• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

CGH found guilty of negligence in cancer diagnosis

COW flu

https://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/health/cgh-found-guilty-of-negligence-in-cancer-diagnosis

Recommended by

CGH found guilty of negligence in cancer diagnosis

1 of 2

dummy.gif

yhcgh27.jpg
Ms Noor Azlin Abdul Rahman with her mother, Madam Azizah Yahya.ST PHOTO: NG SOR LUAN
Published
Feb 27, 2019, 5:00 am SGT
Updated
6 hours ago
Facebook Twitter Email

Court ticks off hospital for serious inadequacies in procedures, and advises amicable settlement

Salma Khalik
Senior Health Correspondent

Changi General Hospital (CGH) has been found negligent in a case where its lack of a proper system led to the delayed diagnosis of cancer in a patient. Instead of the lung cancer being detected at an early stage, it was diagnosed only after it spread to a lymph node.
Ms Noor Azlin Abdul Rahman, 39, is now fighting Stage IV cancer that has progressed to her brain. Had the condition been diagnosed earlier, "we find it unlikely that the lung cancer would have progressed to Stage IIA", the Court of Appeal said.
Ms Noor Azlin had appealed after losing her case in February last year against the hospital and three of its doctors for negligence.
Yesterday, the Court of Appeal found the hospital negligent in their care of the patient.
The court also said that respiratory specialist Imran Mohamed Noor, who saw her in 2007, should not have discharged her when he was not certain that her suspected infection had cleared. He should have scheduled a follow-up consultation instead.
Ms Noor Azlin had gone to the hospital's emergency department on various occasions in 2007, 2010 and 2011.

She had been referred to Dr Imran by the emergency department in 2007 for an "opacity" in her lungs. He diagnosed her condition as an infection and told her to return if she had further problems.
st_20180227_viang27c7yy_37927552_0.jpg

Related Story
Cancer patient's negligence claims against hospital and doctors dismissed
Related Story
Widow awarded $1.2m in suit against medical lab
Justice Andrew Phang, who delivered the court's judgment, said that Dr Imran was "the last in line" examining the patient. He said: "There would have been no one else who would have been in a better position to conduct the necessary follow-up action."
The court acknowledged that it could not be proven that Ms Noor Azlin had cancer at that time. But it said that Dr Imran should have been more cautious and scheduled a repeat consultation, even if the patient was asymptomatic. Although the court found Dr Imran in breach of his duty of care to Ms Azlin, it said he was not liable as there was no evidence to indicate that she had cancer in 2007.
The court was far more scathing about the hospital's "serious inadequacies" in ensuring proper follow-up procedures for patients.
Ms Noor Azlin had X-rays taken in 2010 and 2011 and, both times, the radiologist recommended follow-up consultation.
The court said it had "grave concerns" over how the radiological reports were treated. It found "no record whatsoever of the senior doctor who had supposedly reviewed the radiological reports and who made the clinical decision" not to recall the patient.
The hospital's procedures allow two senior doctors to decide against the radiologist's recommendation of a follow-up. But the hospital did not require a record of who these doctors were and the reasons for their decisions.
As a result, not only did the patient not know about the decision, the court said, but "more worryingly... any doctor further down the line would have no reference against which to check why such a decision was made".
It said such a lack of accountability was unacceptable.
The court also criticised the hospital for treating the patient's problem as an isolated incident each time she turned up. Otherwise, the doctors seeing her later would know that the "opacity" in her lung had not been resolved as expected.
The court told CGH "to consider the possibility of settlement in the interests of expediency and resolution" as Ms Noor Azlin "will continue to face physical and emotional challenges as a result of her medical condition, and we think that an amicable settlement will assist the appellant in achieving some sense of closure and allow her to focus on battling her cancer and recovering as best as she can".
Her lawyer, Mr Vijay Kumar Rai of Engelin Teh Practice, said she broke down when she heard the court judgment in her favour. She had had difficulty breathing and had been admitted to CGH on Monday, but has since been discharged.
Ms Noor Azlin told The Straits Times: "I am relieved for now, but the settlement has not been decided on."
She said the medication she needs is very expensive, and not all of the cost is covered by Medifund. She is still working part-time at a corporate secretarial firm, which has been very supportive, in order to pay for it.
She accepts that there is no cure for Stage IV cancer, but she intends to fight it for as long as she can, saying: "I love my life too much, and the people around me. I don't want my mum to worry."
She lives with her parents. Her mother is 73 and her father 81.
When she agreed to have her photograph taken, she wanted time to put on her make-up. "No matter how sick I am, I don't want to look like a cancer patient," she said.
Correction note: The headline for an earlier version of the story, “CGH and doc found guilty of negligence in cancer diagnosis”, was wrong. While the patient succeeded in her claim against Changi General Hospital, she failed in her claim against Dr Imran Mohamed Noor. Although the Court of Appeal said that Dr Imran had breached his duty of care for failing to schedule a follow-up appointment for the patient, it ultimately did not find him liable for negligence as the patient did not have lung cancer when she saw Dr Imran in 2007. We are sorry for the error.

