• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The OTHER forum is HERE so please stop asking.

Chee Hong Tat - I am not a doctor

Valium

Alfrescian
Loyal
news
go to navigation

© The Independent Singapore

Senior Minister of State Chee Hong Tat retorted that he is not a doctor in a parliamentary exchange with Workers’ Party (WP) chief Pritam Singh when he was asked to explain the reasons why the Government flip-flopped on its policy on face shields.
Earlier, the Government said that people can wear either face masks or face shields when they leave their house since this gives adequate protection against COVID-19. At least one ruling party politician was also spotted wearing a face shield without a mask and distributing face shields to market stallholders.

On 1 June, Health Minister Gan Kim Yong said that the multi-ministry taskforce (MTF) for COVID-19 has reviewed this policy and decided that face shields cannot be worn in lieu of masks since they are not as effective as masks in reducing the risk of virus transmission.

Indicating that a COVID-positive patient could more easily spread the infection to others if he was wearing a face shield, compared to a face mask, Mr Gan said that face masks should be the default option for Singaporeans when they are out and about.
Pritam Singh, the leader of Singapore’s opposition, raised questions about why the Government flip-flopped on its stance on face shields, in Parliament.