• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Going down Food Memory Lane, Old Restaurants/Coffehouses of yesteryear

Porfirio Rubirosa

You know I really miss some old restaurants/coffee houses during my childhood and youth days like:

Troika, Tivoli, Copper Kettle, Magnolia Bar, Pavillion Restaurant at the old Specialist Centre , coffee house at the old Robinsons in the old Specialist Centre (served very tasty local pepper chicken curry hailam style!), coffee house at the old Ladyhill Hotel, coffee house at the old YMCA along stevens road (tasty Malay/Indonesian food), Mont D'or (loved their milkshakes served in those aluminium containers!), original Polar Cafe along High Street...aiyo getting hungry just thinking about those old days!!

What you guys/gals out there? What were your favs? :cool:

Porfirio Rubirosa

By SNRCITIZEN

Now that you mentioned those various old places, it surely kicks up a lot of memories of younger days. You mentioned Mont D'or. In those days did you by chance notice LKY's wife dropping into the place to pick up some pastries for her kids. She did that quite often, then.

There was a restaurant at the old Cold Storage (before they tore it down to build centrepoint) which was very popular. It was situated above the supermarket. Served pretty good food. Opposite CS was the uncovered car park which turns into an open air hawker centre in the evenings.

The coffee house at LadyHill's was set in a very peaceful surrounding and I thoroughly enjoyed the ambience there.

At Polar Cafe in High St, my target is always for their egg tarts. Their franchised version today is just not the same.

Hahaha! Just like you, just reminiscing about the old makan place haunts you mentioned is also making me hungry.

Best steakhouses in the 80s, one somewhere around the Emerald Hill/Peranakan Place area and one somewhere in a small hotel in Balmoral area. However, expensive stuff that I couldn't afford myself then. Only when affluent and generous friends drove me there and gave me a treat. That's probably why I don't recall the names and exact locations of the establishments. I wasn't the one footing the bill. :biggrin:

Porfirio Rubirosa

You are welcome:smile: Please feel free to add on, the more the merrier and with diversity.:cool:

I also miss the original A&W restaurant drive in along Dunearn/Bukit Timah roads. Spent many a happy childhood weekend eating the hot spicy Chili Corne (with crackers); waffles with vanilla whip ice cream; Papa Bear burgers, yummy Coney Dogs (with the famous coney island meat sauce and raw sliced onions), curlie fries and those famous rootbeer vanilla ice cream floats served in the chilled tall A&W mugs which froze my hands. Thought I was Richie Cunningham from "Happy Days":rolleyes::biggrin::p

Porfirio Rubirosa

Hey is that "Sloane Court Hotel" in Balmoral Road? Quaint old hotel that is surprisingly still around after all these and serves a jolly good english breakfast fry up:smile:

I also use to like cakes and curry puffs from the old Balmoral Cake shop.

Best steakhouses in the 80s, one somewhere around the Emerald Hill/Peranakan Place area and one somewhere in a small hotel in Balmoral area. However, expensive stuff that I couldn't afford myself then. Only when affluent and generous friends drove me there and gave me a treat. That's probably why I don't recall the names of the establishments. I wasn't the one footing the bill. :biggrin:

The original "scissors cut" Hainan curry rice of the 70s and 80s. First a pushcart stall at around Beach Road/Rochor Road junction before the completion of the ECP. Then shifted to a coffeeshop opposite Beach Road Police Station. Business hours were from 2 a.m. to 6 a.m., catering to nocturnal "activisits" only.

A basic plate of rice, a small piece of pork chop slice. fried egg and a little sccop of cabbage started at S$2.20 during days when a plate of hawker centre chicken rice cost S$1.00 only. However, for those who have tasted it, you know it was well worth the while and value for money.

Nowadays, there're many "franchises" or rather "disenfranchises" of the "scissors cut" Hainan curry rice around Singapore, and at all hours. Well, mostly acceptably palatable or at least edible at around S$3 per plate basic, but miles away compared to the original.

tookara

anyone remembers this chain Hardee's from the 80s?

seems to have disappeared into thin air. great roast beef sandwiches and cookies

Hey is that "Sloane Court Hotel" in Balmoral Road? Quaint old hotel that is surprisingly still around after all these and serves a jolly good english breakfast fry up:smile:

It's been so long that I really can't remember the name of the hotel, but a "quaint old little" hotel is an apt description. Never been there for breakfast; only dinner. Locke is very familiar with that area. Perhaps he'll organise a makan-search, and sponsor of course. :biggrin:

By SNRCITIZEN

Now that you mentioned those various old places, it surely kicks up a lot of memories of younger days. You mentioned Mont D'or. In those days did you by chance notice LKY's wife dropping into the place to pick up some pastries for her kids. She did that quite often, then.

There was a restaurant at the old Cold Storage (before they tore it down to build centrepoint) which was very popular. It was situated above the supermarket. Served pretty good food. Opposite CS was the uncovered car park which turns into an open air hawker centre in the evenings.

The coffee house at LadyHill's was set in a very peaceful surrounding and I thoroughly enjoyed the ambience there.

At Polar Cafe in High St, my target is always for their egg tarts. Their franchised version today is just not the same.

Hahaha! Just like you, just reminiscing about the old makan place haunts you mentioned is also making me hungry.

Laydyhill's coffee house, served free flow coffee, spend many early mornings there drinking coffee, & having to go to work at 7am..:biggrin:

Remember still the smell of Mont D'or and their cakes...yummy!!!

Polar cafe @ high street, their curry puffs, chicken pie, egg tart & downing them with tomato juice...and club sandwiches..how can I forget, and watching those lawyers etc...from the COURTS (law), and Ensign Book Store two doors away..and Talk Of The Town at the corner of High Street & New Bridge Rd...

There was this coffee house next to Fitzpatrick's supermarket, a building own by the Straits times, where I use to have my set lunch..

Ahh!...Silver spoon @ then known as Supreme House, & Maxim Night club or something liks that in the basement, Mongolian BBQ..brought my first date my GF to eat at Silver Spoon..

Opposite Supreme House was what's the name building, with RCA at the junction, we have Foster's...great food ...yummy!!:biggrin:

Not far from there, the National Library canteen, where we have lovely Wanton Mee & the yummy tasting Malay Food..

& the Bencoleen Street Indian Rojak & SRI DEWA Barbershop....& Armenian Street Coffee shop, char kway Teow with hum...

and wander to Capitol for Magnolia Snack Bar for their Coca cola or 7up Ice cream float or Lime Sherbet..western set meals...., ate there before it last closed...the last day, free food..!! Cantonese Beef Bisket noodles, Wanton Noodle etc., & the Almond Flavoured Soya Bean Milk, at the 'mien jia' Capitol Annex Building, and another no so famous but reasonably priced food at Malacca Resturant, same Capitol Annex Building.. and the kachang putih outside Capitol cinema ...or the mee siam at Eu Building back lane, the Indian Kambing Soup at Capitol Carpark...then toHock Lam Street, the famous Brown Coloured Lime Juice...and further up..Odeon Cinema back lane...Hainese Beef Noodles...

we can just go on...!!!:eek:

You are welcome:smile: Please feel free to add on, the more the merrier and with diversity.:cool:

I also miss the original A&W restaurant drive in along Dunearn/Bukit Timah roads. Spent many a happy childhood weekend eating the hot spicy Chili Corne (with crackers); waffles with vanilla whip ice cream; Papa Bear burgers, yummy Coney Dogs (with the famous coney island meat sauce and raw sliced onions), curlie fries and those famous rootbeer vanilla ice cream floats served in the chilled tall A&W mugs which froze my hands. Thought I was Richie Cunningham from "Happy Days":rolleyes::biggrin::p

I thought I was Fonzie...with my Tuesday Coney Dog...still irresitible to me, must eat when I am in KL...go to KLCC..and indulge... hmmm the taste of the A&W root beer, still fresh in the mind... yummy... their waffle..yummy

Spend lazy days like "fonzie" at the Bukit Timah/Duneran A&W, opposite then, University of Singapore & their the other outlet at Upper Thomson Rd, outside Taman Permata Opposite to Imperial Theatre, and next to Tal lee Bank, & Lake view Hawker Centre..

Now, it known as Long House, and the bank is OCBC, opposite is a row of priavte apts...

time.....time....1 2 3 4 happy days.. lah lah..!!! ha ha ha:biggrin:

downgrader

You know I really miss some old restaurants/coffee houses during my childhood and youth days like:

Troika, Tivoli, Copper Kettle, Magnolia Bar, Pavillion Restaurant at the old Specialist Centre , coffee house at the old Robinsons in the old Specialist Centre (served very tasty local pepper chicken curry hailam style!), coffee house at the old Ladyhill Hotel, coffee house at the old YMCA along stevens road (tasty Malay/Indonesian food), Mont D'or (loved their milkshakes served in those aluminium containers!), original Polar Cafe along High Street...aiyo getting hungry just thinking about those old days!!

Are you an AH SIAH KIAH because ordinary folk don't have money to splurge on these Copper Kettle faggot places

Lido was crawling with fat post-colonial angmos

By SNRCITIZEN

Why the hell does this thread need a mention OF LKY here and LKY there. A bunch of ball-licking , soul-betraying sinkie losers.

i_am_belle

wow ... u guys sound old ... :rolleyes:

whatever happened to fitzpatrick supermart ? how come cold storage survived but fitzpatrick didnt ?

was there a tay ban guan emporium with a coffeehouse attached ? they had interesting straw containers ... i was a tot then, so the memory is hazy ...

oriental emporiums ... with chinese music in the background as u shopped ... somehow public places were not so crowded then & shopping was fun ...

didnt like the hawker stalls of yesteryear cos they were filthy ...

wow ... u guys sound old ... :rolleyes:

whatever happened to fitzpatrick supermart ? how come cold storage survived but fitzpatrick didnt ?

was there a tay ban guan emporium with a coffeehouse attached ? they had interesting straw containers ... i was a tot then, so the memory is hazy ...

oriental emporiums ... with chinese music in the background as u shopped ... somehow public places were not so crowded then & shopping was fun ...

didnt like the hawker stalls of yesteryear cos they were filthy ...