That's the problem with our judges ...they don't dare to go all in their decision against the elites and establishment.. What kind of verdict is that? Doctor is not negligent but only breach of care.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Negligence action requires

1 duty. Yes dr has duty to patient
2 breach. Yes dr Imran breached his duty of care to the patient
3 damages
4 causation

3 and 4 not proven because it cannot be proven that the patient had cancer in 2007. And was the breach the cause of the cancer spreading if they cannot confirm that the patient had cancer at that time.

Patient represented in 2010. 3 years later. Which is a long time. If the patient represented in 2008 may have more of a case.

LordElrond

Negligence action requires

1 duty. Yes dr has duty to patient
2 breach. Yes dr Imran breached his duty of care to the patient
3 damages
4 causation

3 and 4 not proven because it cannot be proven that the patient had cancer in 2007. And was the breach the cause of the cancer spreading if they cannot confirm that the patient had cancer at that time.

Patient represented in 2010. 3 years later. Which is a long time. If the patient represented in 2008 may have more of a case.

So if I pay through my arse to see a specialist multiple times, yet he fails to detect my sickness which should reasonably be detectable, the doctor does not cause it, and these high paying docs will never be guilty. I fully agree that there is no “direct” causation. Doctor cannot give you cancer, only PAP can do that. This interpretation of causation is good news for docs indeed. Loong live PAP!

nayr69sg

Staff member
So if I pay through my arse to see a specialist multiple times, yet he fails to detect my sickness which should reasonably be detectable, the doctor does not cause it, and these high paying docs will never be guilty. I fully agree that there is no “direct” causation. Doctor cannot give you cancer, only PAP can do that. This interpretation of causation is good news for docs indeed. Loong live PAP!

Doesnt work that way.

If the breach of duty has caused harm eg missed diagnosis of cancer then yes negligent.

But did this lady have cancer in 2007?

It is just the way the law works. Dont know enough of the details of the case to comment. Like what happened to the lady between 2007 and 2010?

Also is the lung cancer in that original nodule that was on the xray in 2007?

When I meant cause. I said specifically cause of the cancer spreading. Not cause of cancer.

You people are always so quick to slam drs. Like what's the problem man? Drs are people too. Many are good people. They have families too. But the hatred of doctors in sinkieland is so great.

I am so glad I left the fucking sinkies.

Faderangel

Doesnt work that way.

If the breach of duty has caused harm eg missed diagnosis of cancer then yes negligent.

But did this lady have cancer in 2007?

It is just the way the law works. Dont know enough of the details of the case to comment. Like what happened to the lady between 2007 and 2010?

Also is the lung cancer in that original nodule that was on the xray in 2007?

When I meant cause. I said specifically cause of the cancer spreading. Not cause of cancer.

You people are always so quick to slam drs. Like what's the problem man? Drs are people too. Many are good people. They have families too. But the hatred of doctors in sinkieland is so great.

I HAVE BEEN ADVICED BY FRIENDS AND RELATIVES CGH IS ACRONYM FOR “CANNOT GO HOME “ MY UNCLE WENT THERE FOR SIMPLE STOMACHE INDIGESTION AND HE DIDNT RECOVER , NOW IN HEAVEN.

hollowman

Both the doctor and the patient plays an equally responsible roles in getting a good diagnosis and treatment. Unfortunately this rarely can happen in sinkieland due to both problems with the 2 parties.
Patients for being too kay kiang and doctors negligent rate being too high.
As in sg most likely cases are being followed up by another team doc the informations get lost somewhere in the notes when some lazy docs didn't read case history properly. A geunine case whereby a patient was on tpn with picc line or portacath the followup doc from the same hospital same computer app SCM sunrise clinical mgr can overlook it even till the end of the consultation until the patient disclose it when the patient told the doc why are you asking me about oral dietary when I'm a tpn patient .Imho they are not fit to be a doctor.

nayr69sg

Staff member
Anyway everyone focuses on the negative.

