• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Jiuhu Star say sinki hardland has many ah siao running amok...It is no longer safe liao, u agreed?

k1976

Knife incidents in (clockwise from top left) Pasir Ris Plaza, Orchard Central, Elias Mall and the Commonwealth area took place over a matter of weeks. - PHOTOS: ARIFFIN JAMAR, SHINTARO TAY, SHIN MIN DAILY NEWS, KELVIN CHNG

SINGAPORE: After four separate incidents over a matter of weeks from December 2023 left more than a dozen people with injuries, Mohamed Ali found himself wondering if knife crimes were becoming rampant.

The 49-year-old, who works in the security industry, said his social media feeds made him more aware of violent disputes and fuelled his worries.

k1976

The father of three children, aged eight to 14, said: “It’s very, very alarming... These kinds of (incidents) can escalate very fast.

“When my kids leave home, we need to keep checking in on them until they return. It may be really extreme, but we have to do what we need to do.”

He is not the only one concerned.

Pasir Ris resident Albert See feels there is a need for heightened security checks.

The 57-year-old was spooked by a slashing at Pasir Ris West Plaza on Dec 20, 2023. The attack, allegedly by a rival mobile phone business owner who was later arrested and charged, left three people hurt.

In other countries, I often see security guards standing at the door of shopping malls and looking out for suspicious people. But we do not have this. Maybe people think it is safe,” said Mr See.

Just days after the incident, six people were injured by an armed man as they gathered at Orchard Central to welcome the new year.

Then on Jan 11, a 56-year-old woman suffered minor injuries when a 15-year-old armed with a sharp object tried to rob a steamed bun shop at Elias Mall in Pasir Ris. The teen was later arrested.

Barely a month later, seven people were hurt when a 20-year-old man allegedly attacked them with a small knife and a chopper in the Commonwealth area.

The youngest victim in the Feb 3 incident was only six years old.

k1976

Violent incidents

After a spate of violent incidents involving weapons in 2022, the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) revealed police figures as it sought to reassure the public.

The ministry said the number of knife-related crimes, which include murder, robbery, rioting and serious hurt, have stayed consistent from 2017 to 2021 – about 150 cases annually.

But that is an incident about every two days.

The figures showed that more than 60 per cent of knife-related crimes happened in public and commercial premises, 36 per cent occurred in residential areas, and 3 per cent in educational institutions and premises.

Nominated MP Razwana Begum Abdul Rahim, who is head of the public safety and security programme at the Singapore University of Social Sciences, said while the number of such incidents may be low, the public’s perception of such crimes can be real and alarming.

k1976

Mental health

Dr Jacob Rajesh, a senior consultant psychiatrist at Promises Healthcare, said while weapon attacks may occur during gang fights, or when people are under the influence of alcohol or drugs, there are also instances of assailants with underlying mental illness.

This was the case with Surajsrikan Diwakar Mani Tripathi, who fatally stabbed a stranger who jogged past him at Punggol Field in 2020.

The assailant, then 20, had severe social anxiety disorder, obsessive compulsive disorder and dyscalculia, which is a learning disability in mathematics, said Dr Rajesh, who conducted the psychiatric assessment for the case.

Forensic psychiatrists check if accused persons have a history of mental illness, and evaluate their functioning and mental state at the time of offence.

If there is a link between the mental condition and the offence, then it has some mitigating value, said Dr Rajesh.

k1976

Too many sinki have mental health problem...need more satik upright jiuhu to come here and help to huat big big hah

Pasir Ris resident Albert See feels there is a need for heightened security checks.

Another low IQ daft Sinkie who believes the source of the problem can also become the solution. :rolleyes:

My guess is he's another 95% vaxtard who enjoyed the restrictions and inconveniences during the height of the scamdemic, SafeEntry and Tracetogether 24/7. "Helps keep you safe!" :whistling:

k1976

Another low IQ daft Sinkie who believes the source of the problem can also become the solution. :rolleyes:

My guess is he's another 95% vaxtard who enjoyed the restrictions and inconveniences during the height of the scamdemic, SafeEntry and Tracetogether 24/7. "Helps keep you safe!" :whistling:
Cannot expect much from Jiuhu Star

Only 160th Holy News are True News

k1976

A more simple solution is to move all ah siao sinki to a totoal isolated island mental health facility on maybe Sister Islands ,backfill the vaccanies by more talented Jiuhu or CECA