• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

HDB Owns Your Flat, Not You!

jubilee1919

You pay the full sum for the privilege to live in it for 99 years, but you don't actually own it as the owner is still HDB.

If for some reason you break the Terms & Conditions of your Lease Agreement, HDB has the right to take it back from you. In other words, you paid in advance, hundreds of thousands of dollars to rent the flat for 99 years, and all of it will be forfeited. Is this fair? Think about it.

HDB has exercised this right in many cases and the owners has no money nor place to stay when that happened.

Of course. If you don't own the land, you own nothing at all.

HDB flat buyers are actually paying a 99-year lease for an overpriced pigeon hole. And in the process, saddled up with a hefty debt that lasts for a long time.

Ergo, 'home ownership' for most people in Singapore is bollocks. If you don't own anything, you have nothing to defend. They want to make you believe that you have something to defend.

7dsTd.jpg

i have been saying this for over a decade before sbf's inception. if you have not figured that out when the 1st hdb flat was sold, you're a real hopeless moron. :rolleyes:

You pay the full sum for the privilege to live in it for 99 years, but you don't actually own it as the owner is still HDB.

If for some reason you break the Terms & Conditions of your Lease Agreement, HDB has the right to take it back from you. In other words, you paid in advance, hundreds of thousands of dollars to rent the flat for 99 years, and all of it will be forfeited. Is this fair? Think about it.

HDB has exercised this right in many cases and the owners has no money nor place to stay when that happened.

There nothing is unfair about HDB. No one pointing gun at anyone force them to buy HDB. Rule and regulation stated very clear and everyone still buying.
Why not see shorter owner ship like car only 10 year is the same only duration is shorter.
Car is same no one forcing anyone to buy. Buyer know the HDB ownership period same as the car.
If dont like it can buy freehold landed property or migrate to other country which house and car cheaper to own.
So in the end the choice is he/she can decide.

longbow

Same for 99 year condo. Also many have made hundred of thousands from their flats which enabled them a down on pte property.

Most of the restriction are for 5 years to prevent abuse. In fact for many Singaporeans hdbs allow them to save money and put that additional money into a rental pte condo

Teo Kok Eng

... Think about it.

Nothing to think about, that is what is meant by 99 years leasehold. Check the dictionary what the word "lease" means.

The interesting part of this lease is you can sell the lease and pocket the cash. In other words, you could potentially live in the HDB flat for free and would have recovered all the payments you made to HDB if you sell the flat and have an alternative place to live.

Someone tell me what happens when the 99-year is up. When you talk about lease in general, you can lease some asset for a certain amount of time and when you pay off the lease, you can transfer the title to your name. Does that happens for HDB flat? Probably the layman would not know since no HDB flat has reached the 99-year lease.

jubilee1919

Put on your thinking caps lah. A leasehold private property is yours and therein lies the difference. Assuming you fully paid for your 99 year leasehold property you own it for 99 years. For HDB, even if you have fully paid for it, you can still be evicted by HDB as they own the unit.

The arguments put forth do not address this whatsoever. Points about resale or whatever has nothing to do with this issue, much less comments comparing ownership of cars or leaving the country if you don't like it. What has that got to do with being Singaporean and having a HDB flat? Not everyone wishes to leave the country nor has the means to do so.

I am opening this subject as a Singaporean has been evicted for renting out his flat without HDB's approval. If you own a private property you don't need approval and do pretty much as you please, but not HDB, even though you have fully paid up the 99 years rental.

Bro, they latch on to the word "leasehold" and think they solved the problem and that the govt is right.

For the price that they have paid, getting leasehold title is close to cheating. The fact that the build costs is much much lower points to that. Despite paying so much, balloting comes into play. Plus all the restrictive rules.

I am all for 99 leasehold as land is limited so freehold over much of the country would be madness but the price is ridiculously high. Public housing elsewhere is also leasehold, strict rules and conditions very similar but nowhere close to the price that HDB charges.

But the prize goes to imbeciles who argue that as long as can sell, it means you own the property. Obviously they never heard of term meberships etc which can be sold prior to end od term.

By the way as you pointed out, you or your family will never see the end 99 years. One of the reasons why the Anson BE led to landmark victory was bacause residents from a number of blocks who had recently bought 4 and 5 room flats in newly built blocks then had it respossed as PSA needed to expand their port facilities. Can you imagien the shock.

Put on your thinking caps lah. A leasehold private property is yours and therein lies the difference. Assuming you fully paid for your 99 year leasehold property you own it for 99 years. For HDB, even if you have fully paid for it, you can still be evicted by HDB as they own the unit.

The arguments put forth do not address this whatsoever. Points about resale or whatever has nothing to do with this issue, much less comments comparing ownership of cars or leaving the country if you don't like it. What has that got to do with being Singaporean and having a HDB flat? Not everyone wishes to leave the country nor has the means to do so.

