• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Govt won't fund World Cup

Char_Azn

THE Government has signalled that it would not fund the 2010 World Cup on free-to-air television, as it looks like Singapore will be denied the live telecast because SingTel and StarHub will not pay the price demanded by soccer's world governing body, Fifa.

Responding to recent letters and commentaries in the press on the ongoing World Cup telecast rights negotiations, a spokesman for the Media Development Authority (MDA) said late on Thursday night: 'While the telecast of World Cup 2010 is a commercial decision as with previous World Cups, MDA understands the anxiety of football fans and has been monitoring the developments closely as well as encouraging SingTel, StarHub and MediaCorp to continue their negotiations with Fifa to telecast the World Cup in Singapore.

'We hope the negotiations will reach a sensible outcome that will benefit all football fans. We also urge fans to be patient to allow the negotiations to take its course.

On government funding, Ms Eileen Ang, MDA's Head of Competition and Market Access, said this is meant for content on free-to-air TV which goes towards a large number of public service broadcast (PSB) programmes that 'promote social objectives and national harmony'.

'It would therefore be difficult to meet requests for funding the World Cup broadcasts which do not meet these objectives,' she added.

In the latest turn to the saga, national broadcaster MediaCorp has submitted a bid to telecast the four key matches of the 2010 World Cup on free-to-air television. These are the opening game between host South Africa and Mexico on June 11, the semi-finals on July 6 and 7, and the final on July 11. MediaCorp confirmed that it has been in discussions with Fifa, the world soccer body which holds the rights to all 64 games played in South Africa.

SingTel and StarHub have put in a joint bid for the broadcast rights for the tournament which kicks off on June 11 and ends on July 11. Negotiations are still going on. Fifa is reportedly asking for $100 million for the matches to be shown here - a sum both telcos have baulked at, given that it is an $85 million increase over what StarHub reportedly paid in 2006.

http://www.straitstimes.com/BreakingNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_480660.html

:oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo:

Freaking Sinktel and Suxhub A.K.A. Government screwup bid for WC, now :oIo: at all football fans.

SInkies deserve it !!!! WAHAHAHHAHAHAHAH

2010 is the best year for me. WAHAHHAHAHAHAH

Stage 5

:oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo::oIo:

Freaking Sinktel and Suxhub A.K.A. Government screwup bid for WC, now :oIo: at all football fans.

There's still six months till World Cup, still early to say what will happen. :wink:

SInkies deserve it !!!! WAHAHAHHAHAHAHAH

2010 is the best year for me. WAHAHHAHAHAHAH

CB kia tonychat,

spore cannot watch WC2010 = best year for u:confused:

wow your expectation of life really very low huh.. so easily contented.. no wonder u r so happy fucking your ladyboy prostitute wife even though she has manmade breast and fake chee bye..:eek:

Wang Ye

CB kia tonychat,

spore cannot watch WC2010 = best year for u:confused:

wow your expectation of life really very low huh.. so easily contented.. no wonder u r so happy fucking your ladyboy prostitute wife even though she has manmade breast and fake chee bye..:eek:

Aiyoh got to understand people got to hid overseas so natural very unhappy. His only source of happiness seems to be that those over here in Singapore are not happy thereby justifying to himself that he made the correct choice. However he is still a very unhappy person as he needs constant reassurance that others are stuffing back home.

In fact good news in Singapore will send him into denial.

ahleebabasingaporethief

No more money how to fund?

Even PR school fees also increase.

Where money coming from to fund ah?

But, just before ERECTIONS they will announce ALL MATCHES will be shown.

All football fans will then be thankful and vote the SCUMS:biggrin:

cestycesty

this is in order to save embarrassment.

IF U CAN RECALL... WHEN THEY STARTED S-LEAGUE, THE IDEA WAS TO BRING SINGAPORE TO WORLD CUP TOP 25 BY 2010. TO BE A WORLD CLASS SOCCER TEAM. UHHH.. NOW IS 2010. THE TEAM PLAYED BY MOSTLY FOREIGNERS ARE NOWHERE NEAR.

WHERE CAN OUR GAHMEN PUT THEIR FACE.. OF COS MUST HIDE LAH. SO BEST WAY DONT SUPPORT. HOPE WE FORGET ABT THE WHOLE THING. LOL

mscitw

Blood is thicker than water.

This explain why the regime remains happy to bankroll the misadventures of Ho Jinx while ordering Singtel not to overstretch itself for World Cup.

VIBGYOR

Blood is thicker than water.

This explain why the regime remains happy to bankroll the misadventures of Ho Jinx while ordering Singtel not to overstretch itself for World Cup.

All FootBall Nuts should gather together and protest by not paying TV license....:biggrin:

Kid278

It's a shame that this tiny nation had to come to such a stage that its citizens be denied the chance to watch such fifa world cup which only happens 4 years once.

For decades nothing of this sort ever happens but why now and why isnt the government doing something to help. Even third world countries gets to watch it for free, how pathetic isnt it to be in a so called first world.

PAP going to get a black eye this election. The funny thing, they do not realise it yet.
I am going to open a bottle of champagne this year election.

PAP going to get a black eye this election. The funny thing, they do not realise it yet.
I am going to open a bottle of champagne this year election.

OH.... you have underestimated the sinkieness of sinkies...

this is in order to save embarrassment.

IF U CAN RECALL... WHEN THEY STARTED S-LEAGUE, THE IDEA WAS TO BRING SINGAPORE TO WORLD CUP TOP 25 BY 2010. TO BE A WORLD CLASS SOCCER TEAM. UHHH.. NOW IS 2010. THE TEAM PLAYED BY MOSTLY FOREIGNERS ARE NOWHERE NEAR.

WHERE CAN OUR GAHMEN PUT THEIR FACE.. OF COS MUST HIDE LAH. SO BEST WAY DONT SUPPORT. HOPE WE FORGET ABT THE WHOLE THING. LOL

YOur sinkie govt forgot one thing. To be in the world class soccer team. Those players needs to remove their sinkie behaviors and need to have balls. So it is quite a slim chance.

Actually is good for Singapore. World cup betting in Singapore will reduce.

Pls lah, Singapore Pools will still have World Cup bets 1, LOL

SMLJ supporting sports, encouraging youth to take sports, simi sportshub, all bullshit 1 lah, pui!!!!