• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Casino ruins another life - Mudlaysian woman abandons family

dietcoke

most important is to know yourself although it is very difficult.

i know myself that i will spiral into a hard core gambler due to my slightly addiction to soccer betting and play player/banker at leisure world. i finally knew what i need to avoid if not, i'll self destruct. nowadays, theres so much channels, what online betting agents, sgpools, etc . but if u stand firm, u will emerge victorious.

Devil Within

i know myself that i will spiral into a hard core gambler due to my slightly addiction to soccer betting and play player/banker at leisure world. i finally knew what i need to avoid if not, i'll self destruct. nowadays, theres so much channels, what online betting agents, sgpools, etc . but if u stand firm, u will emerge victorious.

That's because you are smart. Smart guy making smart choices will be rewarded nicely. Fools on the other hand, will blame everybody and everything else but themselves.

good for u bro.

i have a bro fren...own a business, affluent...n he told me, he neber subscribe to MIO or watch BPL matches although last time he is most ardent Man U fan.

I asked him why...he said he know himself...if he watch, he sure tempted to bet...n that will be end...

i said wow, it takes a lot of courage & perseverance to do that...good for him.

the most important i feel, is to know your weakness n the strength to tarik back.

i dieded long ago...totally bankrupted by all these gambling demons and monguls...nanbeh you see all the sos pamplets all over the toilets...used for toilet papers lah...double standards...call this sos number...all this for help....the only way to help these gamblers and to stop others from commiting suicide and to prevent further people from such gambling addictions is to ban ban ban the casinos from our shores....even hawkers go to the casinos ...don't talk about those uncles and aunties who lost everything...lost thier savings...lost interest in their families...lost interest in sex...lost interest everything...but gamble, gamble and gamble...lose, more lose and lose more until dieded or hanged themsevles or drowned themsevles orsimply jumped down to thevoid decks....gambling is evil in whatever form....thebrain gets infected!!!...all will eventually dieded!!!

good for u bro.

i have a bro fren...own a business, affluent...n he told me, he neber subscribe to MIO or watch BPL matches although last time he is most ardent Man U fan.

I asked him why...he said he know himself...if he watch, he sure tempted to bet...n that will be end...

i said wow, it takes a lot of courage & perseverance to do that...good for him.

the most important i feel, is to know your weakness n the strength to tarik back.

ban all gambling outlets...close down all sp outlets...ban ban ban....just watch the matches...no bettings....just watch the roulette wheel spin...no betting!!! nanbeh!!!

Cruxx

ban all gambling outlets...close down all sp outlets...ban ban ban....just watch the matches...no bettings....just watch the roulette wheel spin...no betting!!! nanbeh!!!

南北! SP is my godfather. SP gives me $$ every week to spend. I love SP! :biggrin:

yes all the uncles and undies all ahbengs ahlengs see line up queue up and all die one by one....everyweek die...salaries gone..wages gone...all dieded...nanbeh what sort of father is this...killing all his children slowly slowly slowly like the monstrous casinos.....BAN!

Cruxx

bro we are talking about casino and not murderer here . how can you compare apple with orange ?

I'm not sure those who lost their loved ones forever due to gambling addiction would agree with you that casinos and murder are apples and oranges. :smile:

Cruxx

yes all the uncles and undies all ahbengs ahlengs see line up queue up and all die one by one....everyweek die...salaries gone..wages gone...all dieded...nanbeh what sort of father is this...killing all his children slowly slowly slowly like the monstrous casinos.....BAN!

Go ahead and ban casinos. Just leave SP alone. :biggrin:

dietcoke

That's because you are smart. Smart guy making smart choices will be rewarded nicely. Fools on the other hand, will blame everybody and everything else but themselves.

it is not that i'm smart. it is more of a case of 'once bitten, twice shy'. however, i was bitten by everything at least once, and nearly self-destruct by by huge ego twice.

lost on stocks (contra) approx $50k

lost on soccer approx $80k

lost on player banker approx $20K

lost on lending friends approx $50K

so, my life lesson cost me approx $200k to know that i am not god of gambler. cannot survive on betting.:(

it is not that i'm smart. it is more of a case of 'once bitten, twice shy'. however, i was bitten by everything at least once, and nearly self-destruct by by huge ego twice.

lost on stocks (contra) approx $50k

lost on soccer approx $80k

lost on player banker approx $20K

lost on lending friends approx $50K

so, my life lesson cost me approx $170k to know that i am not god of gambler. cannot survive on betting.:(

i shake hands with you.my losses double yours. i lost everything even my pants....so ban ban ban all forms of gambling. ban SP to start with....the amount of gambling and bettings run to billions...anyone got any figures. maybe SP bEATS mbs AND rws HOLLOW By their obscene profits everyday!!! more and more gambling outlets and more and more forms of gambling...you see even wheel-chair bound punters at SPs and in the casinos!!!

Cruxx

So it is that person's stupidity or lack of ability to gather proper information to make proper decision. In any case, he/she is an idiot and like what they say, a fool and his money soon parted.

