• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

ipad3 is coming on march 2012

Would you buy the New ipad (gen 3)

• Yes, I will buy the New ipad when it is out

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • No, I will keep my ipad (gen 1)

Votes: 1 10.0%
  • No, I will keep my ipad 2

Votes: 2 20.0%
  • Undecided

Votes: 1 10.0%
  • No, I am not interested in any ipad

Votes: 2 20.0%
  • I will buy competitors tablet

Votes: 4 40.0%

• Total voters
  • Poll closed .

why ipad 2? what can you do, saving 100 bucks?
What makes you think iPad2 price will remain the same after this new iPad launched? you didnt notice Apple is trying to up their lowest iPad price, last time iPad and iPad2 lowest is $399, now this 1 $499, next iPad is $599 liao, lol

i know but saving a few hundreds bucks to me is really pointless. what can i do with saving a few hundred bucks? save for old age? save to buy a house?save to buy a car?

Few hundred can pay my phone bills leh, LOL, besides, iPad 2 functions is good enough for me, hah

mollusk

Alamak..same iPad..should name it iPad 2S....not much difference..better stick with my ipad 2..

The dust has finally settled, the rumors have been replaced by facts, and now we know what the new iPad is all about. So what's missing? Or what fell a little short of expectations?
Here's the quick rundown. Feel free to add to the mix with your own take in the comments section.
New design: When the iPhone 4S came out, a lot of folks were disappointed Apple didn't deliver the iPhone 5. Instead, we got a souped up version of the iPhone 4 with a better camera and no real design changes (Apple did move the ambient light sensor slightly, but that doesn't count).
Similarly, the "iPad 3"--Apple isn't calling it that--doesn't really look any different from the iPad 2. Yes, the case is slightly more tapered, but it's not a significant change. In other words, once again almost all the change is on the inside. For some people, that's just fine, but if you were hoping to see a whole new iPad with a new look, you'll have to wait.
Lighter weight: One of the issues with the iPad is that it remains a little heavy. Alas, with the new Retina display, better cameras, and faster processor, Apple couldn't reduce the weight of the device (it measures 9.4mm thin and weighs 1.44 pounds for the WiFi-only version). To get lighter, Apple would probably have to reduce the size of the battery, but that just wasn't possible in moving to the high-resolution display (Apple says battery life remains at 10 hours). As it stands the new iPad weighs about an ounce more than the iPad 2.

An A6 processor: Prior to launch, there was lots of chatter about what kind of chip would power the next iPad. After the iPhone 4S got a modified version of the A5 processor found in the iPad 2, many presumed the new iPad would get the A6 processor. Instead we got the A5X, which does have a quad-core processor (no disappointment there).
Apple says the A5X offers "four times the performance" of Nvidia's Tegra 3 chip. Great as that all sounds, it's still no A6.
A 128GB version: Those holding out for a higher-capacity iPad will have to continue to wait. We're now looking at topping out at 64GB with no expansion slot.
A 7-incher (the rumored iPad Mini): While we thought the chances were slim that Apple would introduce a smaller iPad at this time, rumors continue to swirl that it will happen sometime this year. After the release of the Kindle Fire and Nook Tablet (both now cost $199), we'd like to see what Apple could do at this size. We'll have to wait.
Siri: Everyone, including this writer, expected Apple to add Siri, the voice-controlled iPhone virtual assistant feature to the next iPad. So where is she? Interestingly, Apple said that new iPad will allow users to dictate e-mails, but didn't mention of Siri, who does more than take dictation.
iOS 6: Ars Technica reported that it was seeing devices running iOS 6 in logs, sparking hope that Apple might release--or at least tease--iOS 6. Alas, we're only getting iOS 5.1 now. Expect more iOS news to emerge in June at Apple's World Wide Developers conference.
No name: Well, it looks like Apple's moving away from numbers in its iPad naming scheme like it did with the iPod Touch. For now it's just calling it "the new iPad," but when you actually order it through the Apple Store, what you see in your cart is "Apple iPad (3rd generation)." Perhaps this opens the door to other model names/versions such as the iPad Mini.

The new iPad review: first look

The tablet we’ve all been expecting was finally unveiled by Apple CEO Tim Cook today, ending a week of feverish speculation in the press. And “the new iPad” as it’s entirely uninspiringly named, is very much as expected.

The headline upgrade is the move to a higher resolution, ‘Retina’-style display at an astonishing 2,048 x 1,536. That’s higher even than the Asus Transformer Prime’s 1,920 x 1,200 screen, which we looked at last week in Barcelona, and leads to a total pixel count of 3.1 million.

Apple has retained the 9.7in display of its predecessors, too, and it looks as you’d expect: extremely crisp and sharp, and it’s impossible to make out the individual pixels.

The edges of icons on the desktop look sharp enough to cut your finger and high resolution photos look simply stunning on the new display. Apple claims it has better colour saturation, in addition to more pixels, and at first glance we certainly wouldn’t disagree.

There’s a little more to the new tablet than the screen, however. Inside is a faster processor – the dual-core Apple A5X and more powerful, quad-core graphics. Typically, Apple claims this is ‘way’ faster than anything else – five times quicker than Tegra 3. That’s impossible to gauge right now, and we find it highly unlikely to be that much quicker, but we’re keeping an open mind.

As with all previous iOS-based devices, however, the new iPad feels highly responsive, with no discernible interface lag.

And then there’s battery life. With a higher resolution display there’s always the danger that battery life will suffer. Suffice it to say, Apple is claiming the same battery life for the new device as the iPad 2: ten hours for Wi-Fi use and nine hours with 3G/4G.

Given that the company has more than delivered on previous claims, we expect it will do so again, and with the new iPad addressing four times as many pixels as the old one that’s some achievement. We can’t wait to give it a thorough workout.

The camera

The new iPad also gets what Apple is calls an iSight camera, capable of shooting at a resolution of 5-megapixels and 1080p for video. A decent camera for the iPad is long overdue – the iPad 2’s snapper was woeful, and it would have been a travesty had it not been improved this time around.

In fact it uses the same optics as the iPhone 4S, and it shows. The sample images on the iPad looked great – crisp and colourful with plenty of detail – a world away from the grainy, noisy images produced by the iPad 2. This is a camera that actually looks usable; it’s such a shame that we weren’t allowed to snap any of our own photos in the demo room. Then again, the light wasn’t great, so that may not have been particularly instructive.

With the 1080p video, quality likewise looks very good, and the digital stabilisation particularly impressive. We look forward to putting that through its paces once we get hold of the device when it hits the shelves on 16 March.

Design

In a word? Underwhelming. The iPad 2 was lovely indeed, but others have now matched it physically, and Apple really needed to up its game this time around. What we have here, just as with the iPhone 4S launched before Christmas, is a more powerful iPad, but in the same old chassis.

It’s available in white and black, so not even any new colours, an all the bits and pieces are in the same places. The lock switch is in the same place, the volume control is still in the top left corner, and there’s the same old speaker perforation detail at the rear, down in the bottom left corner.

If you don’t believe us, take a look at the photos: you’d be forgiven, at first glance, for thinking you were looking at an iPad 2. We could have used the photos from last year’s launch, in fact (even the tables in the demo room looked as if they’d been recycled from last year) but we took some new ones, just for the hell of it.

Verdict

Aside from the screen, which is admittedly pretty amazing, we have to say we’re a little disappointed with the new iPad, not least with the name. We’re pretty sure that “the new iPad” would never have seen the light of day in Steve Jobs’ time.

The cameras should have been better to start with, the voice dictation feature, which allows users to speak into their iPads and have their words transcribed is hardly groundbreaking, and the improvements to the mobile data connectivity (in the US the new iPad will have 4G) won’t benefit UK customers until the next iPad (the ‘even newer iPad’ we presume) rolls around. There isn’t even a new style of case.

There was the obligatory roll call of new and improved apps, with the most impressive-looking being the improvements to Garage Band, with its new four-player collaborative Jam Session mode, and iPhoto, which brings responsive multitouch photo-editing to the iPad, putting Adobe’s recent launch of Photoshop Touch in the shade.

