• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Elderly Sporns Priced Out of Hawker Stalls!

March 1, 2010

Review hawker stall tender system

<!-- by line --><!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar --><!-- story content : start -->
I REFER to the National Environment Agency's (NEA) letter last Thursday, 'No evidence prices in stalls operated by PRs are higher'.
The NEA's tender process for the tenancy of hawker stalls favours the highest bidders, who can subsequently sublet the stalls to citizens and permanent residents (PRs). Interested and skilful but poor elderly Singaporeans cannot beat the seasoned and rich businessmen in this game. Surely, with higher rentals, food prices are raised across the board at hawker centres.
Some stalls close down after a short period of operation because they charge high prices, resulting in slow business.
Private arrangements on stall leasing should not be allowed as this will upset efforts to keep rentals affordable.
Elderly citizens should be allotted a few reserved stalls at every hawker centre at reasonable rentals, so they can make a living as self-employed hawkers, especially those on welfare assistance.
The NEA should review its tender policies.
John Tang

Teo Kok Eng

tender process for the tenancy of hawker stalls favours the highest bidders

The gahment can be blamed for the increased in food prices. Last time can have cheap eats in hawker centre, now it is disappearing by the day

Watchman

The gahment can be blamed for the increased in food prices. Last time can have cheap eats in hawker centre, now it is disappearing by the day

They are forcing all the hawkers from old hawker centres to go
on holidays so that they can force them to renovate and
charge higher rentals .

theblackhole

the standard of our stable hawker food has fallen drastically....very sad indeed..

many of the elderly hawkers have given up....many stopped working and many have also passed away...

the young ones just do short cuts....and only interested in making money, gamble, smoke and drink...not interested in dishing out quality hawker fares...sad.

manokie

the standard of our stable hawker food has fallen drastically....very sad indeed..

many of the elderly hawkers have given up....many stopped working and many have also passed away...

the young ones just do short cuts....and only interested in making money, gamble, smoke and drink...not interested in dishing out quality hawker fares...sad.

Want quality now?
You need to pay $$$..
It's all about money..

Screwball

What do you expecting when the cooking is done by PRCs who dun understanding our local tastebuds. :(

Because they have seen those who are dishing out quality hawker fare becoming old and dying penniless despite slogging all their lives manning the hawker stall.

They dun want to becoming like them so now quality is not important.... quantity is more important. Singapore is now all about money. No money you die is your own business. :mad:

tua lam pah

the old hawkers dont give a fuck anymor as the new rentals are killing them

those who told over dont give a fuck about the quality of the food they dish out as the new rentals are also killing them....

PAP .... more good years... fuck them to hell

theblackhole

not only our hawker food, our foodcourt food but even our premier restaurant food!!!!

all dropping like shit!!!

and the price is shooting sky high with fartup services!!!

those genuine hawkers you have bloody long queues!!!!!!!!!!!!

theblackhole

some of the top class buffets have dropped in their quality and standard...just look around and you will see why!!!!!

Kuailan

They are forcing all the hawkers from old hawker centres to go
on holidays so that they can force them to renovate and
charge higher rentals .

You must understand our Pay and Pay gahmen policy, if you don't make
money for me you're HISTORY!!!

So what they do? all gahmen department will compete to see who make the most money irregardless of ways or means of getting it...3 months Bonus and more!!!

So here comes the FINES, Licensing fee, Building, Kopi fee, School fee,
operation fee, Tender Fee, Summon Fee, GST, LTA ERP, High imprt tax for cars 125% COE, PARF, Custom tax 45%, Income compulsary in every country,
fuel tax, cigarettes, liquor tax this one is encourage!! list goes on till this bottom page! endless feeeeeeeeeeeeee

Until we peasant rugee!!!

Hawkers centre tender by NEA are mean for the rich, the poor, the old, the retirees got NO CHANCE!!

allanlee

Hawkers centre tender by NEA are mean for the rich, the poor, the old, the retirees got NO CHANCE!!

You know the meaning of the word "peasant" onot?
Peasants are meant to be the modern day slaves to the MIWs and their cronies....... NEA tender not meant for the peasants. :rolleyes:

Dogsquare

We have Ah Tiong dishing up a local dish that was previously unknown to the Ah Tiong, no wonder the standard is dropping :eek:
Yes, I now patronise only stall runs by and food cook by singaporean..Those cook by Ah Tiong I will not patronise.
I am doing my bit to save the food heritage here and support our own hawkers..if we don't we will lose them very soon, our bak ku teh will taste like longkang water...
Support SIngaporean stall holder!