Too bad though, there are plenty of idiots and fool among us. We are not atomised individuals. Their actions may or may not affect us. Which is why sometimes, you need to intervene to prevent the stupidity of these idiots to hurt you. I know you're a libertarian. I used to be one too. But absolute libertarianism is akin to allowing a 3 yr old child cross the road on his own and self-correct his behaviour......after losing a limb or two. :biggrin:

Too bad though, there are plenty of idiots and fool among us........But absolute libertarianism is akin to allowing a 3 yr old child cross the road on his own and self-correct his behaviour......after losing a limb or two. :biggrin:

i agree. yes, there are many weak minded people out there. you open the casinos, they all rush in. you open any SP outlet they rush in.you create any new gambling game, they all rush in. yes, many of them are like the 3 year old kid crossing the road unaided and unguarded....and it's too late when you start to educate and teach them or lead them away from the gambling hell-holes: after losing a fortune or some too late, to recover them from their graves!!!

the smarter ones, the leaders, have a moral responsibility for those who are not so smart and not so strong....we have a responsibility to ensure that the 3 year old child is safely guarded and led across the road....yes, until the child is big enough and matured enough to cross the road himself...

dietcoke

but no fear kopi uncle, do not be sad, for i had read somewhere by the phrase of 'success does not measure how high u soar, but how fast u rebounce'.

after my ultimate loss, everyday i have been drilling motivational phrase, been exercising and clearing my head. life has been kind for me, as i did not lose on credit. (that means i did not owe bank or any one money, my situation is i am just a poor man.)

slowly, find back ur feet. go out and mix with people, very soon, many doors or lobangs will open. but u must be firm and DO NOT GO BACK TO GAMBLING!

fast forward to now, i had set up a small business by myself, got married, holds a good day job, and most importantly, learnt a life lesson that in gambling, it is 10 gamble, 9 lose.(in mandarin)

Cruxx

Like you've said, " the individual does not give a damn if it's state regulation or self-regulation as long as it serves his self-interests". So didn't that stupid gambler act in self-interest when he gambled his life-savings?

The stupid gambler acted with the intent of self-interest but failed to advance his self-interest. The lack of regulation caused him greater harm than regulation did.

Now who to blame for his stupidity? If he is is stupid, don't blame the law or Casino as you have already put it that he "does not give a damn if it's state regulation or self-regulation".

Blame himself of course. But there's no point blaming him and talking sense into him because he's just too stupid to understand the mathematical odds of gambling. And unfortunately, there's just too many such stupid gamblers in Sinkieland that would have a significant effect on Singaporean society. Do you think Sinkies would benefit from fattening Sheldon Adelson's wallet? There would be no trickle down effect because Sheldon Adelson couldn't give a damn about spending $ or investing in Sinkieland.

Even if there is no Casino, he will still act stupid.

Maybe. Maybe not. We need to conduct a study to see if these idiots were gambling in places like Genting or cruise ships as frequently as they are gambling in the IRs now. One thing's for sure though: he wouldn't have a chance to act stupidly by gambling away his savings at the casinos in Singapore if they didn't exist in the first place.

If idiots want to commit a crime, they have to live with the result of their actions.

Yes. And when these idiots resort to robbing you, you probably would be blaming the government for not preventing these idiots from gambling away their hard earned $. Idiots aren't the only ones who suffer from idiotic decision making. I doubt you're a gambler. I can't see how you would have a net benefit from living among stupid idiots going around stealing $. It's the ideology of laissez faire that you're holding on to, despite the real world consequences that such an ideology would cause.

In a lawless place, possible revenge action from those family members/friends he killed.

I don't know about you but I would prefer not to have a reason for revenge in the first place. Revenge is retaliation to crimes already committed. More often than not, you just can't undo the harm caused by criminal acts. Cliched as it is, prevention is better than cure. :smile:

Cruxx and Dietcoke, both of you are my heroes of gambling knowledge.Thank you for voicing strongly about gambling.I hope the rest will continue to chorus and vocalise to prevent a mass suicide here in sinkieland....very sound arguements and sensible....not justifying the casinos or any form of gambling...

The smarter and more enlightened ones should have a moral responsibility to look after the less fortunate, the less intelligent and the less educated ones instead of leading them to the gallows to be slaughtered mindlessly and shirking all forms of responsibilities.

Doesn't matter if it's nanny state or police state; good intervention and good regulation are necessary in the real world. :smile:

i totally agree! the leaders must have a moral responsibility to intervene for the good of the society....

Cruxx

Genetics provides us with the basics. What we make of the cards we are dealt depends entirely on free will. There are periods of my life that I made a mess of. Having realised the mess that I had made was entirely of my own doing, I used "free will" to turn things around.

Had I started blaming everyone else but myself, I'd be in an even worse mess today.

Why didn't you use your free will to not make a mess in the first place? Because you needed experience and environmental influences to demotivate you from making the same bad decisions again. For instance, someone who lives in an environment where obesity is frowned upon will "turn things around" once he realised the mess his health has become. But what about the uneducated fat bastards in Nauru who didn't know the adverse effects obesity has on one's health? No amount of free will in the world could help a fool from turning things round. I maintain that it's genetics and environment that shape our lives. :smile:

Cruxx

Cruxx and Dietcoke, both of you are my heroes of gambling knowledge.Thank you for voicing strongly about gambling.I hope the rest will continue to chorus and vocalise to prevent a mass suicide here in sinkieland....very sound arguements and sensible....not justifying the casinos or any form of gambling...

The smarter and more enlightened ones should have a moral responsibility to look after the less fortunate, the less intelligent and the less educated ones instead of leading them to the gallows to be slaughtered mindlessly and shirking all forms of responsibilities.

南北! I'm a hard core gambler myself. Thank me for what? :biggrin: