• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Is Dependable Pass being abused?

That is the loop hole our MOM knowingly and unknowingly expose.

No levy imposed and no need quota. Singapore's SME and MNC bosses love them, absolutely.

Employers no need contribute cpf.
Previously need ICA approval as formality wayang....now even do away with it....can start work instantly.
Huat for all!

blindswordsman

Dear Blindswordsman:

1. Reason there is Dependant's Pass is so that family members like spouse and children can need not be living apart because one member of the familiy is working overseas.

Are local tax payers obligated to support family life of FT too when he works in sinkie land? Provide medical care to his family, places in school for his children, etc?
Why are they here in such large numbers? Because the Govt allows FT and family members to flood into sinkie land and the locals suffer badly.

employer want them. multinational want them. small business want them. what can you do?

you think the opposition if they win power, they can do any different?

they still face employer demands for foreign workers.

Agoraphobic

Foreigners in Singapore are not entitled to subsidized medical nor education. My child's school fees in a local school are five hundred bucks a month. Medical, won't be able to pay them without insurance. Their costs don't make a pretty picture.

The reason there are lots of FTs here is because there are lots of jobs for them (to fill). Singapore, for those living away from home does go the distance to make it somewhat comfortable and welcoming for foreigners who speak english to work and live. Facilities for living needs are convenient and the standard of these are relatively decent or better by anyone's standards, laws work, cops aren't (that) corrupt, people are mostly honest and not out to rip people off.

I wouldn't point the finger at the gahmen for this situation; the needs (and wishes) of the private sector is the main factor

Are local tax payers obligated to support family life of FT too when he works in sinkie land? Provide medical care to his family, places in school for his children, etc?
Why are they here in such large numbers? Because the Govt allows FT and family members to flood into sinkie land and the locals suffer badly.

Poomer

Well in the first place, if the government did not pander to every whim of the private sector, time and again bringing in shitload after shitload of cheap labour and 'foreign talents', we wouldn't be in such a mess wouldn't we?