Tay Ban Guan, building is now demolished, & over it stands a condo. Tay Ban Guan was one of the earliest shopping centre in Katong, before Katong Shopping Centre was built. Do not remember much about the food there, but I use to buy my pocket book, the mini book of military planes with description & in colour there from a 'mama' book store..

Oriental Emp., started at Gian Singh Building, Raffles Place...still have found memories of that place...

You are right, the hawker's centres of old...some of them were really filthy...but the food was cheap & good...:biggrin:

HTOLAS

Silver Spoon was the new incarnation of an older joint, Skillets. As a 16-yo I recall bringing a 15 yo girl from a neighbouring school there after rehearsals at the old Drama Centre. We were thrilled by the apparent low prices of the food and ordered a substantial meal. We got thirsty and ordered more soft drinks. My jaw almost dropped when the bill came and I realised the drinks cost more than the food! We pooled our money together and managed to pay the bill, and had a good laugh.

That Chinese restaurant in Capitol Building Annexe was called Merlin Coffee house, I believe.

And the building opposite Supreme House was called Amber House / Mansion.

snrcitizen

Why the hell does this thread need a mention OF LKY here and LKY there. A bunch of ball-licking , soul-betraying sinkie losers.

Small boy,

Porfirio Rubirosa and I were reminiscing on eating places of the 60's and early 70's era in ANOTHER thread on a different subject. He has copied and pasted the posts into this new thread as he felt was good enough for a separate subject for discussion.

There is nothing you can contribute here even if you bothered to ask your parents since they would probably be still collecting marbles during that period.

I would have adviced you to stick to threads on Thai prostitution and pimping which would be more in line with your only life's experience and expertise, but knowing your sinkie character, it would be like casting pearls to swines.

This Porfirio Rubirosa's discussion thread, unfortunately, is obviously beyond you.

kuntakinte

Ooooo....... jogging down memory lane.....

1. Anson Road Singapore Polytechnic club house.
2. YMCA at Palmer Road before being forced to close down.
3. Medo Coffee Shop directly opposite Plaza Singapore (Logo is a spoon with the name medo on it)
4. Ponderosa... what has happened to Ponderosa ??
5. Anywhere... at Tanglin Shopping Center. We used to joke, where shall we go this evening? anywhere... and we end up at Anywhere. Tania and his sick joke !!
6. A&W.... are they still around ??

snrcitizen

Laydyhill's coffee house, served free flow coffee, spend many early mornings there drinking coffee, & having to go to work at 7am..:biggrin:

Remember still the smell of Mont D'or and their cakes...yummy!!!

Polar cafe @ high street, their curry puffs, chicken pie, egg tart & downing them with tomato juice...and club sandwiches..how can I forget, and watching those lawyers etc...from the COURTS (law), and Ensign Book Store two doors away..and Talk Of The Town at the corner of High Street & New Bridge Rd...

There was this coffee house next to Fitzpatrick's supermarket, a building own by the Straits times, where I use to have my set lunch..

Ahh!...Silver spoon @ then known as Supreme House, & Maxim Night club or something liks that in the basement, Mongolian BBQ..brought my first date my GF to eat at Silver Spoon..

Opposite Supreme House was what's the name building, with RCA at the junction, we have Foster's...great food ...yummy!!:biggrin:

Not far from there, the National Library canteen, where we have lovely Wanton Mee & the yummy tasting Malay Food..

& the Bencoleen Street Indian Rojak & SRI DEWA Barbershop....& Armenian Street Coffee shop, char kway Teow with hum...

and wander to Capitol for Magnolia Snack Bar for their Coca cola or 7up Ice cream float or Lime Sherbet..western set meals...., ate there before it last closed...the last day, free food..!! Cantonese Beef Bisket noodles, Wanton Noodle etc., & the Almond Flavoured Soya Bean Milk, at the 'mien jia' Capitol Annex Building, and another no so famous but reasonably priced food at Malacca Resturant, same Capitol Annex Building.. and the kachang putih outside Capitol cinema ...or the mee siam at Eu Building back lane, the Indian Kambing Soup at Capitol Carpark...then toHock Lam Street, the famous Brown Coloured Lime Juice...and further up..Odeon Cinema back lane...Hainese Beef Noodles...

we can just go on...!!!:eek:

You are d'man! Your memory bank is impressive. :cool:

Yes, Maxim niteclub was located in the basement of Supreme house. Did you bring your gf to Talk of the Town?

snrcitizen

My jaw almost dropped when the bill came and I realised the drinks cost more than the food! We pooled our money together and managed to pay the bill, and had a good laugh.

Did you remember a HK company opened a place called Happy Valley? This is what I heard from those who patronised the place. The owner was extremely Happy while his patrons' finances were in a Valley. :biggrin: