• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Is automated passport clearence faster? - Your views

I believe someone is sitting in some offices looking at faces too. I do not remember giving my finger prints to ICA, and yet I managed to get through the automated line.

My experience was the automated one was faster. I was travelling with 4 other people. I did manual while they used the automated one (inbound trip). The other 4 was through when I was halfway through the queue. There were at least 3 who got stuck inside the gate and had to come back out to the ICA counter.

u do IC that time got give thumbprint??

so now u know how ICA get the record or not?:cool:

When the Govt makes a mistake or when a GLC makes a mistake, there will be lull period and a few years later, a complete change will be made citing technological advances so that no one will remember the boo boo.

When the $2 pink notes were first issued, there was flurry of complaints as the colour was close $10 red notes and the elderly certainly had trouble. The current PM was a Minister then said there was no issue and no problem and that people will eventually will get used to it.

A year later, they quietly changed the colour of the note.

Can you ever remember the Govt ever acknowledging a mistake within a 5 year period. Old man conceded that Mandarin takes 4 times the effort than any other language to study and he said that 20 over years after and when his grandson had difficulty and had to be admitted to American School. Same goes for the "stop at 2" campaign and many more.

I bet you they might introduce facial recognition technology as bodily contact will not be necessary ie no wet or dry fingers

In other words the contractor(a GLC) has made its $$$ & moved on to other projects :p

I bet you they might introduce facial recognition technology as bodily contact will not be necessary ie no wet or dry fingers

Gosh, the Thais have alreasy been taking pictures of everyone entering LOS ever since the new airport was open.

It may not as lucrative as going it alone, but PAP may learn from them & avoid silly mistakes:smile:

Travellers

Could you post your views and share your experiences on whether the clearence is faster at Changi between enhanced Immigration Automated Clearance System (eIACS) and going thru the Singaporean / Resident Channel.

The automated channel requires passport scanning, after which fingerprint scanning takes place. The manual requires manual scanning of passport.
Depends on 3 key factors:
1. The queue at the 2 counters. (usually the queue at the manual counter is longer)
2. The efficiency of the immigration officer at the manual counter.
3. The cleanliness of your thumb. :smile:

Assuming there is no queue at both counters and the immigration officer works at the highest efficiency possible and your thumb is clean, the manual process is probably faster.

dc7176

automated one faster... provided u know how to use it n oso those in front of u know who to use it...

nowadays at airport on arrival only left w one sporean/resident manned counter... automated one got 4...

automated one faster... provided u know how to use it n oso those in front of u know who to use it...

nowadays at airport on arrival only left w one sporean/resident manned counter... automated one got 4...

Of course anything that is automated should be faster, but this is not the case of Singapore...

1. you have to slot in your passport face down, the portion, where it contains your information...the one with your photograph. Most people, are usually fast asleep...so wrong way up, wrong page etc.., delay!. ( could have use a contact one instead of a slot in)..PAY MORE

2.the thunb print reader is the most problematic..that is where many gets stuck...so you are trapped in , the person waiting in the queue can not use the automated clearance, till you are manually freed by the black faced Civil servant...PAY MORE

They will soon suggest, a 50c payment before you use...so that they CAN SERVE YOU BETTER!!....don't beleive me..SOON!:p

fukyuman

I use manual. One time kena a cb face who want to check my passport physically. At least the CIQ counter guy is more polite and provide sweets.

Ah Guan

Facial recognition software is still in the development stage -- meaning the failure rate is quite high. It is currently used for detective purposes like picking out blacklisted players in casinos and Mas Selamat lookalikes in Geylang Serai.

Until computers can remember and tell faces as well as human beings, FRS will never be used for customs clearance.

The safer option is retina-scanning.

Its interesting how people still see it as faster when ICA itself does make that claim. It took me numerous trips and timing to realise that it is indeed slower. Frankly this is the first automated thing that I found to be slower. Its just goes against the grain of logic.

Its only when you break down the process that you realise that there is an additional step - fingerprint scanning which does not occur in the manual process.

It did teach me one thing - to consciously have an open mind and not be presumptious.

Of course anything that is automated should be faster, but this is not the case of Singapore...

1. you have to slot in your passport face down, the portion, where it contains your information...the one with your photograph. Most people, are usually fast asleep...so wrong way up, wrong page etc.., delay!. ( could have use a contact one instead of a slot in)..PAY MORE

2.the thunb print reader is the most problematic..that is where many gets stuck...so you are trapped in , the person waiting in the queue can not use the automated clearance, till you are manually freed by the black faced Civil servant...PAY MORE

They will soon suggest, a 50c payment before you use...so that they CAN SERVE YOU BETTER!!....don't beleive me..SOON!:p

OZ uses facial recognition technology for the main gateway cities. This applies to OZ and Kiwi biometric passport holders.

They adopted it recently after going thru a series of biometric technologies and trials since 2002.

Facial recognition software is still in the development stage -- meaning the failure rate is quite high. It is currently used for detective purposes like picking out blacklisted players in casinos and Mas Selamat lookalikes in Geylang Serai.

Until computers can remember and tell faces as well as human beings, FRS will never be used for customs clearance.

The safer option is retina-scanning.

Its interesting how people still see it as faster when ICA itself does make that claim. It took me numerous trips and timing to realise that it is indeed slower. Frankly this is the first automated thing that I found to be slower. Its just goes against the grain of logic.

Its only when you break down the process that you realise that there is an additional step - fingerprint scanning which does not occur in the manual process.

It did teach me one thing - to consciously have an open mind and not be presumptious.

It is not faster, and I don't think people presumed it is faster...the ICA officers do direct people to use the automated clearance...

