• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

HK or Macau Citizenship for Interested Sporeans, Help Needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

travelbug

Has anyone explored obtaining HK or Macau citizenship with a view to withdrawing all the CPF monies & selling their HDB pigeon holes & saying bye bye to Spore forever.

I found very little info and very confusing info so if you have more detailed info, can you post the links & explain.

Some confusion on HK citizenship:

1) If you are a Spore citizen & successfully obtain HK PR residency and then decide to take up HK citizenship, there are 2 options.

First option to hold HK SAR passport is out becos you are not born a China national as in born in mainland China or HK. Neither are yr parents born in China.

Second option is British National (Overseas) passport. Only for those with HK connections, that is born in HK? Correct.

So what chances are there for Spore citizens to hold HK citizenship in order to renounce Spore citizenship. Looks like zero chances to me.

As for Macau citizenship, cannot get much info. Who can help?

Anyone with better information.

Robert Half

Most of ex-colleagues went over HK to stay on long term visa. They are Singapore Citizens and unemployed former MNC managers.

None of them said they wanted to give up Singapore Citizenships, withdraw CPF and sell their HDB flats here :confused:

khlui11

British had stopped issuing BNO (british national - overseas) passport since 1997. These were given to HK-er who were born when HK was still under British rule. Anyway this is not a full British passport and the holder has no right to stay permenantly on British soil.

HK SAR passport (a blue passport with PRC Communist Party logo) is available to all HK-er who has HK residency. You must obtain HK residency first before being able to apply for HKSAR passport. To get HK residency, you must show that you have stayed in HK for 8 years (by any means). There is a "foreign talent program" by the hk gov. Check out HK immigration department website.

For macau, the Portugeses are more generous than the British. They gave all macau ppl full Portugal National status in 1999. If you want Portugal passport thru that means, forget it. Not sure about Macau SAR passport (with PRC logo).

Basically, it is much easier to get residency status fr Singapore, US, Canada or Australia than China (including HK and Macau). China already has too many mouths to feed.

nicolewong

For Hong Kong, check out the Quality Migrant Admission Scheme, which is similar to how all those FT obtain PR in Singapore:

Quality Migrant Admission Scheme

http://www.immd.gov.hk/ehtml/QMAS.htm

The Quality Migrant Admission Scheme is quota-based and operated on a points-based system. Applicants are required to fulfill a set of prerequisites before they can be awarded points under either one of the two points-based tests, namely the General Points Test (GPT) and the Achievement-based Points Test (APT), and compete for quota allocation with other applicants. Prerequisites under the Scheme are:

a. the applicant must be aged 18 or above when lodging an application under the Scheme;

b. the applicant must be able to demonstrate that he/she is capable of supporting and accommodating himself/herself and his/her dependants, if any, on his/her own financial resources without relying on public assistance during his/her stay in Hong Kong;

c. the applicant must have no criminal or adverse immigration record in Hong Kong or elsewhere;

d. the applicant must be proficient in written and spoken Chinese (Putonghua or Cantonese) or English; and

e. the applicant must have a good education background, normally a first degree from a recognized university or a tertiary educational institution. In special circumstances, good technical qualifications, proven professional abilities and/or experience and achievements supported by documentary evidence may be considered.

nicolewong

Check out also PR for Taiwan...

Taiwan has a big outflow of people, the Taiwan govt would not mind taking some people in, just like Singapore, if you are chinese, it is even easier :smile:

Check out also PR for Taiwan...

Taiwan has a big outflow of people, the Taiwan govt would not mind taking some people in, just like Singapore, if you are chinese, it is even easier :smile:
I like Taiwan as a country, the people, food and entertainment, but you also have to deal with potential earthquakes, typhoons and missiles being pointed at you from abroad.

chewed

FYI - To obtain HK Citizenship it takes 7 years for Right of Abode (ROA) there.

you should ask Scroobal, since he's the resident expert in migrating, getting a job & setting up business.

But becareful, he'll want you to keep your SG passport so that you dun withdraw your CPF...

axe168

you should ask Scroobal, since he's the resident expert in migrating, getting a job & setting up business.

But becareful, he'll want you to keep your SG passport so that you dun withdraw your CPF...

Haha.. maybe he's sent by the garment? He has a mission ~ to keep their pink IC so that govt can have their CPF :smile:

chewed

well , it's obvious which side of the fence he's sitting on. They know they can't stop people from leaving but if they can reduce those renouncing citizenship & CPF withdrawal by 20-30%, it will mean 20-30 million "saved"

Status
Not open for further replies.