But we still can’t help feeling a touch deflated. We’re sure Apple’s new baby will sell by the bucketload, especially as it’s going to be the same price as the current iPad 2, but it could have offered so much more – more storage, more screen sizes, more innovation. It’s a significant upgrade – but is it significant enough?

article-2112199-12158526000005DC-73_634x356.jpg

An iPad by any other name: Techies decry new device's name - or lack thereof - as it faces ban in China
Consumers take to social networks to complain that it's not called 'iPad 3'

As Apple enthusiasts await the arrival of the latest version of the iPad on store shelves and online shops, the most common complaint is not the design or the durability - but its name.
Despite rumours of a formulaic 'iPad 3' or an 'iPad HD' moniker, Apple ultimately settled on 'The New iPad'.
This concerned a number of consumers, who took to social media platforms like Twitter and Facebook to make statements like: 'Why isn’t it just called the iPad 3?'
Scroll down for video

The 'cap' for the size of mobile-network downloads has risen, awakening fears consumers might be hit with 'bill shock'
For Apple, attaching a '3' to its name seemed obvious, which is exactly what they're trying to avoid.
'Because we don't want to be predictable,' Apple's Apple's senior vice president of worldwide marketing, Phil Schiller, told the Wall Street Journal when why they didn't include the 3.
Some experts, on the other hand, were left scratching their heads over the matter.

What's in a name? The moniker of Apple's latest iPad device prompted concerned consumers to go on Twitter and Facebook to blast its lack of a name

Trouble with sequels: Would The Dark Knight Rises sound as cool if it were just called Batman 3?
Meanwhile, a legal dispute could keep the new device from being sold in China.
Cash-strapped technology firm Proview has accused Apple of 'acting dishonestly' when it bought the rights to the iPad name.
COULD THE NEW IPAD COST YOU THOUSANDS IN DATA BILLS?
One of the unannounced new features of the update to Apple's operating system, iOS5.1 is that it discreetly raises the limit for iTunes downloads via the phone network from 20MB to 50MB - allowing for apps that cater to iPad's new Retina screen.
Just 20 such downloads could eat up the full capacity of many data plans.
Concern has been raised that the new iPad could eat up all the space on a data plan in just 10 minutes.
Tech site Tecca warns, 'Combine the realities of multimedia file size and a blazing fast connection that allows transfer of said files at unprecedented speeds, and you have a recipe for potentially expensive disaster.'
Apple says it bought the trademark from Proview Electronics in 2009. Proview is suing Apple in the U.S., seeking to have that deal ruled invalid.
It said the $55,000 deal did not include the mainland Chinese iPad trademark, which was owned by the mainland unit, Shenzhen Proview Technology.
Because of the dispute, Proview lawyer Xie Xianghui told China Daily that the company has demanded that Chinese authorities slap an embargo on shipments of the iPad.
Apple launched the latest iPad yesterday, armed with a Full HD display with 3.1 million pixels and a supercharged new processor.
The device will be available on March 16 and priced from $499-$829 (£399-£659) - the same range as the iPad 2, which the technology giant launched a year ago.
The tablet will be powered by a super fast quad-core A5x chip, putting Apple's tablet ahead of competitors such as Samsung.

Demonstrations at the launch showed off the power of 4G, with videos that played from the web near-instantly - but British consumers will miss out
It will also offer a high speed 4G LTE network connection in territories with 4G - in the U.S., it will be available on both the AT&T and Verizon wireless networks.
The network is not yet available in the UK.
Apple claims the battery lasts 10 hours.
'Who will come out with a product that's more amazing than the iPad 2?' Apple CEO Tim Cook asked the audience yesterday at the San Francisco launch event. 'Stop wondering - we are'.

FIRST IMPRESSIONS OF NEW iPAD

Up close, the new HD screen is very impressive indeed - particularly with apps built to take advantage of it - such as the new version of sky watching app Star Walk which can show 300,000 stars on screen at once.
Even on the home screen, though, icons are stunningly crisp - and printed words in iBooks are so sharp it almost hurts to look at them.
With Full HD video, there's a cinematic feel like watching a big flatscreen TV set - except the screen is in your lap.
Photos really pop out of the screen - and even ones taken on the device's 5-megapixel camera are crisp enough to zoom right in.
Overall, the device doesn't feel a huge amount faster, though - the new processor clearly has its work cut out just keeping the screen going.
And despite Apple's boasts, the games still don't look a patch on titles on Xbox 360 or PC - but as developers get to grips with the new hardware, that will change.
The screen, a larger version of the screen in iPhone 4s, is sharper than most 40-inch HD televisions.
Apple claims that the screen resolution is so sharp words on screen are sharper than words in print.
Mr Cook said: 'We are taking it to a whole new level and are redefining the category that Apple created with the original iPad'.
The new iPad also offers a 5 megapixel iSight camera which can record video in full HD.
Apple showed off new apps, including new versions of it's iWork apps such as iPhoto.
Many apps showed off the power of the new tablet - for instance editing 14 megapixel digital photos in full size on screen.
The processor is fast enough to handle a 3D game, Sky Gamblers, with 50 fighter planes battling on screen at once.
A new version of the hit iPhone title Infinity Blade showed off graphics similar to Xbox 360 and PS3.
A fresh edition of the GarageBand music software lets four iPads 'jam' together via Wi-Fi.
Also, a newer version of iMovie allows users to record and edit full HD movies right on the screen.
The iPhoto app allows photo editing direct on screen, cropping pictures, editing lighting and adding effects such as red-eye reduction and black and White filters via the touchscreen.
The new iPad will be 9.4 millimeters thick, or 0.37 inches.

That compares with 8.8 millimeters, or 0.34 inches, for the iPad 2.
The weight is going up from 1.33 pounds to 1.44 pounds for the Wi-Fi-only model. The original iPad weighed 1.5 pounds.
Apple also confirmed that the new model will come in a version that can use Verizon Wireless' and AT&T Inc.'s 'LTE' wireless broadband networks.
They offer speeds that are faster than the '3G' networks used by previous iPads, and current iPhones.
The company says the new model also will be four times faster.
Apple also unveiled a new model of its Apple TV set-top box which offers full HD films, television and web channels such as YouTube.
The new iPad and Apple TV devices will be available on store shelves on March 16.
The device offers built-in access to Apple's iCloud offering users online access to films they have purchased on other apple devices such as iPhone.

... AND ONE MORE THING: APPLE UPDATES ITS TV SET-TOP BOX

Apple did not announce its widely expected Apple television - instead, Tim Cook unveiled a new model of its Apple TV set-top box which offers full HD films and TV. The device is available on March 16.The new version offers built-in access to Apple's icloud offering users online access to films they have purchased on other Apple devices such as iPhone.
Apple announced that films and TV shows in iTunes store would now be available in 1080p, or full high-definition.
The company also revealed a new, cheaper 'entry level' iPad 2 for $399 - cheaper than any previous model.
Mr Cook also left the door open for 'a lot more' innovation in the next year - possibly a reference to the new iPhone 5 widely expected to launch later in 2012.
Analyst reaction was favourable to the new device, with some predicting shortages.
'There is no doubt that peopple like Blackberry maker RIM and Google will struggle to compete. The key is really the apps - we have seen high resolution screens before, but Apple has 200,000 apps that nobody can compete with,' said analyst Avi Greengart.
However, Mr Greengart warned Apple's plan to ship the new iPad to dozens on countries when it launches could cause problems.
‘There is going to be a huge amount of demand, so I think simply getting enough units out there is going to be a challenge,’ he said.

Bigger, faster: The third version of the iPad, pictured above, will be available on March 16 and priced at $499-$829. It's powered by a super fast quad-core A5x chip
‘I know I want one, and a lot of other people will too.’
WHAT THE TECHIES ARE SAYING
Gizmodo: 'It's almost like looking at a glossy magazine page. It also has much more powerful guts, with a much faster processor, graphics and more memory.'
TechCrunch: 'As far as weight and shape, it’s almost exactly the same as the iPad 2. They wouldn’t allow comparison shots - probably because the new iPad is a little thicker - but the dimensional differences are minor and the overall feel is near-identical.'
Engadget: 'By and large, the new guy is the same as the old guy (Home button included), but with a few nice amenities that could very well convince owners of earlier iPads to upgrade. Upon touching the HD variant, it's not the overall form factor that grabs us -- it's the screen.'
TechRepublic: 'Apple is trying hard to get us to see the iPad as more than just a consumption device. It clearly wants this to be a viable option for more and more users to consider instead of a laptop.'
The lack of a new name may cause confusion for buyers, particularly since the older model, the 'iPad 2,' will still be sold.
Last year, Apple sold 172 million of what it described as post-PC devices - iPhones, iPads and touchscreen iPods.
The company has now sold 315 million devices running its iOS operating system.
Apple had sold more than 55 million iPads around the world as of January this year.
In the run-up to launch, the new gadget ignited a frenzy among fans.
Data company Experian Hitwise says that one in 2000 of all internet searches have been for terms related to iPad 3 over the past week.
'Demand for the iPad 3 online reached its peak in the last week as 1 in every 2000 searches online were iPad 3 related,' says the company.
Some industry experts are even predicting the end of personal computers as touch-screen tablet-style computers grow in popularity.
Apple announced that more than 25 billion apps have been downloaded from its App Store by customers.
Long lines formed outside Apple’s flagship store in Regent Street in central London two years ago as hundreds vied to get their hands on the original iPad when it was launched.