I really prefer the manned ones...like I had said, the thumb print reader plus the passport reader are problematic..

Understand that the new biometric passports have RFID's in them, a scanner can read the information without having to place it in a reader...

Pay more lah!..50c...and it will work like a charm!:biggrin:

It is not faster, and I don't think people presumed it is faster...the ICA officers do direct people to use the automated clearance...

Only in Spore, where MPs are paid $$$$ & underperform & tai chi, automation is used to slow things down.. :rolleyes:

The passport clearance system is not an isolated case, there's the driveless MRT system, parking coupon system,... All these systems serve to waste Sporeans time :rolleyes:

I think that we all know that automated machines are subject to breakdowns once in a while, just like humans are subject to errors once in a while. However, I also think that most of us through experience can tell, that the most consistently reliable (though of course can't be perfect) automated machines are the ATMs.

The UN, US and all countries should come together and introduce a passcard to replace the clumsy and cumbersome booklet passport. If the banks can set up so many ATMs around the world, I don't see why national immigration authorities couldn't set up ATM-type automated passcard clearing machines at their checkpoints. Just merge the functions of fingerprint reading, ATM and MRT or carpark barrier. Do away with embarkation forms and passports; everything, identity particulars, entry and exit etc. are electronically verified and recorded.

Remember, clearing immigration with passport is not the same as clearing customs. It's just to verify identity, status and legality of entry. Clearing customs involve checking for dutiable, dangerous or prohibited items, and it's a different matter.

I think that we all know that automated machines are subject to breakdowns once in a while, just like humans are subject to errors once in a while. However, I also think that most of us through experience can tell, that the most consistently reliable (though of course can't be perfect) automated machines are the ATMs.

r.

Blaming poor performace on poor maintenance :eek:

Don't think so lah, I've never seen any "out of order" signs on the machines. Rather, the machines are under utilised because people have learned to avoid those machines :smile:

I use those ATM machinese alot & you won't find me complaining about those machine. ATM machines, good & fast. Passport machine slow & almost useless.

It is a sad reflection on the organisation that introduce the flawed system :rolleyes:

I use those ATM machinese alot & you won't find me complaining about those machine. ATM machines, good & fast. Passport machine slow & almost useless.

It is a sad reflection on the organisation that introduce the flawed system :rolleyes:

Exactly what I mean. Build immigration clearance systems like ATMs.

When it comes to immigration, the key has always been photograph of the face. You can have all the data including biometrics but the photo of the face is the single biggest factor. That is why when countries moved towards automation it usually incorporates the face in the verification.

Though the singapore authorities moved to automation in 2002, they thought that photo in the NRIC would do. This is not exactly the standard as appearence changes with time. The Thais were much smarter.

The photo need not do the verification, other things can but the current photo does alot when you persuing someone and need an idea of what he looks like.

Countries such as Philippines, Indonesia, India, China etc does not have counterfeit passports or tampered passports because it is so easy for a small fee to get a genuine passport with false details.

Thats the reason why when it comes to movement between boundaries, current photos become valuable as the personal data from some foreign countries are meaningless.

The suggested ATM component principles are already present in the magstripe of the old passport and the new biometric passports.

I suppose its horses for causes.

Spore is only interested in $$$ & cheap labor. Its so call immigration system can be simplified alot.

We just need a money collection system. For every visitor that comes to Spore they should pay a sum, something like $1,000 & when they leave give them back $500. Everyday they overstay deduct $50, but I doubt very few will want to overstay :smile: Why should tourists pay so much? Spores only interested in people with money to spend lah. Terrorist will of course forfeit any deposite they have with the gov't.

For those who've already paid their worker levy, they can be given discounts when they leave the country. A deposit e.g. $500 when they leave Spore & which will only be returned if they come back. Of course the gov't gets to keep any interest on these deposits :biggrin:

Why bother with expensive ATM like technology :confused:
They can pay dish washer wages to senior citizens to collect all these deposites :rolleyes:

angry_one

I've never had a problem with the automated system, but why wife does. I always see a queue at the manual counters, but all the automated gantries are empty. So i go for them and clear within 30 secs.

yinyang

I've never had a problem with the automated system...always see a queue at the manual counters, but all the automated gantries are empty. So i go for them and clear within 30 secs.
Precisely, likewise here too (and hazard to guess, probably many others too)
johnny333 said:
need a money collection system. For every visitor that comes to Spore they should pay a sum, something like $1,000 & when they leave give them back $500. Everyday they overstay deduct $50, but I doubt very few will want to overstay Why should tourists pay so much? Spores only interested in people with money to spend lah. Terrorist will of course forfeit any deposite they have with the gov't.
For those who've already paid their worker levy, they can be given discounts when they leave the country. A deposit e.g. $500 when they leave Spore & which will only be returned if they come back. Of course the gov't gets to keep any interest on these deposits
Why bother with expensive ATM like technology
They can pay dish washer wages to senior citizens to collect all these deposites
Don't think that's what bro Ramseth meant by likes of ATM technology. Imho, you are off tangent here. Your over-simplistic suggestion of incentivising ICA clearance even complicates the issue discussed here. Not unless you are are lining more pot shots at our powers to be

I'm just tired of being delayed while they are looking for cigarretes. I travel alot & from where I stand what I see is alot of bureaucracy disguised as security procedure :rolleyes:

Alot of it is motivated by $$$. For example look at those passport machines & the problems they cause. Only have to look ar this forum to see that many problems its caused.

If you think my ideas is unworkable, there's always bro Halsey02 idea:biggrin: Though I doubt the PAP would be satisfied with just 50cents.