• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Integrity of our soldiers

MarrickG

Cheating in SAF contest

THREE Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) regulars have been convicted in a military court for doctoring their unit's test scores for this year's annual best unit competition.

The two officers and a specialist from the 24th Battalion Singapore Artillery (24 SA) falsified soldiers' results for the standard obstacle course, which requires troops to clear a series of 11 obstacles like a low wall and parallel bars in under 10 minutes.

As a result, the unit was disqualified from the annual competition and the trio - former commanding officer, Major Thomas Wee Swee Tat; operations officer, Major Sim Siang Ju; and specialist, First-Sergeant Lau Soon Teck - were convicted and fined by the General Court Martial on Nov 25.

cheekenpie

More like stupidity of our soldiers. Risk their career for some nothing reward. That shows they really have nothing better to do. If not ndp, its best unit. Rest of the time is long lunches and wasteful overseas trips.

hemunkeong

This is just tip of the iceberg.
I think there are many more not discovered
If they can cheat for their gain imagine what they
will do to our country when war comes

Blazars

Possible. During when i was serving in a arty unit, we also won the best unit. I suspect there were some cheating liao. As for the best unit, I didnt get extra off days, no allowance increment, get nothing!! Wat a waste of time and effort.
!&!!

More like stupidity of our soldiers. Risk their career for some nothing reward. ....

Don't think this is an isolated incident.

Many career bureaucrats out there eager to get promoted. Promotion=more peanuts$$$. Sure to be some who will lie & cheat to loook better.

Just look at all the unecessary "upgrades" going on in Spore :rolleyes:

ahleebabasingaporethief

Do not worry about war.

Worry what they will do to Singapore if they are in a POSITION OF POWER.

Are there or are there not cheaters and LIARS that slip through? Your guess is as good as mine.

Do not worry about war.

Worry what they will do to Singapore if they are in a POSITION OF POWER.

Are there or are there not cheaters and LIARS that slip through? Your guess is as good as mine.

probably every single unit that won the best unit in the previous years cheated or falsified the paperwork to some extent..

an independent audit would open up cans of worms.. which of cos MINDEF would not do simply becos it is too damaging to them..:cool:

Are they regular, trying hard to earn promotion and recognition so that they can be like Liu Tuck Yew or LHL? We never know. That is why I have never wanted any army people in the parliament to spew shits at Singaporeans when they themselves have no integrity.

Possible. During when i was serving in a arty unit, we also won the best unit. I suspect there were some cheating liao. As for the best unit, I didnt get extra off days, no allowance increment, get nothing!! Wat a waste of time and effort.
!&!!

"mee saim mai hum" was in the artillery also....:p he was ranked below the Chief of Arty..but the chief had to call him, "SIR!"..ha ha ha ha

grunt72

I believe a years back, the CDOs were also implicated in a coverup or falisfying scores to gain top unit or something...anybody remember this?

Blazars

"mee saim mai hum" was in the artillery also....:p he was ranked below the Chief of Arty..but the chief had to call him, "SIR!"..ha ha ha ha

During when i nsf, i walk walk around my unit. And came to see this info- Mee siam mai hum was there as co too. KNN!! Lucky i wasnt under him. Heard that he doesnt know how to fire a m16? I think not true la. He can fire, but he cant strip it only. :biggrin:

And i am not surprise COA call him sir lor. I think on the day he commisioned as officer, many higher rank already start calling him "sir" liao.
!&!!

mscitw

Arse organisation Mindef forces stupid peasants to buy their own insurance, this results doctoring is peanuts.

Soul_Reaper

I think on the day he commisioned as officer, many higher rank already start calling him "sir" liao.

Actually many were already addressing him as "Sir" even when he was a recruit. Once a fellow recruit asked the RSM why he called the whitehorse recruit "Sir", the RSM erh and arh dunno how to answer. Finally he replied he's referring to the accompanying bodyguard as Sir. :biggrin: