• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

George Yeo Kena Blasted By China Foreign Minister - The Washington Post

SNAblog

http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2010/07/29/AR2010072906416.html?hpid=topnews

U.S. takes a tougher tone with China

By John Pomfret
Washington Post Staff Writer
Friday, July 30, 2010

The Obama administration has adopted a tougher tone with China in recent weeks as part of a diplomatic balancing act in which the United States welcomes China's rise in some areas but also confronts Beijing when it butts up against American interests.

Faced with a Chinese government increasingly intent on testing U.S. strength and capabilities, the United States unveiled a new policy that rejected China's claims to sovereignty over the whole South China Sea. It rebuffed Chinese demands that the U.S. military end its longtime policy of conducting military exercises in the Yellow Sea. And it is putting new pressure on Beijing not to increase its energy investments in Iran as Western firms leave.

The U.S. maneuvers have prompted a backlash among Chinese officialdom and its state-run press, which has accused the United States of trying to contain China. Yang Jiechi, the minister of foreign affairs, issued a highly unusual statement Monday charging that the United States was ganging up with other countries against China. One prominent academic, Shen Dingli of Fudan University, compared the planned U.S. exercises in international waters of the Yellow Sea to the 1962 Russian deployment of nuclear-armed missiles in Cuba.

U.S. officials explained the moves as part of a broader strategy to acknowledge China's emergence as a world power but to also lay down markers when China's behavior infringes on U.S. interests. So at the same time that the administration has welcomed China into the Group of 20 major economies, held the biggest meeting ever between U.S. and Chinese officials, and backed China's push to increase its influence in the International Monetary Fund and the World Bank, it is also seeking to limit what it thinks are China's expansionist impulses. To this end, the Obama administration has also intensified its diplomacy and outreach to other Asian and Oceanic nations, ending a 12-year ban on ties with Indonesia's special forces and strengthening its alliances from Tokyo and Seoul to Canberra, Australia.

The strategy has won rare acclaim in Washington among the generally fractious community of China watchers. James Mulvenon, director of Defense Group Inc.'s Center for Intelligence Research and Analysis, called it "a masterful piece of diplomacy" in dealing with China, which, he said, "continues to be this paradoxical combination of bluster, swagger and intense insecurity and caution."
ad_icon

The decision to confront China on the South China Sea dates back several months, after administration officials noticed that the sea -- an international waterway through which more than 50 percent of the world's merchant fleet tonnage passes each year -- had crept into the standard diplomatic pitter-patter about China's "core interests." In March, Assistant Minister of Foreign Affairs Cui Tiankai told two senior U.S. officials that China now views its claims to the 1.3 million-square-mile sea on par with its claims to Tibet and Taiwan, an island that China says belongs to Beijing.

In addition, Southeast Asian nations had informed the United States that they, too, were uncomfortable with China's pressure on countries and companies interested in exploring for gas and other minerals in the sea. China had warned Exxon Mobil and BP to stop explorations in offshore areas near Vietnam. It had also begun routinely arresting or harassing fishing vessels from other countries, according to sources from the region.

The U.S. response was unveiled July 23 in Hanoi when 12 nations -- Vietnam as the first and the United States as the last -- raised the issue of the South China Sea at an annual security forum of the Association of South East Asian Nations. Calling freedom of navigation on the sea a U.S. "national interest," Secretary of State Hillary Rodham Clinton offered to facilitate moves to create a code of conduct in the region. And then she said: "Legitimate claims to maritime space in the South China Sea should be derived solely from legitimate claims to land features."

Translated, it meant that China's claims to the whole sea were "invalid," said a senior administration official, because it doesn't have any people living on the scores of rocks and atolls that it says belong to China.

Foreign Minister Yang reacted by leaving the meeting for an hour. When he returned, he gave a rambling 30-minute response in which he accused the United States of plotting against China on this issue, seemed to poke fun at Vietnam's socialist credentials and apparently threatened Singapore, according to U.S. and Asian officials in the room.

"China is a big country and other countries are small countries, and that's just a fact," he said, staring directly at Singapore's foreign minister, George Yeo, according to several participants at the meeting.

