022/09/cruise-overbooking-sudden-cancellation/

A Singaporean

Poor Sinkies please take note. Please fuck off. The cruise is meant for our beloved foreigners. Don't kpkb here.

What's the problem? Genting offered a refund or a replacement cruise. It's not like they makan your money and tell you to fuck off. Pampered urban bitches and their first world problems. :rolleyes:

Cottonmouth

In Singapore, they reject you at the entrance before boarding.

More than 100 passengers stranded in S'pore as Genting Dream cruise overbooked​

No cool.
Belmont Lay |
clock.png
September 05, 2022, 05:11 PM
genting-dream-cruise-overbooked.jpg

Follow us on Telegram for the latest updates: https://t.me/mothershipsg

More than 100 holidaymakers were left stranded at the Marina Bay Cruise Centre on Sunday, Sep. 4 as the Genting Dream cruise they had paid good money to book and were scheduled to board was overbooked.

In the end, those holding on to tickets they had bought beforehand had no choice but to go home as they were told the rooms were full and they could not board the ship nor check in at all.

The cruise was scheduled to set sail from Singapore on Sunday evening.

The four-day, three-night cruise was scheduled to pass through Klang and go to Penang, and then return to Singapore.
Genting Dream had set sail from Singapore on June 15, 2022, under its new cruise brand, Resorts World Cruises.
The cruise was formerly operated by Dream Cruises, owned by the company Genting Hong Kong.

Passengers disappointed by experience​

A Shin Min Daily News reporter arrived at the cruise centre at 6pm on Sunday evening.
Passengers interviewed said more than 100 passengers who had arrived to embark on their holiday were told they could not board the ship due to overbooking.
The passengers proceeded to leave the cruise centre at about 7pm when they realised they were denied entry.
A 43-year-old father of two girls in primary school said he wanted to bring his family on a vacation at sea this September school holidays but was left sorely disappointed by this major snafu.
He told Shin Min after realising they were not getting on board the ship: "My two daughters were also disappointed. I plan to take them to Johor Bahru instead, but I am worried about traffic jams at the checkpoint and the hotels being fully booked, so I am in a dilemma."
He added that he had to apply for leave in advance just for this trip.
Another woman, 72, said her group of eight found out that one of the three rooms they had reserved was not available.
They waited at the cruise centre from 5pm to 8pm, but gave up and left after that.
The ship reportedly was unable to set sail even at 8pm.
There were still passengers at the cruise centre asking about boarding at that time.

Those affected to be compensated with free cruise​

Resorts World Cruises confirmed with the Chinese media that the cruise was overbooked.
The company also said it thanks customers who voluntarily changed their travel dates and stressed that all affected passengers will receive a full refund.
It is understood that Resorts World Cruises had informed passengers before departure about the overbooked situation, and allowed them to voluntarily drop out.
The company also said it is offering affected passengers a free cruise of the same class, but they have until April 28, 2023 to take up the compensation offer.

realDonaldTrump

actually MBS is like a luxurious cruise ship, got good scenery for photo-taking, can swim, can suntan, got great dining options, can do shopping, got nice viewing decks and gym, got nice tracks to run around the hotel, got casino, got prostitutes............

Going on a cruise is like being in prison,

The novelty wears off after the second day. You can get on shore for sightseeing when the ship reaches a port.

It's all about gym, makan, jacuzzi, gambling, fucking, listening to horrible singing from karaoke enthusiasts and Pinoy entertainers.

By the way, stay away from scammy artwork auctions when you are on a cruise. If you are free, you can attend an auction and pretend to be an interested buyer. I was served free champagne for that. :biggrin:

hollowman

In this digital age, still got such bullshit? Lol… hello? No slots means can’t buy or book tickets not that difficult right?
With some backgrounds in ticketing systems - how this kind of double booking can happen is usually someone had returned the tickets in the system I.e cancelled and new transactions being carried out. Once the previous ticket had been cancelled, the seats/rooms are made available again.
It could be a genuine cancellation by authorised mgt staff or a fraud.

maxsanic

Not surprising. Many of these special deal cruise packages peddled by third party agencies are steeply discounted, so there is bound to be a catch somewhere. The agencies have probably covered their legal liabilities through some fine print clause somewhere in the contract they signed.

Personally I don't like to go for these special deal cruises after experiencing one myself. There is usually overcrowding due to the operators maximizing volume in every possible way and people who go for such deals tend to be rather unsavory and inconsiderate. The free flow food is usually quite cheapskate and obviously catered to kiasus who are there to food gorge. Booking the theatre performance was a nightmare and the whole experience reeks of cost cuts and mass production.

You are essentially paying substantial sums for a sub-standard experience. Classic penny wise pound foolish action the equivalent of going for whichever tour agency quotes you the lowest per pax rate.

maxsanic

With some backgrounds in ticketing systems - how this kind of double booking can happen is usually someone had returned the tickets in the system I.e cancelled and new transactions being carried out. Once the previous ticket had been cancelled, the seats/rooms are made available again.
It could be a genuine cancellation by authorised mgt staff or a fraud.

This scenario, even if applicable, is unlikely to be the main contributor.

A more likely explanation is the cruise operator has either too aggressively loosened its overbooking policy due to forecasting misjudgments and/or there is some miscoordination between the operator and agencies.

hollowman

This scenario, even if applicable, is unlikely to be the main contributor.

A more likely explanation is the cruise operator has either too aggressively loosened its overbooking policy due to forecasting misjudgments and/or there is some miscoordination between the operator and agencies.
In a controlled ticketing systems (based on room configuration), this is the only possibility.
I guess it should be some higher mgt staff kay Kiang do the bulk cancellation and forgotten to update the lower ranking staffs.