Apple was forced to push back its original late April UK launch date because of ‘overwhelming demand’ for the device in the U.S.
The company sold more than one million iPads in the U.S. in the first 100 days making it a better seller than the iPhone.
Sarah Rotman Epps, an analyst for Forrester Research, said the device's Android competition has failed because most technology companies fail to see that the 'apps' are more important than the hardware.
'It's about the services - what you can do with the device,’ she said in a blog post.
Apple's competitors have slowly come to realize this, but only after bringing out dozens of tablets with whiz-bang features like 3-D cameras.
The company’s last release was the iPhone 4S - complete with voice recognition software - which went on sale in October.
It was launched just nine days after Apple’s pioneering former chief executive Steve Jobs died following a lengthy battle with pancreatic cancer.
The launch was seen as a key 'test' for new CEO Tim Cook.

Media get a hands on demo of the iPad during an Apple event
The competitor that has done the best is Amazon.com Inc.
Its Kindle Fire tablet is cheaper than the iPad, and also tied into Amazon's book, movie and music stores, making it an easy route to entertainment, just like the iPad.
Still, the Kindle Fire has a long way to go.
Epps estimates that Amazon sold 5.5 million Kindle Fires in the fourth quarter of last year. Meanwhile, Apple sold 15.4 million iPads, and has sold 55.3 million in total.
According to Canaccord Genuity, 63 percent of the tablets shipped last year were iPads.
The only competitors with more than 5 percent market share were Amazon and Samsung.
The iPad launch comes as Apple has reached a rare milestone: last week, it was worth more than $500billion.
Only six other U.S. companies have been worth that much, and none have held that valuation for long.
On Tuesday, Apple's stock had fallen, bringing its market value down to $494billion, but analysts believe it the company is worth closer to $550billion.

iPad 3 Battery Life More Impressive Than it Sounds

The iPad 3's battery life might not seem impressive at first, but it's a really significant improvement for Apple. Normally Apple fans look for increased performance from their next generation devices, however, the iPad 3 has the same battery life as the iPad 2 (around 10 hours). This may seem like a step backwards, but Apple managed to increase the iPad 3's battery to 11,666mAh, compared to the iPad 2’s 6994mAH.

The iPad 3 features four times as many pixels, 4G LTE and more power hungry features than the iPad 2. Yet the improved battery offers the same amount of usage as the older device without drastically increasing the new iPad's size. Not a bad achievement! The iPad 3 may not feature 3D feel displays or other gimmicky features like Siri, but its new battery capacity proves that Apple is working hard to improve their devices.

The significant change in the new iPad's battery could potentially lead to longer battery life for MacBooks, and longer lasting LTE phones. The

The 2012 version of the iPad has a gigantic battery in it, capable of keeping its fabulous new features in check enough to keep the same battery life as the iPad 2. For those of you that’ve used the iPad 2, you know that this is a feat in and of itself since the iPad 2 is capable of staying powered up for an inordinate amount of time – much longer than the 10 hours it’s rated for. What’s doubly amazing, and what we’re about to discuss below, is the fact that the newest generation iPad not only has a battery that has essentially 40% more power with basically the same physical size.

The iPad 2 is lighter and thinner than the newest iPad, this 2012 model weighting in at 1.44 pounds (652 grams) while the iPad 2 weighs in at 1.33 pounds (601 grams). The difference is easily dismissed, the same being true of the size different, 0.34-inch (8.8mm) compared to 0.37-inch (9.4mm). The battery inside is what takes up the most amount of space in both models, and it’s the battery that makes the iPad weigh in at what it does.