I am opening this subject as a Singaporean has been evicted for renting out his flat without HDB's approval. If you own a private property you don't need approval and do pretty much as you please, but not HDB, even though you have fully paid up the 99 years rental.

U acting like this is surprise news to you. This subject has been commented on infinitum. Go to this old thread on Sammyboy.

http://www.singsupplies.com/showthread.php?50943-HDB-101-What-the-PAP-don-t-want-you-to-know

longbow

Hence the discount to private leashold property. At the end of day cannot have cake and eat it. HDBs are great wealth creators for majority of Singaporeans (70 to 80%) - those that buy directly from the HDB. Just face the facts - you buy an HDB 5 years ago - likely cost you $200 to 250K. If you bought it 10 years ago, it likely cost you $150 to $200K. These flats have a current market value of between $380 to $450K.

That is why current gov stay in power - people feel the wealth effect.

Given that 90% of population live in HDBs and most of them buy using HDB loans, I would not be surprised if there are more evictions in the private property market vs HDB despite fact that pte prop is only 10% of population. An HDB guarantees roof over your head and that is most impt reason for buy a home.

If you go bankrupt (much more frequent occurence and people getting evicted by HDB) your creditors cannot come after your flat. Try that for a 99 year leasehold - late 4 to 6 payments and banks come after you. Now if you finance with HDB loans, the number of repos are few compared to private banks.

So please compare the number of HDB evictions (taking into account that it applies to 90% of pop) vs private property eviction and I think you have a better chance of kena evicted in private property. Also, your private property can be take back if there is a national need to acquire it for a road or MRT.

In short HDB allows:
Easy entry (easy loans, grants, no partial payments during construction phase)
It is pretty much yours for life and creditors cannot touch
It is a great wealth creator (especially give how little $ you have to put up initially)

HDBs do have more restrictions, you cannot form your own homeowners association (every goes to town council), you have little say on maintainence of the outside facilities, you cannot sell to foreigners, etc. But I believe in the market and the current markets shows a $150K premium once the 5 year restriction has been lifted.

Since 90% of the population live in HDBs, policies have to be populist in nature or else we will have a new political party!

BTW please enlighten me on the reasons for HDB evicting a person after 5 years MOP.

jubilee1919

BTW please enlighten me on the reasons for HDB evicting a person after 5 years MOP.

http://news.omy.sg/News/Local%2BNews/Story/OMYStory201208101505-355383.html

疑出租整间组屋而遭充公 商人告建屋局

公司董事被怀疑将整间组屋出租,结果屋子遭建屋局充公,他为此入禀法庭,成为第一位起诉建屋局,要法官撤销建屋局决定的屋主。

这名公司董事周德发(38岁)因即将结婚,前年以48万元在公开市场,买了武吉巴督的一个五房式转售组屋。

没想到屋子才买了1年多,周德发就被怀疑在没有通知建屋局的情况下,将整间组屋出租,结果屋子遭充公。

完整报道,请翻阅10.08.2012《新明日报》。

jubilee1919

U acting like this is surprise news to you. This subject has been commented on infinitum. Go to this old thread on Sammyboy.

http://www.singsupplies.com/showthread.php?50943-HDB-101-What-the-PAP-don-t-want-you-to-know

Thanks, I have not come across this thread before. It lends support that Singaporeans are lulled into thinking they owned a property after paying upfront for a Rental Agreement.

There are a few valid points about the advantages, but like the proverbial frog being boiled alive, those agreeing with the policy has never experienced owning another property apart from the pigeon hole they believe they owned. One comment mentioned about the "profit" after selling their HDB (in fact it is actually not a real sale but transfer of lease rental). Yes, for 1st time owners, but not after buying a resale flat. The rule also states, you cannot own a private property if you want to buy a HDB flat. Which means, where is the profit if you sell your HDB, as you still need a roof over your head, requiring you to buy another property?

Thanks, I have not come across this thread before. It lends support that Singaporeans are lulled into thinking they owned a property after paying upfront for a Rental Agreement.

There are a few valid points about the advantages, but like the proverbial frog being boiled alive, those agreeing with the policy has never experienced owning another property apart from the pigeon hole they believe they owned. One comment mentioned about the "profit" after selling their HDB (in fact it is actually not a real sale but transfer of lease rental). Yes, for 1st time owners, but not after buying a resale flat. The rule also states, you cannot own a private property if you want to buy a HDB flat. Which means, where is the profit if you sell your HDB, as you still need a roof over your head, requiring you to buy another property?

Friend, I congratulate you, you have reached the highest level of enlightenment. Now u really understand how the PAP runs the HDB scam.

blackmondy

HDB is just like car sales scam.

Money is made through transference of ownership with this duty, that duty etc.