• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat Front line: one retrenched PMET asking for salary 7-8k

Brightkid

There are lots of such jobless people around.

At 40+, it be a miracle for h to get $5k job in current market situation.

Best bet for him is to be a bus driver, if he is capable of doing that. Then Maybe he can get $3k with overtime and benefits thrown in.

Other than that, be prepared to sit at home till old age, waiting for companies to even reply to his resume, let alone calling him for interview.

numero uno

Best bet for him is to be a bus driver, if he is capable of doing that. Then Maybe he can get $3k with overtime and benefits thrown in.

Other than that, be prepared to sit at home till old age, waiting for companies to even reply to his resume, let alone calling him for interview.

alot of these arrogant shits are in the banking, property or shipping/oil industry which all 3 industries fortunately have collapsed suddenly ovenight simultaneously(perfect storm I predicted 2 years ago) resulted in thousands of jobless idiots who still think they are worth alot and asking for 8-9K when you can employ a FT for 2-3K and neighbouring countries are even employing their own at cheaper salaries. Bet my ass the good times are over forever. even the casinos which is supposedly a money spinner has fallen on hard times. not one industry is spared and local people are in deep shit. these assh@les asked for it. who asked them not to save for a rainy day and drive BMW, mercs etc when they could hardly afford it. I really despise these idiots and have absolutely no sympathy for them. I even fired off my manager(who was drawing a 5 figure pay) and my company productivity and profits in fact became better after he left. he was a true deadwood and piece of shit. at every meeting always complicate things to make it sound complex as if only he can handle it and take credit when completed but puch the blame to others when targets not met. the problem with such sinkies is that they think others cannot see through thheir idiocy. on the last day he was begging me and I just told him to Fark off . really makes my day to see his expression when he realised I know his true colours.

Pinkieslut

He should $6K to attend one of the become-rich-over-night trading/property-investment course advertised heavily on social media. Lots of those jokers make it overnight and now traveling the world enjoy life as well as their "passive income" LOL.

lifeafter41

alot of these arrogant shits are in the banking, property or shipping/oil industry which all 3 industries fortunately have collapsed suddenly ovenight simultaneously(perfect storm I predicted 2 years ago) resulted in thousands of jobless idiots who still think they are worth alot and asking for 8-9K when you can employ a FT for 2-3K and neighbouring countries are even employing their own at cheaper salaries. Bet my ass the good times are over forever. even the casinos which is supposedly a money spinner has fallen on hard times. not one industry is spared and local people are in deep shit. these assh@les asked for it. who asked them not to save for a rainy day and drive BMW, mercs etc when they could hardly afford it. I really despise these idiots and have absolutely no sympathy for them. I even fired off my manager(who was drawing a 5 figure pay) and my company productivity and profits in fact became better after he left. he was a true deadwood and piece of shit. at every meeting always complicate things to make it sound complex as if only he can handle it and take credit when completed but puch the blame to others when targets not met. the problem with such sinkies is that they think others cannot see through thheir idiocy. on the last day he was begging me and I just told him to Fark off . really makes my day to see his expression when he realised I know his true colours.

Yes, there is a lot of this type of people, with the so called management skill.......everybody is at fault except them.
If they are that good, they would have set up their own company and be bosses themselves.....

Hans168

I see a lot of sinkies like him - can earn $15,000 salary with a big company but cannot "make" $2,000 when he is on his own.

I wonder if our million-dollar ministers, if left to fend for themselves, can make $5,000 per month. You listen to remarks by TCJ on card boxes and Alice Fong. He sounds like a boy scout. As for CCS, has he ever worked in real world ?

U toking abt Yeo CT who made millions in salary but got to get a Lippo job for 22k pm..........that is the true worth of a PAP minister

lifeafter41

If you worked long enough you will find many people are just operational, nothing strategic about them. They happen to be "lucky" to get the job due to their "qualifications", ethnicity (angmo hired by angmo, ah neh hired by ah neh, chink hired by chink, list goes on), at right time right place.

Very few will change the status quo (even if very obvious changes seen in the market). That is why many established companies sinked once their iron rice bowl business model is drastically affected by macro-economic-social-political changes.

To narrow things down, the macro-changes in the world (digitisation, open door economy, information available everywhere) meant that the Singapore (who ride with the post-WW2 and cold-war western economic boom) advantage has ended. That is nothing unique or special about Singapore or its work-force which can be readily replaced by anyone anywhere.

