• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Gahment to Catholic Church - Butt out of politics

enterprise2

Gahment to Religious leaders. If we want to oppress the Sinkies, if we want to draw Marine Parade in Jurong, if we want to jail Dr Chee and gang, if we want to 'reward' those who voted for us, if we want to make things difficult for Opp MPs to manage their estate, if we want to pay our Ministers and Perm Secs and so on way way above what they are worth.....essentially if we want to screw the local Sinkies and flood the country with new FTs...don't interfere. Butt out. Got nothing good to say, don't say. Just talk about heaven and love and leave the daily living issues to us.

SINGAPORE: The government has stressed the need to maintain a clear line between politics and religion in Singapore.

Deputy Prime Minister and Home Affairs Minister Teo Chee Hean said the separation of religion and politics is a long established principle in Singapore.

He was responding to a question from Nominated MP Laurence Lien who wanted an update on the government's stance on what it means to keep religion and politics separate.

Mr Teo said: "Our politics and policies must serve all Singaporeans, regardless of race, language or religion. The government must not take sides with any religious group when making policies.

"If politicians use the religion card for their own political purpose and agenda, and seek to sway voters through religious appeals, it will sow the seeds of division in our society, and undermine the inter-religious and social harmony we have painstakingly built."

Mr Teo noted that a citizen who belongs to a particular religion will often be guided by his religious beliefs and personal conscience.

However, he should always be mindful of the sensitivities of living in a multi-religious society and the bounds of the law.

To guard against the dangers of mixing politics and religion, parliament enacted the Maintenance of Religious Harmony Act in 1990.

Mr Teo said should any individual or group seek to embroil any religious group or use a religious office to further its political agenda, the government will take firm action.

Mr Teo said he understands and respects that religious groups have deeply-held views which they wish to express and to be given due consideration.

However, he said there are established formal and informal channels for them to do so.

Recently, Singapore's Archbishop Nicholas Chia was involved in an exchange of words with activist group Function 8.

This was over a letter he sent to the group on the Internal Security Act.

Mr Teo confirmed that the Archbishop had intended the letter as a private communication to Function 8, but had later decided to withdraw the letter upon reflection as he was concerned it could be used in a manner that he did not intend and possibly harm social harmony.

"Those who know Archbishop Chia and the type of person he is and his contributions to Singapore over the decades will certainly know he's not one who would endanger social harmony in Singapore. The position he took in withdrawing the letter was consistent with his words and deeds throughout his leadership of the Catholic Church and as a respected religious leader in Singapore," said Mr Teo.

ionzu

this is a good thing. religion should never be the driving force behind government. look how utterly corrupt and irrelevant the Vatican city is.

enterprise2

this is a good thing. religion should never be the driving force behind government. look how utterly corrupt and irrelevant the Vatican city is.

Please lah u want a spotless 'friend or organisation' to help u fight the Pappies?? Who is not tainted?? The UN? The US??? Get Real. I think the line drawn by the PaP can be moved closer rather than further away..so that the Pappies do not take liberties with us.

wMulew

This is a wonderful warning. How many of U want the zombies from CHC and NCC to take over the country and run it according to their stupid philosophy?

Imo, the loser in that incident appears to be the Archbishop. Portrayed as a weak character. He should just come clean.

spiritofchengsan97

i heard a rumour that the gahmen either vets or scripts the entire Friday sermon at all mosques... and that this has been going on way before 9/11 .

anyone care to confirm?

Cruxx

This is a wonderful warning. How many of U want the zombies from CHC and NCC to take over the country and run it according to their stupid philosophy?

Definitely not. It's preferable to let the zombies from PAP run the country according to their stupid philosophy. :smile:

cantbeassed

To guard against the dangers of mixing politics and religion, parliament enacted the Maintenance of Religious Harmony Act in 1990.

Should include racial besides religion. The two are somewhat intertwined in daily life.

ray_of_hope

Imo, the loser in that incident appears to be the Archbishop. Portrayed as a weak character. He should just come clean.

In the context of Singapore, no person is judged by that standard. Moreover, religious leaders are never interested in how others perceive them. They are only interested in how their flock perceives them. What a blogger, who isn't even of the faith, says, is neither here nor there. Whether it was Gregory Yong during the "Marxist conspiracy" or Nicholas Chia today, the Catholic Church in Singapore has never been stronger. If Catholics in Singapore felt that their spiritual leader was weak then they would leave the Church in droves. In fact the reverse is true.

watchman8

At least those megachurch zombies are happy and satisfied.

If Con Hee runs Singapore, everyone will be very happy to pay high taxes in addition to expensive housing and transport. We will also have the equivalent of LWL as our national pop star, and every citizen will have to buy many copies of her singles, all for the sake of attracting FT to this paradise island.