• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Gardens By The Bay

Lady, I can see you are not happy with the cost of GBTB said to be at $1B...... the $1B white elephant that at least you can smell the flower? As for me, bo pian, I will settle for the latter. How about you? :smile:

Bro Balancemind, I miss you very much...old time sake. You are a gem and you still remain a sparkling diamond in the darkness of our ignorance. You are always very balanced. I am looking forward to read more of your balanced views.

TracyTan866

Bro Balancemind, I miss you very much...old time sake. You are a gem and you still remain a sparkling diamond in the darkness of our ignorance. You are always very balanced. I am looking forward to read more of your balanced views.

singaporeans shd see through what the pap is doing with our hard earned money

that's a good suggestion.

but as i mentioned, the casinos need a critical mass ..they need the housewives to lose $100 here, $100 there...so they will pressure the pap to not ban singaporeans from gg to casinos.

i believe more than 70% of the gam,blers are singaporeans.

many countries prohiblt their citizens to go into the casinos. but will pap do it?

that's where we can all do our part....practise SELF EXCLUSION....

it's not singaporeans who can practise self exclusion that we are concerned abt

i agreed. we can apply exclusion orders too for our loved ones if we suspect that they are addicted to gambling.

SINGAPORE: Another 15,000 financially vulnerable Singaporeans and Permanent Residents (PRs) will be barred from entering the two casinos in Singapore.

From July 2012, the third-party casino exclusion will be extended to 12,000 individuals who are receiving short to medium term ComCare assistance.

ComCare provides short term assistance to low-income families to support them as they take steps to become self-reliant through work. ComCare also provides medium-term assistance to those who are unable to work to support themselves and their families due to temporary illness, disability or other extenuating circumstances

These recipients are mostly unemployed or in financial need.

From August, 3,000 individuals paying subsidised rents for their HDB rental flats, and who have chalked up rental arrears of six months or more, will also be barred.

The Community Development, Youth and Sports Ministry (MCYS) said this is part of its move to strengthen existing social safeguards and to protect the financially vulnerable from casino gambling.

There are currently 28,000 persons who are excluded from the casinos under third-party casino exclusion.

They include undischarged bankrupts and those receiving long-term public assistance and special grants.

The third-party casino exclusion is administered by the National Council on Problem Gambling (NCPG).

TracyTan866

i agreed. we can apply exclusion orders too for our loved ones if we suspect that they are addicted to gambling.

am i right to say that this is only applicable to those who are receiving financial assistance?

i just cant go and apply exclusion for my hubby

Balancemind

the $20B invested in 2008 is almost gone..just like the Suzhou project...they are getting away with many bad decisions

this $1B GBTB isnt worth that much and my point is how much went into the pockets of GLCs and TLCs to beef up their coffers.

if we dont start asking questions, more of the tax payers' money will be squandered away

So it boils down to the issue of "Worth". Now think about it again which of the two option has more worth to us citizens? The $1Billion where we can smell the flowers in real term or that $20B mirage of long long term investments for the benefit of our children? The choice is for you to choose, Lady? :smile:

As to whether how much went into the pockets we can just say that both Options smells terrible on this suspicious of yours. On those European Investments a link for your appreciation - http://yoursdp.org/blog/book_launch_of_democratically_speaking/2012-09-12-5. I am sure after you have listened to what has been said which has not been denied by our leadership to-date you will come to the conclusion that our monies of $1B on GBTB is a more preferred choice never mind what you may have suspected.

On the last call of yours may I say we were given a chance at the last GE 2011 but we just blew it away when someone shed tears at Fullerton Square and promised to listen to the citizens. Have all of us not be taken for a ride for that fine performance which should have won an Oscar? Now you understand why PM says 6million population, No Problem. Botanical Garden will clearly be inadequate for that population he has in mind. So next time don't just stop at asking question. Continue with marking that big "X" on the correct spot of your ballot paper. That will be more fruitful. Right? :biggrin:

Balancemind

Uncle, I am just consoling Lady Tracy and trying to console her that the GBTB is the lesser of two evils. Life here is already hard on us and the least we could do for ourselves is to see the brighter side of life. Tio Boh? :smile:

...i just cant go and apply exclusion for my hubby

yes, you can....
http://www.ncpg.org.sg/draw-the-line/casino-exclusion-measures.html

You can apply for the Family Exclusion Order with effect from 1 April 2009. The Family Exclusion enables a family member to apply for exclusion of a problem gambler from casinos and serves as a social safeguard to prevent problem gamblers and those with financial difficulties from entering the casinos in Singapore. The Family Exclusion is available to immediate family members defined as spouses, children, parents and siblings, included adopted and step relations. Click here to read more

Uncle, I am just consoling Lady Tracy and trying to console her that the GBTB is the lesser of two evils. Life here is already hard on us and the least we could do for ourselves is to see the brighter side of life. Tio Boh? :smile:

Tio Brother.You are always very balanced and very balanced. I love reading all your posts and all your comments.Thank you.

TracyTan866

So it boils down to the issue of "Worth". Now think about it again which of the two option has more worth to us citizens? The $1Billion where we can smell the flowers in real term or that $20B mirage of long long term investments for the benefit of our children? The choice is for you to choose, Lady? :smile:

As to whether how much went into the pockets we can just say that both Options smells terrible on this suspicious of yours. On those European Investments a link for your appreciation - http://yoursdp.org/blog/book_launch_of_democratically_speaking/2012-09-12-5. I am sure after you have listened to what has been said which has not been denied by our leadership to-date you will come to the conclusion that our monies of $1B on GBTB is a more preferred choice never mind what you may have suspected.

The $20B GIC and TH squandered was terrible and some heads shd have rolled...but they didnt and I attribute it to poor political leadership and the responsibility rests squarely on LHL.

Are you suggesting that because GBTB pales in comparison to the S$20B squandered, you are ok with the pap squandering S$1B on GBTB?

TracyTan866

On the last call of yours may I say we were given a chance at the last GE 2011 but we just blew it away when someone shed tears at Fullerton Square and promised to listen to the citizens. Have all of us not be taken for a ride for that fine performance which should have won an Oscar? Now you understand why PM says 6million population, No Problem. Botanical Garden will clearly be inadequate for that population he has in mind. So next time don't just stop at asking question. Continue with marking that big "X" on the correct spot of your ballot paper. That will be more fruitful. Right? :biggrin:

Despite GE 2011, I see some hope for SG in the next GE..let's not give up trying to wake up the 60%

Balancemind

The $20B GIC and TH squandered was terrible and some heads shd have rolled...but they didnt and I attribute it to poor political leadership and the responsibility rests squarely on LHL.

Are you suggesting that because GBTB pales in comparison to the S$20B squandered, you are ok with the pap squandering S$1B on GBTB?

I am only trying to see the brighter side of this gloomy life of ours without endorsing the issue as to whether it is appropriate or not. At least we have that $1B white elephant for us to stroll around and enjoy the sea breeze as well for free. I am not talkiing about entering those gimmicks at the garden. They are not free anyway. So no $$$ just look from outside will do. On hindsight every time you walk about the garden just imigination that it's like Dick Wellington's dreaming of gold paving on the street of London. It should give you some good feeling, for sure. At least it intoxicate our mind for that moment. As for those $20Billion long long term investments for our children, well, just forget about it for old man never say it is for us. Catch the trickery of his words. OK :smile:

TracyTan866

I am only trying to see the brighter side of this gloomy life of ours without endorsing the issue as to whether it is appropriate or not. At least we have that $1B white elephant for us to stroll around and enjoy the sea breeze as well for free. I am not talkiing about entering those gimmicks at the garden. They are not free anyway. So no $$$ just look from outside will do. On hindsight every time you walk about the garden just imigination that it's like Dick Wellington's dreaming of gold paving on the street of London. It should give you some good feeling, for sure. At least it intoxicate our mind for that moment. As for those $20Billion long long term investments for our children, well, just forget about it for old man never say it is for us. Catch the trickery of his words. OK :smile:

to me the issue is did the pap pay more than what was worth? if it does, it's a serious problem.

If you have not been to GBTB, I suggest you go with an open mind...look at the buildings, the trees, the flowers and the exhibits and you ask yourself whether they are worth S$1B

i cant help but sense that someone made a huge bundle out of this project

to me the issue is did the pap pay more than what was worth? if it does, it's a serious problem.

If you have not been to GBTB, I suggest you go with an open mind...look at the buildings, the trees, the flowers and the exhibits and you ask yourself whether they are worth S$1B

i cant help but sense that someone made a huge bundle out of this project

This government is not known for its accountability and transparency.

PS: Towards 1000 posts!!!!!!! :biggrin: