• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Chitchat CCS - We are After Quality Foreign Talents not Quantity!

Pinkieslut

Singapore seeks ‘quality over quantity’ when it comes to foreign workers, trade minister says
  • Chan Chun Sing said Singapore’s new limits on foreign vises would not affect Singapore’s status as an ‘open and connected’ financial hub
  • Singapore announced an increase in the minimum salary for employment and S-pass holders, which could make it tougher for firms to hire foreigners
Topic | Singapore
Bloomberg

Bloomberg

Published: 11:04am, 28 Aug, 2020

Why you can trust SCMP

Advertisement
Singapore
will remain “open and connected” as a financial hub even as it
tightens restrictions on foreign workers
to protect local jobs amid the recovery from
the coronavirus pandemic
, Trade and Industry Minister Chan Chun Sing said.
New rules to limit
foreign worker visas
won’t affect Singapore’s status as a business hub, Chan said on Friday in an interview with Bloomberg Television. The city state is trying to attract higher-skilled workers and will remain open to foreign talent, he said.
“We are making a move toward quality rather than quantity,” he said. “We really want to create more space for people at the very top, but for those jobs that can be done by Singaporeans, it will not require that many foreigners within the country.”
As Singapore job market tightens and employment passes stricter, expats are feeling the squeeze
27 Aug 2020
1598598128425.png

Singapore on Thursday announced an increase in the minimum salaries for employment and S-pass holders, which could make it tougher for firms to hire foreigners over Singaporean applicants. Employment pass holders must now earn S$4,500 (US$3,293) a month, up from S$3,900, and S-pass holders must meet a S$2,500 threshold instead of S$2,400.

Singapore’s business community has been under pressure to maintain an appropriate balance of local and foreign workers. Monetary Authority of Singapore managing director Ravi Menon said last week the MAS would “intensify” its engagement with financial firms on their hiring practices in order to grow the “Singaporean core”.

Advertisement
Chan said officials are “quietly confident” in the city state’s economic recovery through year-end, with fiscal stimulus helping to support domestic consumption and enable businesses and workers to shift to new industries. Still, much of the outlook will depend on external demand, he said.
SCMP GLOBAL IMPACT NEWSLETTER
Uncover the most important stories from China that affect the world
By registering, you agree to our T&C and Privacy Policy
“We are quite happy with the progress that we have made so far,” Chan said. At the same time, “we can’t replace external demand with domestic stimulus.”

Even with the economy expected to improve from the record 13.2 per cent year-on-year contraction in the second quarter, officials have warned that retrenchments and business closures could continue to rise. The jobless rate hit its highest level in the second quarter since the global financial crisis more than a decade ago.

knnb40

if go war, I have weapon on hand, before I shoot the enemy I will shoot him first.
he, indian, snake and enemy are target need to eliminate for man-kind to have peace

kaninabuchaojibye

what's quality?
who decide quality?
ceca hr director will always say their own got quality
talk cock sing song
zero private sector experience talk theory
talk liao jin song

birdie69

What lanjeow quality he talking ? kee Chiu got quality meh ?
CCS tactic is trying to divert our attention to FTA with other countries, instead of focusing on just unfair CECA agreement. He stil denying that it is an unfair agreement and the Hundreds of thousands of CECA PMET have displaced our local PMET.
Very simple, ask him to do patrolling or Security Guard at main entrance at MBFC, Changi Business Park and Jurong East, Shenton Way, he will then realised the huge amount of CECA PMET working in Singapore, what is real core Singaporean in all financial institutions and other companies.

terry1965

CCS tactic is trying to divert our attention to FTA with other countries, instead of focusing on just unfair CECA agreement. He stil denying that it is an unfair agreement and the Hundreds of thousands of CECA PMET have displaced our local PMET.
Very simple, ask him to do patrolling or Security Guard at main entrance at MBFC, Changi Business Park and Jurong East, Shenton Way, he will then realised the huge amount of CECA PMET working in Singapore, what is real core Singaporean in all financial institutions and other companies.
i got a few suggestions for them

when i worked in other countries like Doha, they got us to get the certificate of conduct from the Singapore police, (Interpol) to ensure we dont have criminal records or not linked to any terrorist group. for all FT this should be done for the security of our nation. also,to ensure the Certificate is not fake, it must be endorsed by Interpol or our CID.

Detailed checking by ICA on fake certificates should be done, this will create job in the Gov. and they must check background of all FT
This will require more manpower, which we have ,many people no job, this will create jobs

In other countries they take their time to check all the details and even interview all FT for entire day to ensure no Kelong and fakes.
FT working in SG ,only discovered with fake certificates after 20 years ??

mahjongking

What lanjeow quality he talking ? kee Chiu got quality meh ?

dont play play

he got quality wife

1598665543053.png

Another usual same ol' shit spewing out from his CB mouth. CB Kia Kee Chiu let me explain to you in simple terms how these FTs in collaboration with their companies exploit this loophole.

Ah Neh go interview with this local company. Boss agrees to hire Ah Neh on S Pass but on one condition. Company gives Ah Neh basic salary of 2.5K a month. During signing of letter of appointment, stated salary is 2.5K. But behind the scenes, Boss tell Ah Neh salary time on 25th every month, he will get his 2.5K salary. But after withdrawing his salary, Ah Neh must return $1000 to his company. So Ah Neh actual salary is just 1.5K a month but not 2.5K as stated in the agreement papers. Ah Neh willing to agree to this deal since he won't get a job that pays him even $1000 Singapore dollars back in India. This is a hush hush agreement between the 2 parties. All these local bosses exploiting this loophole, all of them are confident that these Ah Nehs won't complain to MOM.

This sort of practice is very common in the marine construction industry... I'm sure it's widely practiced too in the other industries.

In NZ these sorts of practices are rife in the hospitality industry. Restaurant hires a "chef" for $70,000 per year after telling immigration that he is highly skilled at cooking North Indian / Koren / Jap etc cuisine and no kiwi can do the job but in reality the guy is just a kitchen helper.

However the boss already collected a huge amount up front with a promise of getting residency for the "chef". Boss then pays the salary from what he collected up front.

The other way is that Boss also owns lots of properties. Pays employee big bucks up front but employee has to rent a room from boss at astronomical rent.