"Simple stomach indigestion" that end up in death is not "simple stomach indigestion".

Anyway if people hate drs so much dont go to hospital lah. Seriously. Go to someone you trust.

And please dont go blaming the government and what not.

There are many doctors out there who do help patients. Fix fractures. Let people walk again. Play football again. Treat infections so they save lives. Appendectomy save lives. Cataract surgery people can see again. Mastectomy cure breast cancer.

I know what you guys will say yeah drs paid so much and what not.

That's the problem with sinkies. It always ends up being a $$$ thing. Sinkies live for money. Their lives revolve around $$$.

Nobody has the decency to be appreciative thankful for others who help them unless it is FREE.

Fuck lah this type of society dog eat dog no wonder people punch each other try to run over each other.

Sinkies go fuck yourselves. I cannot wait for the day the SGD collapse and all your money is worthless!

Both the doctor and the patient plays an equally responsible roles in getting a good diagnosis and treatment. Unfortunately this rarely can happen in sinkieland due to both problems with the 2 parties.
Patients for being too kay kiang and doctors negligent rate being too high.
As in sg most likely cases are being followed up by another team doc the informations get lost somewhere in the notes when some lazy docs didn't read case history properly. A geunine case whereby a patient was on tpn with picc line or portacath the followup doc from the same hospital same computer app SCM sunrise clinical mgr can overlook it even till the end of the consultation until the patient disclose it when the patient told the doc why are you asking me about oral dietary when I'm a tpn patient .Imho they are not fit to be a doctor.
KNN what to do KNN consultation specialist only have few mins to eye ball through cases before calling the patient in KNN for complex cases overlooking rate is sure high KNN that's why sometimes my uncle would tell them I'm skipping payment for this session since literally you did not give any consultation KNN

Anyway everyone focuses on the negative.

"Simple stomach indigestion" that end up in death is not "simple stomach indigestion".

Anyway if people hate drs so much dont go to hospital lah. Seriously. Go to someone you trust.

And please dont go blaming the government and what not.

There are many doctors out there who do help patients. Fix fractures. Let people walk again. Play football again. Treat infections so they save lives. Appendectomy save lives. Cataract surgery people can see again. Mastectomy cure breast cancer.

I know what you guys will say yeah drs paid so much and what not.

That's the problem with sinkies. It always ends up being a $$$ thing. Sinkies live for money. Their lives revolve around $$$.

Nobody has the decency to be appreciative thankful for others who help them unless it is FREE.

Fuck lah this type of society dog eat dog no wonder people punch each other try to run over each other.

Sinkies go fuck yourselves. I cannot wait for the day the SGD collapse and all your money is worthless!
KNN same like go turf club lo KNN some come out with smiley face some black face KNN yes those docs that helped to treat leg fractures to let them walk again treat infection for them to be still alive all should be rewarded handsomely KNN

If an ambulance is ferrying you to CGH, refuse and insist on another hospital. Point a gun at the ambulance driver's head if you need to.

KNN pap free transport service 995 will not ferry you to hospitals of your choice KNN strictly to the nearest hospital even if you point a gun at the driver the captain commander will point his gun at you too and endup in polis station instead of hospital KNN

Imagine if the victim were some Mediacorp showbiz whelp. The media coverage will be record-breaking. :wink:

Word of advice to the Melayus in Sinkieland: go to the hospitals in JB/Melaka for treatments. You'll get VIP-like no-nonsense treatments.

You'll also lebih jimat even after factoring in transport costs, guaranteed.

songsongjurong

malay patient kena sabo by malay doctor.. could this doctor being a doctor because of SG bumi affirmative action?

Moral : never trust malay doctor

It's an honest mistake. Let's move on. CGH is busy saving lives. They should not be burdened by an opportunistic patient hoping to cash in on her own misfortunes through lawsuits.