According to ZDNet’s Adrian Kingsley-Hughes, the brand new iPad has a massive 11,666 mAh battery under the hood, while the iPad 2 has just a 6,944 mAh battery. What we’ve got here is a case of Apple doing some sort of engineering magic to get that same amount of power storage into only a slightly larger area. While we don’t quite have the teardown yet of what’s inside this beast that makes this all possible, we’ve got the idea well enough to see what’s coming up : fantastically long-lasting devices.

If you thought your all-day smartphone was excellent, just wait until it lasts you a couple days. Just wait until your smartphone or tablet is lasting you all week! What we’re seeing here, finally, is some improvement in the physics of things. The world of battery engineering is one where things don’t move especially fast – not compared to how fast the technology that goes into chipsets does, not compared to how quickly software gets developed. But here it is – the next step!

Apple made far to small a deal about awesome this improvement is – just tiny amounts of space saved can change how everything operates. Now we’ve got to see the device in action to make sure it’s all as it seems.

The new iPad: How Apple pulled off the impossible

Apple has done it again: the iPad 3, available for pre-order now and shipping on March 16, will have a 9.7-inch 2048×1536 Retina display, cellular radios up the wazoo (including 4G LTE), a new A5X SoC with quad-core GPU, and an iPhone 4S-grade camera, for the same price as the iPad 2: $499. The iPad 3 is slightly thicker than its predecessor (9.4mm vs. 8.6mm) and a little heavier (1.46lbs vs. 1.325lbs), presumably to accommodate a larger battery. Battery life is still 10 hours, and 9 hours on 4G.

The big question on everyone’s lips is: How did Apple do it? How did Apple squeeze in a screen the likes of which have never been seen before? How did Apple keep battery life the same, while cramming in a faster processor and 4G? Most importantly, how does Apple keep the price the same?

The simple answer is: 28nm. The long answer is that while the iPad 3 might seem to be the most miraculous fondleslab to ever grace this humble, green Earth, and it might be produced by the progeny of Jobs Himself, but it is still confined to the laws of market economics and classical physics. Let’s tackle the screen first.

Way back in October, a rumor emerged that both LG and Samsung were working on 2048×1536 LCD panels, and that full-scale production would begin in November. This might seem crazy, with laptops and desktops sporting 1920×1080 resolutions, but that’s beyond the point. If LG and Samsung can reliably produce 2048×1536 panels, then that’s that. It might help if you remember that 1920×1080 panels have been rolling off the production lines for years now. For all we know, 2048×1536 is a walk in the park for Samsung. As far as cost is concerned, as long as Samsung’s yields are high enough, a 2048×1536 panel doesn’t cost any more than the 1024×768 panel found in the iPad 2.

The new processor, radios, and reduced power consumption (to keep the battery life the same) all come down to a new 28nm process. By dropping down from 40nm to 28nm, Apple instantly reduces power consumption by around 30%. The additional GPU cores will add to the A5X’s footprint, but then it’s fairly safe to assume that the two Cortex-A9 cores (if they are still A9s!) might have been tweaked to reduce their power usage. The 4G radio is probably a second-generation 28nm part provided by Qualcomm. It will suck down power, but significantly less than the first-generation 40nm parts. 28nm parts are cheaper to produce, too, because you can squeeze more of them onto the same silicon wafer.

When it’s all said and done, though, it’s important to bear in mind that despite the move to 28nm, the iPad 3 doesn’t have a longer battery life than the iPad 2; it’s the same. As we mentioned before, the iPad 3 is slightly heavier (660g vs. 600g) and fatter than its predecessor — both of which will accommodate a larger battery. 60 grams is actually quite a lot; the Galaxy S II only weighs 116g. Where the iPad 2 has a 6,930mAh battery, the iPad 3 battery might be almost double that, towards the 10,000 mAh region. In other words, the new display and array of cellular radios require a lot of juice.

In conclusion, then, the new iPad is nothing short of sensational, but not some kind of technological miracle. As always, this is yet another case of Apple’s supply chain utterly destroying the competition. Apple has just cemented its dominance for at least another six months. We can probably expect a Samsung tablet with the same kind of screen, but probably not for a few months and probably powered by a version of Android that doesn’t support that kind of resolution. I wonder if Microsoft has some Windows 8 tablets lined up with that kind of resolution…

europe will only have LTE in 2013 or 2014, by then a newer ipad will be out.