It is quite obvious that PAP government has zero leverage about the MNCs here (shown by the non-local job hirings and support for Pink-Dot) as they can easily move to KL or BKK as regional hubs. In fact these days with superior IT reporting technologies, the need to regional jobs or offices are making less sense as many local-country sales office can directly report to HQ (and even conduct meeting online).

Just think carefully, how many unique and powerful Singapore brands are there? I can't think of much. Or really successful investment houses or funds in Singapore? Also none.

If one compared to HK, they have a lot more locally owned companies which have global footprints (for example Lee Kum Kee). Lee Kah Shing's Hutchinson investment group has way way more success than GIC or Temasek. Even the HK based Malaysian owned Kerry Group which is based in HK very well oiled machine in the agriculture commodity business. Just compared the value of the listings on HKEX versus SGX. That is the most obvious report card.

Very interesting comment on just being operational, nothing strategic about them.
Care to elaborate?. Thanks.

Hans168

what is our govt doing for sgian jobless? helping Myanmar in nation building........bah

pls lah. a lot of their drug money parked around somewhere. tat will help someone's economy and also the bank will benefit, that makes someone happy.

then their children can come here and drive around in expensive rides, and a few drug mules not from their country, not from our cuntry will take responsibility.

isnt that great for nation building?

lifeafter41

Are you sure it's that bad?

Very interesting comment on just being operational, nothing strategic about them.
Care to elaborate?. Thanks.

most mncs employ tens of thousands of employees due to their huge operations and vast volume of business.they are not really concerned about the quality of their stuff......as a result most of the employees in a mnc are average people,or below average or slightly above average.....if u are worth anything or have any redeeming talent in u,its probably not hard to beat the competition and rise in the ranks,the best of the best would probably have been headhunted by google or went off on their own to start their own company.....imagine u are a student from RI or RGS and u get transferred to a average school like st gabriel's.....

pls dont look down on him,he like most of you just want to be an employee all his life and is unwilling to venture forth and start his own company and bear all the risk of worrying whether his company will be solvent the next day and has to worry about every faucet of the company from manufacturing to logistics to distribution to marketing to hr to the balance sheet and worrying about 200 other people's jobs and whether he has to fire them next week to pay the bills.all he has to do is sit in his air con office and do his job as an employee and collect his 15k paycheck at the end of the month.at least he is not some low class peasant employee like most of you earning ur 3k 4k every month,he is making 15k peanut,and considering he is a very highly trained employee 15k executive with over 20 years experience running other people's companies for them,he is more likely able to know to start his own business.the question is taking the first step forward.

Uh....he set up his own company which does Wat? Trade oil?

congo9

Watching the Programme now. Middle age PMET earning 15k before kena retrenched.

Now about 6 months no job then now asking for 7-8k salary.

He said he doesn't mind lower his grade one or 2 level. And also lower salary 50%.

But still can't get job!

If by bringing him on board, I can save $1million dollar a year. I gladly do that.

If by bringing him on board, my profit shoots up a few millions. Why not?

Problem is Singkie is too used to this comfortable salary.

lifeafter41

If by bringing him on board, I can save $1million dollar a year. I gladly do that.

If by bringing him on board, my profit shoots up a few millions. Why not?

Problem is Singkie is too used to this comfortable salary.

Agree on the fact that the potential employer MUST be able to bring value to the employer.
In fact, my thought is that one should do extensive research on the firm they plan to work with and what they can do for them.....

Eg, operations, especially cost cut, streamline, improve productivity, improve yields, minimize waste and loss, etc

Sales, what one can do for the company to enhance their revenue and profits, know and understand what the company is doing and put out a plan to review through with them. Instead of contacting to hr, find out who is the senior management or even the boss and arrange for a meet up with them to present.

When one is drawing 15k, expectation is high, and companies is not just going to employ anybodyjust because you draw 15k previously, without putting anything on the table.

how to? the bugger conducting the interview only collect $2.5K celery. not qualified to conduct the interview. boss wud hv set a limit how much he could consider before putting up proposal. attend also sure fail.

lifeafter41

how to? the bugger conducting the interview only collect $2.5K celery. not qualified to conduct the interview. boss wud hv set a limit how much he could consider before putting up proposal. attend also sure fail.

I don't think any company would ask a 2.5k celery person to interview a post that is commands celery that is much higher than he or she.