• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

GE2015: SDP chief Chee Soon Juan moots possibility of working with WP at next electio

MovieStar

SINGAPORE - Singapore Democratic Party (SDP) secretary-general Chee Soon Juan has raised the possibility of his party "working closer together" with the Workers' Party at the next general election.

Dr Chee, 53, said in a Facebook post on Sunday (Sept 13) afternoon that many of his supporters had put forth the idea to him, so as to "present a more coordinated opposition strategy and message".

He wrote: "Given the outcome of the polls, I think so too. I'll discuss the idea with my CEC colleagues when we meet later this week.

"Will keep you posted."

He also shared that he spent the weekend quietly with his family.

Related Story
GE2015: 'Just keep going, don't give up', Chee Soon Juan's 13-year-old daughter tells SDP chief

Dr Vivian Balakrishnan thanks supporters and volunteers
Video
GE2015: PAP retains Holland-Bukit Timah GRC with 66.6 per cent of votes

"It's been an intense past week and yesterday was a day with a bit of much welcomed downtime," he wrote.

SDP had been billed as the comeback kids of the 2015 General Election, with Dr Chee's more moderate image and articulate speeches proving to be a big draw at the party's rallies.

Dr Chee, a former psychology professor at the National University of Singapore, was returning after sitting out the last two elections in 2006 and 2011.

He led a team to contest in Holland-Bukit Timah GRC against a People's Action Party (PAP) slate helmed by Environment and Water Resources Minister Vivian Balakrishnan.

The other three members of his team consisted of medical professor Paul Tambyah, healthcare administrator Chong Wai Fung and compliance auditor Sidek Mallek.

But the team eventually managed only 33.4 per cent of the votes - a drop from the 39.9 per cent it obtained in 2011 - in a contest many had held high hopes of witnessing a close battle.

The party also did not fare well in the other four wards it contested in - Marsiling-Yew Tee GRC, as well as Bukit Batok, Bukit Panjang and Yuhua SMCs.

But in an interview with The New Paper on Sunday, Dr Chee's second daughter, 13-year-old E Lyn, said she was confident that he would be back.

"Just keep going and don't give up...this time it doesn't matter because next time he can work harder."

http://www.straitstimes.com/politic...-working-with-wp-at-next-election#xtor=CS1-10

Re: GE2015: SDP chief Chee Soon Juan moots possibility of working with WP at next ele

LTK and SL wont want to. But I see no harm. Situation already so jialak after 911. They can remain separate but share resources and brainstorm
If CSJ make way for PT, better chance.

Re: GE2015: SDP chief Chee Soon Juan moots possibility of working with WP at next ele

Yes do it. Best is for all other parties to dissolve or to merge with Worker's Party. Then you get all the powerful Oppositions members competing against the PAP.

Just 2 Parties, like in UK, US and Australia.

kopirui

will the result be different if csj choose smc in 2015 instead of grc?

Yes do it. Best is for all other parties to dissolve or to merge with Worker's Party. Then you get all the powerful Oppositions members competing against the PAP.

Best is to dissolve the workers party. The PAP is all we need.

Wannabe Police Commissioner Mark Yeo is all we need. :wink:

Next GE, opposition should not contest in AMK, TP and MP. Let them have walkovers, let SDA take on PR-P. Then let the show begin. GE2015 broke my heart. Fucking stupid coward voters preferred LSS to LP, GG and DG. They rejected CSJ and PT for VB and Sim Ann. Un-fucking-believable.

LTK and SL wont want to. But I see no harm. Situation already so jialak after 911. They can remain separate but share resources and brainstorm
If CSJ make way for PT, better chance.

Siao! PT is an academic who just got tenure. You think he wants to head a political party? You go ask csj to move aside for you better lah.

Sergeant, elections over already. No need to work so hard. Your promotion to Staff Sergeant should be on its way.

Next GE, opposition should not contest in AMK, TP and MP. Let them have walkovers, let SDA take on PR-P. Then let the show begin. GE2015 broke my heart. Fucking stupid coward voters preferred LSS to LP, GG and DG. They rejected CSJ and PT for VB and Sim Ann. Un-fucking-believable.

You got stunned like vegetable?

[video=youtube;9_lyJt2T3GY]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9_lyJt2T3GY[/video]

kopirui

you all got smell fish?
why did not desmond lim from sda failed very badly?
instead he can gather 20plus % without much coverage on him?

You got stunned like vegetable?

[video=youtube;9_lyJt2T3GY]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9_lyJt2T3GY[/video]

KNN, you just made me waste 2:24 seconds of my life! :biggrin:

you all got smell fish?

Those are PAP haters. Even if you put an Orang Utan there (I am not referring to forummer Ah Meng), these 20 plus percent will vote for the ape. Dun believe, you ask Narong or Legend.

Similarly for the hard core PAP supporters, even if you put a donkey there to represent PAP, they will vote for the donkey! Dun believe, you ask ZERO or John Tan

kopirui

Those are PAP haters. Even if you put an Orang Utan there (I am not referring to forummer Ah Meng), these 20 plus percent will vote for the ape. Dun believe, you ask Narong or Legend.

Similarly for the hard core PAP supporters, even if you put a donkey there to represent PAP, they will vote for the donkey! Dun believe, you ask ZERO or John Tan

if this is true, why did the 3 indepandant score badly?
they should smelly smelly score 15-20% each

Cerebral

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
you all got smell fish?

Because there still are a small group of die hard opposition / anti- PAP around.

The freak result does have 1 good benefit. At least it becomes very clear what is the percentage of die hard supporters and it is around 25% to 30%

Because there still are a small group of die hard opposition / anti- PAP around.

The freak result does have 1 good benefit. At least it becomes very clear what is the percentage of die hard supporters and it is around 25% to 30%

Lower. Tan Jee Say and Kenneth Jeya got slightly above 20%.

spotter542

Highly unlikely :biggrin:
Too much ego at stake , everyone just wanna be the Sec-Gen of their party :eek: just ask Goh Meng Seng or Kenneth :rolleyes:
Title is very important to these people , even if they lost every election :p