• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

High Speed rail from Sin to KL is a plot for Najib to win votes !

Man in the streets

Malaysia GE is drawing near.

Anwar may win and become the next premier . It is the worst nightmare for Najib and a thorn in LHL's fresh .

Looks like Anwar is winning the race.

The speed rail thingy sounds very singaporean- like style to win votes, like the HDB upgrading.

Think about it, 2020 which is 7 years from now to build such a enormous project can complete?

Hundreds of thousands of Malaysians work in Singapore, so what do you think ? Every vote counts .

Very obvious , very singaporean style ! You see why Najib flied in for a so-called retreat ?

Its GE probably would be end of February or beginning of march ! But this speed rail is not a master stroke, malaysians have already made up their mind----they want Anwar ! Lets see !

enterprise2

Anwar may win and become the next premier . It is the worst nightmare for Najib and a thorn in LHL's fresh .

Looks like Anwar is winning the race.

The speed rail thingy sounds very singaporean- like style to win votes, like the HDB upgrading.

Think about it, 2020 which is 7 years from now to build such a enormous project can complete?

Hundreds of thousands of Malaysians work in Singapore, so what do you think ? Every vote counts .

Very obvious , very singaporean style ! You see why Najib flied in for a so-called retreat ?

Its GE probably would be end of February or beginning of march ! But this speed rail is not a master stroke, malaysians have already made up their mind----they want Anwar ! Lets see !

Not sure if Anwar becoming the next PM will be good for Singapore!!

Tiu-leh-see-fart

Singapore got its own immediate infrastructures to improve for the 5.4 million, but he chooses to help Najib first to win votes.
what an incompetent PAP PM !
7 billion is a small amount to share with ?
singaporeans are screwed deep.
same feathers flock together !

if ah anwar voted in, he oso can continue wif ze project wat ...

dat time, ah najib lanlan ... :eek:

all mega project churns out large amount of $$ for politicians in many countries. this can be useful for election or personal gain.

kingrant

Mega projects means Najib smelling big side income coming. For Ah Loong, fast rail means mega flood of M'sians can come down to work in a jiff as foreign labour. Ah Loong also trying his luck to tap the economic potential of JB and beyond.

Gong Xi Fa Cai! Got come got go! Import M'sian workers, export Sinkies to JB homes!

Kohliantye

all mega project churns out large amount of $$ for politicians in many countries. this can be useful for election or personal gain.

CPIB, you better see to the Mega projects like Terminal 4 in Changi Airport.

It costs billions.

Just 1% will bring in how much for those inking those projects?

CPIB, you better be on the lookoput and follow up.

Singaporeans will never forgive you for not doing so.

This is a warning to you at CPIB for the whole world is WATCHING, ya.....

Man in the streets

Bad move by PAP PM.

Mat GE is just around the corner, PAP PM should instead wait for the GE results before any mega projects with matland counterparts.
This negotiation would mean PAP endorses Najib and his Team, and of course, the hatred towards Singapore by Anwar and supporters will grow stronger.
Thus, you create real enemy for singapore !

The speed rail only benefits malaysians while Singaporean taxpayers pay for it.

If Anwar wins the GE, LHL and PAP will drop their faces to the ground.

Like the kenna kick-out George now being enlightened, says ---whither Singapore? Probably, could he mean--wither singapore ?

Kohliantye

I agree with you.

These "projects" can be KIV as of now until the elections when Najib could be defeated by the Pakatan.

Then we can start those projects. It will also be a good start with a new Govt in Malaysia - the first ever after their independence and years of Mahathir downwards.

wwabbit

It's the right move for the PAP for their own self-interest.
It is in the PAP's interest to have BN retain power, which is far more important than starting off with a good relationship with PKR in case PKR wins. BN losing the election is irreparable damage. A cold relationship with PKR can always be repaired with creative methods.

rotiprata

this project will not take off, reasons below....
1) already hinted in najib speech..."huge enormous cost"..
2) who are paying?....johore, negri, malacca, selangor
3) 7 years to built....how many more years to recover the costs?
4) how much will the operator charge for a one way trip?...will it be cheaper than the air ticket?

...just another wayang?

kingrant

Jeewhiz...Najib also said that KL can learn from Singapore's MRT experience! Hahahahahaha....excuse me..

But I understand that these will be new types of rails designed for high speeds at 250 km/hr. Sure this experience Singapore MRT doesnt have lah..

You think Singapore's MRT guys and LTA can advise KL ? Hahahahaha...one eyed jack leading the blind..Imagine Desmond boy and Ah Lui smoking Najib and Co.

it would cost more to build the rail resulting in expensive train tickets to recover construction costs. it nothing but a money pit. especially budget airline already so dirt cheap.

groinroot

Its GE probably would be end of February or beginning of march !

This is ploy by desperate men to win votes. Will the project materialize? Only time can tell. Malaysia is well known for abandoning projects halfway. A drive through Malaysian roads is testimony of this. Everywhere you can see derelict skeletons of buildings that had been abandoned for various reasons.

Mahathir had grand visions. The Multimedia Super Corridor, for one, is a multi-biillon ringgit failure. Next was Mahathir's crooked bridge to replace the historic Causeway that links Malaysia with Singapore. This too ended up in vapor with those who had vested interests suing each other. (This matter had been quietly hushed up.)

Now, Najib has come up with the super idea of starting a high speed railway connection between Singapore and Malaysia? Indeed such ideas were thrown up when the old KTM trains were running between the two countries. There were even proposals to run Singapore's MRT into JB. However, all such thoughts were not given serious attention. And now, hey presto, the two PMs are in serious discussion. Reasons given range from improved travel, more and faster business and others. Could be. The unannounced reasons are plunging political fortunes of both leaders. They hope to reverse their declining popularity at home. While for LHL there is ample time, say about 3 years, Najib has only a few weeks left before he calls for GE. Hence, Najib has to act real fast.

How will the Malaysian electorate respond? A retired friend of mine who travels to JB frequently to meet his old kakis, shared with me that people there are asking what is the urgency for the Singapore-KL link, when there is a real need for this service between Penang and KL as the latter's current KTM services are below par.