On Monday, Yang issued a statement on the Foreign Ministry's Web site saying that there was no need to internationalize the issue, that China was still intent on solving all of the disputes bilaterally and that China's view represented the interests of "fellow Asians."

"After the meeting, about a dozen Asian delegates expressed their congratulations to the Chinese side," the statement said, despite what many in the meeting thought were clear indications that most of the participants supported the U.S. view.gl

George Yeo is another joker and jester besides Lim Swee Say. At least Lim Swee Say got no portfolio besides being NTUC chief and can concentrate on cutting people's pay and CPF. George Yeo is totally gone case and lost cause. All serious foreign affairs are handled by MM LKY and SM GCT.

Wasn't Deng Xiao Peng many years ago said an almost similar retort to LKY? Doesn't georgy porgy yo! knows that, we Chinese are brothers...:biggrin: why is he supporting the 'red hair devils'....ha ha ha :biggrin:

Goh Meng Seng

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Singapore lay no claims on South China Sea. It is interesting why the stare is targeted at George Yeo.

There are two possibilities:

1) Singapore is the smallest country in ASEAN.
2) Singapore is US Navy logistics base.

Goh Meng Seng

Mystery Machine

It is weird that China even targeted Singapore, considering how many of their people are flooding SG because we are lax with them.

ahleebabasingaporethief

S'pore probably sided with the US and Georgie probably tried to get all ASEAN countries to side the US.
<input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="if(typeof(jsCall)=='function'){jsCall();}else{setTimeout('jsCall()',500);}" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">

cheowyonglee

Siding with the U.S is better then siding with the Communist China.
Do you guys want to be like North Korea or you rather be like South Korea?

Think about it...!!!

This is what Communist China like to do....

<object width="640" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/DIrUHVFkm9A&amp;hl=en_US&amp;fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/DIrUHVFkm9A&amp;hl=en_US&amp;fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="640" height="385"></embed></object>

And this is what South Korea is like after they side with the U.S.A, and become a country with freedom of speech, freedom of thought and a high moral background, strong educated citizens then her poor backward and full of dictatorship neighbour "North Korea" who like to threaten the world with her 3rd world Nuclear Bomb!!! Puke.... to the Communist bastard!!!
(Note:It the Communist China under the order of Stain USSR to help the North to take control of the South korea and made her a Communist state.If not for the U.S help, i think South Korea will now be under the Communist North Korea.And, the influence of Communist spreading towards the South is very great.Imagine if the U.S did not try to stop the Communist from crossing the straits and invade Taiwan Nationalist Government retreated forces, Taiwan will be part of the Communist state too.)

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/DYUtwEs-5zU&amp;hl=en_US&amp;fs=1"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/DYUtwEs-5zU&amp;hl=en_US&amp;fs=1" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

Mystery Machine

Siding with the U.S is better then siding with the Communist China.
Do you guys want to be like North Korea or you rather be like South Korea?

Think about it...!!!

This is what Communist China like to do....

Agree. US is the lesser of two evils, at least US let most countries have the basic freedom to do what they want. PRC will probably try to conquer us (they already are) and force us to merge as a province.

cheowyonglee

Agree. US is the lesser of two evils, at least US let most countries have the basic freedom to do what they want. PRC will probably try to conquer us (they already are) and force us to merge as a province.

Ya and i totally agree.How many of those corrupted Communist Chinese officials sending their son and daughter to the U.S or U.K to study and get a degree???Alot alot alot.. and check the internet for more info of those corrupted communist china officials.
They dare to challenge the U.S , but funny is leader of the Communist China son, is now studying in the U.S top university.Haha, what a laughing stock to the world....

If the Communist China think of themselves so great, they should stop sending their citizens or son and daughter to the U.S to study.Stop importing U.S technology and start their own invention instead...!!!!

kensington

Very funny but insensitive dare from the Americans.
They broke rule #1. Never pissed off your banker. Guess which Ah Longs is going to have the last laugh.Hahaha...

As for China, they are a one-party state and they can wait.

Paraphrasing Ben Franklin, "every fancy needs to consult the purse." Yeah, right! Show me the money !!!
America might have to pay a heavy economic price were it to seriously contain China’s rise and constraining Chinese ambitions and this is precisely what most of Asia is quietly rooting for.

America staggered drunkenly into an AA meeting asking "Where's the bar, dudes ?":biggrin:

Mystery Machine

Ya and i totally agree.How many of those corrupted Communist Chinese officials sending their son and daughter to the U.S or U.K to study and get a degree???Alot alot alot.. and check the internet for more info of those corrupted communist china officials.
They dare to challenge the U.S , but funny is leader of the Communist China son, is now studying in the U.S top university.Haha, what a laughing stock to the world....

If the Communist China think of themselves so great, they should stop sending their citizens or son and daughter to the U.S to study.Stop importing U.S technology and start their own invention instead...!!!!
If they think that PRC is the greatest, how come none of the Chinese officials send their kids to Beijing Uni. Obviously, communism has failed and capitalism has pushed the American standards to (at least) 60 years ahead of PRC.

Ignorance is the bane of the mankind and especially the common man. Posturing is a time honoured habit of the corrupt, the unsavoury and the morally bankrupt.

I got an abject lesson in it while in NY years ago. All the communist countries and the 3rd world banana republics had their UN reps staying in palatial penthouses includes permanent rooms. They had their families in the US and the UK.

The entire politburo including Deng have their offsprings in the US including Deng's daughter running a business. Its the same with Indian and Pakisatan offcials. For the Malaysians its primarily the UK and now the US. Just stay around Oxford street around Marble Arch and you will see the Malaysians comming with their families in chauffeur driven mini buses dressed in branded goods from head to toe.

The late Yasser Arafat amassed a fortune over $1.5B while his family resided in the swankiest neighbourhood in Paris during the last 35 years of his stay. In that time, he had 2 marriages.

If they think that PRC is the greatest, how come none of the Chinese officials send their kids to Beijing Uni. Obviously, communism has failed and capitalism has pushed the American standards to (at least) 60 years ahead of PRC.

shOUTloud

I dun think Singapore will round up ASEAN countries against China on the Spatly Islands nonsense cos we dun have a stake. Since when do Singapore stick our neck out for such boliao thing? It would be Vietnam, Malaysia, Brunei and Philippines making the most noises.

Mystery Machine

Ignorance is the bane of the mankind and especially the common man. Posturing is a time honoured habit of the corrupt, the unsavoury and the morally bankrupt.

I got an abject lesson in it while in NY years ago. All the communist countries and the 3rd world banana republics had their UN reps staying in palatial penthouses includes permanent rooms. They had their families in the US and the UK.

The entire politburo including Deng have their offsprings in the US including Deng's daughter running a business. Its the same with Indian and Pakisatan offcials. For the Malaysians its primarily the UK and now the US. Just stay around Oxford street around Marble Arch and you will see the Malaysians comming with their families in chauffeur driven mini buses dressed in branded goods from head to toe.

The late Yasser Arafat amassed a fortune over $1.5B while his family resided in the swankiest neighbourhood in Paris during the last 35 years of his stay. In that time, he had 2 marriages.
Communism is never going to work anyways. Humans, by nature, are never contented that easily. The communist leaders, once having seen how their capitalist neighbours are prospering, will start using the country reserves (contributed by peasants) to enhance themselves and their family. Look at all the communist leaders, none are living humbly and in the end, most are despised by the people. The only Communist leader well-liked by his people was Fidel Castro but I believe it is due to the US 'bullying' that united the Cubans under Fidel, not because he is the best.

Capitalism may look morally wrong on papers, but at least, it grants equal chances to all and allow people (regardless of social status) to be rich and do whatever they want with the money, instead of depriving people to be rich while the leaders get rich.

championplug

Singapore lay no claims on South China Sea. It is interesting why the stare is targeted at George Yeo.

There are two possibilities:

1) Singapore is the smallest country in ASEAN.
2) Singapore is US Navy logistics base.

Goh Meng Seng

I think the stare at George Yeo was because of the call by our great leader to Obama last year for US to engage China so as to strike a balance in the Pacific. The Chinese netizens were really pissed but the government tried to be nonchalant about it and even loan 2 pandas to us. So now he is hinting to George about it.

manokie

Foreign Minister Yang Jiechi Refutes Fallacies On the South China Sea Issue

2010/07/26

Whether the South China Sea issue would feature prominently on the agenda of the recent ASEAN Regional Forum Foreign Ministers' Meeting in Hanoi became a major concern to the Chinese delegation, as a set of moves by the United States and some other countries before and during the meeting had made the Chinese side suspect such a development. As expected, the US side chose to ignore China's advice and played up the issue at the meeting. With a prepared script at hand, Secretary of State Hillary Clinton talked at length about the relationship between the South China Sea and the US national interests, the importance and urgency of maintaining navigation freedom in the South China Sea, objection to coercion and to the threat or use of force in the South China Sea, and so on and so forth. The seemingly impartial remarks were in effect an attack on China and were designed to give the international community a wrong impression that the situation in the South China Sea is a cause for grave concern.

To uphold China's sovereignty and legitimate rights and interests, push for proper settlement of the South China Sea issue through bilateral negotiations between the claimants, and maintain stability in the South China Sea, Foreign Minister Yang Jiechi made an intervention. He presented his arguments smoothly and confidently. By way of raising a row of questions, Minister Yang expounded China's position and views and exposed the scheme of some to internationalize the South China Sea issue.

Yang said, the first question is what is the situation in the South China Sea. Is it peaceful and stable? Or is it tense? From today's discussion, most people say the situation is peaceful. And in my bilateral discussions with both ASEAN colleagues and others, they all say that there is no threat to regional peace and stability.

Second, is it an issue between China and ASEAN as a whole? Obviously not. We do have some territorial or maritime rights disputes with certain members of ASEAN. It is because we are neighbors. And those disputes shouldn't be viewed as ones between China and ASEAN as a whole just because the countries involved are ASEAN members. The non-claimant ASEAN countries tell the Chinese side that they are not part of the disputes, they don't take sides and they hope these disputes will be settled through bilateral consultations between the countries concerned.

Third, what is the consensus of countries in the region with regard to the South China Sea issue? The consensus is to have these disputes solved peacefully through friendly consultations in the interest of peace and stability in the South China Sea and good-neighborly relations. According to the Declaration on the Conduct of Parties in the South China Sea (DOC), it is to exercise restraint, and not to make it an international issue or multilateral issue. Channels of discussion are there, and they are open and smooth. Everybody admit this.

Fourth, what is the function of the DOC? Its function is to enhance mutual trust among the countries concerned and to create favorable conditions and good atmosphere for final solution to the disputes. China and ASEAN countries issued this DOC. There have been joint working group consultations. And when the conditions are ripe, senior officials' meeting can also be held.

Fifth, has navigation freedom and safety been hindered in the South China Sea? Obviously not. Trade has been growing rapidly in this region and China has become the number one trading partner of many countries in the region. Some countries have not been able to export more to China, not because the navigation freedom has been hindered, but because they set high barriers for high-tech exports.

Sixth, what is the purpose of talking about coercion on the South China Sea issue? China all along believes that all countries, big or small, are equal. China, being a big country, also has its legitimate concerns. Is the expression of one's legitimate concerns coercion? That is not logical. The non-claimant countries hate it that some try to coerce them into taking sides on the South China Sea issue.

Seventh, what will be the consequences if this issue is turned into an international or multilateral one? It will only make matters worse and the resolution more difficult. International practices show that the best way to resolve such disputes is for countries concerned to have direct bilateral negotiations. Asia has already stood up and gained its dignity. Asian countries can properly address each other's concerns on the basis of equality and mutual respect.

Those who led the attempt to play up the South China Sea issue couldn't have expected that this meeting actually gave China an opportunity to set out its propositions on the South China Sea issue. After the meeting, about a dozen Asian delegates expressed their congratulations to the Chinese side. They said they felt proud, as Minister Yang's remarks were a morale boost to fellow Asians. They could tell that Minister Yang spoke from his heart and his remarks gave them a clearer understanding of the South China Sea issue and China's policy.