• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious Good News! Leetrenched workers to get financial support while reskilling

Pinkieslut

NDR 2023: Retrenched workers to get financial support while reskilling, scheme still being 'fine-tuned'​

NDR 2023: Retrenched workers to get financial support while reskilling, scheme still being 'fine-tuned'
TODAY file photo

• Following feedback that financial pressures made it difficult for retrenched workers to go for skills courses, the Government is developing a new scheme to provide temporary financial support
  • Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said this will help retrenched workers focus on upskilling, allowing them to get a better long-term job
  • Mr Lee was speaking about the scheme during his Malay speech at the National Day Rally 2023
  • He also touched on plans to spruce up Geylang Serai Market and Joo Chiat Complex

BY

LORAINE LEE

Published August 20, 2023
Updated August 20, 2023
WhatsAppTelegramFacebookTwitterEmailLinkedIn
SINGAPORE — To help retrenched workers get back on their feet confidently, a new scheme to offer temporary financial support to these workers while they upgrade their skills is in the works, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said on Sunday (Aug 20).
"This scheme will ease the immediate pressure that jobseekers experience so they can focus on upgrading their skills for a better long-term job," said Mr Lee.

ADVERTISEMENT​

Speaking in Malay during the National Day Rally 2023 at the Institute of Technical Education Headquarters in Ang Mo Kio, Mr Lee noted that the digital domain offers a wide range of job opportunities, but the "flip side" of such opportunities is anxiety.
"Anxiety to keep up with the latest trends. Worry that your job may be taken over by robots or AI (artificial intelligence) applications. We can certainly expect more job disruptions. More of our workers will be affected by such disruptions and may lose their jobs several times throughout their careers," he said.
"The pace of change is expected to increase."

READ ALSO​

Helping jobless workers, professionalising blue-collar jobs among Government’s plans to build stronger society: DPM Wong

This is why the Government has put in place various initiatives to help job seekers pick up new skills or move to different sectors, such as through the SkillsFuture Career Transition Programme, he said.
But while retraining to find better jobs is the way out for retrenched workers, it remains a challenge for them to go for skills courses.

ADVERTISEMENT​

"Financial pressure and the need to support our families will affect our minds and choices," noted Mr Lee, adding that these concerns cropped up during the Government's public consultation exercise, Forward SG.
"So it is very difficult to go for skills courses. Thus, often out of desperation, we seize whatever jobs are offered."
Mr Lee said the scheme is currently being "fine-tuned", and more details will be shared by the fourth-generation (4G) leadership team when they wrap up the Forward SG initiative.
In recent months, the Government has repeatedly indicated that it was looking into providing financial support for retrenched workers, most recently in April 2023 when Deputy Prime Minister Lawrence Wong said the Government was considering a re-employment scheme to help displaced workers make ends meet.

PRESERVING HERITAGE​

READ ALSO​

Analysis: Govt's proposed re-employment support plugs crucial gap in helping displaced workers pick up skills, switch careers

Apart from enhancing the economic prospects of Singaporeans, Mr Lee addressed the issue of preserving Singapore's cultural heritage in the second half of the Malay speech.

ADVERTISEMENT​

To this end, he gave an update on the facelifts that the Geylang Serai Market and Joo Chiat Complex will be undergoing as part of the Government's Geylang Serai Cultural Belt project that Mr Lee announced in his 2018 National Day Rally.
The aim of the project is to celebrate the "history, culture and heritage of the Malay community", and the renovation works are set to complete by 2024.
With most works from the project completed, Mr Lee said the other unfinished plans for the area includes a new archway inspired by the attap roofs of traditional Malay houses at the junction of Geylang Road and Joo Chiat Road, and as well as improved walkways and public spaces around Geylang Serai Market and Joo Chiat Complex.
The market will also undergo renovation work to transform its external facade, while Joo Chiat Complex will have a new glass canopy at its entrance to shelter an event space called Festival Plaza, Mr Lee said.
"All this, including various cultural activities, will make Geylang Serai more vibrant and lively for the enjoyment of visitors, young and old," said Mr Lee.

k1976

Grab delivery can quickly take uptron dipolma in Big Data liao.. And transform to Data Scientist in 3mth?

Loofydralb

This again proves how low a disregard LHL has towards the Malays, which bear the brunt on any retrenchment vis-a-vis CECAkroaches.
They already re-engineer the economy to replace you, and then throw you a few nickels, and then hope you Melayus stupid enough to continue to vote for them?
Sadly there are stupid Melayus apologists who will defend this.
Bodo nak mampos. Biar kau miskin.

Mr Lee was speaking about the scheme during his Malay speech at the National Day Rally 2023
This is only for malays as part of special privilege.
Halimah qualifies as she too is retrenched. She must have insist on this before she was removed from office. Best sinkie president ever.

millim6868

Lol,uts true,local after retrain ,they will give u security guard, toilet cleaners, misc healthcare like cleaning ,sending document, customer service job, all pay is under 1800sgd ,lol, no wonder even retrenched sinkies would rather drive grab, taxi or delivery job

oliverlee

This again proves how low a disregard LHL has towards the Malays, which bear the brunt on any retrenchment vis-a-vis CECAkroaches.
They already re-engineer the economy to replace you, and then throw you a few nickels, and then hope you Melayus stupid enough to continue to vote for them?
Sadly there are stupid Melayus apologists who will defend this.
Bodo nak mampos. Biar kau miskin.
No lah which fucking hole in Yishun are you still putting up? The Malays are now driving Beemers and S series and a nice portion of them live in landed. Go round Hillview area and take a look. Don’t keep pushing the fucking narrative that m&ds are always poor. The present generation of mudslimes don’t even speak malay to their kids. The newly poor are the Chinese and Indians. if chee Bai loong continues his divisive ways, Sinkapoor will go back to the days of Geylang 1965

Most of those retrenched are dumb fucks so what's the point of undergoing such a futile exercise?

Loofydralb

No lah which fucking hole in Yishun are you
still putting up? The Malays are now driving Beemers and S series and a nice portion of them live in landed. Go round Hillview area and take a look. Don’t keep pushing the fucking narrative that m&ds are always poor. The present generation of mudslimes don’t even speak malay to their kids. The newly poor are the Chinese and Indians. if chee Bai loong continues his divisive ways, Sinkapoor will go back to the days of Geylang 1965
The stats exposes your lies.
Again you poor dumb Melayu fucks deserve your fate to be poor.

The root of the problem is that Ah Nehs are taking jobs that sinkees can fill.
PAP should slap a special levy on the Ah Nehs that can pay for this financial assistance.

Loofydralb

I am not a malayu fyi. With fucking bigots like you around, who needs cecas to royally fuck ppl like you up?
How to royally fuck me? When I'm financially independent?
Glad you're not a Melayu or that will be a serious contamination of the Melayu gene pool.

The root of the problem is that Ah Nehs are taking jobs that sinkees can fill.
PAP should slap a special levy on the Ah Nehs that can pay for this financial assistance.

A 10 percent levy on the Ah Neh pay, paid by the employee, would do the job. A few million dollars could be raised each month. If you include the naturalized Ah Neh sinkees, more money can be raised.

borom

They are the ones who allow and encourage foreigners to come in and steal your lunch and now in return just give you a chicken wing and later ask you back for a whole chicken,
The answer is to reduce the number of foreigners working in Singapore and the only way to do that is not to not to vote for PAP starting with Tharman.

They are the ones who allow and encourage foreigners to come in and steal your lunch and now in return just give you a chicken wing in return and later ask you back for a whole chicken,
The answer is to reduce the number of foreigners working in Singapore and the only way to do that is not to not to vote for PAP starting with Tharman.
Foreign investors will not agree to this this. They are the only ones PAP listens to.

sbfuncle

This retrench and reskill thing is a stupid approach.
How do we know reskill to what kind of skills then won't be retrenched ? If we can know this earlier then there won't be retrenchment liao.