• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

HDB stopped building for S’poreans a long time ago flats, now building for FTs

It's not okay. They are freeing up more land for industrial, commercial and residential use.

Which means the Population White Paper is on track.

Which means the PAP is not the least bit remorseful.

You should have zero tolerance for the various tricks they employ to make 'more efficient usage of the land'.

While I disagree with the population white paper, I think some development in undeveloped area is good. But got to be careful of any trick to make use of this undergound storage to push for underground human living in future.

bigboss

.....But if FTs can buy flats easily, why can't young Singaporeans buy them?

Some of those foreigners coming to sinkie land are filthy rich with money from legal and illegal sources. They like to buy properties in sinkie land as political stability is their prime consideration. They have money to bid high for COE and buy properties with cash like buying candies, no need for bank loans.

As for sinkies, they need HDB or bank loans to buy and will always remain mired in mortgage loans throughout their working life.

So sinkies can still buy but it is a huge burden to carry and for foreigners to buy, it is sap sap suay.

There is a limit to land reclamation in sinkie land as both Indonesia and Malaysia are not too happy due to encroachment of their territorial boundary. If population goes up to 6.9 million, where do they live?

The answer is to do away with manufacturing and industrial zones and re-zone the land to build flats for accommodating the increase in population.

I heard Malaysia R&F Princess cove project is going to reclaim land right to the boundary. This is on top of the other project Forest city also doing the same. So they may not complain afterall but Spore will be the one complaining..

aiyah PAP invites more people into the country so that Singaporeans can get rich through asset enhancements schemes lah.

But they never thought young Singaporeans could not afford the flats because it is getting very high now.

But if FTs can buy flats easily, why can't young Singaporeans buy them?

So if possible dun reverse mortgage your flats. You will lugi in the long run if there is constant appreciation in your assets values.

It may become more expensive to rent in the future.

The reason is simple. These FTs have no intention to pay up the full amount. So they don't mind buying expensive flats as they anticipate to sell in a few years and know that it is a safe bet as long as population keep growing aside from them saving rental.

potter

All these massive building is for new housing estate, Mrt, shopping centre, etc even the re-locating of airbase is for housing. But nothing of the same scale is being planned for new industrial areas. No plans for factories, all to work in office towers in future?

Yes, this is their objective tat mentioned in the white paper or somewhere, 3/4 will be offices..