International 4G iPad Models Will Work on AT&T, Not on LTE in Home Countries
As highlighted by SlashGear yesterday, the Wi-Fi + 4G iPad announced by Apple on Wednesday and launching in ten countries next Friday will not be compatible with LTE networks under development in most of the launch countries. Apple's LTE discussion during the media event focused on five carriers in the United States (AT&T and Verizon) and Canada (Bell, Rogers, and Telus), noting that international markets would have other options available for cellular connectivity.

The issue with international LTE availability stems from the fact that the AT&T version of the new 4G iPad released in the United States supports LTE on the 700 Mhz and 2100 MHz frequency bands. Apple is distributing that same model to its international markets, but LTE implementations in most of those countries are utilizing 800 Mhz, 1800 Mhz, and 2600 MHz bands that are not supported by the device.
The new iPad WiFi + 4G put up for pre-order in Europe yesterday supports the same 700MHz and 2100MHz LTE bands as the AT&T version in the US; however, actual LTE roll-out in Europe is expected to use the 800MHz, 1800MHz and 2600MHz bands.

That means, even if commercial LTE networks become more commonplace in Europe – which has for the most part remained using the faster variants of 3G technology, such as DC-HSDPA, which the new iPad also supports – the Apple tablet is unlikely to be compatible with them.
Apple has confirmed to The Verge that those international 4G iPad models can be used on AT&T's LTE network in the United States by travelers, even though they will not have LTE support at home. According to Apple:
iPads sold internationally will be able to connect to AT&Ts LTE network when in the US with the appropriate SIM and plan.
The iPad 4G LTE model sold for Verizon in the United States is an exclusive to that carrier for at least the time being, with its LTE compatibility limited to only the 700 MHz band in line with the carrier's implementation of the technology.

Apple’s new iPad doesn’t arrive in stores for a week, but the queues are already starting to form outside the company’s flagship stores. SlashGear stumbled across Ali and Zohaib kicking off the line at Apple’s Regent Street store in London today, the first lonely iPad fanatics desperate to get their hands on the Retina Display toting tablet.

Of course, lines outside Apple stores in advance of high-profile products going on sale aren’t unusual, and in fact neither Ali nor Zohaib are new to this. Based on previous experience queuing they came prepared: folding chairs, plenty of warm clothes for the London weather, and a suitably fanatical love of iOS gadgets.

Queuing for a week may seem crazy to some, but it’s a potentially lucrative strategy if you’re not too keen on keeping an iPad for yourself. Even in the short time we spoke to the pair, a passer-by offered to buy their place for the coming Friday, at the cost of an iPad itself.

Meanwhile, pre-orders are already shipping – though are not expected to arrive until Friday, March 16 thanks to Apple’s usual regimented delivery policies – and if you didn’t stake your place in the online queue then you could have a wait ahead. Availability times have already slipped to the following week in the US, with European pre-orders now not expected to arrive until the end of the month. In short, if you want a third-gen iPad on release day, you may need to follow Ali and Zohaib’s lead.

Apple told USA Today that demand for the newest iPad has been "off the charts" and that the initial batch had been sold out:
"Customer response to the new iPad has been off the charts and the quantity available for pre-order has been purchased," Apple said in a statement. "Customers can continue to order online and receive an estimated delivery date."
We previously reported that U.S. pre-orders had already been pushed past its March 16th launch date as of Friday morning.

The 3rd Generation iPad will still be available for purchase on March 16th at Apple retail stores, presumably to long lines. The new iPad was announced last week and introduced a Retina Display, A5X Chip, LTE and 5MP Rear Camera.

New iPad pre-order ship dates slip to March 19

The delivery date for new iPad pre-orders in the US have now slipped to Monday, March 19. If you were hoping to be among the first to get your hands on the device, you’ll now have to brave the long lines outside Apple stores on Friday, March 16, or try your luck with RadioShack’s pre-order queue.

Take a quick glance at the Apple online store and you’ll see that the delivery date for all models are set back to March 19. Although it’s only a 3-day delay, it may just be enough to get more people to camp out next Friday. But unless you were truly hoping to spend that first weekend with the new iPad, the slight delay isn’t too bad compared to the 2 to 3 weeks that UK customers now have to wait.

And there’s plenty worth lining up for with the new iPad that boasts a Retina display, 4G LTE connectivity, improved camera, faster graphics, and uncompromised battery life. For more details on all the new improvements, make sure to check out our hands-on with the device as well as our coverage of its debut event.